NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 5 of 48)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
42 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,179 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 48)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #863

Feb 072015

G6 4-cyl

  • 68,979 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I attempted to start my car, the steering wheel became stiff, and power steering light came on. I turned the car off and started it a second time. The same thing happened. I waited a few minutes and started it a third time, the steering wheel loosened and the power steering light was off, but the steering wheel started fluttering back and forth.

- Drexel Hill, PA, USA

problem #862

Dec 202013

G6

  • 112,000 miles
Wife was coming home after work and had to pull over due to a malfunction in the steering.she said it was like the car was trying to drive itself and frightened her, giving a power steering alert on the readout. She checked the owners manual and it said the problem was probably low power steering fluid. Don't have pump. It was dark and quite cold, and we decided to leave the car until daylight and deal with it then. The next morning, we went back and the steering seemed fine, so I drove it home.shortly, the steering wheel started jerking lightly to the left. I slowed to around 40mph, and wrestled it home. I tell you, it was freaky. When I got home my hands were cramping from holding on to it so it couldn't jump out of my lane. I called the dealership in bedford, va, had the car towed there. They checked everything, cleared the codes, tightened an electrical connection and couldn't find anything else. We asked if it was safe to drive, they said it is right now, so we drove it home. 3 weeks later coming home from work, she lost power steering altogether, the dealership said our car wasn't in the recall, and while they were sorry, they'd be happy to check it out and give an estimate for the repair. We discussed the recall and how this was very similar. The next day, I started the car and there was a total lack of power steering. I took it to a local garage without power steering to have it checked. (it's nothing like a regular vehicle without power steering. I can see how someone inexperienced could screw up easily). Shop says troubleshooting tells them to replace steering column. Expensive, and for a car the whole family is afraid to drive. I don't trust it either. Same issues, but no recall, and no help. There is a serious issue with their technology, or lack of it. Shouldn't put these weapons in the hands of the public if they're apt to go off on their own.

- Moneta, VA, USA

problem #861

Jan 282015

G6

  • miles
I had 3 recalls fixed on my 2006 Pontiac G6 last week. Less than I week later, my power steering completely stopped working. Luckily, I was in a parking lot at the time it gave out and not driving around lots of other vehicles, as I could barely physically turn the steering wheel. I had to turn the car off and call for help, as there was no way I could even drive to a dealership or anywhere for help.

- Kewaskum, WI, USA

problem #860

Jan 292015

G6

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while making a turn, the power steering warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to an unknown location where it was diagnosed that power steering sensor failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Rimersburg, PA, USA

problem #859

Jan 282015

G6

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 15 mph, the steering wheel seized. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed with a failed sensor on the steering column that needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14E044000 (steering). The failure mileage was 57,000.

- Rimersburg, PA, USA

problem #858

Jan 192015

G6

  • 121,000 miles
The power steering is going out on the vehicle. The vehicle becomes hard to steer at times and I already replaced the tire rod ends. Something need to be done about this year of vehicle.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #857

Aug 152012

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while making a complete stop at the traffic light, the steering wheel seized as the power steering warning light illuminated. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed but not repaired. The diagnostic testing results were unknown. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 170,000. Updated 04/06/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 11/3/15

- Hugo, OK, USA

problem #856

Jan 232015

G6

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that after the vehicle was started, the steering wheel seized and became very difficult to turn. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #855

Dec 272014

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving at various speeds, when attempting to make a left or right turn, an abnormal noise emitted from the steering wheel. The contact stated that the vehicle veered to the right causing the contact to lose control. The vehicle went into an embankment and crashed into several trees. The air bags deployed. The contact sustained injuries to the neck and back which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The approximate failure mileage was 140,000. Updated 03/24/15 updated 10/15/15

- Hardin , KY, USA

problem #854

Nov 012012

G6 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The electric power assist system fails intermittently.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #853

Jun 152013

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle veered to the left and to the right independently. The contact had to apply excessive force to the steering wheel in order to control the vehicle. In addition, when the vehicle was started, the steering wheel turned independently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the torque sensor assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The failure mileage was 103,000. Updated 03/10/15 updated 6/18/2015

- Mullins, SC, USA

problem #852

Jun 142014

G6

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the steering wheel became loose, made an abnormal loud noise and vibrated. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V153000 (steering) but the part was not available. In addition, the contact felt that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair for NHTSA campaign id numbers: 14V224000 (power train) and 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Hammond, LA, USA

problem #851

Dec 202014

G6

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was restarted and was able to operate as normal. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Port Edwards, WI, USA

problem #850

Jun 282010

G6

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that great effort was required to steer the vehicle at low speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque sensor and the U-joint needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V153000 (steering) and 14E044000 (steering). The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Fair Play, MO, USA

problem #849

Nov 162014

G6 4-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
Power steering assist was lost in 2 incidents in this car. A warning chime sounded and the steering became very difficult to control. GM has a recall for this issue for the same make, model and year vehicle, but will not cover this VIN# even though the symptoms are the same.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #848

Dec 092014

G6

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, there was an abnormal noise and the vehicle would veer to the left. The contact also stated that the power steering warning light illuminated and the steering wheel seized. The vehicle would have to be restarted to resume to normal function. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Montour Falls , NY, USA

problem #847

Dec 152014

G6 6-cyl

  • 123,713 miles
I own a 2006 Pontiac G6 which has been recalled for power steering failure. My particular VIN number was not in the recall so I was not sent a notice. I was sent notices for recalls to the car for "brake lamp malfunction" and "transmission shift cable fracture". on Dec 15, 2014 while driving on the Florida turnpike from kissimmee, fl to down town orlando, the power steering in my car failed! the alarm went off and then the power steering stopped working. When I took the car to the dealership where I bought it and told them that the car's power steering went out and then ask them why I did not get a notice of the recall but found it on the internet; they told me my car was not included because the VIN number was not in the recall. They fixed the other recall items but refused to even check my car's power steering. I called GMC direct and spoke to [xxx] (quality customer experience) director. She passed my concern onto another dept. They called and told me that GMC would not do anything for me. They acknowledged that power steering has failed in the 2006 G6 but that since my VIN number was not on their list they would not do anything for me. I am driving a potential death trap. I am unemployed looking for a job and need my car. I cannot afford an out of pocket expense of what could cost $1500 to repair an error on GMC's side. More people are at risk in the 2006 G6 and GMC needs to recall all cars with power steering failures. Before someone is killed by their lack of responsibility. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #846

Jan 092014

G6

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated. Additionally, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the vehicle would not accelerate. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the vehicle was repaired but the repairs were unknown. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #845

Dec 092014

G6 6-cyl

  • 115,062 miles
I was going around the corner at about 30 mph lost control of steering, hit the brakes and slid into the guardrail bounced off and came to a stop sideways in the roadway then a truck hit the front driver side of the car causing further damage.

- Bristol, TN, USA

problem #844

Nov 232014

G6

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. Immediately after starting the vehicle, the power steering malfunctioned, which made the steering wheel very difficult to turn. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Birmingham, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?