Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Service Brakes Problems

2007 Pontiac G6 (Page 2 of 7)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: Unfortunately the 2007 Pontiac G6 continues a serious trend of steering problems from the prior model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
109,527 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac G6 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #117

Jun 012015

G6

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving at various speeds, the brake lamps illuminated when the brake pedal was not depressed and failed to illuminate when the brakes were depressed. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred intermittently after the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 160,000.

- Saint Peter, MN, USA

problem #116

Jan 292015

G6 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. When the contact shifted into reverse gear, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact also stated when the brake pedal was depressed it failed to respond. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 101,000. Updated 09/02/15 updated 3/29/2016

- Cook, MN, USA

problem #115

Feb 102015

G6 6-cyl

  • 94,897 miles
I started my car and my airbag sensor lit up on my dashboard and on my stereo screen it said "service air bag". there was an issue with my passenger air bag when I purchased the vehicle in June 2014 but they said they had it reset before I purchased it. Also, on multiple occasions people have told me at stop lights that my brake lights are on while I am driving and off while I am stopped. I found online that this a recall issue but it doesn't pull up for my particular VIN number. These are issues outside of the recalls that I was already forced to deal with.

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #114

Nov 282014

G6

  • 102,522 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the brake warning light illuminated. The contact also stated that while driving 10 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) but the recall remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 102,522.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #113

Aug 272014

G6

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V224000 (power train) and 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #112

Sep 032014

G6 6-cyl

  • 43,113 miles
My son was driving at 5 pm in stop and go traffic. He had been cut off by a driver who then slammed on their brakes. (out of town driver) when the car ahead of him stopped my son was driving at approx 30 miles per hour. My son slammed on his brakes with two car lengths ahead of him and the G6 rear ended the car ahead of him. When I was contacted my son reported the car panic brake assist feature did not seem to work. He indicated the car was not stopping despite his hard braking. We have had new brakes installed on this car in February 2014. My concern: A GM recall 13036 was issued and parts were unavailable.to correct this panic assist braking features. The accident took place on 9/3/14 and I received a letter on 9/5/14 indicating parts to correct this were available. My son has never had a traffic citation or warning and is now considered responsible for the accident. Most likely the car has been totaled.

- Oxford, MI, USA

problem #111

Aug 162014

G6 4-cyl

  • 80,370 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Two hours after driving it off the dealership lot, it started clunking /snapping in the front end when I turn, go over a slight bump, brake and accelerate. No doubt there needs to be a recall and soon!

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #110

Aug 112014

G6

  • 166,000 miles
The contact owns 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 ( electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control ) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Oaklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #109

Aug 202014

G6

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 60 mph with the cruise control activated, the vehicle suddenly accelerated at high speeds. The contact also stated that the ABS sensor and the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The contact attempted to disengage the cruise control, but it failed to deactivate. The brakes hesitated to respond when the cruise control was activated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 112,000.

- Bakersville, CA, USA

problem #108

Aug 202014

G6

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train). However, the parts needed to the repairs were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would be available to service the vehicle under recall. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #107

Aug 112014

G6 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving approximately 35-40 mph approaching an intersection with a stop sign, (which can sneak up on you if you are not familiar with the area, which I am), and applied my brakes to slow for the sign. The vehicle behind me did not appear to be slowing, and then I hear brakes screeching. The vehicle did manage to stop before hitting me; however, I was rattled. After the almost crash, the driver pulled alongside me and informed me that my brake lights were out. Because it was daylight, I went home to investigate, placed my vehicle in park with the engine running, and observed the brake lights were illuminated. When I applied the brake, my fiance observed the brake lights go off. Unfortunately, I am familiar with this problem and have taken my vehicle into the dealership on two prior occasions to have the issue fixed. Apparently it wasn't and is still a problem with the 2007 Pontiac G6's.

- Webster Groves, MO, USA

problem #106

Aug 042014

G6 4-cyl

  • 82,300 miles
"transmission shifter cable; brake lights, air bag passenger side, ignition" shifter intermittently hangs up when shifting. Called dealership first was told they had no recall for that VIN number, that nothing was on file. Then when I read him the notice I received today he said that I was to wait until they had parts. I felt uncomfortable driving this car and asked for a loaner. I was told there was nothing he could do. (service dept.) called Pontiac cs. 800 762 2737 I was told after explaining my problem that it was the dealerships discretion as to whether to provide a loaner. She talked to dealership, came back and then asked me how many mi was on car. 82K then she talked to dealer again and she comes back and tells me they need to check it and provide me with an estimate for repairs then I am to call the Pontiac customer serv back with the estimate. "??????? so I am still driving a car that I don't feel comfortable with because they need an itemized bill of repair? is this the process for a recall? I definitely will not take it to "that dealership" for an inspection as now I do not trust them as their computers had no recalls or repair reports for my car at all.. recall no. 14152 transmission cable I was provided with a case no. And told to call Pontiac cs back. P.S. so is this part of the ignition switch and brake lights intermittently coming on while driving down the road also I am confused????"

- Buckeye, AZ, USA

problem #105

May 312011

G6

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights would remain illuminated. The contact also mentioned that the brake pedal was applied and the brake light would fail to illuminate. The contact replaced the brake lights, but the failure persisted. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, etc) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #104

Sep 032012

G6

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights illuminated when the brake pedal was not applied. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic and vehicle speed control) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had experienced the failure intermittently. The failure mileage was 69,000.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #103

May 292014

G6

  • miles
I work nights and noticed my tail lamps were really bright when I drove by reflective signs. Though I didn't think much at the time this continued. I stopped for gas one morning when I couldn't get my car from park to drive. I really had to mash the brakes down to get from park to drive. I recently was pulled over due to my tail lights not working correctly. The police officer noticed that my tail lights were lit up while driving and would turn off when I came to a stop at the light and when he pulled me over. He didn't ticket me but wanted to let my know about the issue. I looked for recalls and sure enough my 07 G6 was on the recall list but apparently it's VIN specific. I even took it to the local GM dealer, kerry Chevrolet, and they couldn't find any recalls with my car. The person at the dealer ship gave me GM's number and even they told me I probably shouldn't drive the car. Though all my issues are on the recall from the NHTSA campaign number 14V252000 my car is not included in the recall. Nor is the transmission cable thing. I won't go into this. This is a problem waiting to happen. GM should make this right and all inclusive for all model years that are affected by this not just VIN specific. I've been loyal to you for many years but maybe not for long!

- Alexandria, KY, USA

problem #102

Jun 142014

G6 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
When you put the car in drive the brake lights come on. When you step on the brake pedal to stop, the brake lights go out.

- Janesville, WI, USA

problem #101

Apr 172014

G6 6-cyl

  • 69,436 miles
My first incident was with my speed control disengaging while driving on the freeway. Then my stoplights stayed on while driving and would go off when I would stop. Had my mechanic look and he put on a new brake switch. That did not fix the problem. Then we did a search on the internet and found other complaints and then looked on this site. I then took my car to the GM dealer where it was purchased and explained all this to them still wasn't fixed and I must take it back to them again.

- London, OH, USA

problem #100

Aug 072013

G6 6-cyl

  • 127,431 miles
I used to work late nights, and while driving home one night I noticed my brake lights were really bright. When I pushed the brake pedal down my brake lights would turn off. I also have problems pulling my car from park to reverse or drive. It makes me really nervous to drive and it seems as though it just keeps getting worse. I don't know what to do or even how to fix it. I really can't find anybody who knows how to fix it. Everything I've looked up is just a temporary fix. It's just extremely frustrating, and I really don't want to end up with a huge ticket or getting into an accident because of it.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #99

May 142014

G6 4-cyl

  • 107,386 miles
While driving-the stop lights stay on, when the brakes are applied the lights go out. Have difficulty getting shifter out of park. Also speed control quit working. There is a recall for this problem-number 13036. It covers cars built between May 26. 2004 to Jan. 4 2010.[ my car was built May 2007 ]. when I called G. M. phone-800-553-6000. This is the Pontiac number. They said my serial number is not on the list.{ I don't understand }. this car has the exact problem that is addressed in this recall. Problem with the body control module. This is a safety issue--- I have had drivers blowing horns at me when I stop because my brake lights don't come on.--they stay on while driving. Hope you can help me. Thank you.

- New Cumberland, WV, USA

problem #98

Jun 012012

G6

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated while driving an unknown speed, the brake light illuminated and turned off when the brakes were applied. The vehicle was taken to the dealers who noticed the connection was corroded and needed to clean. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred and this time the cruise control became inoperable as well. The contact was made aware of recall NHTSA campaign id number 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) however, the VIN was not included. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Jamestown, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?