Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Service Brakes, Hydraulic Problems

2007 Pontiac G6 (Page 1 of 3)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: Unfortunately the 2007 Pontiac G6 continues a serious trend of steering problems from the prior model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,227 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac G6 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #47

Sep 142015

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, both brake lights illuminated continuously even though the brake pedal was not depressed. In addition, whenever the brake pedal was engaged, the brake lights failed to illuminate. The VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The contact replaced both brake lights however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 06/29/16

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #46

Aug 262015

G6 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving 40 mph, the brakes were engaged and the brake lights failed to illuminate. The contact was aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the manufacturer advised the contact that the vehicle had been previously repaired under the recall. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 61,000. MA 10/14 the consumer stated the problem could be eliminated if the dealer would comply with the recall. Updated 01/11/16.

- Erie , PA, USA

problem #45

Aug 082014

G6 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
2007 Pontiac G6. Consumer writes in regards to GM recall# 13036.* ld the consumer is seeking reimbursement.

- Hammond, IN, USA

problem #44

May 132014

G6 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable to perform the recall repair and could not provide an estimated date of arrival. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/02/14 updated 11/7/2014

- Shirley, IN, USA

problem #43

Aug 152013

G6

  • 70,000 miles
When braking, the lights operate incorrectly. When the brakes are depressed, the lights are off and when the brakes are not pressed, the lights are on. Also when this occurs, the cruise controls fails to function. Also when this occurs, the brake must be depressed aggressively to shift out of park. This are the symptoms similar to service bulletin 10032206 / sb-08-05-22-009A.

- Grayslake, IL, USA

problem #42

Jul 052013

G6 6-cyl

  • 96,194 miles
The brake pedal vibrates when disengaging the car out of park into drive; sometimes it is difficult to get the shifter out of park. The brake lights are constantly on while the car is moving. Then when the brake pedal is pushed, the brake lights turn off. The cruise control does not work either; I believe because the car thinks the brake pedal is being pushed. Updated 8/22/13 also, the cruise control would not engage. However, the light was on the steering wheel.

- Breese, IL, USA

problem #41

Apr 082012

G6 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights failed to illuminate when the brake pedal was depressed. The brake lights also remained illuminated when the brakes were not being engaged. The failure recurred intermittently. In addition, the contact stated that the cruise control engaged and disengaged independently. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or a repair shop for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000. The current mileage was 90,000. Updated 12-16-13 updated 12/18/13

- Pittsboro, IN, USA

problem #40

Apr 182013

G6 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
The service ESC light came on, brake lights failed along with disabling the stability track, and cruise control.

- Rockford, MN, USA

problem #39

Aug 012011

G6

  • 100,000 miles
In less than a year I have replace the wheel bearing hub twice on both sides, issues with the ABS twice, all at my cost approx. 2000, now this month my brake lights run while driving and turn off when I press on the brakes. Seriously what is going on with the G6.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #38

Feb 192012

G6 4-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
While driving down the highway, I attempted to engage the cruise control, and it would not set. Later that evening, I noticed in my rear-view mirror that the brake lights were very bright while driving down the street. I tapped on the brake pedal, and the lights went out. A couple seconds later, the bright brake lights came back on. I tapped on the brake pedal again, and the bright brake lights went out. I pressed on the brake pedal again, but the brake lights did not come on. I have researched this problem on numerous auto forums and have found several different fixes for this issue. I believe that this is a serious safety issue because vehicles following my would not know if I have applied my brakes to slow down or stop.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #37

Oct 312011

G6

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the rear brake light failed. The brake light would not illuminate when the brake was depressed, but the brake light would illuminates and remained illuminated when the vehicle was started. The failure was experienced numerous times. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer and was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 92,403.

- Lawrence , KS, USA

problem #36

Jan 152012

G6

  • 97,100 miles
The brake lamps to illuminate when the brake pedal has not been depressed, or the lamps may not illuminate when the brake pedal is depressed. In addition, the cruise control may not engage, and greater brake pedal force may be required to shift the vehicle out of park.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #35

Dec 012009

G6 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Brake lights stay on even with no pressure on the brake pedal. The cruise will not stay engaged when this happens. People following me have told me I should not ride my brake as they can't tell when I am going to stop. The brake lights staying on is intermittent, it can happen with the car in park and at various speeds. This is a safety concern. My research has identified that there has been many complaints for this and that a recall is available for 2005 & 2006, our 2007 has the same problem and needs to be included in the recall.

- Middleton, ID, USA

problem #34

Jun 292011

G6 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
Exterior brake lights illuminate when not pressing the brake pedal. Exterior brake lights shut off when pressing on the brake pedal.

- Grand Forks, ND, USA

problem #33

Mar 272009

G6 4-cyl

  • 65,123 miles
Have had on and off issues with brake lights staying on. We have replaced the brake switch behind the brake pedal 3 times and it always goes back to the same problem... the brakes lights are on while driving down the road, but when you depress/tap the brakes they go off and then come back on a few seconds later... and they don't come on when you need them. We have tried pulling the fuses and the relay switch and they still continue to stay on.

- Carnesville, GA, USA

problem #32

Jul 292011

G6

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated the brake lights illuminated when the gear was in park. When the brake pedal was being depressed the light failed to illuminate. The dealer was notified and stated the brake switch needed to be replaced. The brake switch was replaced by the contact but the problem continued to exist. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 81,000.

- Hebron, IN, USA

problem #31

Sep 012008

G6 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
The brake lights on my car come on when I am not pressing the brake. I can be driving and they will come on by themselves, I can tell because the cruise control will dis engage and will not re engage. It took me a while to isolate the problem to the brakes, I had to have someone follow me in order to tell me when it was happening. It poses a safety risk because, you have you brake lights on all the time so cars behind you don't know when you are actually stopping.

- Pinehurst, NC, USA

problem #30

Aug 082010

G6

  • 79,535 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While the contact was driving approximately 55 mph, the rear brake lights illuminated intermittently and when the brake pedal was engaged the rear brake lights failed to operate. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic on three separate occasions where the brake stop light switch and one of the two rear brake light bulbs were replaced at different times. The failure recurred after the repairs. The vehicle had not been repaired for the most recent failure. There was a technical service bulletin related to the similar defect under NHTSA item number 10032206 (service brakes, hydraulic: Switches: Brake light). The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 79,535.

- Crawfordsville, IN, USA

problem #29

Jul 202009

G6

  • 20,000 miles
I purchased a brand new 2007 Pontiac G6 in 2008. The passenger side airbag light is always on. I had to replace the brake pads at 20,000 miles and the brakes are still giving me problems. When I turn the steering wheel, the car makes a crackling, loud sound. The headlight plugger had to be replaced due to them being burned out. I am very unhappy with this car. I am a single mother and I am sorry I did not research this car beforehand. I would not recommend this car to anyone. I took the car to the dealer and the price they will charge to fix everything is too expensive for me.

- Thibodaux, LA, USA

problem #28

Jul 012007

G6

  • 7,000 miles
Brake rotors warping after just 7,000 miles, took back to dealer and they cut them. Next time it happened sooner (12,000 miles). Should be a recall, brakes shake the front of the car so bad that it practically tears the steering wheel from your hands.

- Trevose, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?