Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2007 Pontiac G6 (Page 8 of 19) Seal Of This Might Hurt Notes: Unfortunately the 2007 Pontiac G6 continues a serious trend of steering problems from the prior model year.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 1
Average Mileage:
93,062 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 8 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #230

Aug 272014

G6 4-cyl

  • miles


My 2007 Pontiac G6 having a lot popping sound in when steering and a lot of rattling sound underneath. I don't know what it is but the noise so loud. When you pick up speeds 45 mp and up the steering wheel shakes. I have complaint about this before I never got an recall it at all it seen it is getting worst, I may not be the only one making a complaint about this steering shaking and rattling sound underneath.

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #229

Aug 202014


  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds between 1 and 15 mph a popping and grinding type noise was present when turning the steering wheel in either direction. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who replaced the rack and pinion but the noise continued. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 22,000.

- Burnsville, NC, USA

problem #228

Aug 162014

G6 4-cyl

  • 80,370 miles
Two hours after driving it off the dealership lot, it started clunking /snapping in the front end when I turn, go over a slight bump, brake and accelerate. No doubt there needs to be a recall and soon!

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #227

Jul 312014

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 133,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the steering wheel vibrated and became difficult to turn. The failure was experienced several times. The certified mechanic performed a diagnostic test that did not display a failure code; however, the mechanic stated that the steering sensor or the electric power steering assist could be the defected parts. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 133,000. Updated 10/7/14 the consumer stated the steering wheel jerked left and right while in idle. Updated 11/18/14

- Rogers, AR, USA

problem #226

Jun 282013

G6 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while making a turn, the power steering warning light illuminated as the power steering failed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 10/23/14

- Buckeye, AZ, USA

problem #225

Dec 052013

G6 6-cyl

  • 99,091 miles
This vehicle had the same issues as other year models in which the power steering did not work properly and there was a recall. This issue resulted in an undriveable vehicle and a complete replacement of the steering gear box, rack and pinion steering, etc. This year model was not recalled and I don't understand why.

- Ellsworth, WI, USA

problem #224

May 012014


  • 100,000 miles


Pontiac G6 2007 suffered a total failure of the power steering column and sensor, which needed to be replaced for approximately $700. Although this very issue is subject to recall in other model year Pontiac G6 vehicles, the 2007 is not subject to the recall. A letter was sent to GM notifying them of part failures and costs. To date, GM has not responded to the notification, and the 2007 model year has not been included in the current recall. Simultaneously, Pontiac G6 2007 suffered a total failure of front passenger air bag system, so that the passenger air bag would not be deployed. When I notified GM, they stated it was a "warranty" issue, and normal "wear and tear". the estimated cost of repair was over $1500, for this critical safety feature. A letter was sent to GM notifying them of part failures and costs. To date, GM has not responded to the notification.

- Allentown, NJ, USA

problem #223

Mar 012014

G6 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
Intermittently leading up to the incident for nearly 3 weeks the car would lose power steering until the car was turned off then turned back on and the issue would not return momentarily. While driving approximately 45 mph the caution chime came on and all power steering was lost and was not able to be reset. After doing research I found that "some" models were recalled for the same issue but this model was not one, it is the same issue and the same parts had to be replaced for a cost of $800.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #222

Jun 032014


  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the power steering failed. The failure has occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 79,000.

- Fort Scott, KS, USA

problem #221

Jul 012014

G6 4-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
While pulling out of a parking spot steering wheel began grinding and popping. While driving the steering wheel becomes tight and I cannot keep the steering wheel straight to drive straight. Was told this is a normal problem, and was verified with VIN that my vehicle is not part of the steering failure recall.. while turning into intersections, steering wheel will not turn and I have to manually force the wheel to turn and it will not make short turns, all turns are like driving a semi, must make wide turns.

- Radcliff , KY, USA

problem #220

Mar 112014

G6 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles


Power steering hose was burned by exhaust pipe and sprayed the hot oil all over the exhaust manifold causing immediate noxious fumes in cabin and immediate loss of steering while wife driving to work. This hot steering fluid could have easily started a fire in the engine bay. Thankfully my wife was able to pull over and exit the disable vehicle. Had vehicle towed and repaired only for the issue to occur again within 30 days. Yesterday, I had the vehicle repaired again after making a uturn and watching the white smoke engulf the cabin while fluid shot all over the engine exhaust. A three incidents were from burned hole through the heat shield and finally the black hose itself. This is obviously a horrible design issue and will eventually catch fire to a very hot South Florida climate. This car is all stock and driven by mature adult female with meticulous service records.

- Coconut Creek, FL, USA

problem #219

Jul 012008

G6 6-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
Purchased the vehicle with under 15K miles approx early to mid 2008. Has been very difficult to steer since a couple months after purchasing. Was told by a mechanic at an inspection there is something wrong in the steering column. Acts as if it does not have power steering and it sometimes takes several attempts to make a turn into a parking stall. Power steering and all other related equipment tested fine. Recent recall involving this issue included cars before and after mine. I also reported electronic problems and messages which I was just notified about in recall 13036 this week "after" complaining of a problem for several years my vehicle has the identical problems as those with the steering column issue previously recalled. I am in hopes you will be revisiting the steering column issue and the possibility that it may involve additional vehicles. It is practically impossible to steer at times and happens sporadically without notice. Car just hit 80,000 so wear and tear/excessive driving is not an issue. Has happened as low as 5 mph and as high as 65 mph.

- Gloucester, VA, USA

problem #218

Feb 272014

G6 4-cyl

  • 132,170 miles
As the vehicle was being driven. It lost all power steering and steering got extremely firm and could barely get to the side of road without being struck by another vehicle. Shut vehicle off waited restarted it. Steering wheel then vibrated or back and forth visibly drove a little more same incident again. This repeated till vehicle made it home and has sat since then. Contacted GM they refuse to fix the safety issue even after recall was released. Contacted them multiple times always refusing to fix issue.

- Port Royal, PA, USA

problem #217

Jun 202014

G6 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
The car totally lost electrical power. My wife, daughter and two grand kids (1 & 4 yrs old) were in the car. The power windows had be acting up for a while but on this day all the power went out. After she controlled the car to a stop on the highway and waited 10 minutes it would start again. She then tried to drive back roads home. Only to have it happen multiple times again. Finally we had it towed to the dealer ship. And again they are saying there is no recall on this car. It will now cost us over $500 dollars to fix on top of the $2500 last time. The dealership in the past as been great but in this case have been of no help. Over $3000 dollar out without any compensation from GM or the dealer (betten / baker Chevrolet in coopersville, Michigan).

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #216

Apr 252014

G6 4-cyl

  • 105,290 miles
The car will intermittently loose the power steering. Usually when you first started it but at time while driving at any speed. If you stopped and restarted the car the power steering might start working. We spend over $2,500 to get this repaired and our dealership is claiming that there is no recall on the power steering. I currently have all the invoice of what they repaired or replaced.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #215

Jun 212014

G6 4-cyl

  • 176,000 miles
My hand hit the key in the ignition switch and the vehicle cut-off(lost all power).I could not accelerate, I had to stop in the middle of the roadway and turn the switch to off and crank the vehicle again. After thinking about it I can recall this happening years ago, I thought nothing of it.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #214

Feb 062007

G6 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
. took the vehicle in to the sunrise Pontiac wolfchase 8500 hwy 64, bartlett, tn to paul baggett/service mgr, as instructed by gmac rep michael (ph# 866-790-5700)-ext 21145 on 5/28/14. Received a voicemail from Mr. Baggett at 1140:am stating to call him back. Called back at 12:25, receptionist stated he was gone to lunch. Called back at approx.: 1:30, 2:20, 3:40 at which time was told Mr. Baggett left for the day at 11:30 am. Called back at 4:15pm and asked to speak to the next service advisor available. Spoke with a gentleman who stated he knew about the issue, and that I needed a new redesigned intermediate steering shaft at a cost of about $495 to correct the problem, at which time I explained that this was what the claim was about originally, and that it should be a covered replacement, as the entire 2005, most of the 2006 and 2008 Pontiac G-6, S steering had already been recalled and the fact that they have a redesign for the 2007 clearly suggest that they know the problem exist, and that I've been dealing with the issue since I purchased new in 2007 only to be told it was something I would have to live with. The GM service rep told me that I would have to talk to michael, my original case person to proceed. Called michael back at 8667905700 ext 21145 and left a message as it stated they don't work Wednesday's.. got a returned call from michael mid morning on 5/29/14 and explained the above noted experience. He stated that he would contact paul baggett, and that a may take two days for a resolution. I waited for 7 days until 6/05/2014 at which time I called back and left another voicemail to michael @ ext 21145. Today is June 10th, and have yet to get a response. My entire previous and current generations of family have always been diehard GM people. I'm running out of patience. Totally disgusted with the process. Was referred to NHTSA.

- Bartlett, TN, USA

problem #213

May 212014

G6 4-cyl

  • 71,423 miles
While pulling into parking lot steering light came on on dash and power steering stopped working, turned off car and started back up and it worked fine, since then it is happening so frequently that car cannot be driven safely, this is my 18 yr old daughters car and I want her to see 19, GM needs to recall the 2007 models also.

- Coal Township, PA, USA

problem #212

Jun 282013

G6 4-cyl

  • 143,000 miles
Well one the electrical is so messed up that I have to drive with brights on I keep putting new lights in and nothing works... the last incident I had my 3 boys with me and I went to turn out of gas station and my power steering completely went out and come to find out it uses no power steering fluid and I had a guy tell me it was on recall for those reasons and I still owe on this car and car lot will not help me.

- Southbend, IN, USA

problem #211

Jan 272014


  • 80,000 miles
When traveling at about 25-30 mph 3 beeps were heard and a message on the dash said power steering. This happened just as the car was being turned and there was a total loss of the powersteering. It was too dangerous to operate and the vehicle had to be fixed because of the potential loss of power steering at slower speed. I called GM and they said there was not any recall for such a problem. Then in the end of March of 2014 a GM recall (id # 102624) was sent out pertaining to 2005. 2006, 2008, and 2009 Pontiac G6S. 2007 cars like mine were not included in this recall. I learned that this recall could affect 1.3 million GM vehicles. Jeff boyer, vice president of GM global vehicle safety, stated "with these safety recall and lifetime warranties, we are going after every(emphasized) car that might have this problem, and we are going to make it right" "we have recalled some of these vehicles before for the same issue and offered extended warranties on others, but we did not do enough." I request that NHTSA investigate why 2007 Pontiac G6S were left out of this recall. I have had the power steering column replaced two times at great expense and I believe that GM should reimburse me for the repair. GM must answer if the 2007 G6S were materially different from the 2005,2006,2008 and 2009 models. Were totally new parts and systems only available in 2007 and then changed again for 2008 and 2009?. I have filed a complaint to GM and have had the problem analyzed by my local dealership. I am awaiting whether GM will provide any financial assistance in correcting this powersteering issue. Cost to repair approx $850-$1000 each time. Request that NHTSA investigate this model year 2007 Pontiac G6.

- Parker, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?