Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2007 Pontiac G6 (Page 9 of 19)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: Unfortunately the 2007 Pontiac G6 continues a serious trend of steering problems from the prior model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 1
Average Mileage:
93,374 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 9 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #214

Feb 062007

G6 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

. took the vehicle in to the sunrise Pontiac wolfchase 8500 hwy 64, bartlett, tn to paul baggett/service mgr, as instructed by gmac rep michael (ph# 866-790-5700)-ext 21145 on 5/28/14. Received a voicemail from Mr. Baggett at 1140:am stating to call him back. Called back at 12:25, receptionist stated he was gone to lunch. Called back at approx.: 1:30, 2:20, 3:40 at which time was told Mr. Baggett left for the day at 11:30 am. Called back at 4:15pm and asked to speak to the next service advisor available. Spoke with a gentleman who stated he knew about the issue, and that I needed a new redesigned intermediate steering shaft at a cost of about $495 to correct the problem, at which time I explained that this was what the claim was about originally, and that it should be a covered replacement, as the entire 2005, most of the 2006 and 2008 Pontiac G-6, S steering had already been recalled and the fact that they have a redesign for the 2007 clearly suggest that they know the problem exist, and that I've been dealing with the issue since I purchased new in 2007 only to be told it was something I would have to live with. The GM service rep told me that I would have to talk to michael, my original case person to proceed. Called michael back at 8667905700 ext 21145 and left a message as it stated they don't work Wednesday's.. got a returned call from michael mid morning on 5/29/14 and explained the above noted experience. He stated that he would contact paul baggett, and that a may take two days for a resolution. I waited for 7 days until 6/05/2014 at which time I called back and left another voicemail to michael @ ext 21145. Today is June 10th, and have yet to get a response. My entire previous and current generations of family have always been diehard GM people. I'm running out of patience. Totally disgusted with the process. Was referred to NHTSA.

- Bartlett, TN, USA

problem #213

May 212014

G6 4-cyl

  • 71,423 miles
While pulling into parking lot steering light came on on dash and power steering stopped working, turned off car and started back up and it worked fine, since then it is happening so frequently that car cannot be driven safely, this is my 18 yr old daughters car and I want her to see 19, GM needs to recall the 2007 models also.

- Coal Township, PA, USA

problem #212

Jun 282013

G6 4-cyl

  • 143,000 miles
Well one the electrical is so messed up that I have to drive with brights on I keep putting new lights in and nothing works... the last incident I had my 3 boys with me and I went to turn out of gas station and my power steering completely went out and come to find out it uses no power steering fluid and I had a guy tell me it was on recall for those reasons and I still owe on this car and car lot will not help me.

- Southbend, IN, USA

problem #211

Jan 272014

G6

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When traveling at about 25-30 mph 3 beeps were heard and a message on the dash said power steering. This happened just as the car was being turned and there was a total loss of the powersteering. It was too dangerous to operate and the vehicle had to be fixed because of the potential loss of power steering at slower speed. I called GM and they said there was not any recall for such a problem. Then in the end of March of 2014 a GM recall (id # 102624) was sent out pertaining to 2005. 2006, 2008, and 2009 Pontiac G6S. 2007 cars like mine were not included in this recall. I learned that this recall could affect 1.3 million GM vehicles. Jeff boyer, vice president of GM global vehicle safety, stated "with these safety recall and lifetime warranties, we are going after every(emphasized) car that might have this problem, and we are going to make it right" "we have recalled some of these vehicles before for the same issue and offered extended warranties on others, but we did not do enough." I request that NHTSA investigate why 2007 Pontiac G6S were left out of this recall. I have had the power steering column replaced two times at great expense and I believe that GM should reimburse me for the repair. GM must answer if the 2007 G6S were materially different from the 2005,2006,2008 and 2009 models. Were totally new parts and systems only available in 2007 and then changed again for 2008 and 2009?. I have filed a complaint to GM and have had the problem analyzed by my local dealership. I am awaiting whether GM will provide any financial assistance in correcting this powersteering issue. Cost to repair approx $850-$1000 each time. Request that NHTSA investigate this model year 2007 Pontiac G6.

- Parker, CO, USA

problem #210

Nov 082013

G6 4-cyl

  • 149,000 miles
When traveling at about 25-30 mph 3 beeps were heard and a message on the dash said power steering. Right after that there was a total loss of the powersteering. When the car ignition was shut off and the car restarted powersteering was restored for up to 10-20 miles. Then the beeps were again heard and message again appeared and the powersteering went out again. On again off again. We had to operate the vehicle in this mode for a number of months. Finally it was too dangerous to operate and the vehicle has been parked for 2 months. I called GM and they said there was not any recall for such a problem. Then in the end of March of 2014 a GM recall (id # 102624) was sent out pertaining to 2005. 2006, 2008, and 2009 Pontiac G6S. 2007 cars like mine were not included in this recall. I learned that this recall could affect 1.3 million GM vehicles. [xxx], vice president of GM global vehicle safety, stated "with these safety recall and lifetime warranties, we are going after every(emphasized) car that might have this problem, and we are going to make it right" "we have recalled some of these vehicles before for the same issue and offered extended warranties on others, but we did not do enough." I request that NHTSA investigate why 2007 Pontiac G6S were left out of this recall. I must have the car repaired and I believe that GM should reimburse me for the repair. GM must answer if the 2007 G6S were materially different from the 2005,2006,2008 and 2009 models. Were totally new parts and systems only available in 2007 and then changed again for 2008 and 2009?. I have filed a complaint to GM and have had the problem analyzed by my local dealership. I am awaiting whether GM will provide any financial assistance in correcting this powersteering issue. Cost to repair approx $850. Request that NHTSA investigate this model year 2007 Pontiac G6. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rollinsford, NH, USA

problem #209

Nov 012011

G6 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
When pulling into a parking lot after an hour long drive, my Pontiac G6 GT hardtop convertible made a loud pop and then filled with smoke and flames shot out of the hood. Prior to that there was a pop and liquids spilled onto the ground. I jumped out of my car and ran to alert a nearby police officer. We got back to the car in less than a minute and he was able to extinguish the flames. The local fire department was also alerted and they arrived to check the fire. When it was repaired the technician said that it had something to do with transmission, or some fluid, igniting.

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #208

Jan 212014

G6

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Jan 21, 2014 the power steering light and beep went off and the power steering would not work. I could turn the car off, turn the steering wheel back and forth while turning the key back on and the problem was fixed - for a while. This technique no longer works. Two years ago the steering went out sporadically for about 2 months-I could turn the car off and on again and the steering would work. We checked into getting it fixed but were told it was not on the recall list (why not??). for some reason, back then, the problem just stopped happening and the steering was fine again until this past January. I'm not sure what is triggering this problem but I do know that it is going to cost quite a bit of money to fix. The 2007 Pontiac G6 needs to be added to the already long list of recalls for this problem.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #207

Apr 152014

G6 4-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
The power steering first began to fail upon starting the car. If I turned the ignition off and then back on the problem was corrected. After about a week of this the power steering began to fail while I was driving. I had to pay over $800 to have the steering sensor and power steering motor replaced. Even then, the mechanic had a very difficult time getting the new sensor to calibrate.

- Finleyville, PA, USA

problem #206

Dec 182013

G6 4-cyl

  • miles
There was no accident to go along. The power steering on my 07 Pontiac G6 went out about 6 months ago. It now goes in and out while I'm driving.

- Peebles, OH, USA

problem #205

May 252014

G6

  • 67,000 miles
Cooling fans fuses replaced because it was running hot. It started running hot a few years later and wiring to the cooling fans had to be fixed. Check engine light then came on and wouldn't go off and engine module was replaced. Check engine light came back on immediately, power steering randomly stopped working but came back, power seats stopped working randomly but started to work again, radio wouldn't go off after taking out the key and opening the door, and now the car will only go in reverse and drive in the manual mode. I'm never buying another GM vehicle!

- Gravette , AR, USA

problem #204

Jan 012014

G6 6-cyl

  • 5,555,555 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1-cruise control comes back on after disengaging, loud clunk when turning, have fixed ball joints and front end stuff several times and it still clunks at low speeds ever since I've owned the vehicle. Have had issues with the brake system as well.

- Cadillac, MI, USA

problem #203

May 012014

G6

  • 137,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the power steering suddenly malfunctioned causing the steering wheel to become very difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the power steering needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 137,000.

- Sterling Hieghts, MI, USA

problem #202

Sep 152010

G6

  • 28,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that there had been multiple failures with the repairs from the authorized dealer and that the vehicle was sold with a damaged tire. A bolt was in the rear drivers side tire at the time the vehicle was purchased, there was a cracked rim on the front drivers side and the power steering pump failed intermittently. The contact waited two weeks for an inspection of the vehicle to no avail. The contact drove the vehicle from the authorized dealer with the bolt still in the tire. The vehicle was diagnosed by an authorized dealer to replace the power steering pump which was repaired and the failure recurred. The contact had the power steering pump replaced twice by an independent mechanic and the failure recurred. The sunroof had a leaked intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the authorized dealer who stated the sunroof was repaired and upon inspection by another dealer it was found that there was no lining on the sunroof and a wrench was stuck in the top of the sunroof framing. The leak had damaged the electrical function of the front drivers seat and extensive mold was on all of the seatbelts. The manufacturer was notified of the failures and indicated that the contact was to be included in recalls that have not been sent out. The manufacturer was not able to confirm when the notices would be sent. The multiple failures have not been repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 28,000. Dyd

- Coventry, RI, USA

problem #201

Feb 092014

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,725 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving 10 mph, the power steering warning lamp illuminated as the steering wheel became very difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the steering torque sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 86,725. Updated 10/10/14 the consumer stated that there was a recall on model years 2005, 2006, and 2008 for this failure. The consumer believes vehicles with the model 2007 should be included in the recall. Updated 05/19/2015

- Titusville, FL, USA

problem #200

Apr 082014

G6 6-cyl

  • 113,064 miles
Was driving down the street slowed down to turn into a gas station when my car lost power to the steering. There was no warning or ding at the time it occurred. Also when turning the steering will shake and squeal on a sharp turn at times. Also has clinking noises from front steering system. Took into dealer little after we bought the car but they told us they could never hear what I was talking about. Took it in like 4 or 5 times for this issue and was told each time they did not hear it so they could not fix it. Will never buy another Pontiac again let alone pay 21,000 dollars for a piece of clunk like this. Updated 12/1/2014

- Henry, TN, USA

problem #199

May 162014

G6 4-cyl

  • 147,000 miles
In park, while reversing, power steering is not working. Happened on several occasions.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #198

Apr 012014

G6 4-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
I started my car and went to put it in reverse. I then found I had no power steering. I shut the car off, waited several minutes and tried again. The power steering then worked.

- Lombard, IL, USA

problem #197

Nov 152013

G6

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated while driving approximately 10 mph and making a turn, the power steering warning indicator illuminated with a loss of power steering. The steering wheel became extremely difficult to turn. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was turned off. Upon restarting, the vehicle was able to resume as normal. The failure recurred sporadically. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 125,000.

- Ripley, TN, USA

problem #196

Jan 032013

G6

  • 110,000 miles
I hate my G6!!!! I am so disappointed and will never buy a Pontiac of GM car again. First of all my power steering goes out everytime it rains causing me to have to stop my car in the middle of the road and nearly get into a serious injury accident. Next, my passenger head light has been replaced at least 20 times ive had the entire head light itself replaced ive had wiring replaced and it wont seem to last for more than a month or two... my radio stays on sometimes after I have shut my car off and taken my key out and opened my door, what the heck! and lve had some weird clicking noise I have no idea what it is. And lastly, now everytime I turn on my car my trunk opens up!?! ughhhh!!!!!!!!!

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #195

Jan 012014

G6 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
My power steering fails everytime I turn my wheel. It is worse when moving to the left, .

- Kill Devil Hills , NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?