Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Service Brakes Problems

2009 Pontiac G6 (Page 1 of 3)

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2009 is starting to have the same problems as previous model years, including the headlights blowing out due to bad connectors.

The wiring harness connections aren't a big deal to replace, as long as your dealer or mechanic doesn't charge you an arm & a leg to "diagnose" the problem.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,546 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Pontiac G6 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #47

Sep 212016

G6 6-cyl

  • 86,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A friend following me 09-21-2016 noticed my brake lights were on constantly. Driving home that night I could tell the brake light stayed on, unless I was applying the brake and they would go off. Also cruise control would not work. Made an appointment with the local GM dealership where the car was purchased new for 09-27-2016. Dealership diagnosed car with a bad brake switch. Car was repaired and picked up on 09-30-2016 (brake switch replaced) cost $194.81. Drove the car on a 300 mile trip on 10-13-2016. Traction warning light would come on intermittently and when the light was on cruise control would not work. Also checked on brake lights and now they stay constantly. Traction warning light stays on constantly also now.. the car did go on for the recall notice back in 2014. We were not experiencing any problems prior to the last couple of months.

- Elizabethtown, KY, USA

problem #46

Aug 032016

G6

  • 81,000 miles
I had power steering lose about a year ago and then it just happened again yesterday. When I shut the car off it like resets and then it's fine I also had a friend of mine text me and told me that my brake lights were backwards when I when I was breaking the lights were off when I was driving and my brake lights were on. I have also always noticed that my car shifts weird sometimes when I'm passing it doesn't seem like I can get up to speed. I have also had trouble with my passenger front airbag sensor since I've had the car. I bought my car and 2010 it was only a year old with very few miles. Right now I only have about 81,000 miles on it. With all of my incidents with the power steering and brake lights I have been in town driving all were in motion. In town driving has probably been about 35 mile an hour I would never want to experience or have any of these on the highway.

- Kenton, OH, USA

problem #45

Jul 012015

G6

  • 67,000 miles
Brake light intermittent. Illuminates when brakes are not applied or does not illuminate when brakes are applied. First occured 2013. Dealer replaced brake light switch, . then again in June 2015. Dealer relearned brake pedal switch position. Occurred again this week. I have not returned to dealer for diagnostices. Problem disappeared. This does to seem to happen when it is raining heavily. Other drivers on road notified me when problem was occurring.

- Jefferson Hills, PA, USA

problem #44

Oct 012014

G6

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake lights are illuminated continuously unless the brake is applied (talk about safety hazard!), the cruise control will randomly disengage, and the traction control light will alarm and light up.

- Sand Springs, OK, USA

problem #43

Nov 092015

G6

  • 124,278 miles
The solution GM has for recall #14V252000 does not work. The recall was fixed 9/2014 and on 10/31/15 the same problem was noticed. This has been noticed when the vehicle is in motion. Brake lights come on when brakes are not applied, go off when brakes are applied. I brought vehicle into a Chevy dealership on 11/09/15. They replaced a brake pedal position sensor. Noticed on 11/09/15 in pm that the brake lights remain on and do not change when the brake is pressed. A service traction came on 11/10/15 and again on 11/17/15. I have not had an opportunity to drive behind the vehicle while this service traction light is on. I have taken a picture of the service traction light twice showing the mileage and time. I have read similar complaints regarding this NHTSA recall #14V252000 (GM recall #13036) on this website! I know this will not be taken care of unless a number of people die from an accident just like the ignition switch recall!!

- Tega Cay, SC, USA

problem #42

Sep 242015

G6

  • 91,000 miles
My G6 was recalled last year because of a problem with the BCM. The problem caused loss of traction control, cruise control and the lights to malfunction. Since my vehicle was fixed, I have experienced the same problem several times. A switch was replaced a few weeks ago and this took care of the problem temporarily. I am now being told the BCM needs to be replaced and will cost $800. The reason for the recall was "increased resistance in the bmc may result in voltage fluctuations". I do not understand why the recall did not include replacing the BCM. It is very scary and upsetting when the "service traction" warning appears while driving 70 mph on the interstate at night and not knowing if the brake lights are on or not.

- Russiaville, IN, USA

problem #41

Jul 312015

G6

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. While driving 30 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was diagnosed and repaired. When the vehicle was started, the brake light illuminated; however, when the brake pedal was depressed, the brake light failed to illuminate. The contact stated that the failure was intermittent. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Hondo, TX, USA

problem #40

Aug 032015

G6

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. Upon engaging the cruise control, it deactivated independently. The brake lights illuminated constantly when the brake pedal was not applied. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), but did not receive notification of the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and referred the contact to a dealer to schedule the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Wausau, WI, USA

problem #39

Jun 102015

G6

  • miles
I have been dealing with the issue of the service traction light coming on in my car, which will cause my cruise control to not work, and, my break lights to either stay on all the time, stay on while I'm driving, shut off while I break, or, just not come on at all. I have at the BCM module cleaned 3 times, this is only a temporary fix. I have completed the recall the GM finally did, this did not solve the issue either. I finally today had to get my entire BCM module replaced, and a very high cost! I think that the recall should have replaced these entirely, because, obviously what they are doing to fix the "recall" is not working!

- Sartell, MN, USA

problem #38

Dec 312013

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Pontiac G6. Requesting reimbursement for repairs due to recall. According to the repair invoice, the BCM shorted out. Recall #14V252000.

- Clewiston, FL, USA

problem #37

Feb 102010

G6 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Unfortunately I have experienced about all of the issues that are being complained about on here. The light connectors melting and blowing the headlights, the electrical system messing up and frying 7 brains, the brake lights not working properly, the steering acting funny just to name a few, and although I have taken the car to the dealership several times since 2010 to have these issues worked on, I continue to have the problems. I think that it is ridiculous that car manufacturing companies are allowed to let these vehicles stay on the road without doing recalls on these dangerous and possibly fatal problems. For years I wanted one of these cars after they came out and now it has been the biggest waste of my time and money. But..that's ok! as soon as I have a wreck or something happens due to one of these problems I will be dialing up my lawyer!!!

- Palmer, TN, USA

problem #36

Aug 032014

G6

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and failed to respond without warning. As a result, the contact crashed into a deer and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries reported. The vehicle was taken to the a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the brakes and the ignition needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The failure mileage was 48,000.

- Columbia , KY, USA

problem #35

Feb 062013

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
As I was driving around a curve another vehicle was on my lane heading the opposite direction as me so I turns quickly to avoid collision and I lost control of the brakes and wheels. Upon impact with a light post no air bags on my side came out.

- Bridgeton, NJ, USA

problem #34

Aug 032014

G6 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
See NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 ; GM recall notice 13036 dated July 2014. I've been in two near rear end collisions due to brake light failure; I was pulled over by the police & told that my brake lights were staying lit while driving and then I was pulled over again & told that my brake lights were not lit up when I braking. I was able to show both officers the recall notice I received from GM & I was advised to get the problem fixed immediately as I was putting myself and others at risk of possible accident and injuries. While driving on the highway, the cruise control was enabled and would not disengage when I brake nor disengage when I pressed the on/off button. I had to cycle the key off/on in order to disengage the cruise control. Other times, the cruise will not engage when on/off button is pressed. I am also having issues shifting from park to drive or reverse, also E.S.C. isn't working as it should, nor the panic brake assist features. Lights for E.S.C. tcs randomly flash and flicker. All these are indications are consistent with the GM recall notice 13036. As stated before, I have almost been in two collisions and been pulled over twice. Contacted GM five times - case #[xxx] on file. GM stated that my car must be serviced by local dealership but will not cover costs. The local dealer wants diagnostic fees up front, which I cannot afford. GM hasn't notified dealerships of the recall 13036 to date. Do I need to be involved in an accident, harming myself and others, before this is addressed by GM" does there have to be loss of life to get GM to fix the known issues outlined in recall 13036? how can I rely on safe transportation until this is fixed" in closing, I seek assistance in addressing the blatant disregard of public safety that GM has shown to me and other customers. I would like to get my car fixed at no cost to me. Help!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #33

May 152014

G6 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
I was driving down the road being followed by my wife who informed me that as I was driving down the road my brake lights were on but when I hit the brakes my brake lights went off. As days went by it continued to do the brake lighting fault when I noticed that attempting to set cruise control was quite difficult. I'm not sure about you but faulty brake lighting is a serious safety issue. To this day, June 30th 2014 the brake lights are still malfunctioning.

- North Ridgeville, OH, USA

problem #32

Jun 122012

G6

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights illuminated without the brakes being engaged. Also, the contact mentioend that the cruise control became inoperable.the contact was made aware of a recall NHTSA campaign id number 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). However, the VIN was not included on the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Olla, LA, USA

problem #31

May 132014

G6 4-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
Was informed by coworker that when driving behind me, he noticed my brake lights were reversed (on when driving, turned off when braking). The problem seems to occur randomly, have not been able to identify whether certain conditions cause the problem. After noticing a recall issued for this problem, I visited the GM dealership, however I was informed that my vehicle does not have a recall for this issue. Not sure if GM is just slow at updating recalled vins in its system or if somehow my vehicle skirted by.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #30

Feb 062013

G6 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
When I drive down the road it appears that I am pressing on the brakes when I really am not. Then when I press on the brakes, the lights do not go off. It's very dangerous. Also my cruise control goes on and off whenever it wants. I have looked up this problem online, and it happens to other owners of the Pontiac G6 and there has not been a recall.

- Willowick, OH, USA

problem #29

Apr 042014

G6 4-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Clear day, dry, straight, flat road, no obstructions. Saw 2 vehicles stopped at red light, well ahead of me. Removed foot from gas pedal for normal braking and stop. When applied brakes, they did not slow my car down. Tried more pressure on brakes, but they were so "stiff", car still did not respond. When impact obvious, tried to steer toward clear lane on left to avoid straight-on impact. Thought might cause less injury to all and less damage. Steering wheel would not move. Struck the vehicle straight-on from rear at about 35 mph. Air bag deployed. Wearing seat belt. Taken from car by emergency medical technicians, then by ambulance to hospital emergency room. Several X-rays taken, plus either cat scan of head. Told no bones broken, given shot of morphine and prescription for norco. Driven home and went to sleep. Remember nothing of next day or fact I was given discharge instructions. Found yesterday and have made appointment to follow up with doctor for headaches, migraines, limited use of left hand, loss of words, thought and short term memory. Other pain, I assume is from jolt of impact or "whiplash."

- Ponder, TX, USA

problem #28

Mar 212014

G6

  • 71,500 miles
My brakes lights do not operate correctly. They either stay on completely or don't come on at all. I have had this fixed already, and it is still a problem. While the brake lights are not working, my cruise control will also stop working. My traction control is also starting to come on now, at the same time as the brake lights malfunction. The tc light will ding, and it says service traction then proceeds to turn it off.

- Shelbyville, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?