Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2009 Pontiac G6 (Page 1 of 6) Notes: The 2009 is starting to have the same problems as previous model years, including the headlights blowing out due to bad connectors.

The wiring harness connections aren't a big deal to replace, as long as your dealer or mechanic doesn't charge you an arm & a leg to "diagnose" the problem.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,946 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Pontiac G6 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #117

Sep 092016


  • miles


My brake lights will come on when I am driving and will go off when I apply the brakes. Also I will have warning lights come on randomly. Same issues under NHTSA campaign number 14V252000. Dealership has done recall work for this twice they told me and have charged me for the repairs and repairs to my warning lights as well and it is still not fixed. This happens everyday.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #116

Sep 012016


  • miles
Just purchased a G6 and several recalls have been issued for 2009.

- Malden, MO, USA

problem #115

Aug 182016


  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. While driving, the traction indicator illuminated and the brake lights did not illuminate. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V25200 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #114

Jul 112016


  • miles


The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights did not illuminate while the vehicle was being operated. The failure occurred intermittently. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the brake accessory sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. Two years prior, the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage and VIN were not provided.

- East Amherst, NY, USA

problem #113

May 202016

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. While driving 45 mph, the service traction and service ABS. Traction control, ESC and stability control warning indicators illuminated. The dealer was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 104,000. Updated 07/12/16 updated 08/03/16.

- Watson Town, PA, USA

problem #112

Jun 012014


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. While driving at approximately 65 mph, there was an abnormal noise coming from the passenger side of the vehicle. The contact observed that the passenger side window rolled down without being prompted or a warning. The failure recurred continuously as the contact drove. The contact stated that the window unlocked, the alarm system disengaged, and the battery drained. The vehicle needed to be jumpstarted. An independent mechanic diagnosed that the body control module and the door window actuator failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000.

- Buzzards Bay, MA, USA

problem #111

Aug 112014


  • 74,000 miles


I've been replacing parts to try to solve the problem of why the brake lights stay on, the cruise control kicks off, the traction control stays on. All these problems are all at the same time.I get it fixed and then 3 weeks later its the same all over again but it keeps getting worse. Alot of people I know with this car keep spending money and it never gets fixed the right way. We all need a solution.

- Wausau, WI, USA

problem #110

Dec 202015


  • 50,000 miles
The low beam head lights are melting there connector makingthe lights to go out random and some times blowing the light bulbs. This happens at any time day and night in motion or not. It is extremely dangerous when the lights go out and im driving as I can't see anything and other drivers can't see me. The high beams do work but that is dangerous to drive with any traffic as it can cause them to not be a be to see.

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #109

Jan 132013


  • 65,000 miles
Both low beam bulbs burn out frequently. Upon futher inspection notice that the connector to the bulb is melting. Replaced with new connector and they to are melting. Is this also a fire hazard? no pattern they burn out frequently. The new connectior is only a week old the bulb went out again the connector is partaly melted.

- Nottingham, MD, USA

problem #108

Nov 092015


  • 124,278 miles
The solution GM has for recall #14V252000 does not work. The recall was fixed 9/2014 and on 10/31/15 the same problem was noticed. This has been noticed when the vehicle is in motion. Brake lights come on when brakes are not applied, go off when brakes are applied. I brought vehicle into a Chevy dealership on 11/09/15. They replaced a brake pedal position sensor. Noticed on 11/09/15 in pm that the brake lights remain on and do not change when the brake is pressed. A service traction came on 11/10/15 and again on 11/17/15. I have not had an opportunity to drive behind the vehicle while this service traction light is on. I have taken a picture of the service traction light twice showing the mileage and time. I have read similar complaints regarding this NHTSA recall #14V252000 (GM recall #13036) on this website! I know this will not be taken care of unless a number of people die from an accident just like the ignition switch recall!!

- Tega Cay, SC, USA

problem #107

Jul 312015


  • 75,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. While driving 30 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was diagnosed and repaired. When the vehicle was started, the brake light illuminated; however, when the brake pedal was depressed, the brake light failed to illuminate. The contact stated that the failure was intermittent. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Hondo, TX, USA

problem #106

Jun 262013


  • miles
My vehicle was recalled last year due to a problem with the body control module. I brought my vehicle to a local GM dealer to be "fixed" and now my car is having the exact same problems as before: Loss of cruise control, malfunctioning brake lights, loss of traction control, difficulty shifting gear out of park position. These problems began occurring in 2013. GM should have told customers that the "fix" was temporary, as I was almost rear-ended multiple times yesterday due to my brake lights malfunctioning. This is dangerous and someone could get injured or killed due to the issues with the brake lights. After receiving my recall notice and taking my car to be serviced, I thought I would never have to worry about this again. It turns out the mechanics at the GM dealer just cleaned the BCM and applied dielectric grease to it, which is what I had been doing before the recall even came is insulting that they would consider this a "fix" and endanger their drivers, when they had to know that this would only help temporarily. It seems the entire BCM needs replaced to actually fix it, which is expensive. GM should cover the cost of this, as I know I am not the only driver having repeat issues after having the car "fixed" during the recall. My car has now also lost power steering on more than one occasion (loss of power steering first occurred this year), and my headlights keep going out, even when the bulbs are brand new (this has been an ongoing issue for two years now). When I smack the headlights, they come back on. I see that other drivers are also having issues with their power steering and headlights, as well as with the BCM. I am disappointed that GM has not provided a permanent solution for these issues, and I do not always feel safe when driving this car.

- St. Charles, IL, USA

problem #105

Feb 022015


  • 50,000 miles
The wipers failed to work. But after 10-15 minutes of the vehicle operating they began to then work. Sometimes the wipers would work with the washers and high speed only. When the wipers were left on and the car was parked, the battery drained and was dead the next morning. Then the engine on two occasions attempted to start itself when sitting and not on. On one occasion it successfully started itself. On several occasions the interior dome light stayed on.

- Adell, WI, USA

problem #104

Mar 032014


  • 79,000 miles
I purchased car new in 2009 and have had problem after problem starting with exhaust system just weeks after I got it. It has had 3 recalls but I more are due. The headlights started going one after another and at one time all front lights were out at the same time. I had them repaired with new connector. Currently, the left headlight is out again and a new headlamp and another connector was installed and still will not stay on. Other owners I have spoken with have the same problems that I am having. But what can we do? I've been experiencing power steering going out occasionally for no apparent reason what so ever. There is a recall but my car is not covered under the recall although there were 2009 models that were. I was told my VIN number wasn't included in the recall. The air bag alert stays on. I had it diagnosed along with the seat belt alert and both need to be replaced. The seat belt sensor module needs to be replaced in the passenger seat. My rear door locks don't work and that's electrical problem. I feel the car manufacturer knew these problems existed and should be held accountable for selling these death traps. With all these serious problems, I can't grasp why GM don't take responsibility for all this and get them off the rode. I and other motorists are not safe while I'm still driving this car. Do the right thing GM and recall all 2009 Pontiac G6 and make them safe.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #103

Feb 082014


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. While driving at numerous speeds, the passenger side headlight failed without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the connector melted and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 65,000.

- Drexel Hill, PA, USA

problem #102

Mar 012014

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the headlight assembly malfunctioned. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who replaced the headlight assembly twice, but the failure recurred. The contact continued to experience the head lamps burning out and the low beams failed to illuminate again. The vehicle was taken back to the independent mechanic, who indicated that the part was defective and that the failure may recur again. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 7/1/15 the consumer stated the low beam headlight burned out 4 times. The socket was burned and replaced. Updated 9/15/2015

- Pennsville, NJ, USA

problem #101

Sep 232013

G6 4-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
We have had ongoing issues with the rear running lights shorting out and the driver's side low beam going out. We replaced fuses for rear running lights 4 times. I was pulled over by local police and had to be picked up to get home, leaving the car at police station until I could drive safely in daylight. We have replaced the low beam bulb 3 times. The low beam light would intermittently work at times. Now, again it is not working at all. I have read excessive consumer complaints stating the same problems with 2009 Pontiac G6 vehicles.

- Nazareth, PA, USA

problem #100

Mar 112015

G6 4-cyl

  • 35,981 miles
Low beam lamp passenger side out. Not knowing any better I. bought a new sylvania bulb. Two weeks later out again. I did a little research and found this is a huge problem with G6; GM & more than likely too expensive for me to fix immediately. I just bought car from dealer & on ssdi; therefore, have no money to even purchase another bulb let alone housing, connector stuff etc.. this is a safety issue with a tremendous amour of vehicles; see carfaxs on this model. Although my carfax was clean I now think this is why car sold by old owner.

- Belleview, FL, USA

problem #99

Feb 202015

G6 4-cyl

  • 108,952 miles
I was entering on to highway when my power steering went out. I was able to pull over. I turned off vehicle and waited 5 minutes (temp was -18F), started vehicle and power steering was engaged.

- Trenton, MI, USA

problem #98

Feb 022015


  • miles
Letter from congressman barletta on behalf of constituent re 2009 Pontiac G6 lost power brakes and steering while driving on four separate occasions.

- Mount Carmel, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?