Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Vehicle Speed Control Problems

2009 Pontiac G6 (Page 1 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2009 is starting to have the same problems as previous model years, including the headlights blowing out due to bad connectors.

The wiring harness connections aren't a big deal to replace, as long as your dealer or mechanic doesn't charge you an arm & a leg to "diagnose" the problem.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,314 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Pontiac G6 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Sep 212016

G6 6-cyl

  • 86,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A friend following me 09-21-2016 noticed my brake lights were on constantly. Driving home that night I could tell the brake light stayed on, unless I was applying the brake and they would go off. Also cruise control would not work. Made an appointment with the local GM dealership where the car was purchased new for 09-27-2016. Dealership diagnosed car with a bad brake switch. Car was repaired and picked up on 09-30-2016 (brake switch replaced) cost $194.81. Drove the car on a 300 mile trip on 10-13-2016. Traction warning light would come on intermittently and when the light was on cruise control would not work. Also checked on brake lights and now they stay constantly. Traction warning light stays on constantly also now.. the car did go on for the recall notice back in 2014. We were not experiencing any problems prior to the last couple of months.

- Elizabethtown, KY, USA

problem #26

May 202016

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. While driving 45 mph, the service traction and service ABS. Traction control, ESC and stability control warning indicators illuminated. The dealer was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 104,000. Updated 07/12/16 updated 08/03/16.

- Watson Town, PA, USA

problem #25

Jun 262013

G6

  • miles
My vehicle was recalled last year due to a problem with the body control module. I brought my vehicle to a local GM dealer to be "fixed" and now my car is having the exact same problems as before: Loss of cruise control, malfunctioning brake lights, loss of traction control, difficulty shifting gear out of park position. These problems began occurring in 2013. GM should have told customers that the "fix" was temporary, as I was almost rear-ended multiple times yesterday due to my brake lights malfunctioning. This is dangerous and someone could get injured or killed due to the issues with the brake lights. After receiving my recall notice and taking my car to be serviced, I thought I would never have to worry about this again. It turns out the mechanics at the GM dealer just cleaned the BCM and applied dielectric grease to it, which is what I had been doing before the recall even came up...it is insulting that they would consider this a "fix" and endanger their drivers, when they had to know that this would only help temporarily. It seems the entire BCM needs replaced to actually fix it, which is expensive. GM should cover the cost of this, as I know I am not the only driver having repeat issues after having the car "fixed" during the recall. My car has now also lost power steering on more than one occasion (loss of power steering first occurred this year), and my headlights keep going out, even when the bulbs are brand new (this has been an ongoing issue for two years now). When I smack the headlights, they come back on. I see that other drivers are also having issues with their power steering and headlights, as well as with the BCM. I am disappointed that GM has not provided a permanent solution for these issues, and I do not always feel safe when driving this car.

- St. Charles, IL, USA

problem #24

Jun 102015

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been dealing with the issue of the service traction light coming on in my car, which will cause my cruise control to not work, and, my break lights to either stay on all the time, stay on while I'm driving, shut off while I break, or, just not come on at all. I have at the BCM module cleaned 3 times, this is only a temporary fix. I have completed the recall the GM finally did, this did not solve the issue either. I finally today had to get my entire BCM module replaced, and a very high cost! I think that the recall should have replaced these entirely, because, obviously what they are doing to fix the "recall" is not working!

- Sartell, MN, USA

problem #23

Oct 152014

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Pontiac G6. Consumer sent in repair invoice. Recall # 14V252000.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #22

Dec 312013

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Pontiac G6. Requesting reimbursement for repairs due to recall. According to the repair invoice, the BCM shorted out. Recall #14V252000.

- Clewiston, FL, USA

problem #21

Aug 032014

G6 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

See NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 ; GM recall notice 13036 dated July 2014. I've been in two near rear end collisions due to brake light failure; I was pulled over by the police & told that my brake lights were staying lit while driving and then I was pulled over again & told that my brake lights were not lit up when I braking. I was able to show both officers the recall notice I received from GM & I was advised to get the problem fixed immediately as I was putting myself and others at risk of possible accident and injuries. While driving on the highway, the cruise control was enabled and would not disengage when I brake nor disengage when I pressed the on/off button. I had to cycle the key off/on in order to disengage the cruise control. Other times, the cruise will not engage when on/off button is pressed. I am also having issues shifting from park to drive or reverse, also E.S.C. isn't working as it should, nor the panic brake assist features. Lights for E.S.C. tcs randomly flash and flicker. All these are indications are consistent with the GM recall notice 13036. As stated before, I have almost been in two collisions and been pulled over twice. Contacted GM five times - case #[xxx] on file. GM stated that my car must be serviced by local dealership but will not cover costs. The local dealer wants diagnostic fees up front, which I cannot afford. GM hasn't notified dealerships of the recall 13036 to date. Do I need to be involved in an accident, harming myself and others, before this is addressed by GM" does there have to be loss of life to get GM to fix the known issues outlined in recall 13036? how can I rely on safe transportation until this is fixed" in closing, I seek assistance in addressing the blatant disregard of public safety that GM has shown to me and other customers. I would like to get my car fixed at no cost to me. Help!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #20

Jun 092014

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the contact was informed by another motorist that the brake lights on the vehicle were constantly illuminated. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The part for the repair was unavailable. The dealer was notified and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 65,000. Updated 08/11/14

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #19

Apr 192014

G6 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
While driving, the gas gage and mph needles dropped to zero and the car could not drive forward. There was also an "error" notice flashing on the dashboard. It lasted for a fraction of second but kept doing it about every 20-30 seconds. I realized the theft protection light stayed on after startng the vehicle but when I went out yesterday the theft protection light was not on after starting the car. It came on suddenly while driving and I was unable to get the gas gage to work. It is lasting longer now also. I also noticed the traction control words showed up on the dash board this last time. Conditions were clear and dry. I did read the manual and checked the fuse as recommended. The fuse looks fine and for one whole day after removing and replacing the fuse I did not have the problem but the next time I drove, it was much worse as I mentioned above.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #18

Jun 122012

G6

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights illuminated without the brakes being engaged. Also, the contact mentioend that the cruise control became inoperable.the contact was made aware of a recall NHTSA campaign id number 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). However, the VIN was not included on the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Olla, LA, USA

problem #17

Jun 262013

G6 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Pontiac G6 GT sedan. Intermittent problems with the following for the last year: Brake lights come on when accelerating and turn off when braking (doing opposite of what they should be doing). Cruise control and traction control system both keep going out. Sometimes it's just the cruise control, other times the traction control system turns off first which in turn disables the cruise control. Whenever the cruise control starts going out, the brake lights start malfunctioning soon after. I suspect this is an issue with the BCM (body control module). Front drivers side headlight keeps going out, but the bulb isn't burned out. Replaced bulb twice. If I smack the plastic headlight cover, the light comes back on. The wires don't look damaged, so I'm not sure what is causing the problem with the headlight.

- St. Charles, IL, USA

problem #16

Mar 212014

G6

  • 71,500 miles
My brakes lights do not operate correctly. They either stay on completely or don't come on at all. I have had this fixed already, and it is still a problem. While the brake lights are not working, my cruise control will also stop working. My traction control is also starting to come on now, at the same time as the brake lights malfunction. The tc light will ding, and it says service traction then proceeds to turn it off.

- Shelbyville, IN, USA

problem #15

Mar 172014

G6 6-cyl

  • 64,400 miles
During my 12 mile commute to work, while about 3-4 miles away, my cruise control will disengage and the brake lights will illuminate, I'm guessing simultaneously. During this time the cruise control will not reset. I can depress the brake pedal slightly and the brake lights will go off. I can reset the cruise at this time. Within moments, however, the brake lights will come on and the cruise control will disengage again. I have read numerous other complaints similar in nature.

- Inman, KS, USA

problem #14

Jan 072014

G6

  • 125,000 miles
I see that there is a recall for this very issue for years thru 2008. My brake lights are on when not braking and off when braking and of course the cruise control will not work during this issue. I see many complaints about this and I find it so hard to understand how this cannot be a safety issue and recalled to fix. I have almost been rearended many times and am wondering if someone has to be involved in a fatal accident before the nhsta forced the expansion of the recall to include all years that are having this issue.

- Marengo, IN, USA

problem #13

Dec 022013

G6 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I purchased this car in summer 2013. It was fine for a couple months then the cruise control started going out and the ESC and traction control would code at the same time. I searched on the internet and found the GM service bulletin that said to remove the connectors from the computer and apply dialectic grease due to corrosion. This would work 30 to 60 days then I would have to apply more grease. Before christmas I was driving home at night and noticed that my brake lights were stuck on. I found that this would often happen at the same time that the other problems would code and other times the brake lights would just come on. I have applied grease several times this winter and it doesn't work anymore. The ESC and traction control code at random times, and the cruise control becomes inoperable. The air bag light is now on and stays on. These are all annoying but the issue that scares me is the brake lights coming on at random times when I don't touch the brake pedal. That is obviously unsafe and I would hope that GM would step up and fix it. They wouldn't have issued the service bulletin if they didn't know there was a problem, and the dealership I purchased it from had smeared the connectors heavy with grease so they must have read the service bulletin too.

- Laona, WI, USA

problem #12

Sep 022013

G6 4-cyl

  • 32,677 miles
Brake lights would come on without depressing brake pedal and cruise would disengage. Dealer advised a pedal switch needed to be replaced to correct. Also need to have front rotors machined and back brake rotors replaced. Seems like low miles for the back brakes to need replacement (country/highway driving).

- Mooers Fork, NY, USA

problem #11

Aug 302013

G6

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the cruise control disengaged while it was set at 62 mph. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection, however the dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact also stated that the brake light failed and was replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 83,000.

- Streator, IL, USA

problem #10

Sep 292013

G6 4-cyl

  • 70,100 miles
When traveling above about 10 mph the brake lights came on and the cruise control no longer worked. When the brake pedal was depressed, the brake lights went out until the car slowed to about 10 mph at which point the brake lights came back on. Braking was normal at all times. When pulling away from the stop, the brake lights came back on again around 10 mph. The car consistently did this over a trip of about 60 miles. When I took the car into the dealer, the issue wasn't present. The dealer replaced the brake switch and lubricated a connection. The issue has returned 2 days later. This issue could become dangerous especially during braking above 10 mph when following vehicles would not be aware that the car was braking.

- Germantown Hills, IL, USA

problem #9

Jul 012013

G6

  • 58,500 miles
My 2009 Pontiac G6 rear brake lights are working opposite of how intended. When the brakes are not applied the brake lights remain activated, when I depress the brake pedal the brake lights turn off. The cruise control is also inoperative, most likely linked to the brake light issue. I called the dealership where I purchased the vehicle new and was told that nothing would be done about the issue because the warranty was over. I asked for information on how to repair the issue myself and was told none was available. Someone is going to get killed over this issue if fatalities have not already occurred.

- Mantua, NJ, USA

problem #8

Jun 012012

G6

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights erroneously illuminated. The contact also mentioned that the brake lights failed to illuminate while decelerating and the cruise control failed to activate. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Wexford, PA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?