Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2006 Pontiac Vibe (Page 2 of 4)

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Pontiac Vibe is the mechanical twin of the Toyota Matrix.

Both models were a joint GM-Toyota venture, manufactured together at a NUMMI production facility in Fremont, CA. Only the heating & A/C systems are different.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,826 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac Vibe seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac Vibe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac Vibe Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #46

Jul 242015

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 01/13/16 updated 03/09/16.

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #45

Jul 142015

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Glerndale, AZ, USA

problem #44

Dec 012015

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Pontiac Vibe. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to complete recall notice until the end of 2016 15V-285.

- Somers, NY, USA

problem #43

Nov 202015

Vibe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this car couple years ago. I am at about 150000 miles. My check engine light has been turning on and off this whole year. Couple weeks ago I got 2 opinions to.get it chevked.out. The first spot gave me a estimate of about 2500 & second place about the same. They told me that there was a glitxh in the 2006 Pontiac Vibe transmissuon & computer. I drive about an hour to work everyday. I do not feel any difference when I drive but I definitely do not feel safe with the check engine light. Sometimes it will turn off but it is currently on again. I have checked gas cap & it secure. I have not even had this car for a long time. The check light should not be coming on at 150000. This is the only car that my.mother and I have & we definitely can not afford to buy or fix. Takata recall I have been doing research and I have not got into an acciden but I do not want my airbags to not work if something were to happen..this is not safe. I need this fixed.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #42

Jul 192014

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 02/05/16

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #41

Jul 012015

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall, re: Passenger side airbag. I am wondering when the cars affected by this recall will be able to be repaired. It is quite annoying to not allow anyone to sit in the front passenger seat of my car. I am also concerned that, in the event of an accident, the airbag may cause issues, even without a person in that seat. I received a notice dated July 2015 and have not received any further notice. I looked online, and no remedy is yet available.

- Emmaus, PA, USA

problem #40

Nov 102015

Vibe

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On June 16, 2015, Toyota issued an expanded recall on airbags in a wide range of their vehicles. My 2006 Pontiac Vibe is included in the recall. It is now November 10, 2015 and no resolution is in site. This is a possibly life-threatening condition in the vehicle and nothing has been done about it. What is the NHTSA doing to hold Toyota and GM accountable for this inexcusable delay" I have not had an incident yet, nor do I want to. Are we waiting for more lives to be irreparably harmed for some action to take place" I am using this complaint form as the only avenue I am aware of to file a grievance in this matter.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #39

Jul 012015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Farmington, NY, USA

problem #38

Nov 062015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 1/21/16

- Greenfield, WI, USA

problem #37

Jul 012015

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) was received in July of 2015. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 1/12/2016 updated 02/09/168jb

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #36

Jul 202015

Vibe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available since mid July 2015. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- New Ringgold, PA, USA

problem #35

Jul 242015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #34

Jul 242015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #33

Jun 012015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) was received in June of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Indiana, PA, USA

problem #32

Oct 202015

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles
Re: GM safety recall 14491, issued July 2015. My car has not been in an accident to reveal whether or not it has this problem. I'm filing this complaint to report the following information received over the phone today (Oct. 20, 2015) from my local GM dealer's service dept.: GM has told its dealerships that the parts for this recall will not be available until "the second quarter of 2016." I did not misunderstand the service person; he read this statement to me at two different points in our conversation. This delay is completely unacceptable for a life-safety recall. Thank you.

- Lino Lakes, MN, USA

problem #31

Jul 082015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact was informed that the recall repair would not be performed until March of 2016. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #30

Jul 152015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cedar, MN, USA

problem #29

Aug 032015

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Update 01/13/16 MA updated 01/16/19.

- Ely, MN, USA

problem #28

Jul 012015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 15V286000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall notification in July of 2015. The dealer stated that the part was not available for repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dubuque, IA, USA

problem #27

Jul 132015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?