Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2006 Pontiac Vibe (Page 1 of 4)

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Pontiac Vibe is the mechanical twin of the Toyota Matrix.

Both models were a joint GM-Toyota venture, manufactured together at a NUMMI production facility in Fremont, CA. Only the heating & A/C systems are different.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,826 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac Vibe seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac Vibe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac Vibe Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #66

Sep 012015

Vibe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front passager air bags making popping noises.

- Poplar Bluff, MO, USA

problem #65

Aug 302016

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Upper Parby, PA, USA

problem #64

Jul 052016

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Afton, VA, USA

problem #63

Jun 022015

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated that when the ignition was turned to the on position, the front air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The failure recurred continuously. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 170,000. Updated 07/13/16 updated 07/25/16.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #62

Apr 142016

Vibe

  • miles
My daughter received a recall notice for the air bags about a year ago she calledc and was told the airbags were backordered and they would get back to her they haven't. she received another recall for the airbags so I called and got the run around and finally transferred to watson Chevrolet for repairs. April 14, 2016 I spoke to watson and they said it would be two weeks before they would have the part. I called today May 4, 2016 and the part is still on backorder. Meanwhile this vehicle is being used and no one is allowed to sit in the passenger seat. How long will we have to wait to get this fixed?

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #61

Apr 202016

Vibe

  • miles
My check engine light keeps going on & off whenever it feels like it. My mother just got this car & it should not be doing this. It's very dangerous with it being accurate.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #60

Feb 182016

Vibe

  • 48,444 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The failure mileage was 48,444. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #59

May 132015

Vibe

  • 0 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #58

Jan 272016

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact notified the manufacturer who stated that there was no remedy and could not provide a loaner vehicle. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #57

Jan 212016

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The failure mileage was unknown. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 04/13/16 the vehicle was repaired. Updated 04/19/16.

- Cedarburg, WI, USA

problem #56

Jul 242015

Vibe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #55

Jan 122016

Vibe

  • 180,000 miles
Takata recall - this recall is now approximately 1.5 years from the time it was issued. Approximately 6 months ago (a full year after the recall was issued) I finally recieved a notice from Pontiac informing of this recall. In bold-underline text, it stated "until the repari is performed, the front passenger seat should not be occupied". I have been patiently waiting and following this directive since I have received this letter, however it is a very significant inconvience to my family of four. I do not know how Pontiac/GM expects us to utilize the car I have purchased from them if I cannot use the front passenger seat. I called today and spoke to a representative at Pontiac/GM and was told that there is no information that they can provide and no timelines available. I understand that this is a large recall and it affects a lot of vehicles, but frankly that is not my problem. The responsible parties need to put all the resources (time, money, man-power) they can at producing the needed parts to fix this issue. Any assistance that can be provided to expedite this process would be appreciated.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #54

Jul 072015

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tools confirms parts not available.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #53

Aug 012015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tools confirms parts not available.

- Grand Haven, MI, USA

problem #52

Jul 242014

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and the part was not available to schedule the recall repair appointment for an extended period of time. The dealer was contacted several times and was unable to determine when the part would become available. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and was not able to provide a time frame for the part to become available. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Atwater, OH, USA

problem #51

Jul 012015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #50

Jul 152015

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Weston, WI, USA

problem #49

Jul 072015

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Carnegie, PA, USA

problem #48

Dec 102015

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Isheming, MI, USA

problem #47

Dec 142015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts unavailable.

- Suncity West, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?