Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,345 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Saturn Outlook electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Saturn Outlook:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Saturn Outlook Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #89

Dec 102012


  • 99,000 miles


2008 Saturn Outlook, water leak through seal on dash. Shorted out fuse panel allowing the car to run with key turned off and losing function of passenger air bag control. Multiple complaints of this defect in the manufacturing of vehicle. Consumer cost $1300.

- Dayton, TN, USA

problem #88

Nov 162012

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
My driver side headlight (low beam) was working intermittently. Finally it stopped working. I bought a new bulb and was replacing it this weekend. While removing the old bulb, I saw that one wire had pulled out of the socket. I looked closer at the socket and realized that it was melted. There were also burn marks on the bulb plug and a green plastic piece. To my knowledge, this is an oem part. The part says phillips H11 ll and made in germany. It also says 55 w, 12 V. this would imply almost 5 a of current, which seems alot for the very small wiring size. While trying to find a replacement socket, I found out that this seems to be a very common problem on these vehicles.

- Riegelsville, PA, USA

problem #87

Apr 222011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 38,500 miles
The low beam headlight went out on the vehicle. I went to autozone to purchase the headlight replacement when I was told that it could possibly be two different headlights that I would need to bring the broken one so they can sell me a replacement. I found out that it is not very easy to replace the headlight on this vehicle as several other parts have to be removed in order to get to the headlight connector. I found instructions and several complaints from owners indicating they have replaced the headlight several times during the year only to be told by dealers that the harness/connector are burned and that is the cause of the problem. I proceeded to remove the underliner of the tire to get to the headlight on my vehicle. As suspected, the connector and wire harness were burned. I found several service bulletins instructing dealers to "check and replace" the harness and headlight on these vehicles. When I called Saturn I was informed that the dealership had replaced the headlight in my vehicle on April 2011...however they never informed me of this change. Right now my wife is driving this vehicle without a headlight as Saturn is refusing to replace the burned harness that I found on the car. This is not only a safety issue, but a fire hazard on the vehicle. This should be a mandatory recall by is not just happening on Saturn Outlooks, it is also happening on GMC acadias which is exactly the same car.....

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #86

Oct 052012

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 67,350 miles


Water leak from sunroof traveled down the driver's pillar and through the dash, onto the floor. This caused an electrical shortage which caused the emergency brake warning bell to sound. Water was also leaking out of the curtain airbag badge on the pillar potentially compromising the airbag. Water soaked the driver's carpet and mats. Now the dashboard indicator light for RPM is operating sporadically.

- Torrington, CT, USA

problem #85

Oct 262010

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Passenger low-beam headlight went out on the 2008 Saturn Outlook at 48,000 miles. I replaced it and the bulb blew out again only two weeks later. I then discovered the wiring harness had melted. Replacement bulbs continue to blow because of the defective wiring harness.

- Martinton, IL, USA

problem #84

Aug 012012


  • 67,000 miles
The passenger side running light went out. I had the bulb replaced. About a month later the same light went out again. I had the light taken out and was told the wiring harness was melted and had caused the bulb to go out. So I now have to replace the wiring harness for that side. I have also been told by other Saturn Outlook owners that is a common problem with most of them.

- Spanish Fork, UT, USA

problem #83

Jul 282012

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 47,500 miles


The drivers side headlamp assembly overheated and melted causing the light to fail. This is the second time this happened with this automobile. The last incident was the passenger side headlamp assembly same exact thing happened overheated and melted causing light to fail.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #82

Nov 082008

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Outlook. The contact stated that while driving at any speed the vehicle would lose power and downshift with an abnormal increase in rpms. The failure was experienced numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times. The dealer updated the transmission module but the failure was not corrected. The vehicle continued to lose power with a significant loss of fuel mileage. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 46,000 and the failure mileage was 50,000...updated 07/12/12 the consumer stated the sensor camshaft, cylinder head, battery, windshield wiper motor, air bag wiring harness, power steering rack and gear, front pads and rotors, gaskets for intake manifold, gasket for rear valve cover, right front strut, both strut mounts, engine mounts, left front stabilizer link, headlight harness, timing belt cover seal, exhaust stud, power steering pump, hose and clamp, all had to be replaced. Updated 10/02/12

- Danbury , CT, USA

problem #81

Dec 012009

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 21,888 miles
Purchased on 9/17/2008 and noticed a wet smell and brought it in 12/1/09 we also informed them of an electrical problem dvd/rear hatch - they found no problem with any of the issues. On 2/10/10 car in due to a wet smell rear hatch/dvd electrical issues. Found no issue with hatchback but the waterleak report "exterior - poor fits, water tested- removed headliner found excessive water leaking around glass-water running down headboard to rear - necessary sunroof window replacement. 4/14/2010 back with the dome light not working and smelled wet- dome light "inop verified due to water intrusion from sunroof leak"asked them to check the rear seat tracks -lots of rust- "surface rust on seat tracks- per tac normal condition - did spray down with silicone lubricant". in 6/8/2010 because of wet smell service states, "verified water in vehicle above headliner, removed headliner for water test - removed sunroof module and installed urethane sealer in drain holes and removed cross hatch area in drain tubes - watertested good" and under repair 1 "07-08-57-002E water dripping from 'a' pillars or ropcode:C9818 and repair 2, "07-08-57-002E water dripping from 'a' pillars or ropcode: C9820. Back on 8/24/2010 because a molding would not stay attached and front seatbelt adjusters was cut. In 12/23/11this time to rosner Chevrolet - electrical issues with warning lights-"open recall 10085 and they rerouted wireharness/replace-open recall- replaced connecter and re-routed harness as per recall". noise coming from the tires and"both front hub/bearing assemblies to be bad and replaced both left and right". the car has continued to stink like "wet dog" even though we are not seeing any dripping water. Today used a moisture meter - high levels of moisture throughout the entire car - all 4 door frames, the flooring, the hatch, pulled back floor mats to find white powdery mildew.

- Rockledge, FL, USA

problem #80

Mar 022012

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
My 2008 Saturn Outlook (w/sunroof) engine continues to run with key off position (see GM bulletin #08-08-57-003C [seam seal] dated July 15, 2011) water leak at A-pillar caused various electrical problems such as engine continues to run with key off/possible no crank/no start/communication loss/various electrical concerns, which was the result of a water leak on the ip bec from the sunroof drain hose that exits through the vehicle at the plenum and re-enter through the "unsealed seam at the front of the dash". this can effect 2007-2010 Outlook; 2007-2012 GMC acadia; 2008-2012 Buick enclave. GM only covers this to 3 yrs/36K mile warranty then GM requires owner to pay $400 to repair their engineering defect...

- North Royalton, OH, USA

problem #79

Jan 112012

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles


My 2008 Outlook has been in the shop now three times for leaks. They can never find the leaks. Now I have the inner lining of the ceiling leaking with water from the rain and all my leather seats are wet, the inside of the windshield was wet along with all my lights dripping with water. I have read on so many forums how the electrical problems all started with these leaks and we should have a recall before anyone gets killed from the car dying on the highway while driving.

- Newport, NC, USA

problem #78

Nov 162011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Driver side headlight wire harness arcs and causes light to fail. Replacing lightbulb temporarily fixes issue. Light fails and causes loss of light while driving at night. Also, potential fire hazard.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #77

Dec 102011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 44,875 miles
Headlight-dis-failed and wireharness melted.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #76

Dec 062011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 42,265 miles
Passenger side low beam headlight harness (female socket) melted.

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #75

Dec 032011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Passenger headlight fails intermittently. Appears to be due not to the bulb, but due to sub-grade wiring harness that melts over time.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #74

Oct 012011


  • 58,000 miles
The passenger headlight burned out and was replaced. Two weeks later the same light burned out. This time all the wiring was pulled out and it was discovered that the wiring harness was melted. Looking on online it has been shown to be a big problem. As I am driving my 3 children around, I would like my headlights to work and not be melting in my car. Please have GMC fix this problem. A car that cost as much as mine should have working lights and non-melting parts.

- Moore, SC, USA

problem #73

Nov 012011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Headlamp failed, wiring melted. Next time the car may go up in flames. Dangerous!!!!!

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #72

Nov 262009


  • 37,000 miles
The headlamp on my 2008 Saturn Outlook has gone out multiple times over the last two years that I have owned the vehicle. I have had to have the wiring harness replaced more than 3 times. The first time the new harness lasted a couple of months. The last two times, it only lasted about a week before burning up again. The harness that holds the lamp gets too hot and melts which is an electrical safety issue.

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #71

Dec 102010

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 40,568 miles
My 2008 Saturn Outlook lost both headlights in December 2010 within a couple of days of each other. The dealer informed us the bulbs had burned out and when they burned out they burned/corroded the wiring harnesses connected to them, necessitating a $200 repair. Less than a year later, in November 2011, the right headlight went out again. When we took it to the dealer on November 4, 2011, they informed us the bulb had burned out and the harness had burned out again, and said the repair would be more than $200. We have seen this problem documented by many Saturn owners on Saturn fan sites, and also read to contact NHTSA to notify you of this common and potentially dangerous safety problem with the Saturn Outlook so that you could consider ordering GM to recall these vehicles. I hope you will order a recall and order GM to solve an unnecessary design problem that is a nuisance at best and could potentially lead to a fire or lost visibility that could result in accidents at worst. Thank you for your consideration.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #70

Aug 022011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 65,187 miles
Complete loss of low beam headlights under similar or identical circumstances as other voqs and various websites forums. Inspection revealed melted wiring harness connectors inside the headlamp assembly at the low beam headlamp bulb. Vehicle date of manufacture 10-2007. No known body work. Passenger low beam headlight connector is not melted as bad as the driver side low beam headlight connector. Appears to be coming predominantly from the black wire going into the connector. All insulation is melted away. Connector melted and brittle that it fell apart removing the bulb. Bulb part # appears to be H11, 12V 55W U 64211 L+dot. Osram. Germany E1 25S. W0 Q3. Driver head light assembly casting date September 2007. Part number 25876413, which appears to have been superseded. Appears manufactured under automotive lighting with number LH hal 6143101907C2824. The inside connector area of the bulb itself also appears melted. The bulb is available for inspection. The headlamp assembly is still in use on the vehicle after receiving a pigtail splice repair and new bulb. The passenger side headlamp is now working and has received no repairs. Updated IVOQ 11/29/11

- Fuquay Varina , NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?