Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2008 Saturn Outlook (Page 2 of 4)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,271 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Saturn Outlook seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Saturn Outlook:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Saturn Outlook Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Sep 012014

Outlook

  • 26,048 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At start up the dic shows a "service air bag" message'. after driving for a few miles the message will disappear. The message will appear and disappear while moving. A red warning light also appears in the speedometer. A GM recall 14030 appears to be the same problem I am having but my vehicle isn't included in this recall. I have purchased this vehicle brand new and it has never been involved in an accident. It has just turned 26,00 miles. It has had a few recalls that have been completed. Please investigate.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #44

Jun 052012

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
I filed a complaint #10596533 in June 2014 about my air bag. It is as follows: "in the past few months I have noticed that the passenger side air bag on my 2008 Saturn Outlook says off even when a full sized adult is sitting in the seat. Sometimes if you move around in the seat or get out and then get back in it will come on but there are not guarantees. I took it to my dealer and they informed me that it is a sensor in the seat and that I will have to pay $900 to replace the sensor so that my passenger side air bag will actually function. After searching the web I have found that this is a very common problem and that it needs to be a 'safety recall". it is obvious that it is a wide spread problem with a ridiculous price tag for fixing. An unaffordable price for any average person! if the company cares about safety they will put out a recall and fix this problem. In addition I noticed on several sites that even after the sensor was replaced that the same problem occurred. In my opinion they need to come up with a whole new system for the passenger side airbags. We should be able to feel safe in our own vehicles." I haven't resolved my problem. The dealer first said they would pay 30% of the $900 if I covered the rest. They have now decided that they will cover 70% if I cover the remaining $270. Now this seem like a great deal considering the cost is $900 however it is still a safety issue and I don't think I should have to pay anything. I continue to find more complaints about the same problem. It needs to be addressed and a recall needs to be ordered. I will continue to file complaints to every organization that I find until this issue is addressed and it is replaced for free. I didn't damage the sensor it is bad on many Saturn's. and so should be recalled and fixed for safety reasons.

- Niobrara, NE, USA

problem #43

Dec 022013

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 64,945 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Outlook. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the passenger's side air bag warning light illuminated. The dealer reprogrammed the code in the sir module. However, the failure persisted. The dealer diagnosed that the passenger's side sensor module had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 64,945...updated 09-24-14 the consumer stated there was a recall, that was supposed to resolve the issue. However, the dealer stated it was not the same and the soldered the connections, but the problem continued. Updated 10/21/14

- Roseville, MN, USA

problem #42

Apr 092014

Outlook

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had been noticing the service air bag notification on my dash board. Didn't think anything of it. Brought it into hawthorne, NJ Chevrolet and they took out the seats and tested the connections and charged me for this service. About 2-3 wks later, the same notice came up on my dash board. Brought it back into hawthorne Chevy and they did whatever and said they didn't find anything and didn't charge me. I kept asking if there was a recall and every time the answer was no. It is now August and the same service air bag notification has popped up again. I will be bringing it back into Chevy to see what they can do.

- Pompton Plains, NJ, USA

problem #41

Apr 152014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
In April 2014, my passenger airbag light indicator begin to read: "off" while the passenger was in the seat. Sometimes it says "on" at first, then switches to "off". very few times has it worked properly since April. (now August 1st). Took it to the dealer for the side airbag recall and was hoping it was related to the passenger seat.. the service advisor indicated it was a totally separate issue. Cost to just check it cost me $105. 3 hours later, the advisor informed me it would cost over $500 or more to replace. I declined. Seems like GM would include this as a recall, especially to those with vehicles indicating "off". knowing you don't have a primary airbag that doesn't deploy, I would think this would be an extremely high risk issue and would be on the top of GM's list of recalls?

- Sale Creek, TN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #40

Jun 162014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Service airbag notice is constantly on (dashboard message) and the passenger airbag off light is also constantly on. So in the event of a crash passenger airbag will not deploy. Dealer initially ordered a different part and misdiagnosed the problem requiring 3 different visits to the dealership. Service center now saying that the problem is the passenger presence sensor and quoting price to fix over $800.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #39

Jun 272014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Good morning. I would like to file a complaint against the GM dealers in lexington, Kentucky. I received my letter stating that the GM dealers' service departments in my area has received the parts for my recall. I contacted rod hatfield Chevrolet on new circle rd by email to set up an appointment over a month ago (6/27/14). I set up a Saturday appointment and then was contacted by the email representative [xxx]. he contacted me by email stating they did not have the parts for my recall and I would be contacted when the parts arrive. I still have not heard from the dealership and my "service air bag" light has been on for three weeks. I also sent email to glenn Nissan/automall on richmond road) where I purchased my vehicle) about the recall parts over two weeks ago. As of today I still have not received an email, phone call, nothing in reference to the recall parts or my email from their online website. What will happen if my air bags deploy while I am driving and my passenger in the front seats or in case of an accident" the recall states if this light should activate, then I need to take my vehicle to a GM dealer right away. What should I do since neither of the two dealerships have contacted me" please send me suggestions of other GM service departments that should have the recall parts so that I may take my vehicle to them asap. I also will need a vehicle to drive during the service of my Saturn Outlook. Thank you and enjoy your day. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #38

Jul 232014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 59,478 miles
We were notified of the air bag recall several months ago and took it to the dealership for that specific recall service, hoping that the repairs would address a long-standing, but intermittent problem with the front passenger air bag error message that coincides with someone sitting in the front passenger seat. After the dealership performed the air bag recall work, the front passenger air bag continues to intermittently display an error message when my wife or adult son sit in the front passenger seat. We informed the dealership and rescheduled a service visit. We were informed today that the error is likely attributed to a bad "presence sensor" in the seat, which is not covered by the recall. The estimated cost for repair was $766. The vehicle is in otherwise excellent conditions with no collisions, flooding or rain intrusion. There has been no event that should have compromised this critical safety system. Malfunctioning sensor = inactive air bag.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #37

May 302014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
The problem starts with heavy rain leaking through the sun roof. According to the ed morse dealership representative, the sunroof is projected to pass some water (very few) that will drain through the drain tubes located at the front and rear columns (sides of the windshield). However, the tubes may get clogged an the water starts leaking inside the car through the columns were airbag are located. Nevertheless, these tubes are not long enough to drive the water until the bottom of the car so the water will leak into the inner fuse block, will damp the carpets on the passenger and driver sides and make much more damage than you can believe. As the insulator between the carpet and the floor is like a sponge, it will absorb the water and soaks all the connectors that run below the insulator (cables that run from the battery, to the seats motors and heater, etc, etc). Not to mention that it may damage the airbag triggers mechanisms located on the columns besides the windshield".based on the number of complains about this issue at the internet, why nobody has done anything yet? what if the front sides airbag does not deploy as expected due to this rain inside the car????" NHTSA should seriously inquire GM for that as it may put many lives at risk. And not only to Saturn Outlook owners. The same is happening to GMC acadias and Buick enclaves....there are many forums with such complain at the internet and in one of them a representative from GM ask us to contact her but I sent her 2 E-mails and so far I have no answer. Her E-mail is [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Valrico, FL, USA

problem #36

May 302014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
I just left my 2008 Outlook xr at the dealer. According to them the problem are the tubes that drain the water from the sunroof. These tubes run inside the front and rear columns (on the sides the windshield in the front and the side columns on the back of the car). These tubes are not long enough to drive the water until the bottom of the car so the water will leak into the inner fuse block, will damp the carpets on the passenger and driver sides and make much more damage than you can believe. As the insulator between the carpet and the floor is like a sponge, it will absorb the water and soaks all the connectors that run below the insulator (cables that run from the battery, to the seats motors and heater, etc, etc). Not to mention that it may damage the airbag triggers mechanisms located on the columns besides the windshield".based on the number of complains about this issue at the internet, why nobody has done anything yet? what if the front sides airbag does not deploy as expected due to this rain inside the car????" NHTSA should seriously inquire GM for that as it may put many lives at risk. And not only to Saturn Outlook owners. The same is happening to GMC acadias and Buick enclaves....

- Valrico, FL, USA

problem #35

Jul 132014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 117,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I filed a complaint under number 106110651 on the 15th of July, 2014. In this complaint, I inadvertently said the driver side seat belt light went on. What I intended to say was that the air bag light has gone on. Please refer to the aforementioned complaint for ongoing information. Thank you for getting back to me in a timely basis.

- Lakewood, , CO, USA

problem #34

Jul 132014

Outlook

  • 117,800 miles
I am not involved in an accident. However, my seat belt (driver side) light has gone on and the dic states to check the air bags. I find the NHTSA has a recall on this problem, yet Saturn, and the dealership shows no recall. The number shown is 14V118000 which shows this vehicle. I do not wish to continue to drive this vehicle, yet can't afford an estimated $600 tab to have it fixed. Where do I go from here to find authorization to have this recall (yet not shown) fixed?

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #33

May 012014

Outlook

  • miles
There has not been an incident as of this writing. We took our 2008 Saturn Outlook in for an inspection due to the passenger air bag indicator was shown as off. I was told that if a person sits in the passenger seat and an accident were to occur, the air bag will not deploy! I was told that the problem was the passenger presence sensor and that it would cost approximately $1,200 to fix. Obviously this is a significant and potentially dangerous issue and judging from the number of complaints on this site, and on the web in general, that this is not covered by any recall at this time seems unbelievable and unfortunate. Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter. Updated 3/3/2015

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #32

Jun 182014

Outlook

  • 95,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Outlook. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign number: 14V118000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 95,500.

- West Greenwich, RI, USA

problem #31

Aug 162013

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
Service airbag message began appearing and the passenger airbag off light came on. Dealership reset it but eventually the message returned and the light came back on. Dealership did further diagnosis and determined that the passenger presence system needs to be replaced. Apparently this is a known safety defect based on the numerous other incidents of failure noted on this message board.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #30

Jun 052014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 86,687 miles
In the past few months I have noticed that the passenger side air bag on my 2008 Saturn Outlook says off even when a full sized adult is sitting in the seat. Sometimes if you move around in the seat or get out and then get back in it will come on but there are not guarantees. I took it to my dealer and they informed me that it is a sensor in the seat and that I will have to pay $900 to replace the sensor so that my passenger side air bag will actually function. After searching the web I have found that this is a very common problem and that it needs to be a 'safety recall". it is obvious that it is a wide spread problem with a ridiculous price tag for fixing. An unaffordable price for any average person! if the company cares about safety they will put out a recall and fix this problem. In addition I noticed on several sites that even after the sensor was replaced that the same problem occurred. In my opinion they need to come up with a whole new system for the passenger side airbags. We should be able to feel safe in our own vehicles.

- Niobrara, NE, USA

problem #29

May 162014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • miles
My Outlook was involved in a front end accident. The airbags should have deployed but didn't. there was lots of smoke, smell and powder as if they had gone off but never did. This was after the supposed airbag recall had been fixed. I've had nothing but trouble with this vehicle in the 3 short months I have owned it!!

- Templeton, PA, USA

problem #28

Mar 042009

Outlook

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Outlook. The contact stated that on multiple occasions, the air bag warning sensor illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The air bag sensors were reprogrammed and the sensor lights were deactivated but the failure continued to occur. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but no solution was offered. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the NHTSA campaign number 14V118000(air bags). The contact believed that the vehicle had experienced the same defect as listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 36,000. Kmj

- Las Vages, NV, USA

problem #27

Apr 012014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 23,720 miles
For the last 2 weeks a "service air bag" message appears in the dic at start up. Also the air bag warning light appears in the dash. The message appears and disappears during travel. Some days the message does not appear. I've spoken to the dealer and they say there is no recall. I have seen in the news as of March 17, 2014 that there is a recall coming for what seems to be this exact problem. I have not received any notification as of April 30, 2014. Thank you.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #26

Apr 072010

Outlook

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Outlook. The stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, the passenger's side air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The failure occurred when the front passenger's seat was occupied or vacant. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 14V118000 (air bags), however the VIN was not included. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Pitkin , LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?