Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,070 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Saturn Vue drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Saturn Vue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Saturn Vue Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

Oct 142011


  • 38,370 miles


Issue #1 ~ transmission while merging from one freeway to another, driving at a steady pace, the vehicle began to slip. When the slipping began, the delays were short, maybe lasting 10 seconds. However as I kept driving, they began to get longer and longer, in this particular incident. I was able to put my emergency flashers on and move over to exit the freeway. Since the initial time, this has happened several more times with the vehicle. And, because the slipping doesn't occur every time I drive it, I'm being told the issue can not be duplicated... issue #2 ~ power steering as long as the vehicle is being steered straight, I have no complaints. However, the moment the vehicle is steered either left or right, it begins to make a loud roaring like sound. The roaring is especially prevalent when being steered to the left. I've taken the vehicle in twice now to be attended to. Each time I've taken it in, the power steering pump and fluids are replaced. The problem is still present.

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

problem #27

Apr 142014

Vue 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
My '08 Vue will no longer shift into reverse. The transmission handle does physically go into the reverse detent but the gears do not engage and the vehicle does not move. Depressing the accelerator only increases the engine rpms. The first indication of a problem was some stuttering in reverse two days ago. There didn't seem to be any issues with the forward gears. Today, the transmission reverse gear will not engage. This seems to be a common problem with the GM/for 6T70 6spd transmission reverse gear wave plate. A quick google search revealed that virtually every GM brand that uses the transmission has the exact same issue. This seems to be a well known and well documented problem, a recall should be made. A tsb already exists for the issue, please refer to tsb #09-07-30-012B.

- Northborough, MA, USA

problem #26

Oct 282011

Vue 6-cyl

  • 41,225 miles
While on our family trip our vehicle came to a complete stall. We had no power, no acceleration no power steering.

- Norwalk, CA, USA

problem #25

Apr 082014

Vue 6-cyl

  • 26,247 miles


I pulled into a stall at the bank, and put the vehicle in park. The vehicle continued to roll, jumped the curb on to the sidewalk, and hit a pole.

- El Sobrante, CA, USA

problem #24

Mar 302013


  • 63,000 miles
We had problems before March 30, they were still under warranty. Sadly, the dealer never told us we would be stiffed with time in certified GM pre-owned warranty nor any of the issues we have had. Got car May 2011 and has been in and out of shops since approximately September of 2011. We have replaced sway bar links 3 times in less than 1 1/2 years. Tires, battery, windshield wiper motor linkage, electrical issues, replaced driver side air bag. The kicker was the transmission on March 30 2013 while husband was deployed. Had both of my children in the car when it just stopped- on the road. Had it towed to davidson in watertown NY. Diagnostic done 4/1/13 revealed 4 codes from tranny, had to remove it to test further. We have never received any recall info at any pint since 2011; most of them seem to be listed under 2008; we have no idea haow we would have known about them, or if the issues have ever been fixed. The tranny went right after power train warranty conveniently expired- it was the 3-5 wave plate, which I just read on internet was a recall. GM case manager, [xxx],was supposedly trying to assist me. He also was in contact with [xxx], service manager @ davidson. As soon as they knew I had a loan secured for $4000, no one could help all of the sudden! I was told by GM that I would get help with cost; either certificate with smaller amount for trade in, or 30% of repair cost. I said repair cost to lower my loan. Then neither would help me and both became unprofessional. I have sent letters to GM with no response. Also, I had to pay for rental car. It is noted that clutch spring and piston also damaged. I feel that we were given this car under false pretenses as far as safety and being GM certified pre-owned. Multiple issues. The dealership had to know these issues, prior to scamming us, to make this car certified GM advertised!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fort Drum, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #23

Mar 082014

Vue 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
I pulled into a gas station. Had to wait in line. When I put my Saturn Vue xe V4 into drive it would not move. I tried manual (3rd) and still would not go forward. Reverse works, park works. This vehicle only has approximately 35000 miles on it. I now have to have a transmission rebuild? there were no indications of a problem.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #22

Feb 242014

Vue 6-cyl

  • 56,636 miles


First noticed problems with automatic shifting and acceleration on my way to the office. Then, when attempting to park, I realized I could not go in reverse. Limped home and had the vehicle towed to a trusted transmission specialist who identified 2 error codes: P0776 pcsb stuck off and P2715 pcs4 stuck on. Unfortunately the power train had expired as of June 30th, 2013 - a mere 8 months before this incident. He told me that there were factory technical service bulletins out on this very issue and also wrote on the invoice that the "3/5 R clutch wave plate possibly broken." I contacted multiple dealers to have it considered for repair, but they essentially told me that I would be responsible for financing the repair. I pleaded my case to GMC customer service, but were denied any real assistance. After reading many posts of 2008 Vue owners experiencing the same issues and having their transmissions fixed multiple times, we decided to obtain another non-GMC vehicle and will never by GMC again given the callous nature with which they responded to my needs as a previously loyal customer.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #21

Feb 282014

Vue 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
Was taking my grandchildren to a ski resort for the evening. Came to a stop sign, need to back up a little bit, no reverse. Then it would no shift going forward, one gear forward only. Check engine light cam on had it checked. Error code of PO776. When inspected have been told it need to be rebuilt. At a cost of $3000. When searching online about this problem, it is very common and nobody can understand why there isn't a recall over the 3-5-R wave plate.

- Tamworth, NH, USA

problem #20

Feb 112014

Vue 6-cyl

  • 75,337 miles
The vehicle became difficult to start with the interior lights blinking wildly. While driving, the vehicle would hesitate and surge. Had new ignition switch installed. Axle shaft seal leaking transmission fluid. Transmission failed shortly thereafter (NHTSA compl #10565714).

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #19

Feb 102014

Vue 5-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
Without warning the transmission would not shift out of first gear. The car would not go any faster than 35 mile per hour and struggle to go up an incline into the driveway, revving at 2000 RPM. After an examination by a mechanic, it was determined that the transmission wave plate was cracked, failing to produce enough pressure for a gear change.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #18

Oct 182013


  • 52,764 miles


Starting up slight incline when car lost speed, then started moving again but would not go over 30 mph at 4000rpms. Pulled into service center where they said trany gone. Now only have first gear. Needs new one but cost is 5,500.

- Tilton, NH, USA

problem #17

Dec 182013


  • 62,000 miles
My transmission failed as I was accelerating off a stop line. The vehicle would not go above 30 miles an hour and was at 3000 RPM. When attempting to park and back into a parking spot the car would not go into reverse. There appears to be a recall on this model. Is my car under this recall.

- Eugene, OR, USA

problem #16

Nov 192013

Vue 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
On November 19, 2013 as I was in my way to work the car started to make a weird noise and as I kept driving I felt a jerk on the car and heard a loud noise coming from the engine, had to turn back home. I was not going to drive the car and get stranded somewhere on the road. I call carl black Chevrolet and had the car towed to have it service. On Friday I picked up the car and was told the fixed the problem which was the control solenoid valve and transmission control module assembly replacement. They found fluid pressure switches damaged, replaced tcm and sol assembly. On Friday November 23, 2013 I picked up my car and was told the problem was fixed, but on November 25, 2013 as I was driving to the store the problem started again, going about 35 miles the car jerked back so bad that I almost hit my head on the steering wheel. I thank god there was nobody behind me because this could have cause an accident. I was able to get the car home but not before the car did the same thing again and there was noise coming from the engine. I had the car towed again to carl black Chevrolet and is at their service center today, I want a new transmission on my car not just replace some parts and sending me on my way with a car that I can have a serious accident with and possible get hurt or hurt others. All this problems have caused me to missed work and spend money I don't have, I do not want to continue having problems that can be avoided. This is a very stressful situation for me, please tell me what I have to do to have this problem fix.

- Oviedo, FL, USA

problem #15

Oct 272013

Vue 6-cyl

  • 47,500 miles
Shortly after departing our home on October 27, 2013, our 2008 Saturn Vue vehicle began to exhibit hard shifting, over-revving before finally "clunking" into gears. These symptoms went away after a few minutes worth of driving. The symptoms recurred the following day so we took the vehicle to dealer for inspection. Diagnosis is a broken 3-5-R wave plate. After conducting some research on the internet, it appears this failure is not uncommon with the Saturn Vue and related GM stable mates (Chevrolet equinox / GMC acadia / Pontiac torrent...). a total failure of the 3-5-R wave plate has the potential to strand drivers at inopportune times; fortunately we were able to get the car to the dealership under its own power.

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #14

Sep 102013


  • 87,000 miles
2008 Saturn Vue with 87,000 miles. Out of nowhere I started having issues with the transmission. 80% of the miles are highway miles also. Transmission now slips when going from 2nd to 3rd gear. Earlier today when I put the car in reverse the transmission would not engage so when I pushed on the gas the engine simply revved like I was in neutral. My issues seem similar to many others here. Disappointing to say the least.

- Florence, KY, USA

problem #13

Aug 242013

Vue 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
Transmission failure and loss of forward motion while entering onto roadway with on coming traffic.

- Newtown Sq, PA, USA

problem #12

Jan 012012


  • 90,000 miles
Purchased my Saturn Oct 2011 transmission went out 3 months later January 2012. Saturn replaced it because it was still under factory warranty. August 7th 2013 im getting onto the expressway and my engine light comes on and the car loses power and would hardly accelerate. My transmission control module went out and my warranty company refuses to fix it saying that it is not an internal part. I am beyond pissed.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #11

Jul 252013


  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Vue. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle would not accelerate as the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated the transmission would have to be replaced. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign number: 08V200000 (power train) that could have been related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 73,000.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #10

Aug 012013

Vue 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
Transmission 35R clutch wave plate failure requires complete transmission rebuild. Vehicle was properly maintained at appropriate service intervals. Transmission started to slip when shifting from 3rd to 4th gear and hesitated to up shift from 5th to 6th gear. Trouble codes P0700 and P0777 were logged when transmission first slipped.

- Belmont, MI, USA

problem #9

Jun 292013

Vue 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
The vehicle has 87,000 miles on it and has always been serviced at dealership. While driving thru a parking lot I felt it shift hard. It drove fine for a few miles, then while in residential area I heard a squealing noise. I stopped and turned off vehicle. Turned it back on and it would not go in reverse. Waited about 30 minutes turned it on again and it would go in reverse but not drive. Waited again for 30 minutes and started it again and it would not go in any gear. There should not be transmission problems at 87,000 on a one owner, well maintained vehicle. The dealership kept my vehicle for 26 days before returning it. GM customer service was not helpful and very hard to deal with. There is obviously a known issue with this transmission. The reason for the 26 day delay is because they had so many in for repairs. While the 87,000 miles was inside the mileage warranty, the vehicle was out of warranty by time.

- Monroe, LA, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?