Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 1
Average Mileage:
31,386 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Avalon seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments (Page 6 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #72

Mar 302015

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) and stated that the parts were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was notified and was uncertain when the parts would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #71

Jan 282015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer stated that the remedy was not determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fort Smith, AZ, USA

problem #70

Jan 052015

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Avalon Toyota. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/29/15

- Bethel, ME, USA

problem #69

Mar 112015

Avalon 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bag) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the vehicle repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/7/15 the consumer stated an interim reapir was performed. Updated 07/30/15

- Edison , NJ, USA

problem #68

Aug 152014

Avalon

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V147000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Updated 04/10/15 updated 04/

- Benson, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #67

Dec 112014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 114,698 miles
Airbag illuminates at different times while driving. This has been a recurring problem since 2003. When recall notice was received took car into Toyota dealer for repair. Upon arriving at home with vehicle noticed that inside dome ceiling lights blinks on and off until ignition is turned off. Returned to Toyota one week later to report problem. I was told that the system was resetting and that the blinking would stop. During the next three weeks the blinking continued and the airbag continued to illuminate while driving. I returned to the dealer and three hours later was told that the car has a $700 electrical problem that needed repair and that would fix both problems. The car did not have an electrical problem when it was initially taken into the dealer. They are trying to get additional monies to make up for fixing the airbag problem for free. Toyota headquarters is responsible for seeing that their dealerships honor the repair requests and do them correctly.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #66

Jun 202013

Avalon

  • 227,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 227,000.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #65

Jan 072015

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
Airbag lights blink. Brought the car in to two Toyota dealers and they said that there is a recall on this item however they do not have the parts to fix the problem. Car was in shop for over a week till I finally got tired of the stalling tactic. It appears that Toyota is not complying with their agreement to fix the problem. In a different dealership they said they do have the parts but have no available appointments for quite some time. Am getting very concerned that this dangerous situation is not being handled properly and responsibly.

- Flushing, NY, USA

problem #64

Jan 052004

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
SRS warning light continues to illuminate at different occasions while driving. A recall was issued in 2014 and vehicle was taken to Toyota dealer for recall repair. After repair SRS light continues to illuminate while driving. Vehicle was taken back to Toyota dealer for repair but nothing could be done because it could not be duplicated or diagnostic equipment could not find or pull any malfunction codes. What now"?"

- Perris, CA, USA

problem #63

Jan 232015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V147000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Whiteville , NC, USA

problem #62

Dec 042013

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V147000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Austell, GA, USA

problem #61

Jan 092015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V147000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the vehicle repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure with the vehicle.

- Bridge City , TX, USA

problem #60

Dec 292014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Went off road to miss deer, air bag, recently to Toyota for recall on air bags, did not inflate or deploy.

- Hot Springs Village, AR, USA

problem #59

Dec 262014

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V147000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The vehicle had not experienced a failure.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #58

Dec 162014

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V147000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tucson , AZ, USA

problem #57

Nov 082014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 187,000 miles
I took my car to legacy Toyota in tallahassee, fl in response to a safety recall for the ECM SRS. This was on November 9, 2014. As of today, December 16th, my car has not been repaired.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #56

Dec 012014

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The failure recurred multiple times. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V147000 (air bags) and stated that the part was unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the part would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unavailable.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #55

Oct 312014

Avalon

  • miles
I am still waiting to hear from Toyota of rockwall about getting the recall repair on my car. They still have not contacted me at all. I have been waiting since Oct 31, 2014 to get this part and this recall repair done. As of Dec 3, 2014 it has not been done. So I contacted cowboy Toyota with the same results. They were supposed to order the part for the recall repair. I have not heard from them. I contacted Toyota and they basically told me they didn't care if the repair was made or not and they were not going to tell the dealerships to cooperate with getting the repair done. Toyota hq doesn't care what their dealerships do or how they treat their customers.

- Forney, TX, USA

problem #54

Apr 152013

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 52,099 miles
The electronic control module went out on my 2003 Toyota Avalon. I was denied my claim for reimbursement for the $ $760 charge as it was a defective part.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #53

Nov 252014

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V147000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Passaic, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?