Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
30 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
16 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,704 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Avalon engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #91

Dec 242015

Avalon

  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While backing out of the driveway, in reverse, the car suddenly and without warning accelerated at a high rate on it's own without depression of the accelerator pedal. Brakes were applied at full force during the acceleration with out effect. Vehicle continued down the driveway, crossing over the street, then jumped the opposing curb, striking a stone wall.

- Lynnfield, MA, USA

problem #90

Nov 232015

Avalon

  • 89,000 miles
When accelerating from a stop the vehicle will sometimes move about 10 feet and then hesitate for about 1 to 2 seconds. It will then accelerate normally. When driving in heavy conditions at speeds under 35 the car hesistates badly when you try to accelerate and then "jumps" forward. Same thing happens on the downside to the point that it feels like its going to stall. The service advisor also said there had been other complaints about this condition. This condition is dangerous and not normal.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #89

Dec 062014

Avalon

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that the vehicle rapidly accelerated while attempting to shift into the park position. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Chadds Ford, PA, USA

problem #88

Dec 012008

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 44,043 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am in shock given the today"S news. I was in an accident on 12/01/08 in my 2006 Toyota Avalon. I could not stop the car and ran into the T-bar of a box truck in front of me. My car was totaled. After the accident we called the Toyota experience center, they created a claim #1001145755 and erika with Toyota said they would be in contact with us. We next heard from a [xxx] with Toyota who then told us to mail our complaint to Toyota motor sales claims department in torrance, ca. We mailed of the necessary documentation from the accident and never heard back from them. We called back on many occasions all to be never answered or given a run around, once told they were looking into it. Nothing ever came of it all. We didn't know what to so we gave up, at the time we could not afford a lawyer. So today?S news was frustrating. Months prior to my accident we took the Avalon into dch Toyota of simi valley to check out acceleration problems. They said nothing was wrong with it and told me I needed a transmission fluid exchange and to have the power steering fluid flushed. We were told nothing was wrong; clearly there was. I am just curios what actions we take now. I am so frustrated and disappointed. Can you please advise me on what to do" information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Simi Valley , CA, USA

problem #87

Mar 032014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
I had started driving and all of a sudden the vehicle accelerated. I applied brakes and had difficulty stopping it. I took the vehicle to a Toyota dealership and they could not find the cause of the acceleration. They suggested to call Toyota corporation and provided me with a 800 number. I told the rep of the problem and she informed me that the acceleration problem was resolved and new mats were issued to the customers. I acknowledged that the vehicle in 2010 was checked by Toyota and issued mats. I have not had any problems after that time but in March 2014, the acceleration started again. She said the issue is resolved and settled. I am concerned whether the acceleration problem was not what Toyota pinpointed and told us the problem was resolved. Why is this problem occurring after 4 years" what steps can be taken to ensure safety in driving this vehicle"

- Terrytown, LA, USA

problem #86

Dec 262013

Avalon

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the vehicle independently accelerated without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who was unable to duplicate the failure. The dealer advised the contact that there were no failures with the vehicle. The manufacture was alerted of the issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 39,000. The current mileage was 49,000.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #85

Jun 222006

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 2,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On a flat surface in cruise control traveling at 40+mph, brakes applied, then resume is activated, and vehicle surges ahead unexpectedly. On a hill at 50 mph, with cruise control on, the vehicle suddenly accelerates excessively causing the vehicle to veer right or left. This condition has existed since I purchased the vehicle new. After complying numerous times, the authorized Toyota dealer could "detect nothing wrong with the cruise control". they did not offer to do a test drive. I have put up with this condition for a long time, but the problem is now much worse and dangerous to drive.

- Bow, WA, USA

problem #84

Jan 152014

Avalon

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while reversing from a residential driveway, the vehicle abnormally and rapidly accelerated. The contact crashed into a patio and then a house. There were no injuries. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to an auto repair shop however, the mechanic was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000. Updated 3/25/14

- Lexingotn, SC, USA

problem #83

Mar 182013

Avalon

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that when in reverse, the engine roms began racing and the engine roared loudly. The gear was shifted from reverse to neutral and the rpms decreased. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was notified and a claim was filed. The contact was advised that another representative would contact him at a later date. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Pikesville, MD, USA

problem #82

Nov 232012

Avalon

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated when sitting at a traffic light the RPM's increase excessively causing the vehicle to lunge forward as if it want to take off. Also whenever he was getting on an exit and the accelerator pedal was being depress the vehicle would hesitate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated there was no problem with the vehicle and they could not duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 74,000.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #81

Aug 092012

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, the vehicle suddenly surged forward until crashing into a house. There were no injuries reported. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop and was in the process of being examined. The contact stated that the vehicle had also surged forward on two prior occasions. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 18,000...updated 09-21-12 the consumer stated the vehicle was returned to the dealer three times for the recall. Updated 09/25/12...updated 04/25/13 updated 05/14/2013

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #80

Jul 182012

Avalon

  • 57,000 miles
I slowed to pull into a parking space on the roof of parking garage. I tapped my brake and felt a sudden surge of power. (noisy power sound) I forcefully pushed down on the brakes and burned rubber making visible skid marks. The car went over both the cement bumper in front of my car and the cement bumper of the facing car and came to a stop when it hit his car. Both cars sustained major damage to the front. I was not injured and no one was in the car I hit. It is fortunate that this did not occur at a stop with pedestrians.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #79

Mar 012009

Avalon

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. While stopped at a traffic stop, the contact attempted to accelerate and noticed that the RPM reading dropped under 1000 rpms. The vehicle would not accelerate. The contact continued to depress the accelerator pedal until the vehicle responded. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing but the technician was unable to duplicate or diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #78

Oct 012010

Avalon

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V017000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal) and took the vehicle to the dealer for repairs. After receiving the vehicle back from the dealer, the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and they advised him that they had in fact repaired the recalled component. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Bayside, NY, USA

problem #77

Feb 182011

Avalon

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. While attempting to park the vehicle it suddenly accelerated without warning causing her to crash into a wooden board. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they cut the accelerator pedal. A complaint was filed with the manufacturer on the contacts behalf and she had not received a response. The contact didn't mention if anyone was injured. A police report was not filed. The current and failure mileages were approximately 50,000.

- Pataskala, OH, USA

problem #76

Apr 202011

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. While attempting to park at approximately 5 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated abnormally. The contact was unable to control the acceleration and crashed into another vehicle. A police report was filed and the vehicle was able to be driven from the scene of the crash. The contact was uninjured. The manufacturer was contacted by the insurance company and notified of the failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V388000 (vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal) and had repairs performed prior to the crash. The vehicles was repaired for the body damage but not diagnosed or repaired for the acceleration failure. The approximate failure mileage was 33,000. Updated 06/01/11 updated 06/10/11

- Ridge, NY, USA

problem #75

Mar 252011

Avalon 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Toyota Avalon. Consumer states unintended acceleration the consumer stated while stopped at a light with his foot on the brake, the engine suddenly revved up and the vehicle accelerated half way into the intersection. He kept his foot on the brake as hard as possible. He was able to put the gear in park and shut off the engine. When the light turned green, he restarted the engine with no problems. The vehicle was taken to the dealer the next day where the they performed a modification to the brake master cylinder.

- Applegate, OR, USA

problem #74

Mar 252011

Avalon

  • 9,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon limited. When the contact attempted to make a left turn with his foot on the brake pedal the rpms increased, the vehicle continued to accelerate into the intersection. He engaged the brakes with extreme pressure, turned the engine off and placed the vehicle in park. He restarted the vehicle and it functioned normally. The contact stated that this was the first and only time the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on March 26, 2011. The dealer was unable to locate the failure but modified the brake cylinder. The contact stated that he filed a complaint with the manufacturer. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 9,500 and the current mileage was 9,590. Updated 05/04/11 updated 1/11/11

- Applegate, OR, USA

problem #73

Mar 012011

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
While parking my 2006 Toyota Avalon I pulled into parking space applied brakes and was about to place vehicle in park when it suddenly accelerated and struck the vehicle ahead of me causing damage to both cars. All the recalls from Toyota associated with this problem have been completed prior to this accident. This car has 32000 miles, this is the first time this has happened however I fear it is not the last, have scheduled car to go to the Toyota dealership we purchased it from.

- 7538, FL, USA

problem #72

Dec 312010

Avalon

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The driver was driving at an unknown speed when the vehicle surged forward, resulting in a crash. A police report was filed and the driver was reported injured. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 78,000.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?