Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The Camry Hybrid's first year is a mixed bag of brake actuators failing and power issues. The hybrid version even shares the same excessive oil consumption as its non-hybrid counterpart. And it hardly gets enough fuel efficiency gains to warrant the extra costs up-front or during repairs.

Toyota seemed to get their act together with later model years, so if you're looking for a used Camry Hybrid I suggest looking there.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
94,323 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Hybrid Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Apr 182013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles


As I was approaching a pedestrian crossing, the ABS light and check vsc light and brake light went on in my Camry hybrid. When I tried to apply brakes to stop, I realized that the brakes completely failed. I did a sharp evasive turn and hit the curb hard in attempt not to run over pedestrians in the crossing! the lights subsequently disappeared and brakes resumed their normal function after a few minutes. The issue of brakes failing is intermittent and happened subsequently several times at various speeds. When taken to the dealer at first I was told there were no codes registered in the computer and the brakes operate standard. When I insisted after approximately 7 hours of testing the dealer told me the problem is with the brake control unit (computer). After researching online I discovered its a widespread problem!!! and yet Toyota is behaving immoral not recalling the faulty parts that in many cases can not even be diagnosed. Moreover they do not even admit that there's an issue! updated 8/22/13

- Lanham , MD, USA

problem #12

May 312013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 84,119 miles
While driving on the highway, the vsc check system, ABS, hazards, and warning lights came on. Basically, my dashboard lit up. The car also started to lose braking power, so I pulled over. I tried to turn off and restart the engine 3 times, but all the lights were still there. I had an event to attend, and drove my car in fear. After finally able to take the car to run diagnostics at the dealer, I was quoted $3000 to replace a faulty brake accumulator. I am also aware that this issue is more common, especially on Toyota Camry hybrids around 5 years old. It is ridiculous to have to pay 10% of my car's original price, since it is a widespread safety hazard. It is beyond coincidence that Toyota Camry hybrids are experiencing this problem.

- San Marcos, TX, USA

problem #11

Jun 062013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 86,121 miles
We owned this Toyota Camry hybrid since 10/20/2012. This morning about 6:10am, my wife was driving to a speed of 40mph on university drive North bound. She was passing a pothole which had stand water. She slightly press the brakes, but when she came out of the pothole, the car instead of slow down, went "crazy" to a speed of 60 mph. My wife keep the brakes pressed but the car was out of control; car went across from East to West, jumping two lines. When the car was close to hit the median, she steer it, to cross in the middle then went crazy South bond, where she was coming from.the Camry final stopped after about 50 seconds, she was against the incoming traffic.the point is that this car instead of stop when the brakes are applied, takes more speed. Thank you.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #10

Feb 232013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 102,000 miles


While driving my wife's 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid the "check vsc system" warning came on. Power brake system turned off and the car became difficult to stop. I pulled over and tried to reset the error by turning the car off then on again a few times. Still no luck. I felt I could get it to the dealer a couple miles away since the streets I used weren't highly trafficked. Was told by the dealer that the vsc computer had failed and that it was a $2200 repair. I did a quick search: and found this thread of this issue being a somewhat common issue and seems to be a safety concern but now recall: updated 7/31/13 the brake pedal had to be depressed almost to the floor, to stop the vehicle. However it would stop completely without slowing down. When traveling above 25 mph, it would take longer to stop.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #9

May 262013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 68,057 miles
All of the warning lights came on, then up came check vsc system. Looked it up in the auto manual. Sunday, holiday weekend. On the way home, stopped into auto zone, plugged in a computer diagnostic, code C1391 comes up. Went home investigated online, found that this is common with many Camry hybrids, . not being recalled. Big money and big safety issue here. Costing consumers thousands of dollars, my first day out with this as this just happened with me at 9 am today. 07-29-13.... updated 08/01/13

- Englewood, FL, USA

problem #8

May 092013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 64,240 miles
I was driving at approximately 20 miles per hour and coming to a stop when the vsc warning light, brake warning light, and tire pressure warning lights came on. The light remained on after restarting the engine and the brake pedal became more resistant to braking. The problem in my car actually began months before the warning lights came on and was not correctly diagnosed at the dealership. Early signs were excessive clicking sounds coming from the brake actuator assembly on the right front area of the engine compartment, and an intermittent hydraulic sound when the brake pedal was kept depressed. After the repair I found that this problem is common on the 2007 Camry hybrid. The repair involved replacement of the brake actuator assembly and was extremely expensive.....updated 08/01/13 there seemed to be a delay in stopping the vehicle after the warning lights came on. Prior to that, the consumer heard clicking sounds. However, before the warning lights came on, the stopping seemed normal.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #7

Jan 142013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 109,000 miles


There is a leak in the ABS accumulator that causes my brakes to pulse and a alarm to sound, which is a loud whining noise. I have had my rotors and brake pads replaces but that did not resolve the issue, my mechanic thinks is it the accumulator, which cost 1800 dollars just for the part. I have researched and seen hundreds of complaints about this part online. I can't afford to pay 2K for a repair at this time and I am afraid to drive my car but I have no choice due to my work and need to commute. Update 6/27/2013: The problem is persistent now and the brake pedal pulses as if it is pushing back when step down on it, it definitely affects my breaking distance. I have to start breaking much sooner than normal. Vehicle has not been repaired as the cost actually has been quoted by dch Toyota of oxnard service department on 6/8/13 for $3,250 to replace ABS actuator system. Part was $2399 alone. Updated 7/31/13

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 082012

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
'check vsc system' along with brake light warning, ABS warning, and pretty much every other warning light possible came on my 2007 Camry hybrid around June of 2012. I hear pulsating under the hood constantly & when I turn on my car while in park with my foot on brake my car will begin to roll backwards by itself, I attempt to pump the breaks but it never works. I have to wait about 5-10 sec like there is a delay with my brake system when I first turn on my car. Once the brakes finally kick in my car will either jolt in very drastic way like I slammed on my brakes even though my foot has been on the brakes the whole time or it will throttle back on its own like I'm pushing on the gas. I will never park on a hill in fear of my car just taking off on its own with no brakes to stop it. I have to literally turn on my car and wait for my breaks to kick in before I can reverse. It is very scary! it has happened to me once as well when I was driving and I coming to a stop, my brakes just went out and kicked back in on its own. I brought my car to a Toyota dealership to have them check it out. They brought back a quote of $5,900! instead of trying one thing at a time they just wanted to replace everything at once. My car was right at the 5 year warranty mark but because I bought my car in guam they couldn't tell if my car was still under warranty and I would have to pay out of pocket. 2007 only 45000 miles with a 6 thousand dollar repair! that is insane let alone it is a hybrid feature & a safety issue! to me this should be covered under warranty no matter what! look online you can see hundreds of people complaining about this exact issue! people have even made websites for it! I'm very disappointed in Toyota. I'm stuck with this car that I cant afford to fix! so I drive every day in what seems to me like a death trap! it's just not right.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #5

Feb 152013

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 87,225 miles
The vehicle had been for the past weeks with a pulsating noise under the hood, specially at stops waiting for a red light. You can feel the pulsation on the pedal when you depress the brake pedal. The noise gets louder the harder you press the pedal and the car seems like its trying to move forward on its own. No problem lights were on the control panel until it reached 87,225. After that I had the ABS, brake, warning, vst lights all on with the message of check vst on the lcd of the control panel. Took the car to the dealer and after inspection they determined that the ABS actuator module had to be replaced. The quote was for $2,600!!!!! I started searching online and found out several other Camry owners had the same problem. I'm filing the complaint because this is a very critical component in terms of safety and it is failing at a very low mileage (under 100K) and sometimes even under 60K. Also the cost of repair is so high you have no choice but to increase the financial burden because it is a part that it is critical for the car's safety operation. I would never drive a car with brake problems. Please investigate this issue. Updated 08/15/13

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #4

Nov 012012

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
The"check vsc system" sensor came on while I was driving. I was doing approximately 45 mph on the road. The road conditions were good and I keep up with maintenance. The ABS failure light, brake and warning icons. I have it checked out and I'm told by Toyota car's ABS accumulator system and water pump must be replaced and that they hadn't have such issues before. After much research, this is a common complaint among Toyota Camry hybrid owners. This seems to be a design flaw and worse, my break pads and tires are brand new. This shouldn't be an issue but breaks pulsate and makes the vehicle unsafe as you can't control breaks when needed, especially, while parked on a inclined position. I am very concerned for my safety and the safety of others if my breaks were to fail because Toyota has failed to recognize this as a vital recall repair. Without brakes you can kill or injure someone and that bad water pump can cause your engine to overheat. Please look into this and have Toyota take responsibility for this situation!

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #3

Sep 172012

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 123,000 miles


Vsc system, check engine, and emergency brake lights come on at the same time the brakes stopped working properly. I was braking and the brake peddle pushed back at me, releasing the brakes. When I continued to depress the brakes, the usual resistance and braking power was gone. I had to press down as hard as I could to get the car to stop. This is intermittent and tends to happen when the car is cold. Dealership could not discover a problem as the computer did not record an error. Internet research indicated other Toyota hybrid owners experienced the same problem and determined the cause was the stroke sensor. When I returned the vehicle to a different dealership, they insisted I change the tires. The problem continues to occur. Updated 07/30/13 updated 8/22/13

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #2

Oct 052012

Camry Hybrid

  • 119,170 miles
While my wife was driving the car a warning ("check vsc system") appeared in the status screen and about a minute after, another message appeared ("check hybrid system"). then, the car stopped running. The impulse allowed for driving the car to the road side. Tried to power it back without success. It was required to tow the car home and then to the dealership for diagnostic. Prior this incident there were no previous warnings or signs.

- Santa Isabel, PR, USA

problem #1

Dec 142011

Camry Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 73,118 miles
Minutes after leaving home while traveling 10 mph in the neighborhood, all of the warning lights on the dash illuminated - brake, vsc, tire, etc. The car lost acceleration, the steering became "gummy", and the brakes became "mushy". it took constant, complete depression of the brake pedal to stop the car over a length of about 25 feet. I took the car to 355 Toyota in rockville, md where it was hooked to a computer, but no problem was detected. The problem occurred a second and third time, once minutes after startup and once while traveling at 30 mph not far from my destination, thankfully. After parking the car for 2 hours, the car drove normally. The fourth time this problem occurred, I had just left the capital beltway and was in the process of braking in order to safely round a cloverleaf onto river road. The brakes were barely responsive, and I narrowly missed crashing into the cars in front of me. I took the car back to 355 Toyota on December 27. The car was kept for 24 hours. The mechanics could find nothing wrong with it. I was told this was the very first time a problem such as mine has been reported to 355 Toyota. A google query proved that this problem is more pervasive than the dealership knows or is willing to admit knowing. Updated 7/31/13 the consumer experienced another episode and the vehicle was left at the dealer, where the tech experienced the problem himself. The technician added brake fluid. Since the brake fluid was added, the vehicle has performed perfectly.

- Rockville, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?