Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,130 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Prius lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 32 of 40)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #164

Jan 132009


  • 30,000 miles


Intermittent lose of headlights that can be either the driver's or the passenger's lamp. System can be restored by recycling the headlight switch.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #163

Jan 062009


  • 44,000 miles
The headlights intermittently go out. They go back on when you turn them on and off a few times. It seems to be totally random. I was pulled over by the police last night because the light was out, but it went on when I turned the switch on and off so the policeman did not ticket me. The dealer is looking to charge me $450 to replace the headlight.

- Manhattan Beach, CA, USA

problem #162

Jan 122009


  • miles
For the past several months the headlights on my 2006 Toyota Prius intermittently go out while driving. This occurs randomly, sometimes four or five times a day four days out of the week. Although it may be more often as I don't notice it in the daylight hours. They only come back on when they are turned completely off and then back on which is not very safe when you're driving on the highway in traffic. Now they've started "flickering", too. I went to the dealership the first week of December 2008 to have the problem fixed, but was informed by the service advisor the I need to return when I could leave the vehicle ( with the holidays was not able to return in Dec.) the problem continued and on the latest visit to the dealer 1/12/2009, I was informed by the dealership that they could not fix the problem because they thought it was a "contact problem "and that after the vehicle warmed up the problem would stop. After disagreeing with the service advisor I was told they would contact Toyota to see if this was a problem they had encountered before. Toyota's solution was to replace the light bulbs at a cost of approximately $600 but this was not guaranteed to fix the problem. This "fix" was refused due to the lack of assurance that it would fix the problem. After doing a small amount of research on the internet I found there appears to be a widespread problem with headlights on the Toyota Prius. There appears to be a bigger problem that the local dealer is willing to discuss.

- Vilonia, AR, USA

problem #161

Jan 112009


  • 30,000 miles


Headlights go off at random times mostly the right (passenger) side but it has happened on the driver side also. When this happens I have discovered that they come back on if I turn off the lights and then back on. After driving for a short time they start going off again or sometimes it will stay on until I don't need them. The next time I use the headlights they work fine for a few minutes and then it starts all over again. Of course it's night when the headlights are used and with one of the other of the lights out this causes a visibility problem and can't see the road clearly. I have received a warning/equipment repair order from my local police and the dealer can't find a problem. The dealer has checked them a couple of times and can not find any problem.

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #160

Apr 062008


  • miles
Hid headlamp failure at 45,000 miles and again at 74,000 miles.

- Sonoita, AZ, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #159

Jan 102009


  • 52,000 miles
Prius 2006 with headlamp problems that appears to be electrical and not just the bulbs. One headlight will go out then if I switch off the lights both will come on. It is not always the same light that goes out. When I turn on my lights it draws on the brightness of the dash lights and they dim. I will be driving with lights on and all the lights will go off until I switch the lights on once again. The dealer has informed me this is the led headlights which are 400 ea. And $90. Installation. This is outrageous and I know it is not just the lamps therefore they will then proceed to charge me for what ever else they think it might be such as the computer system. This should be under warranty. I paid the extra money for an extended warranty and they tell me this is not covered. I have been driving with this problem as I can not afford to fix the problem and do not trust the dealer to continue to charge me for this issue. After reading the chat rooms with other individuals with similar problems, this is a defect and needs to be recalled. They have been reporting this problem since 2004 or 2005. Why has this not been addressed.

- Flagstaff, AZ, USA

problem #158

Jan 082009


  • 11,000 miles


My headlights go out for no reason. While I'm driving, one headlight will go out. I will turn them off and back on and they are working again. Sometimes they work all day, sometimes they don't. sometimes it's the drivers side and sometimes it's the passenger side. The dealer tells me the headlight assemblies have to be replaced at a cost of around $1000!! much more if the circuit board is replaced.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #157

Dec 272008


  • 40,000 miles
Headlight/electrical problem. One headlight out intermittently starting in mid-November. Both headlights went out on 12/27/2008. We pulled over and turned the lights off and when we turned them back on both re-lit. On 1/2/2009 we were pulled over by police and given a verbal safety warning that one headlight was out. Later that evening, after stopping the car for a short time both lights came back on. On 1/5/2009, we took the car to the dealer with the left light out. When they started the car the next day they found both lights to be working. They inspected all connections then found that the right light was out. They said it would cost $250 to replace the bulb. We contacted Toyota and on 1/7/09 they offered to replace the right bulb for free. I drove home before my wife and as she arrived home I saw one light out. Unfortunately, by the time I got out to the car, my wife had shut it off and I could not recall which one was out. When we restarted the car, both lights came on.

- Roslyn, PA, USA

problem #156

Jan 042009


  • 42,216 miles
Front left headlight stopped working at night on a 2006 Toyota Prius. It never worked again. This is a safety issue. I understand this is a common problem on the 2006 Prius. Have to have it replaced at a cost of $325 at dealership! there should be a recall.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #155

Sep 012008


  • 47,000 miles
My 2006 Toyota Prius has 52,000 miles on it. The driver's side headlight will turn on when I switch them on, then will go out a few minutes into my trip, and when I turn the lights off then on again it comes back on. I have noticed this problem with both headlights, although it is more common with the driver's side light. This occurs almost every time I drive. Based on what I've read, this appears to be a manufacturer's defect.

- Mountain View, CA, USA

problem #154

Jan 022009


  • 55,310 miles


I own a 2006 Toyota Prius. For the last 6 months the driver side front headlight intermittently goes out. If we shut off our headlights and then back on, it will re-light for an indeterminate amount of time and then the problem repeats itself. I've been stopped twice by the police and given warnings. I'be taken it to the dealership three times now to have it fixed. The first time, they said they couldn't find anything wrong. The second time, they could make it happen, but by banging the front of the hood could get the headlight to illuminate, and suggested I just live with the issue, as replacing the headlight would be "expensive" (no amount mentioned). Today I brought the car in for its regular maintenance work, as the light on the dashboard suggested it was time. The dealership is ira Toyota of manchester nh 03101. Their # is: 603-624-1800. My complaint is that when they changed the bulb they charged $157.82 for the lightbulb and another $180 for labor to replace it. I've never heard of such costs to replace a headlight. I went on the www tonight to see if my situation was unusual and found that many consumers are having this same issue with their 2006 Prius. It was recommended that we file a complaint with I am. The website with the information regarding this common incident is: please look into this. Thank you.

- Contoocook, NH, USA

problem #153

Sep 222007


  • 26,759 miles
Headlights went out on Prius 2006 model. First one went bad, coming on at times; then the other one went bad and I would be driving in the complete dark-very scary. I had reported it to the Toyota dealer and they said nothing was wrong and there had not been any similar problem reported. I went back again the next week with the same complaint. The supervisor of maintenance said he would look into it. Finally, the last time I told them that if I end up in a fatality D/T this problem with the headlights, someone in Toyota will be in deep trouble. That is when the supervisor took care of the problem the next day. The car was still under warranty. Same thing happened next year 2008. I had to have the two front headlights replaced and this time out of my pocket which is very ridiculously expensive.

- Gloucester, VA, USA

problem #152

Dec 012007


  • miles
2006 Toyota Prius with hid lights. At 30,000 miles, in December 2007, the passenger side light began to turn off by itself. It would turn back on if we turned the lights completely off, then on again (dangerous at night, of course). At 35,000 miles, the dealership estimated $350 to replace the bulb, but then replaced bulb under warranty. At 50,000 miles the drivers side headlight began to do the same thing. We could not afford to pay for the replacement so have been turning off and on to remedy. Last week the passengers side headlight started doing it again, even though it is only 1 year old. There are times we have one headlight, and times we have no headlights other than the fog lights. We have been stopped by police and given a warning about a headlight being out. This is a dangerous situation and we think that it cannot be the hid lamps themselves, as they come back on again when we recycle the switch. It must be a computer or relay. We have discovered that there are many other Prius owners with the same exact issue: See the forum at

- Chelsea, MA, USA

problem #151

Dec 272008


  • miles
2006 Toyota Prius front driver side hid headlight turns off. If I turn the lights off and then back on, the headlight comes back on and functions perfectly. This happens at random occasions (day, night, smooth roads, dry, wet conditions), checked connection and all connections are fine.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #150

Jun 032007


  • 25,000 miles
My 2006 Prius left driver headlight began going on and off randomly and frequently at about 25,000 mi. I reported the problem to the dealer several times, but they couldn't diagnose the problem unless the headlight was out, which of course it wasn't. on occasion if I turned the headlights on and off the light would come back on temporarily. This was documented prior to the warranty running out. Finally, the headlight was completely out...the dealer and I argued over the warranty and they finally agreed to fix the problem. They replaced the bulbs and now again 30,000 mi. Later the same problem is re-occurring. This time however, turning lights on and off doesn't resolve the problem even temporarily. And once again they are refusing to take responsibility. I live on a dark country road and have found myself slowing to speeds of 25mph just to get home safely.

- Paso Robles, CA, USA

problem #149

Jun 012007


  • 85,100 miles
1. under normal driving conditions, the right hid headlight bulb on my 2006 Prius failed. 2. the right hid headlight bulb goes/flickers off. The lights have to be turned off and on to temporarily correct the problem. Over time, the problem has gotten progressively worse. 3. I have gone to 3 different Toyota dealerships and have been told that the replacement cost would be over $400 parts & labor. Recently, I have found a bulb at a dealership for $157 parts only.

- Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, USA

problem #148

Dec 102008


  • 28,473 miles
Hid bulb intermittently shuts off in my 2006 Toyota Prius. Toyota wants to replace bulb ($162.50 each). However, according to the blogs, this is a recurring problem with Prius's and may be a "controller" problem, not a bulb issue.

- Gladwyne, PA, USA

problem #147

Aug 152008


  • 40,000 miles
Either headlight will go out at times. Am able to restart headlight by turning headlight switch off and back to on.

- Wales, WI, USA

problem #146

Dec 202008


  • 25,919 miles
Intermittent bilateral headlight failure of 2006 Toyota Prius. The car has less than 30,000 miles on it. When lights are turned off and on quickly the failing light will come back on again. However, this has only proved to be a temporary solution since both headlights will randomly turn off again at a later time.

- San Carlos, CA, USA

problem #145

Nov 202008


  • 36,600 miles
Passenger side headlamp ceased working after several minutes of driving. The lamp returns to normal operation after the light switch is cycled off and then back on. This problem has recurred three times.

- Castro Valley, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?