10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,506 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Prius lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 8 of 40)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #653

Jul 012010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Within 6 months I had a headlight from my 2006 Toyota Prius go out from both sides. Cost $300+ to fix each one.

- Merced, CA, USA

problem #652

Mar 012011

Prius

  • 55,000 miles
Drivers side head light intermittantly turns on and off

- Palo Alto, CA, USA

problem #651

Mar 082011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 99,521 miles
2006 Toyota Prius. Headlights keep burning out. I have replaced the headlights twice now and they burn out within three months. There has to be some problem with the wiring for these headlights.

- Shawnee, KS, USA

problem #650

Mar 082011

Prius

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2006 Toyota Prius with hid headlights. The right headlight is intermittent. This is a safety hazard especially driving down a dark road at night.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #649

Mar 062011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 98,852 miles
Purchased a used 2006 Toyota Prius in December 2009. Current mileage is 98K. Received a notice last week about a class action settlement which would pay for past headlight replacement costs, and extend the new vehicle limited warranty through the earlier of 5 years or 50,000 miles. Two days ago, after driving 30 minutes in rain with the headlights on, I found the left headlight was out. Turned off the vehicle, and ten minutes later drove one mile and stopped, and found the right headlight was out. Upon returning home, the right headlight was out and the left headlight was flickering; I recorded this with video on my phone...and within 20 seconds the flickering bulb also went out. I have teenage drivers - this is a safety issue, not just a maintenance issue! both lights could burn out on a dark unlit road without warning and the driver -- especially an inexperienced driver -- could have a very serious accident. I have no idea if the previous owner experienced this problem when the car had less than 50,000 miles or not. But the bottom line is that this is an unpredictable safety issue which can occur at any time and at any speed....and the class action settlement does not ensure that this unsafe situation will be corrected for all Prius with hid headlights! NHTSA - we request your help with this situation.

- Durham, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #648

Mar 032011

Prius 4-cyl

  • miles
I own a 2006 Toyota Prius with hid headlights. The headlights turn off by themselves intermittently. Sometimes one, sometimes both. You can't always tell when they are off because, in general, the headlights do a very poor job of illuminating the road in front of the vehicle. I have complained to the dealer since I have owned the car but have been consistently told that there is nothing wrong, just that maybe the car needs to have the headlights replaced. This has been happening off and on since I purchased the vehicle in August 2006.

- Shaker Heights, OH, USA

problem #647

Feb 012011

Prius

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problem with intermittent hid headlight operation

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #646

Aug 102010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Headlights have failed repeatedly on 2006 Toyota Prius. Owner replaced headlamps three times; dealer has replaced two headlamps. In one case, headlight ceased working then later worked. This began in August 2010 and has continued ever since with latest headlight outage occurring 02/12/2011.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #645

Feb 052011

Prius

  • 78,500 miles
The hid headlights on this vehicle are intermittent. Either or both headlights fail without warning, and re illuminate by cycling the headlight switch. So far one dealer repair attempt has not been successful in fixing the problem. Repairs for this headlight system are very expensive, and not always successful.

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #644

Feb 032011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
I own a 2006 Toyota Prius with original hid headlights. The headlight on the driver side keeps flickering and going out. I have to turn off the lights and then turn them back on to make the light come back on.

- Sebastian, FL, USA

problem #643

Jan 282010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Toyota is charging over $250 for replacement of one hid light buld. This makes it very difficult to replace a piece of required safety equipment on the 2006 Prius.

- Nottingham, MD, USA

problem #642

Jan 272011

Prius

  • miles
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I've got a package 6 2006 Prius. One of the headlights keeps going out. I can't really tell when or how it goes out since I can't see it. If I turn the bright lights on and off it has no effect, but when I turn them all the way off and back on the light comes back. Sometimes on long trips it will stay on the whole time, sometimes it won't. sometimes on short trips it will go out, sometimes it won't. I've read that this is a common problem with the model.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #641

Jul 122010

Prius

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, both the front and passenger headlight failed simultaneously. The contact received a ticket because of the failure. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The manufacturer had not been notified. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Costa Masa, CA, USA

problem #640

Dec 302010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Hid headlamps go out without warning. Sometimes just one, more recently both, so driver loses ability to see at night. Turning light switch off and then on again restores the lights, but they go out again after a while. The one-light failure has been happening intermittently over the last several weeks; in last two weeks both lights have gone out at once, and the problem has become frequent and hazardous.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #639

Jan 082011

Prius

  • 123,000 miles
2006 Toyota Prius. Faulty headlights. Replaced both headlights in Aug 2010 only to have one fail Jan. 3 and the other failed Jan 8 2011. Added daytime running lights by dealer in 2007 so do not have the ability to turn them off and on. Do not understand how one can have both lights fail as stated in so many other complaints.

- Apache Junction, AZ, USA

problem #638

Jul 012010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
I own a 2006 Toyota Prius. I purchased the vehicle new. It has approximately 57,000 miles. For the past six months, the front headlights will randomly stop working - sometimes the driver's side, sometimes the passenger side, sometimes both headlights. If I turn the headlight switch off and back on the lights will come back on. It is my understanding that over 1,000 Prius owners have reported this same problem to NHTSA. Please add my report to this database.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #637

Jan 052011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Driver side head lamp flickered, then went off causing limited visibility. Has happened several times.

- Palisades Park, NJ, USA

problem #636

Apr 102010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Headlights on 2006 Toyota Prius keep going on and off for no apparent reason. Complaint has been made to Toyota and all they have done is to reduce the price of the hid bulbs.

- Waterloo, NY, USA

problem #635

Dec 202010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
2006 Toyota Prius hid headlights intermittently fail. Initially the problem would occur once out of every 5 times when using the headlights... now the failure occurs every time and switches between passenger & drivers headlight failing -- have not had both fail at the same time. Passenger side is usual culprit. System resets and can last for hours of nighttime driving just by turning lights off then on again. Vehicle has not been involved in any accidents and I have followed the routine Toyota service schedule. Toyota expects owners to fork out large sums of cash to replace bulbs but are not addressing the underlying safety issue that intermittent headline failure causes. Safety recall is in order!

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #634

Dec 122010

Prius

  • 32,000 miles
2006 Prius hid headlights and taillights failed. The lights quality is very bad. We were forced to stop by the policeman. It was very dangerous on highway. Toyota is losing its reputation. The company should pay all the price for changing the bulbs. (labor + bulbs) our 2002 Hyundai's lights have never been in this situation.

- State College, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?