Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,097 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Prius fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Prius Owner Comments

problem #8

Apr 302016

Prius

  • 55,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel gauge not reading properly in car. Car label states 11.9 gallon capacity in fuel tank. Gas gauge shows one bar of gas left in car, but it takes only six gallons of gas to fill up automobile. This misleading gas gauge means drivers do not know what the true reading of gas is remaining in their fuel tanks which could lead to the car running out of fuel in the wrong place at the wrong time. This occurs when the car is moving.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #7

Dec 092009

Prius

  • 40,002 miles
I have owned two 2007 Toyota Prius. Both have been totaled due to what I believe is a failure of the hybrid drivetrain to disengage during emergency braking. This report is regarding the first vehicle. I have filed a separate report for the second vehicle which I still have in my possession. First 2007 Prius, purchased new in 2007. On Dec 9, 2009, to avoid a collision, I fully pressed the brakes with full force however the Prius continued to propel forward. I should easily have been able to stop the vehicle in time. As it continued to propel forward, I collided with the other car. The speed at the moment of impact was approx 25 mph. No airbags were deployed. The vehicle was deemed a total loss due to the extensive cost of repairing the hybrid system. I have the photographs of the accident and the police report. Second Toyota Prius: I purchased an exact replacement used 2007 Prius in Dec 2009. On October 17, 2015, a car stopped abruptly in front of my wife who was driving at approx 40 mph. She reported pressing on the brakes with full force but that the Prius continued to propel forward. She hit car in front then swerved to the right as the Prius continued to propel forward. She steered to the left into the center median and the Prius stopped. The car then caught on fire. No airbags were deployed. I have the photographs of the vehicle and the police report. I contacted Toyota in Nov 2015. An investigation was opened. A Toyota ¿field technical specialist¿ inspected the vehicle. I signed an ¿edr consent form¿ for Toyota to read any data from the vehicle. However due to the fire, they were not able to read any data. On January 26, 2016 I received a letter from a legal claims administrator at Toyota motor sales, usa, Inc., stating ¿our inspection was unable to confirm any evidence of a manufacturing or design defect in your vehicle¿.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #6

Oct 172015

Prius

  • 102,000 miles
I have owned two 2007 Toyota Prius. Both have been totaled due to what I believe is a failure of the hybrid drivetrain to disengage during emergency braking. First 2007 Prius, purchased new in 2007. On Dec 9, 2009, to avoid a collision, I fully pressed the brakes with full force however the Prius continued to propel forward. I should easily have been able to stop the vehicle in time. As it continued to propel forward, I collided with the other car. The speed at the moment of impact was approx 25 mph. No airbags were deployed. The vehicle was deemed a total loss due to the extensive cost of repairing the hybrid system. I have the photographs of the accident and the police report. Second Toyota Prius: I purchased an exact replacement used 2007 Prius in Dec 2009. On October 17, 2015, a car stopped abruptly in front of my wife who was driving at approx 40 mph. She reported pressing on the brakes with full force but that the Prius continued to propel forward. She hit car in front then swerved to the right as the Prius continued to propel forward. She steered to the left into the center median and the Prius stopped. The car then caught on fire. No airbags were deployed. I have the photographs of the vehicle and the police report. I contacted Toyota in Nov 2015. An investigation was opened. A Toyota ¿field technical specialist¿ inspected the vehicle. I signed an ¿edr consent form¿ for Toyota to read any data from the vehicle. However due to the fire, they were not able to read any data. On January 26, 2016 I received a letter from a legal claims administrator at Toyota motor sales, usa, Inc., stating ¿our inspection was unable to confirm any evidence of a manufacturing or design defect in your vehicle¿. I continue to own the vehicle and have it in my possession at this time.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #5

Oct 012015

Prius

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle only has 110K miles on it. Check engine starting going on when accelerating on uphill. Full up gas tank & light would go off. Then check engine would go on when low gas level. Told to change gascap. Did not resolve issue. Filling pulled codes it was catalytic converter. Part cost $1700 for part alone for a part that is suppose to last lifetime of car.

- Lotus, CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 052015

Prius

  • 105,800 miles
I'm the original owner and do my own regular oil changes at the manufacture specified intervals of 5000 miles. This last time I noticed not much oil coming out of the drain pan, poured it back into an empty oil jug to measure and yes only 1.5 quarts drained out. I haven't seen any smoke or smelled any oil burning and no obvious leaks. I don't run the engine hard or at high speeds (less than half my driving is interstate) but can't figure out why it's all of a sudden started using oil. When I searched online it seems to be a common failure with Prius over 100K miles. I want to add my other Toyota and Honda vehicles have lasted well over 200K and 180K miles with no engine troubles at all (I also do the maintenance on them)

- Opelika, AL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #3

Feb 032014

Prius

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle would suddenly shut off without warning. The contact discovered that the vehicle was out of fuel although the fuel gauge indicated that 1/2 tank of fuel was present. The contact indicated that the failure had occurred on multiple occasions. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Plainsfield, IN, USA

problem #2

Oct 132014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 86,642 miles
I was driving home last night and various warning lights came on. Within a short time the vehicle lost all power (entered a failsafe mode) and the hybrid system shut down while I was driving. The result was a complete loss of power and the vehicle came to a stop in traffic. I was close to the curb and turned on my emergency flashers. Called a tow truck and will take this to the dealer. I called Toyota customer service to see if others had experienced anything similar and they had no access to any information about other customer's experiences. They did say that there are no active recalls for this make and model year. A recall for the 2010 - 2014 Toyota Prius was issued in February 2014 for what sounds like a similar problem. While this wasn't a life threatening issue for me last night, in a press release drivers who've experienced similar issues were warned to get out of their vehicles because they could be in danger from being rear ended.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #1

Jul 162014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 56,634 miles
Master warning light, brake warning light (yellow) and vehicle stability control warning light came on with one beep when vehicle stopped at traffic light. Proceeded to friend's house (approximately 2 miles) and made appointment with Toyota dealer for following morning. In morning car would start but not go into drive. Ready light not on. Car towed to dealer. Code checker scan codes P0aa6, 526 and 613. "transaxle failure." Transaxle (part 30900-47040) replaced with cost of $4948.04. I am concerned that on a busy freeway this could occur with loss of braking, steering and stability control and result in an accident or injury (including death). Toyota states that this is not a common problem. General warranty expired in Oct. 2013.

- Okemos, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?