Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,168 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Prius lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

Mar 262009


  • miles


2007 Prius hid headlight failure - drivers side hid bulb (part # 90981-20015 and computer sub-assy 81107-47150 was replaced by Toyota santa monica on March 26, 2009 @ 33,929 mileage. & passenger side. First incident (drivers side).

- Calabasas, CA, USA

problem #43

Dec 172009

Prius 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. While driving 65 mph the headlights would intermittently shutt off. A technician from the dealer advised him that they would investigate the failure. No repairs were made. Identical failures have occurred approximately 6 times. The failure mileage was 28000. The current mileage was 28500. Updated 01/15/10. Updated 01/19/10.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #42

Dec 092009


  • 46,500 miles
The headlights on my 2007 Toyota Prius have started to randomly turn off. Sometimes it's just one light, sometimes it's all of them. I live on a windy county road with no lighting. Last night I completed my drive home at 25 mph, with the turn indicator lighting my way. This was one my way home from the Toyota dealer, where they could not duplicate the problem. I've since learned that this is not an isolated event, but is happening to Prius rather commonly. No one has been hurt. Yet.

- Cohasset, CA, USA

problem #41

Jun 272009


  • 35,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. While driving 15 mph the passenger side headlight failed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle has not been repaired at this time. The failure mileage was 35,000. The current mileage was 40,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Sycsset, NY, USA

problem #40

Jun 032009


  • 75,850 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that whenever she was driving the headlights came on and shut off intermittently. Occasionally, the headlights would not come back on for fifteen minutes after they shut off. The accelerator pedal also began sticking to the floor; however, there were no floor mats in her vehicle. The dealer informed her that for $400 they would replace the bulbs in the vehicle. There were no related recalls. The VIN number was unknown. The failure mileage was 75,850.

- Castleton, VA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #39

Jul 202008


  • miles
Drivers side headlight goes off intermittently. Turning off headlight switch and back on restores headlight operation. Got fixer ticket from chp about a year and a half ago. Reported it to the dealer (fairfield Toyota) during a regular service visit, and they said they tightened a connection. It still continues to happen almost daily.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #38

Apr 012009


  • 50,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. The headlights would intermittently fail. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and replaced twice. He filed report number 091011805 with the manufacturer, but was not provided with any assistance. The failure mileage was 50,000. The current mileage was 70,000. The VIN was not available.

- San Jose , CA, USA

problem #37

Nov 162009


  • 44,890 miles
Headlights turn off intermittently for no reason on my Prius. When I turn them off again, then on, they work. This is very dangerous when it happens at night.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #36

Nov 062009


  • 55,000 miles
2007 Prius headlights one or both go out in during drive.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #35

Nov 122009


  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. While driving at night approximately 30 mph on normal road conditions suddenly, the headlights failed without warning. The driver experienced extremely limited visibility. The headlights began to function when the control switch was turned to the "off" and "on" position. The failure occurred intermittently. An authorized dealer was notified. The vehicle is in the process of being inspected and repaired. The failure and current mileages were 74,000.

- Auburn , NY, USA

problem #34

Sep 212009


  • 23,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. While driving 35 mph at night, the headlights failed without any prior warnings. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection; however, the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 23,000 and the current mileage was 25,000. Update 12/14/09 the consumer stated the headlights were replaced. Updated 12/16/09

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #33

Jul 152009

Prius 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. Her passenger side hd headlights failed, which subsequently reduced her visibility. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, and a technician concluded that both head-lights needed to be replaced at an expense of $400. The vehicle was not repaired, because she believes that the manufacturer should assume responsibility. The failure mileage was 52000. The current mileage was 57000. Updated12/11/09 updated 12/11/09.

- Capistrano, CA, USA

problem #32

Oct 172007


  • 14,000 miles
Toyota Prius hd headlights intermittently go out and then back on. When headlights go out, turning off and on will reset for several minutes. Driving at night makes the headlight problem dangerous. Lightbulbs are new, problem continues.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #31

Feb 262008


  • 15,000 miles
Headlights go out intermittently and out remain unlit. This has occurred four times in a year and a half. At one point in time both lamps went out at the same time. The dealer maintains that this is not an on going issue with this vehicle. Each time I have gone in for repair the dealer maintains that the problem is either that the bulb is, loose, burnt, or defective. These bulbs are in excess of $150 each.

- Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #30

Aug 082009


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. The hid headlights continually fail. He has to repeatedly turn the lights on and then off for operation. No repairs were made. The failure and current mileages were 70,000.

- Frankford, IN, USA

problem #29

Aug 102009


  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. While driving 40 mph, the hid headlights shut off without any warning. The lights have shut on and off for approximately 4 weeks. The dealer stated the they would repair the hid headlights for $1500. The dealer also confirmed that the manufacturer is aware of the hid light failure. The contact will not drive the vehicle at night due to the safety risk. The hid headlights will be repaired. The failure mileage was 38000 and the current mileage was 44000.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #28

Mar 072007


  • 20 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. Since 2007, the contact thought that the headlights were intermittently dimming; however, a police officer notified him that the lights were off. The driver thought that the bulb caused the headlights to shut off; however, the failure was due to a chip in the computer. The headlights intermittently shut off and turned back on rapidly for approximately 2 hours and failed again within 15 minutes. The failure has occurred for since the vehicle was purchased in 2007. The contact attempted to find instructions on replacing the bulbs and found via the internet that the computer chip caused the failure instead of the bulbs. The dealer stated that they would diagnose the failure for $90. The contact stated that they do not need the dealer to diagnose the failure and has requested that the dealer make the necessary repair. The warranty has expired. The current and failure mileages were 57,000.

- Panacea, FL, USA

problem #27

Feb 012008


  • 38,000 miles
I have a 2007 Toyota Prius that has the hid lights. The lights sometimes go out when driving, either the right or left. This had started once the car rolled over 36000 miles (after the warranty expired) I cannot afford to fix this problem which I believe Toyota should be responsible for especially when the dealer I bought the car from says it will be around a $1300 repair. I believe this is a safety problem if the light sometimes turns off but then works later. I did not care if the car I bought had the hid lights or not. The car on the lot had the hid lights and it was going to cost more to downgrade the lights and have another car brought in. Had I known I would have this kind of problem I would have paid to have the standard lights.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #26

Mar 222009


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota pruis. The contact stated that intermittently while driving the head lights fail; which reduces visibility. An impairment of visibility while driving increases the risk of vehicle crash. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection. He is in the process of having the head lights replaced at an expense of $800. The failure mileage was 30,000. The current mileage was 53,000. Updated 10/20/09

- Summerville, GA, USA

problem #25

Jun 012007


  • 20,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota Prius headlamps go out intermittently. I can turn them off and on...then they work. One of the headlamps was replaced...the problem still occurs. I informed the dealership. The dealership said it would cost $300 per lamp to replace. This been happening since I purchased the car.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?