Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
32 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,714 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 11 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #65

Oct 182009

Prius

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Toyota Prius. Going downhill and approaching a stop sign. My foot is steady on the brake and I am gradually coming to a stop. Then, I inadvertently go over a bump in the road and the Prius lunges forward. I had to immediately slam hard on the brakes in order to keep the car from going into the intersection. Fortunately, there was no car or person in front of me as I was stopping. (I looked at prior complaints and this matches mine).

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #64

Aug 262009

Prius

  • miles
I purchased a 2010 Toyota Prius on 8/26/09. The car would accelerate when I stepped on the brake to slow the car down at a stop sign or red light. I brought the car to plaza Toyota on 12/23/09 after this occurred more than 50 times. Toyota told me that there was nothing wrong with my car and I'm the 1st one to complain about this problem. On the receipt (R/O # 6311675/1) from this visit, Toyota stated, " tom the Toyota field tech determined that the feeling that the customer is experiencing is normal and that the regenetive braking system and hydraulic system is transferring and that's normal." Since that visit, this problem has only happened 4 times. In regards to braking on slippery roads, the car has slid 2 different times before gripping the road. Also, Toyota claims that the Prius gets 51 mpg, this car has only been averaging 33 mpg in city driving.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #63

Jan 012010

Prius

  • 1,000 miles
We own a 2010 Prius. My daughter usually drives it. I had it for the month of January. During that time, I experienced brief surges or swerves when I hit potholes or rough spots in the road at a slow speed. This occurred 3 or 4 times out of approximately two dozen short trips around town.

- Takoma Park, MD, USA

problem #62

Sep 102009

Prius

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was approaching a stop light, I took my foot off of the gas pedal of my 2010 Toyota Prius to hit the brake when all of the sudden my vehicle accelerated and surged forward. It did not stop until I slammed my foot on the brake. This has not happened since and I had assumed it was a freak accident, but I wanted to report it in light of the Toyota recalls that have occurred.

- Ellington, CT, USA

problem #61

Feb 032010

Prius

  • 882 miles
Was parking on slight incline facing downhill. Hit brake to put car in park, but car lurched forward, over concrete bumper in front of parking space. Just happened, have not taken corrective measures yet. Also have noticed car lurching forward when slowing around turns, has not caused significant problems yet, no action taken yet.

- Pinehurst, NC, USA

problem #60

Jan 202010

Prius

  • 3,700 miles
There have been several instances since I purchased my 2010 Prius in October 2009 that I have gone over a bump in the road and my 2010 Prius has felt like it's speeding up and I had to push hard on the brakes to feel like I had control of my car.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #59

Sep 012009

Prius

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since purchasing my 2010 Prius in August, I have experienced multiple episodes of car feeling as if it were suddenly accelerating when going over bumps, potholes or other irregularities in the road. I believe when this happens I often already have my foot on the brake, but I find myself having to slam the brake on harder to prevent what is at least a strong sensation of the car "taking off". feels just like when riding a horse and it is about to bolt! went to dealer in September or October, and they completely blew me off, said "nothing is wrong", no other reports of this happening (clearly a lie it now appears).

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #58

Jan 312010

Prius

  • 100 miles
The brakes momentarily release/skip when bringing the vehicle to a stop while passing over a bump or pothole in the road. This has been happening on a regular basis since I bought the car in July 2009.

- Junction City, KS, USA

problem #57

Jan 162010

Prius

  • 1,000 miles
I purchased my 2010 Toyota Prius in December 2010. Twice in the last two weeks my car has unexpectedly lurched forward as I went over a speed bump at a relatively low speed. Since it was the same speed bump both times, I reason that it must have something to do with the height of the bump and/or my angle of approach. I was able to regain control of the vehicle both times. I am reporting this because I have read the news articles about others having similar problems with 2010 Prius' and thought that you would want to know. I have not taken any action because I wasn't sure the problem was with the vehicle or the road surface.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #56

Aug 012009

Prius

  • miles
I have a 2010 Toyota Prius. Approximately 10 times since I bought the car in July 2009 it has jolted forward while I am applying the brakes when I drive over a pothole or bump in the road.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #55

Jan 152010

Prius

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2010 Prius, and have experienced an acceleration issue on about 3-4 occasions since purchasing the vehicle in August of 2009. The issue I had was perfectly described in a recent on-line article from money.cnn.com on Feb 3. here is the quote - "the complaints received via our dealers center around when drivers are on a bumpy road or frozen surface, " a Toyota motor Corp. Spokesman in Japan, said. "the driver steps on the brake and they do not get as full of a braking feel as expected." This is exactly what I've experienced, and it also seems to possibly be related to the shift from gas to electric which occurs when slowing down. After braking, there is a sudden, brief surge of acceleration. I have not brought this into the dealer, but plan to soon.

- Lake Elmo, MN, USA

problem #54

Feb 022010

Prius

  • 3,500 miles
We live in Chicago and own a 2010 Prius. We also have experienced the acceleration (forward surge) upon braking on uneven terrain reported by other owners. No accident, but it happens often on our city streets and it is a little unnerving. The last time it happened was yesterday.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #53

Jan 172010

Prius

  • 8,533 miles
When driving my 2010 Toyota Prius the car has a tendency to accelerate forward as I am hitting the brakes. I have noticed this is usually around potholes or any other bumps in the road. It happens pretty regularly and it scares the pants off me; to say the least. I have found no response from Toyota concerning fixing this problem and am worried that when something bad happens I'll be held responsible for their mistake.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #52

Jul 152009

Prius

  • miles
Toyota Prius 2010, sudden surge of power, when slowing or braking to come to a stop. Extremely dangerous in traffic or when parking. Have reported to Toyota, who claimed no knowledge of Prius's having this default. Another said this was a common function of the hybrids. Recent service dept. Claimed checked but found no evidence. This problem happens intermittently. Because we know of this problem, are extra cautious.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #51

Jan 222010

Prius

  • 4,551 miles
2010 Prius accelerates when driving over speed bump, pot hole or other uneven surfaces.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #50

Jan 152010

Prius

  • 6,000 miles
Sudden surge when hitting a bump at medium speeds. My Prius is now six months old with about 6,000 miles on it and I experience a surge in acceleration when I hit a bump at about 20 mph. I used to be an auto mechanic (20 years ago), so I may be a little more attuned to narrowing the problem than most people. I have noticed that when this surge happens I am lightly on the brakes (totally off the accelerator). This seems to particularly happen when the bump (like a pothole in the road) is under the right front wheel. Even more frustrating is that this does not happen every time nor on every bump. I can tell you the floor mat has nothing to do with it and I do not think the outside temperature has anything to do with it either. My shadetreemechanic's diagnosis is that this is a software glitch that gets activated when the braking solenoid is bumped.

- Lenexa, KS, USA

problem #49

Dec 032009

Prius

  • miles
2010 Toyota Prius. Acceleration when applying brake in bumpy road. It happened when the speed is slow and there is uneven or drives over pot hole.

- Kearny, NJ, USA

problem #48

Jan 122010

Prius

  • 3,400 miles
2010 Toyota Prius seems to accelerate when I apply brakes to slow down and car goes into shallow pothole. This event is repeatable and happens every time I slow down at a particular stop sign with a pothole in front of it. Fortunately there has never been a car in front of me and I now know to avoid this spot. Car behaves normally once it has cleared the pothole. This occurs at slow speeds ( 20mph down to 0 ) has not happened anywhere else, but happens everytime at this location.

- Alexandria , VA, USA

problem #47

Nov 142009

Prius

  • 4,300 miles
I have been driving my 2010 Prius for almost 6 months now and have experienced the car jerking forward and for a few seconds speeding up as if the brake doesn't work. This happens specifically if a pothole or bump in the road is hit and I'm braking. Mostly when slowing down by hitting the brake. I actually noticed this almost immediately when I bough the car but since I've been reading up a lot about the 2010 Prius not in the Toyota recall list, I thought it is important to report it and get it fixed. One experienced the strangest feeling when this happens. Almost as if the break pedal is hit and the car jerks forward as if the pedal is stuck and the car body moves forward.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #46

Nov 102009

Prius

  • 3,000 miles
Vehicle surges forward when braking over road surface that is not smooth. Symptom makes safely judging stopping distance very difficult, and in our opinion, increases likelihood of an accident. Toyota dealer claimed they could not replicate issue and that vehicle's computer did not report/record any problems. We can replicate issue over same bump everyday.

- Rocky River, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?