Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
32 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,714 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 12 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Jan 272009


  • 800 miles


2010 Toyota Prius III, purchased December 2009 from dch brunswick Toyota, North brunswick, NJ 08902 I experienced atleast 3 different incidents of the following, sometimes at the same spot on a road - when braking, if a pothole or bump in the road is hit, the car seemingly jerks forward/accelerates for a split second.

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #44

Jan 312010


  • 2,000 miles
I drive a 2010 Toyota Prius and would like to report that when braking, if I hit a pot hole or bump, the car lunges forward or accelerates for a split second. I have had my car for just under 60 days but have had this experience at least a dozen times. It has not caused an accident, but leaves me feeling as if there are moments that I do not have control of my car. It's like it has a mind of it's own!

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #43

Oct 152009


  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota pruis. The contact stated that while driving in reverse with her foot on the brake petal, the vehicle accelerated on its own. The contact then applied the brakes and it stopped. She then turned off the vehicle and it drove normally. The issue has occurred a total of 5 times. The vehicle had not been diagnosed at the time of the compliant.the dealer will be contacted. The failure mileage was unknown and current mileage was 2500.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #42

Nov 302009


  • 2,500 miles


My 2010 Toyota Prius suddenly surged forward for a few feet after going over a little bump in the road (like a manhole cover). This happened a couple of times. No injuries or accidents. I brought this to the attention of my dealer when I brought it in to change the oil @ 5000 miles. They said they could not replicate or detect the problem. I have not had any such incidents in the past 2 months.

- Murray Hill, NJ, USA

problem #41

Jan 202010


  • 2,000 miles
I have a 2010 Prius. I have had 2 occasions where I have hit bumps in the road and my car accelerates without me touching the gas pedal.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #40

Aug 032009


  • 6,200 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated when depressing the brakes to stop the vehicle it is grabbing and jerking. While using the vehicle's speed control upon setting it the vehicle would accelerate, but when the brakes are applied the vehcile would operate normally. The contact stated that he monitors the failures. The vehicle has not yet been diagnosed by the dealer.the failure mileage 6,200.

- Cincinnatti, OH, USA

problem #39

Nov 072009


  • 500 miles


2010 Toyota Prius- car tends to accelerate after hitting some potholes or bumps in the road when the brake is depressed. The first couple of times, I came very close to rear-ending the car in front of me because the bump or pothole was in the road at a traffic light and I was attempting to stop. I have been able to repeat incident but not all of the time (may depend on how hard the brake is depressed or how fast the car is going at the time). I noticed this shortly after purchasing and receiving the car on 24 Oct. 2009. Mentioned to Toyota service staff at a new car orientation program, but was told that they had not heard of this issue... and perhaps the bumps in the road were causing me to not apply even pressure on the brake. I have adjusted my driving route as to not to go over the pothole which causes the most problems (or try to be vigilant about situations which may cause lurching) but was concerned when I saw an article reporting that other people are experiencing similar issues (

- Somerville, MA, USA

problem #38

Jul 012009


  • miles
I saw an article about the 2010 Prius lunging when hitting a bump or pothole. I own one and have had the experience on more than 1 occasion.

- Hillsdale, NJ, USA

problem #37

Jan 222010


  • miles
I have a 2010 Prius and when I drove over a bump or pot hole my car fails to accelerate forward and lose any braking feeling (almost to where I lose control of the car). It happens only for a short moment.

- Canton, MA, USA

problem #36

Aug 012009


  • 25 miles
The braking system temporarily disengages when hitting a bump, manhole, gravel, etc. Causing car to lunge forward. Toyota of napervilee told me that some lunging is to be expected. It is scary when this problem occurs because you have no control of the brakes. I'm concerned that it may result in a future accident.

- Montgomery, IL, USA

problem #35

Jan 202010


  • 500 miles


I own a 2010 Toyota Prius. At least 10 times, when passing over a bump or pothole in the road, the car accelerates without my applying any pressure to the gas pedal. That is, it accelerates without warning sometimes when I pass over a bump or pothole. Then, when I try to slow it down from this unwanted acceleration, the brakes do not seem to function properly. That is, the brakes do not seem to properly and instantly "catch" to slow the car. Rather, there is a pulsating sensation for an estimated 2-5 seconds until the brakes finally and completely "catch" to slow the car from the unwanted and unintended acceleration. I noticed this shortly after buying the car on August 11, 2009. Further, I have never experienced this phenomenon with any other automobile that I have driven in the last 30 years. It is not some phenomenon or problem that has developed over time. Rather, it was a phenomenon that occurred when the car was almost completely new with far less than 1,000 miles on the odometer. I am making this complaint after reading in an internet news article that others are experiencing similar problems with the 2010 Toyota Prius as well as the other recalled Toyota automobiles. I believe this is a potentially dangerous problem, and swift U.S. government action is both warranted and needed for public safety.

- Union City, NJ, USA

problem #34

Oct 012009


  • 2,010 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated his vehicle accelerates on its own when he steps on the brakes. The contact took his vehicle to the dealer and they stated there was no problem with the accelerator pedal. The contact stated he heard about the problem on the news and he was reporting the problem. The failure mileage was 2,010.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #33

Jan 202010


  • 12,000 miles
2010 Toyota Prius accelerates when brake is pressed. The vehicle seems to jump forward depending on road conditions. It seems to be the anti lock brakes. The problem usually occurs 2 to 3 times a month.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #32

Feb 012010


  • 3,000 miles
2010 Toyota Prius. Going downhill and approaching a stop sign. My foot is steady on the brake and I am gradually coming to a stop. Then, I inadvertently go over a bump in the road and the Prius lunges forward. I had to immediately slam hard on the brakes in order to keep the car from going into the intersection. Fortunately, there was no car or person in front of me as I was stopping.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #31

Nov 202009


  • 12 miles
2010 Toyota Prius, I pick up the car at the dealer on 20 Nov 2009. When ever I set the cruise control it works fine until I tap the brake to turn it off. The car speeds up. I have to press harder on the broke to get the cruise control to disengage and slow down. Its as if the cruise control is not sensing that the brake was depressed and releasing. I took the car back to the dealer on 12-20-2009 having driven it a month and having a chance to get a feel for the car. They said nothing was wrong that all the cars did this. Every car I have owned has had cruise control on it and has never acted this way. I also drive a RX350 Lexus that does not have his problem.

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #30

Feb 012010


  • 2,000 miles
I have a 2010 Prius. When I am braking and hit some bumps in the road, my car lurches forward with brief spurts of acceleration. This has nothing to do with the gas pedal. It seems that others are having similar issues ( This could be dangerous, especially on a wet road. And the roads are so terrible in los angeles, that I experience this problem more often than I would like. Hopefully enough people report this problem that Toyota takes action.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #29

Jan 012010


  • 1 miles
2010 Toyota Prius has a defect the Toyota has acknowledged. The problem is when the car hits a large bump the car accelerates. The dash traction warning light also comes on and Toyota is saying they believe this is a software problem.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #28

Jan 292010


  • 5,000 miles
I own a 2010 Toyota Prius that seem to loose braking power when I have the brake pedal pressed down and then hit a pothole or manhole cover. It happens all the time. When I took it into the dealer a few months ago they didn't find a problem, but it appears to be a common problem for this model.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #27

Dec 312009


  • 5,000 miles
While accelerating to make a right hand turn signal (speed appx 30mph) I depressed the brakes to slow the vehicle down to a reasonable speed to safely make the turn, the car slowed, I began the turn but mid- turn with my foot still depressing the brake pedal the car made a 1 2 second acceleration.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #26

Jan 272010


  • 2,000 miles
I noticed that the car lurches forward whenever driven on a manhole, or a rough patch on road, or a speed hump despite the braking. Though I regain control within seconds, the moment of lurch is scary and makes me feel unsafe in other traffic situations. This happens at almost all speeds. I guess from now onwards I will maintain enough gap between this car and the forward one as I seem to be not able to trust this car any further. Perhaps I will never recommend this car or any Toyota to anyone in future.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?