Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
32 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,714 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 2 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #245

Feb 182014

Prius 4-cyl

  • miles


While returning from work at 5:30 pm, 02/18/14 on highway 90 West to albany, NY, with cruise control set to 50 mph, the accelerator pedal got stuck on my 2010 Toyota Prius. The pedal did not return back to its original position even when I turned off cruise control. I spontaneously tapped the accelerator pedal in the hope of releasing but did not yield any results and the vehicle maintained its speed. Applying brakes made no effect and did not curtail the car. It continued to move with almost the same speed even when brake pedal depressed. I had no control on my car in one of busiest freeways. I continuously applied the brakes and tried to merge to the right most lane with hazard blinkers on. It took more than 5 miles panic ride trying to avoid trucks and other cars to merge to the right lane. Even with the brake fully depressed, the 2010 Prius did not slow down and I managed to reach the shoulder lane which had gravel & snow. Then I pressed park button and switched off the engine by pressing the power button. I could feel the wheels lock up but the Prius continued to move with strong rubber burning smell. Finally, I engaged the parking breaks to stop it from moving into the freeway. After complete stop, with difficulty I manually pulled up the accelerator pedal. This entire ordeal was shocking and an unbelievable narrow escape from a major catastrophic event. I thanked god & called 911 and the highway patrol police came to the spot and promptly helped to move the vehicle and myself from the freeway traffic. The 2010 Toyota Prius was moved to Toyota dealer service center where I purchased the car & performed every scheduled maintenance service punctually. Incidentally the last service and certification was in 12/2013. It is obvious that even regular dealer maintenance service and certification did not help this vehicle. Report filed with Toyota motor customer service.

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #244

Nov 052012


  • miles
While carefully parking my Prius 2010 at a hospital it accelerated suddenly and crashed over the cement curb. I say carefully because my Prius had done this before but not enough damage was done to file with insurance. There followed another accident and another accident. Then this evening while driving into my carport my Prius accelerated again. It threw my dog that was in the front seat to the floor but I was able to avoid car damage as I was going to stop. I was barely moving, that is I still had my foot on the accelerator, maybe I could say coasting, when this acceleration suddenly occurred. This was the same type acceleration that caused all the prior accidents. I have reported this to Toyota... and now you. Hopefully you will help me. My Prius is in the carport. It has not been moved. However, it is my only transportation. My Prius' latest happening, before the one just stated, the hybrid system quit working during rush hour traffic on the interstate near a busy intersection. This was repaired before Toyota sent some one to investigate the prior accidents. If more information is needed just let me know. This Prius also had a battery replaced shortly after it was purchased as a new vehicle. This Prius has wheel rim scratches.

- Chatham, LA, USA

problem #243

Jan 192011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
When braking, such as when approaching a stop sign or stop light, in the presence of bumps, potholes, or rough/uneven road surfaces, the car noticeably and forcefully "lurches forward", and there is momentary loss of control of the vehicle's stopping mechanism....updated 02-03-15

- Merrillville, IN, USA

problem #242

Oct 012010


  • 1,000 miles


Car occasionally unintentionally accelerates when hitting a bump for maybe a second. Dangerous when it happens as approaching a stop sign or traffic signal. Happens maybe once every two weeks.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #241

Sep 012010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
Vehicle surges when brakes are applied while traveling over railroad tracks or rough pavement. Surge lasts for 1 to 2 seconds until braking resumes. Vehicle behavior can be easily replicated.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #240

Mar 312012

Prius 4-cyl

  • 43,200 miles
I have a 2010 Toyota Prius that really has me concerned. Twice recently when applying the brakes, it has lunged forward and I was forced to punch the brakes very hard with both feet to make it stop. It really scared me. Luckily there was nobody in front of me or I would have had an accident. I took it to the dealer (walker Toyota in miamisburg, oh) to have it checked out. The service department looked back at the computer on the car and saw two instances where the brake and accelerator were pressed at the same time. So now they are trying to tell me it is user error. They said I must have inadvertadly hit the accelerator pedal while I was braking. No I did not!!! I have owned this car for over three years and this has never happened before. Now it has happened twice in the last two months. I don't think so... I called Toyota corporate and they advised me to get a second opinion. So now I am taking it to voss Toyota in beavercreek. I also noticed recently that my gas mileage has dropped significantly in the last six months. It's much worse than it's ever been since I have owned it. I'm not sure it it is related or not"?"

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #239

Mar 232013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 43,200 miles


I have a 2010 Toyota Prius that really has me concerned. Twice recently when applying the brakes, it has lunged forward and I was forced to punch the brakes very hard with both feet to make it stop. Both times I was on city streets going about 35 mph. It really scared me. Luckily there was nobody in front of me or I would have had an accident. I took it to the dealer to have it checked out and am awaiting the verdict.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #238

Apr 252011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 2,156 miles
On multiple occasions, I have experienced issues with the car suddenly accelerating while I'm pressing the brakes. Specifically, this appears to occur when braking on uneven surfaces (ie construction areas, pot holes, etc.). this can obviously become a deadly situation if one is trying to stop the vehicle and with this problem run into the car/vehicle ahead. Most recently this occurred on the surface streets in low speed, in traffic. It feels like the car lurches ahead while applying the brake. I was told by the service people at Toyota that I was making this up. I can recreate it given the right surface.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #237

Jan 212013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 29,995 miles
Today, 1/21/2013 at approximately 245pm while drive back from disney with my family on the Florida turnpike(mile point marker 294 nb) at approximately 65-70 mph our 2010 Prius suddenly lost power and "check hybrid system" came on. Mind you I was traveling on a major road when the car suddenly kept decreasing in speed and I just turned on to the median and the car rolled to a stop. Luckily there was a Florida safety patrol behind me who put on his flashing lights until I was safely off the turnpike. Car would not restart and had to be towed. Car arrived at xxx(dealer) Toyota at 502pm and I am awaiting a call back on the problem. This is a safety issue. Also, there was no warning before the car failed. Thank you. This is what I filed with Toyota minus identifying data.

- The Villages, FL, USA

problem #236

Dec 262012

Prius 4-cyl

  • 33,500 miles
My Prius iv, purchased new in 2010, intermittently had a lunging forward problem when going over speed bumps, pot holes etc. I would have to stop it by braking quickly, so I didn't collide with a car ahead. I informed Toyota of this problem within the first year. They tested it and said they could find nothing. I mentioned this to them on various occasions when I took the car for its periodic maintenance of 5000 mile intervals. On December 26, 2012 I was stopped waiting to go left when I was rear-ended. I went to pull over to the side of the road to assess the damage. When I accelerated to get to the side of the road, the car took off crazily, at a high rate of speed for about 6-7 seconds, zigzagging uncontrollably on the 2 lane road. If there were cars coming toward me, I would have been in a head on crash. I immediately called Toyota service of scranton, pa and asked them to see and assess the car's problem. They made an appointment and concluded.said there is no problem internally, and suggested removing the after market floormat. I then proceeded to show them the same problems many customers are having with the Prius, including an article by steve wozniak, the co-founder of apple company, who had acceleration problems with his 2010 Prius. I called the main Toyota headquarters later, explaining the problem and they too said there is no malfunction, only mentioning the floor mats again.. this is not the case as the car has had acceleration problems from the beginning and to further clarify, I was able to finally stop the car... the mat was no where near the accelerator. I am afraid to drive this for others' safety, my passengers and my own safety. I take care of my cars faithfully. You can view my records. I am also fearful if I trade this car, someone else might get injured or killed. Can you please check and advise.

- Swoyersville, PA, USA

problem #235

Oct 052011


  • 50,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that while in reverse with the brakes depressed, the vehicle abnormally lunged backward two feet. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for numerous diagnostic tests but the dealer could not duplicate the problem. The failure could not be remedied and the contact traded the vehicle for another. The failure mileage was 50,000. The VIN was not available.

- Exeter, CA, USA

problem #234

Jul 272012

Prius 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that while stopped at a traffic stop, the vehicle accelerated independently and without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where they stated that they would not diagnosis the vehicle and that he needed to contact the manufacturer. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 47,000...updated 12/11/12 the consumer stated the vehicle would lunge forward at random times, when the brake was full pressed and also when the parking brake was set. Updated 12/12/12

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #233

Sep 202012


  • 20,100 miles
Traveling on parkway when we were approaching a vehicle going South down at approximately 55 we were traveling 72 with cruise control engaged, I tapped the brakes to try and slow and nothing happened I then held the brake pedal down for more than 15 seconds with no success, tried to disengage the cruise by pulling back on the handle on the steering wheel and still it would not disengage, we struck the truck at 72 mph only because we had no where else to go and the vehicle would not disengage cruise. The cruise control light was still illuminated after the vehicle came to rest after impact and the vehicle brakes still did not appear to function, this vehicle was a Toyota lease and was told multiple times by Toyota that the issues was recalled by Toyota and that this vehicle had the recall performed.

- Benton , KY, USA

problem #232

Jul 182012

Prius 4-cyl

  • 26,500 miles
The unintended acceleration accident happened on 7/18/2012, ~6:20 pm at company's parking lot. I backed my 2010 Prius slowly. Then I saw a car coming on my way. But before I took any action, this Prius suddenly started accelerating, it went wildly, and turned more than 360 degree backward in the parking lot in just a few seconds. Since the car parked between a building and a slop, from the front mirror, first, I saw the building wall and glasses, then I saw the slope, then I saw a car parked close to my car: No! don't hit that car! that is the last thing I remember. Because of the fast turning of the car and because I was so terribly scared, I lost conscious after that until the Prius hit the truck and bounced back and stopped by itself. After a few seconds, I woke up and realized: I am still alive. I got off the car and saw Prius passed the two curbs and hit the truck. The two tires on the driver side got flat because they passed the curb very fast. I was so scared that I couldn't recall of anything for a few days until weekend. Why did the car lose control" one may argue that I stepped on the accelerator. This could happen to new drivers, but not to me because I have been driving for so many years and always a good driver. Many times I saw a car on my way when I was backing, I always stopped right away. And I was healthy in a normal day in normal mode, alert as usual. Why would I step on accelerator when backing? even if I mis-stepped on the accelerator, I can always switch to brake right away. But I could"T do anything about the car on the day. It was out of control completely. After I lost conscious, my hands were off the steering wheel and my foot didn't step on anything, the car didn't slow down but still moved fast and passed two curbs easily. Such a manipulation can only be done when the car is in acceleration, and by itself. Please investigate it asap!

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #231

Mar 082011


  • 18,000 miles
When going over bumps in the road or potholes, it seems like the car loses control. It seems like it slides out or jerks forward. It catches itself after a couple seconds but is scary.

- York Beach, ME, USA

problem #230

Mar 052012


  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. While traveling 50 mph, the contact noticed that the vehicle abnormally accelerated. In order to stop the acceleration the contact shifted into neutral. The vehicle was neither diagnosed and or repaired.the VIN was not available. The current and failure mileages were 46,000.

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #229

Dec 132010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
The dynamic radar cruise control system suddenly applies brakes while, or soon after, passing a large truck (18 wheeler). Happens rarely. But when it does happen, it is always while, or soon after, slowly passing a larger truck on an interstate and traveling about 70 mph. When it does occur, it normally occurs when the front of the Prius is slightly behind the front of the truck (in the immediate lane to my right) where the truck should be outside the range of the radar. The last time, though, the Prius was well in front of the truck, there was no vehicle in front of me. And, yes, there was no dirt, snow, etc. On the front of the car that might affect the operation of the radar.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #228

Feb 072012


  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact was driving approximately 45 mph with the headlights activated and suddenly without warning, the headlights failed to illuminate. The vehicle was maneuvered cautiously to the side of the road. The contact planned to take the vehicle to a dealer for diagnosis and repair. Additionally, whenever the brakes were engaged while driving over a bump or uneven pavement, an unintended acceleration would occur. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 32,000.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #227

Oct 192011


  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact was braking in an attempt to enter a parking space when the brake pedal became stuck. The vehicle then accelerated abnormally and the vehicle crashed into a concrete wall. The vehicle bounced back as the acceleration continued and the vehicle then crashed into the concrete wall a second time. The contact powered the vehicle off in order to stop the abnormal acceleration. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for repair and inspection. The contact was awaiting a diagnosis of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Aliso Viejo, CA, USA

problem #226

Feb 122010


  • 200 miles
My issue is similar to others that have complained. When traveling a low speeds and I hit an unexpected bump the vehicle surges forward. This is very dangerous and one that I would hope Toyota take notice and address immediately.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?