Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
32 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,714 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 7 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #145

Aug 112009


  • 600 miles


Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) February 15, 2010 at 3:29 pm I spoke to [xxx] at Toyota 1-800-331-4331 about problems I've experienced with my 2010 Prius. I told her about the cruise control danger, where the car had been going along nicely on cruise, but suddenly rapidly accelerated when, on August 11, 2009, I was on the trip between New Jersey and Illinois coming through the Tennessee/Kentucky area. I had been traveling at about 65mph on cruise and it rapidly accelerated to over 80mph and I panicked while trying to get it to slow down. I tried slowing it down using the cruise button, then depressed the cruise off button. Didn't work. It did not respond immediately to the brake until I braked really hard. Therefore, my driving it was severely limited to driving at very low speeds in town. Other unintended acceleration has occurred even when not using the cruise. The car bolted forward numerous times on a bumpy section of road on my route home from work; it happened often enough there that I compensated by taking a different route. Efforts to stop the forward lunge included braking with no response, using the knob to shift to a different setting, and scrambling to find the damn button to press park. Something finally stopped it, but I don¿T know what. The next scare occurred after it snowed. I drove slowly on the plowed road, but when the car encountered snowy lumps it rapidly accelerated lunging forward again. My attempts to stop caused me to skid dangerously into oncoming traffic lane. I parked the car in the garage and have not driven it again in well over a month due to the danger. In February, my co-worker[xxx] urged me not to drive the car because she had heard about a recall and was afraid for me, but I had already parked it by then ¿ knowing something was wrong with it. It has not been driven since prior to my learning that others have had similar experiences ¿ some have died or been injured as a result.

- Herrin, IL, USA

problem #144

Dec 232009


  • 100 miles
In my 2010 Prius, the vehicle randomly accelerates when the cruise control is disengaged. This happens every 10th or 15th time of disengagement. When the brakes are applied harder the vehicle slows properly. The unexpected acceleration is very dangerous in traffic. The vehicle has been checked by the dealer and I was told that nothing is wrong. I called for a second time and was told the problem is not on the recall list. I will take it in anyway next week.

- Berlin, , MD, USA

problem #143

Sep 262009

Prius 4-cyl

  • 3,500 miles
Crash due to brake failure, sudden unintended, sudden uncontrolled dangerous acceleration, surging forward momentary loss of braking capability while traveling extremely low speed under 5 mph on an uneven bumpy country road surface, pothole, or bump, lurched forward skidded side ways into tree. Frequently occurs. Major collision damage, in repair shop 1 month. Updated 04/27/10. Updated 08/11/10

- Scotts Valley, CA, USA

problem #142

Feb 222010


  • 6,000 miles


When I am driving my Toyota Prius 2010 and the vehicle goes over a bump or hole in the road the vehicle "jumps" especially is I am braking to slow the vehicle down.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #141

Feb 152010


  • 2,200 miles
2010 Prius purchased in August 2009. Surge when applying brakes. Occurred 4 times including 2/15/2010. Has occurred in same place 3 times. Each time there were potholes. When they were fixed, did not happen until they returned. Complained to Toyota dealer and was told this was normal when hydraulic and electronic brakes exchange. I suggested it was a dangerous normal. No damage or injury in any case. Was always able to push harder on brake to stop car. Stuns you when it happens because it is not normal. Since first instance, have tried to keep distance when slowing and braking.

- West Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #140

Dec 152009


  • 2,000 miles
We have experienced engine surges/lack of braking with our 2010 Toyota Prius on 5 different occasions during Aug 2009 - Feb 2010: -1: hit pothole with right front tire and experienced surge. -2: hit exact same pothole on another day and same result (surge). -3: while driving on paved road hit some ice and experienced surge. -4: while approaching stop light, applied brakes, when front right side of car hit gravel, experienced surge. -5: while preparing for left hand turn on busy street, when car went over a large drainage grate in the turn lane, experienced surge.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #139

Jan 102010


  • 5,000 miles


I have a 2010 Prius. Everyone in the media is talking about brake issues but the real problem is that the car accelerates after it hits bumps in the road. It feels like an electronic problem. The brakes aren't the issue.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #138

Oct 152009


  • 150 miles
My 2010 Toyota Prius does not always recognize the key and will not open doors and not start the vehicle. The gear shift jumps out of gear going from reverse to drive and vice versa. The heater does not work properly. I am afraid to drive my newly purchased vehicle. Please advise.

- Mill Valley, CA, USA

problem #137

Jan 032010


  • 1,000 miles
I have a 2010 Prius. Occasionally when I go over a bump (pothole, train track, rough road) my car feels like it jolts forward for a few seconds. This happens when I am not hitting the brakes so I don't think it is covered by the anti-lock braking recall. It is difficult to replicate this and I haven't reported it to the dealer because of this, but it happens about 1-2/week. It could be a problem in a traffic situation where cars are following closely.

- Cambrdige, MA, USA

problem #136

Nov 232009


  • 500 miles
This problem has existed since the vehicle was purchased. Cruise control either does not function at all or fails to function correctly. Sometimes the cruise control will not engage. Sometimes the cruise control will engage properly, but after applying the brakes (and disengaging the cruise control) the cruise control cannot be reengaged. Two operations will cause the cruise control to begin functioning properly again: 1) turn the vehicle off; 2) put the shift lever into the neutral position, then back into drive. Returned vehicle to dealer three times for repair. They did not fix the malfunction during any of the three repair visits. Their final response was to claim that the vehicle was "functioning as designed".

- Loveland, CO, USA

problem #135

Jan 012010


  • 7,000 miles


Using cruise control feature, when I hit the brake for split second the car speeds up before disengaging cruise control this happen all the time not on just the date below.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #134

Jan 282010


  • miles
I have a 2010 Prius. We have had the problem with the brakes when we go over a bump. In addition, if I am driving in cruise control and have to put my foot on the brakes, there is a brief feeling of acceleration so instead I have gotten used to turning off the cruise control before putting my foot on the brakes thereby delaying braking for a brief moment.

- West Hartford, CT, USA

problem #133

Aug 012009


  • 100 miles
I own a Toyota 2010 Prius. I complained to the dealership where I bought my car in July at my first service/oil change about a sudden surge in speed while driving over bumpy surfaces. I presented them with internet information I had copied from consumers having the same problem but they would not take them from me. They serviced the car, drove it and returned it to me saying they found no problems and that I was the only person who had ever complained about it. They said they knew of no other similar complaints. I asked them to put on my bill the fact that this was happening to my car so that it would be documented for the future. They did not seem at all concerned at the time. It remains an ongoing problem when I drive.

- Ridgewood, NJ, USA

problem #132

Nov 302009


  • 150 miles
2010 Toyota Prius, purchased Nov. 2009. Using cruise control, the car accelerated quickly on it's own when I attempted to change speed by using the cruise control lever on the steering wheel. Happened twice, then I stopped experimenting for reasons of safety. The problem is identical to the one described by steve wosniak in public two weeks ago--one that got a lot of press. Acceleration stopped when brake pedal was tapped or cruise control was turned off.

- Stanford, CA, USA

problem #131

Aug 102009


  • 1,000 miles
I have experienced two problems with my 2010 Prius V that I purchased last summer. First, on approximately 6-8 occasions, my car has not stopped immediately when I applied the brakes. This occurred 3-4 times when I approached a stop sign on a road between my home and church. The surface of the road approaching the stop sign had been scraped and roughened to get ready for re-paving. As I approached and applied the brakes, my car surged forward for about a second, but I was able to stop. This happened 3-4 times in other locations, as well. It is an incredibly strange and helpless sensation. This problem was probably noted between late August 2009 and last occurred about three weeks ago. Even though I was forced to put an exact date in the field below, I have no idea now when the exact dates were in which this braking issue occurred. When I brought my car to the dealer for its first oil change, I described what had happened but was told this had nothing to do with the other problems that had been identified in the media as to other cars. The person at the service desk just kind of ignored my comments and was not interested in hearing about the braking issue further. The second problem I have experienced is that when using the cruise control accelerate function the car just continued accelerating even though I was no longer turning the cruise function lever. This stopped when I applied my brakes. It did cause me to stop using the cruise control during that trip though. The cruise control issue probably occurred last August in I-5.

- Shoreline, WA, USA

problem #130

Dec 152009


  • miles
To the NHTSA: I am an owner of a 2010 Toyota Prius that I purchased in June 2009. Since owning the vehicle, I have had about a half-dozen to a dozen occurrences of the same problem. At low speeds, when the rear wheel hits a bump, for a split-second the car feels like there is a burst of acceleration and is out of control. This lasts only a split-second. I saw another consumer in a news article about the Prius brake issue describe it the exact same way. I actually mentioned this to my dealer (bernardi Toyota, framingham, MA) when I brought the car in for the 5,000 mile service a month or so ago. The service dept told me that the behavior is normal for the hybrid vehicles, and known by Toyota -- no fix or adjustment recommended. This seemed like an odd response, but because they told me there was no safety issue, I left it at that. I am providing my experience to aid the NHTSA apply pressure on Toyota to fix this problem in the Prius.

- Sudbury, MA, USA

problem #129

Oct 092009


  • miles
The brakes on my 2010 Toyota Prius at times do not engage immediately. It may be necessary at those times to depress the brake pedal by 1/3rd before braking begins. There is a similar delay when braking is used to turn off cruise control. Neither of these have caused an accident, but in both cases there is some risk.

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #128

Feb 062010


  • 250 miles
Soon after I got my 2010 Prius in August, I experienced a braking problem. This has happened about 8 more times so far. While braking as I slowly approach a stop sign or light, if I simultaneously go over a bump or break in the road, the car will lurch forward a couple of yards requiring me to push harder on the brake which then stops the car. This problem has also happened 2 times in the last week while driving slowly and then braking when I encounter ice on the road. Luckily, no cars have been directly in front of me when this has happened. I have not reported this to Toyota because I have not yet serviced my car.

- New Providence, NJ, USA

problem #127

Dec 242009


  • 4,790 miles
2010 Prius, less than 5000 miles. On the I-5 (ca) going to san francisco on 12-24-09. On a slight/moderate downgrade with cruise set at 70 mph, the car was braking hard and was over 100 mph before I realized what the noise was - and immediately took it out of cruise and braked. It came under control. On or about 12-31-09 I was unable to engage cruise on the freeway but the following day it engaged normally.

- Palm Desert, CA, USA

problem #126

Dec 302009


  • 4,000 miles
1. I was driving in san francisco, ca on city roads. In both events, I was braking to minimize the impact of driving over potholes or uneven pavement (holes that were recently filled with asphalt) seen ahead. 2. when the brakes were applied, there was a brief, momentary surge in power followed by normal braking. On one occasion, a passenger riding in the front passenger seat also noticed the surge and commented on it. 3. no corrective action has been taken so far. Awaiting news on a possible recall and instructions from car marker on corrective actions to be taken.

- Fortuna, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?