Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
32 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,714 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 6 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #165

Mar 092010

Prius

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Toyota vehicles in all of the information I have read, Toyota nor the department of transportation has informed drivers to shift the vehicle to neutral when it accelerating by itself. By shifting the transmission to neutral it should allow the driver to bring the vehicle to a safe stop.

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #164

Feb 192010

Prius

  • 5,700 miles
2010 Toyota Prius - I was driving my 2010 Toyota Prius for a short period as a company car. I noticed that when the battery got low while in park the engine would kick in to recharge the battery. The engine would cause the car to slightly jerk forward or back which would be expected by the force of the engine thrust. What was strange is that when I was crossing the street after coming out of an oil change, my foot was on the brake waiting for traffic to clear only to have the engine kick in and slightly jerk the car forward. It surprised me! like I said my foot was on the brake and kept the car from moving. I visited the Toyota dealership to discuss and emailed Toyota to make them aware of it. After hearing more news about Toyota I felt I needed to share this information. I no longer have the car because I did not feel safe, with all of the problems with Toyota, so I turned it back in to my fleet who manages the company cars. I have also noticed a winding sound in the steering wheel when it is turning. I cannot recall the exact date of the incident so I have mentioned Feb 19 2010 as the approximate date. If you need an exact date please contact me since I can go to the site where I got my oil change and look up my records to provide an exact date.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #163

Mar 072010

Prius

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact was driving approximately 20 mph with the brake engaged when the vehicle accelerated. The contact crashed into the rear end of a Nissan. The weather was not a factor. The contact observed smoke coming from the vehicle. The rear suspension was damaged after the crash occurred. The insurance company authorized the vehicle to be towed to an impound lot. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure and current mileages were 36,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #162

Mar 092010

Prius

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). I left a message on your voice mail. I have a 2010 Prius. I called my dealership this am with concern about the incident last night with the gas pedal. The gentleman that spoke to me was very arrogant stating "I don't know what everyone is so worried about, all he had to do was put it in neutral". I asked him to stay on the phone with me while I did a test run in my car. I got in the car (with him on the phone) started driving and put my foot on the brake and pushed the joy stick to neutral, nothing happened, the car remained in drive. I proceeded to do this 13 times with the dealership on the phone, it only engaged in neutral 2 times out of the 13. I was getting upset and voicing my concern. I asked if I could bring it in and have it checked out. The dealership said to me "sure you can bring it in but I don't know what I can do about it". I was furious, I called the local channel 3 and they came out and did a story on it. We drove the car around and I put it in neutral probably at least 30-50 times and it did not engage 90% of the time. I tried calling Toyota headquarters and they are not taking any calls at this time, this was a quote and animated, you cannot talk to a real person. I don't want the car, I am afraid to drive it. [xxx]

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #161

Mar 042010

Prius

  • 4,600 miles
I have owned 4 Toyota Prius hybrid vehicles (2005, 2007, 2008, 2010). I experienced a slight feeling of acceleration sometimes when depressing the gas pedal in the 07 and 08 models. I also felt a slight surge sometimes when braking. When I asked the Toyota mechanic about this I was told that stored energy from the hybrid system was being expelled. I never thought it might be a safety issue because of what he said. Now I drive the 2010 Prius, had the brake recall done last week and a couple days later, when driving over 3 slight bumps when entering a parking lot, I felt that same slight acceleration. Please continue demanding Toyota fix this dangerous problem. Please talk to the us congress about investigating these cars before there are more accidents. I think the 2010 Prius also has issues with acceleration as well as braking because I have experienced what I described in the 07, 08, 10 models.

- Avon, NY, USA

problem #160

Mar 092010

Prius

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. She confirmed she has experienced brake failure several times in the vehicle. While attempting a right turn over railroad tracks with her foot on the brake pedal, the vehicle abnormally lunged forward and began to accelerate. She continued to depress the brake pedal until the vehicle came to a stop. She also noticed that when driving uphill, the vehicle was hesitant to accelerate. The vehicle had not yet been taken to the dealer for inspection. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current was 96,077.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #159

Feb 262010

Prius

  • 4,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Friday 2/26 at ~ 1:15pm, I was driving my 2010 Prius. It was raining hard outside. As I put on brakes, the car seemed to accelerate / did not brake and drove into a parking lot curb. Damage was done to the front end of the car. There have been multiple occasions during which my husband and I have separately noticed this same type of acceleration / failure to brake - particularly when driving in the rain, down a hill, or over an uneven surface (like a pothole). None of these other occasions have resulted in any injury or damage. Following the 2/26/2010 incident, I contacted Toyota that same day. I was told that a customer relations manager would call me back by Tuesday 3/2. did not hear back. On Wednesday 3/3 I called to follow up. After being on hold for 1 hour, I gave up. Sent an E-mail to customer service advising of the situation. Still did not hear back. On Saturday 3/6 I called again. Was again on hold X 1 hour and told customer service representative of what happened - they apologized and said they did not have my contact information. Was told I would get a call back by 3/9. did finally speak with an agent on 3/8 who now tells me that I will get a call within 10 days. At that time, I will be offered an inspection appointment within the following 30 days. And, within 30 days after the appointment I will receive written notification of the outcome of the inspection. I feel unsafe driving my car. I would hope for a faster resolution to this situation. I would like for the ABS fix for which the 2010 Prius is being recalled to be completed as soon as possible. And, I would like for the damage to my car to be repaired.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #158

Feb 272010

Prius

  • miles
There are several problems I've experienced with the 2010 Toyota Prius purchased new 10 December 2009. 1. when using cruise control: ~ there's regularly what feels like an engine surge when the foot brake is applied to turn off cruise control. This happens regularly, including on smooth, level, dry roadways and freeways and at speed settings from 45 to 60 mph. Because of concern about this I now manually turn off cruise control. Three days ago the car was test driven by a Toyota dealership service department employee, who reported using cruise control 6 times and turning cruise control off by applying the foot brake; the report was ¿cruise control shut off immediately when enough pressure applied [emphasis added] to pedal.¿ ~ on Saturday, February 27, 2010 after the car had been set at 60 in cruise control for some time there was a strong odor (like a car being driven with the "hand" brake on, but my car's wasn't engaged) while on a dry freeway downgrade (gradual, not steep). I turned off the cruise control, continued at the same speed and the odor stopped. This was the first such occurrence. I've used cruise control regularly because of usually driving on freeways 6 days/week. The Toyota service department's test drive three days ago reported ¿not evident.¿ 2. shifting from park to drive several times this shifting was successful only after multiple tries. On one recent occasion after several tries and also turning the car off, on again, and then unsuccessfully retrying, I resorted to using the safety connect sos button. There were no doors ajar and no indication of the cause. While talking with the person who responded I periodically continued to try shifting from park to drive; after several attempts the car responded.

- Kentfield, CA, USA

problem #157

Aug 182009

Prius

  • miles
When backing up, the car will, on occasion, automatically accelerate excessively. This causes the driver to need to step aggressively on the brake in order to control the car. This cycle of "race and brake" continues until our need to reverse is complete. Once we are in drive there is no further problem. This has occurred about six times since we purchased the car in late July. It has most often occurred when it is the initial drive of the day, but the most recent time the car had already been driven 100 miles and had been idling for several minutes. We contacted the dealership from which we bought the car. They have not heard of the issue. We also took it into our local dealership. They were, of course, not able to replicate the problem. No resolution or correction has occurred.

- Prineville, OR, USA

problem #156

Aug 012009

Prius

  • 2,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The vehicle accelerated on its own while driving 30 mph, when the contact attempted to stop at an intersection. The failure occurred six times. The driver stated that when the failure occurred they were unable to stop the vehicle. The Toyota dealer stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The failure has occurred for over 9 months. The contact has not received a recall notice from the dealer but she is aware of an existing recall. The failure mileage was 2,500. The current mileage was 5,500.

- Medina, WA, USA

problem #155

Nov 012009

Prius

  • 800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Toyota Prius cruise control caused unintended acceleration when re-engaged. After disengaging cruise control set to 65 and coasting at 50 for a while when the cruise control was re-engaged the vehicle resumed in excess of 70 mph before I disabled cruise control. Date of incident is approximate. I didn't think much of the failure at the time other than that the cruise control was behaving oddly (I have avoided cruise control on this car since). In light of the current investigation I thought I would submit a report.

- Ithaca, NY, USA

problem #154

Feb 282010

Prius

  • 10,000 miles
We bought a 2010 Toyota Prius II in 7/2009. We have on multiple occasions experienced a brief acceleration of the car when our foot is applying the brake pedal to try and slow down. Most of these occasions have happened when going over bumps and often when turning a corner. We did have the software upgrade that was recommended by the recall just 2 weeks ago. Still, my wife experienced the same problem again when coming home in the car a few days ago. It has happened in total about 5 times since we bought the car in 7/09 and have driven about 10,000 miles. On one occasion last year I almost lost control of the car going around a curve because of the acceleration. I don't think this is simply a brake issue, the car actually seems to accelerate briefly.

- Rapid City, SD, USA

problem #153

Sep 012009

Prius

  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The driver stated that she recently had a recall repair performed on her vehicle for the acceleration; however, she continued to experience the identical failure. When she drove over a bump in the road, the vehicle accelerated on it's own. She called the service manager and she is waiting for a return call from him. The failure mileage was 500. The current mileage was 8,000.

- Westchester, IL, USA

problem #152

Dec 222009

Prius

  • 4,700 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact was stopped the vehicle and then noticed that the engine would suddenly surge without warning until the vehicle was turned off. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 4700.

- Poway, CA, USA

problem #151

Feb 032010

Prius

  • 1,700 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. While driving in reverse out of the garage he experienced an unintended acceleration at least three times within a month. Also when he was driving at 5 mph and coming to a stop, the vehicle lunged forward and as he jammed his foot harder on the brakes, the vehicle kept going. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on two occasions; however, during a test drive they were unable to duplicate, diagnose or repair the failure. The Toyota manufacturer has not been called. The failure mileage was 1,700.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #150

Feb 252010

Prius

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The driver stated that she was traveling 35 mph when she switched lanes. When she applied the brakes and the vehicle started to stop but then it lunged forward and accelerated on it's own while her foot was on the brake pedal. The driver stated that the vehicle then came to a stop after her foot remained on the brake pedal. The driver did notify the dealer of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage and current mileages were 10,000.

- Epping, NH, USA

problem #149

Jan 202010

Prius

  • 5,000 miles
My 2010 Prius hybrid accelerates from electric to fuel mode on its own. I have taken it to Toyota dealership 2 times for problem. Toyota servicemen states it will occasionally do that depending on the mode the vehicle is in. I find it to be very dangerous as I do not have control when it will happens. Servicemen also said that is why there is an alarm beeping to let driver know it is backing up. That does not make sense the alrm is not going to control the mode the vehicle is in. It is a safety issue several times I have almost hit other vehicles or pedestrians when backing up. I now try not to use reverse to avoid a possible accident. Please let me know if other vehicles have similar problems.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #148

Jan 202010

Prius

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius hybrid. He stated that when the gasoline engine was engaged in any gear, including the park position, the vehicle would surge. He also stated that upon turning the gasoline engine off, the vehicle would momentarily roll backwards. This would often occur while any electrical component of the vehicle was utilized, to include the heater, defrost and radio. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they could not duplicate the failure. The dealer stated that the vehicle was operating as it was designed. There were no repairs made to the vehicle to date. The failure mileage was 200 and the current mileage was 1,398.

- Runnemede, NJ, USA

problem #147

Feb 242010

Prius

  • 5,500 miles
Our 2010 Prius was experiencing surging over bumps, we had it re-programmed last week and today we experienced the surge again when we went over a bump, just like before.

- West Springfield, MA, USA

problem #146

Feb 122010

Prius

  • 6,100 miles
2010 Toyota Prius; when shifting into reverse is sporadically difficult to control acceleration. Lifting my foot off the brake a tiny amount causes the car to feel like it is "surging" backward. The car is controllable, but it is a very different experience from being in reverse most of the time. Shifting to park and back to reverse seems to make it go away. This has happened to me 4 times since I bought the car in August 2009.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?