Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
102,251 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Toyota Sequoia body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Toyota Sequoia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Toyota Sequoia Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Sep 012015

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Letter from congressman ribble on behalf of constituent re Toyota Sequoia safety concerns. The consumer was concerned about frame rusting.

- Suamico, WI, USA

problem #22

Sep 192014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • miles
Our vehicle has a squeak and cracking sound which is very scary when riding in this truck.my husband was informed by a Toyota technician that there had been a recall on this vehicle for under carriage rust/corrosion which could lead to possible frame damage. On 9/22 we called our local Toyota dealership, gave the VIN and was told their is no recall, & advised to notify Toyota if we wanted to pursue this issue. So we immediately called Toyota & rec'd a case #, and was informed the issue was the under carriage which was rusting and the corrosion was causing frame damage due to the salt and other elements on roads for ice & snow on 9/23 we rec'd a call informing us that the "safety campaign" ended on 7/29, notifications went out to first time owners and or dmv current owners. My husband & I have been registered owners of this vehicle since 9/26/07. We were not notified of this safety campaign which poses a safety hazard and have been told that our state of md is a state in which this vehicle is effected by this recall/campaign. For the safety and lives of my family I am writing to have the "safety campaign" opened so that this vehicle will feel and sound safe to drive and the lives of my family will not be jeopardized every time we ride in this vehicle which most of the time is daily.why would we not adhere to a recall if we were notified" I don't understand how there is a cut-off date. I mean what happens after 7/29 the corrosion doesn't matter or the lives of those who own these vehicles don't matter" seeking help in Maryland.

- Preston, MD, USA

problem #21

Jul 162014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
This vehicle has been recalled under a "limited service campaign" for excessive frame rust. Vehicles for this campaign are being inspected and if they do not have significant frame perforation from rust, a rust resistant compound is being applied. For vehicles that do have significant frame perforation, failing the inspection, Toyota is replacing the frame of the vehicle. My complaint is that while Toyota is replacing the frame free of charge, they are not going to cover the costs of any component that breaks (due to significant rust) during the disassembly or reassembly, I.e. any rusted parts or even nuts and bolts that are not reusable. This is outrageous, it is their fault that many things will have to be removed when they otherwise wouldn't have to be, and I will be expected to pay for it? this treatment was confirmed by calling Toyota customer care. I believe I will be looking at significant costs, which are unknown until they happen, at which point I will be forced to pay for it or be left with a partially assembled, undriveable vehicle due to faulty Toyota parts.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #20

Oct 012013

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 157,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was notified by Toyota that my 2001 Sequoia was part of a limited service campaign for 2001 to 2004 Sequoias. Certain of these Sequoias experienced more than normal¯corrosion to the vehicle frame. I took the car to molle Toyota in Kansas City for inspection. I was informed that my vehicle did have a hole in the frame and qualified for a frame replacement. Pictures were taken. I was promised copies but have not received them. Apparently Tundra and the Tacoma vehicles were also previously recalled for frame rust due to using inferior metal which rusted from the inside out and by the time it was visible it was too late to correct. Specifically relevant is the fact that following an investigation by NHTSA in October 2009. Toyota issued a regional recall that covered 110,000 2000-2003 Toyota Tundra vehicles. The Sequoia and Tundra are built using the same frame and may be built on the same assembly line, and probably use the same steel for the frame. Why was the Sequoia not accounted for in the previous inquires and recalls? dealerships must have known of the problem for the Tundra and the Sequoia vehicles. Yet no one informed owners. No one inspected the Sequoia. This is clear negligence. This was known since at least 2009. Since that time I have put a lot of money into this vehicle. Upon learning of the defect I explored the possibility of trading the vehicle in. I disclosed the frame problem as part of this. No dealer wanted the vehicle. The suggestion was to sell the vehicle myself. I find it particularly troubling that the molle Toyota dealership actually suggested that it might be necessary for me to sign a waiver in order to take the vehicle out of the dealership. The waiver was to hold Toyota harmless should something result as a result of the defect. I was shocked when in talking to the case manger assigned to my complaint she repeated this request.

- Overland Park , KS, USA

problem #19

Jul 112012

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Sequoia. The contact noticed severe rust corrosion within the main frame. There was a limited service campaign issued by the manufacturer however, the vehicle was ineligible for repairs under the service campaign as a result of not being registered in the particular states that the manufacturer was servicing. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 125,000. Updated 5/22/13

- Bozeman, MT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Mar 122013

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 265,000 miles
Frame rot and hole/perforation through frame found while inspecting the 2001 Sequoia for the "limited service campaign C0D (specific 20 cold climate states only) - corrosion-resistant compound application to the vehicle's frame". dealer informed me that Toyota would replace the frame for free but that I would have to pay $6,000 to replace suspension, brake lines and exhaust components removed in the process. Dealer stated that they would not reuse the components removed as part of the frame replacement. These components are functioning today and do not need to be replaced. The only reason the dealer gave for the additional cost is that they would not re-install the existing parts. Sounds like a bait and switch scam. Toyota offers to inspect the car and perform a no-cost recall to fix a serious manufacturers defect for $6,000. There is no way to perform the recall without incurring the additional costs.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #17

Nov 302012

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 225,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive, premature frame rot. Hole in the frame due to rust.

- Red Bank, NJ, USA

problem #16

Oct 102012

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 101,731 miles
In NHTSA campaign id number: 09V444000, Toyota recalled model year 2000-2003 Tundra vehicles due to excessive corrosion of the rear cross member that may cause the separation of the spare tire. The 2000-2003 Toyota Sequoia vehicles share identical frame cross member and spare tire mounting arrangements in which excessive corrosion in the rear cross member and spare tire mounting location can cause separation of the spare tire stowed under the rear cargo load floor which would result in a road hazard. This separation of the spare tire or mounting bracket could cause a crash. Also, corrosion of the rear cross member could affect the rear brake lines and the proportioning valve, resulting in diminished braking capability. Any separation of the spare tire and/or diminished braking capability could increase the risk of crash to affected vehicle and/or a road hazard to those traveling nearby.

- Collegeville, PA, USA

problem #15

Oct 252012

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 161,233 miles
Excessive frame rust. Frame rusted through. Will not pass inspection. I have been watching forums where many other Sequoia owners are having the same issue. This apparently does not affect all Sequoias. 3-4 years ago metal was coming off of the frame in huge chunks. I started asking the dealer about the issue several years ago and was hoping that there would be a recall to correct. The car is in excellent shape otherwise.

- Saxonburg, PA, USA

problem #14

Sep 222012

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 170,000 miles
Actually, this was not an "incident". rather it was me crawling under the truck to scrape some rust off of the frame. What I found was about a one foot long rusted "slit" in the frame. It did not look safe to me, so I took it to the Toyota dealer to inspect. (cost me $25.) I was told that it was safe for now, but would soon not be safe. The Toyota field specialist said there was nothing he could do. Looking online, I see countless cases of rotting frames on this year Sequoia. Things I see online from other owners (using my words): "the frame is rusting from the inside out. It was made with either inferior material or bad coating. The Tacoma (with the same frame) has been covered by Toyota." Lots of upset people out there! not sure what to do... don't feel right about selling it... don't feel safe driving it too much. Please help!

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #13

Jun 032012

Sequoia

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rusted frame.

- Bedford, OH, USA

problem #12

Feb 282012

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • miles
Our 2001 Sequoia will not pass inspection due to excessive rust on the frame. I drive a Sequoia and my husband drives a Tundra. We bought both our vehicles "new" from our local Toyota dealership who does most if not all of the maintenance on them. This is the first time since we've owned the Sequoia that rust has become an issue?! we did some research and found that many owners of the Sequoia are reporting this very same issue which is similar to a Tundra recall. The recall was for frame rust due to the use of inferior metal which caused rust from the inside out and by the time it becomes visible it's too late. It is a known fact that both these vehicles are built with the same frame. The recall should apply to any of Toyota's vehicles if it is the same issue. We have also filed a claim with Toyota.

- Auburn, ME, USA

problem #11

Dec 282011

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • 148,000 miles
December 28, 2011, I brought my 2001, Toyota Sequoia in to be serviced for rear brakes and to get the oil changed. My certified mechanic called me at home and strongly suggested that I come in to see what he discovered while my vehicle was up on the lift. So I stopped in to take a look. He showed me extensive rust holes in the middle of the frame welds on both the passenger and driver's side. He also pointed out that the rear differential case has severe rust damage. He strongly urged me to stop driving the vehicle and stated that it is unsafe in its present condition and that he has never seen such extensive frame rust damage on a vehicle this well taken care of. The drive train, outer body, and interior are in mint condition. I also have always made it a point to power wash the salt (calcium chloride) off the under carriage after driving in the northeast after snow or ice storms, when salt is used on our roads. I contacted my local Toyota dealership and they gave me the phone number to Toyota headquarters. The end result was, they were sorry to hear that I had a rotted out frame and suggested that I get rid of the vehicle because there is currently no recall for the Sequoias. Although, after going online at the Toyota forum I found out that they're are over 300 consumers with the same type of issue with their Sequoia frames in our state, so I do not stand alone. I am floored that a company like Toyota, that prides itself in being committed to safety does not care and will not take ownership when they knowingly used cheap Japanese steel to build these faulty frames. I currently have three young children and this is my primary vehicle. I cannot afford to throw $8 K away (kelly blue book) on this vehicle. Please help! in March 2010, Toyota recalled 2001-03 Tundra for significant frame rust, which is the same frame as the Sequoia... very puzzling?

- Simsbury, CT, USA

problem #10

Feb 172012

Sequoia

  • miles
Frame rust. Sequioa, and Tundra share the same frame. Toyota knows about the problem but unwilling to issue a recall.

- Manassas , VA, USA

problem #9

Jan 252012

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 223,700 miles
Local mechanic said that the frame is badly rusted near spare tire carrier and crossover beam in rear and near front bumper mount area. He said it was much more rust than should be expected in a 10-year-old vehicle. Called Toyota corporate. They said there are "no current programs to address Sequoia rust issues". called local dealer. They said there are "no current programs to address Sequoia rust issues". sounds like a canned answer to me. This vehicle is of the same vintage and has the same frame setup as the recalled Tundra and Tacoma models. Toyota does not seem to be interested in correcting this known issue. Updated IVOQ 02/08/12

- Sudbury, MA, USA

problem #8

Dec 302011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • miles
Truck has very rusty frame, specially the back portion and the middle, including the rear wheels, break section, real axel, full with the rust, even while trying to clean once but stopped due to realizing that, big pieces of metal was coming of like paper and start leaving hole in the frame, at front, around inside the wheels, frame is really rusty, and seem something is going to break anytime, its well maintain truck, always being maintain by Toyota dealer, has all the record. Also having issue with manifold leaked, replaced the passenger side, paying $1200 and been told driver side need to replace too, had found on line that Sequoia 2001 has problem with manifold too. Recently replaced one of the catalytic converter costing $1000 plus, which break due to rusty underneath, called Toyota but no satisfactory answer.

- Pickerington, OH, USA

problem #7

Nov 072011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 225,599 miles
I have owned this 2001 Toyota Sequoia since 2009 with 178K and the frame had rust back then. I recently had the rear tire replace and the mechanic said I should not drive it because of the excessive rust in the rear frame and bring it to a Toyota dealer for a safety check. I am calling them to have them look at the rust this Friday, I did see it for myself and wont drive it anymore because of my family's safety. I also noticed there is a recall of the Tundra truck frames by Toyota and also noticed there are many people with the same rust problems of Sequoia trucks, if they are the same frame as written online why aren't they also recalled? I cant believe this is rusting this bad, its only 10 years old but its still in such great shape.

- Little River, SC, USA

problem #6

Oct 242011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
2001 Toyota Sequoia has only 88,000 miles after ten years. Recently failed inspection due to rotted, rusted frame and rear differential casing. Mechanic was able to demonstrate frame failure by pressing finger through rusted metal. Vehicle now requires frame strength assessment to determine if it is salvageable. Vehicle has same frame as recalled Toyota Tundra.

- Hampden, ME, USA

problem #5

Sep 222011

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • 118,300 miles
After a routine oil change at my Toyota dealer, I was informed that my 2001 Toyota Sequoia has a rust hole in the frame on the driver's side. The dealer informed me that this is not covered by the current Tundra recall, but they are seeing it frequently with Sequoia's and 4runners. The dealer is frustrated with Toyota, who is replacing the frames on affected Tundra's, but will not acknowledge the exact same problem in other vehicles. The Sequoia is built upon the same frame platform as the Tundra, it would stand to reason that the same problem affecting Tundra pickups would also be present in Sequoia SUVS. The dealer recommended that I call Toyota customer service to lodge a complaint, with a hope that with enough people speaking up the Sequoia will be recalled. I did this immediately, and spoke with a very polite representative who said there was nothing Toyota would do, as there was no recall in place. This is completely unacceptable. Toyota is well aware of this issue from their own dealers, and are jeopardizing the safety of their customers by failing to act. Please help! updated IVOQ 10/18/11

- Harwich, MA, USA

problem #4

Apr 012011

Sequoia

  • 131,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that after taking the vehicle in for routine maintenance, the mechanic advised him that there was a large amount of rust on the sub-frame. The vehicle was then taken to the dealer for a diagnosis and they also advised him that there was rust on the sub-frame, but his vehicle was not included in any recalls. The failure mileage was approximately 131,000. Updated 11/23/11 the consumer was informed the corrosion was a 100% consistent with the same corrosion areas of the Toyota Tundra. Updated 03/13/12

- Sterling, MA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?