Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,821 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Sequoia suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Sequoia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Sequoia Owner Comments

problem #14

Oct 202010

(reported on)

Sequoia

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Toyota Sequoia. Attorney requests information for a case the attorney stated his client suffered back injuries requiring spinal surgery as a result of a defective ball joint.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #13

Sep 172009

Sequoia

  • 108,000 miles
Toyota Sequoia front lower ball joint separated from the knuckle and loose control of the vehicle.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #12

Nov 082007

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sequoia. The contact received a recall for the suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint (NHTSA campaign id number 07V013000). The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable and did not know when they would arrive. The contact felt that was unacceptable. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 75,000.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #11

Jun 102007

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sequoia. In July of 2007, the contact received a notice regarding NHTSA campaign id number 07V013000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable, however, they would call him when they arrived. It is now September of 2007 and the parts remain unavailable. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 27,200.

- Staton Island, NY, USA

problem #10

Jul 252007

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,120 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that he had a safety recall repair performed on his vehicle regarding the lower ball joints a while ago. On July 25, 2007, he took his vehicle in for service due to a safety recall notice he received regarding the brakes. At that time, the contact was informed that the outer edges of his two front tires were completely bald. The service station stated that there was plenty of tread on the tires because they had less than 20,000 miles. The purchase date was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 51,120.

- Mt. Ephraim, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Apr 012007

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • miles
Toyota sent a recall notice ssc 70B - front suspension lower ball joint safety recall notice in April. I immediately called to set up an appointment. Was told that parts were about a month behind, they would call upon receipt of parts. As of today, July 19, only a few parts have been received. I was told they had no idea when my name would come up for repair. Hopefully, I will not be dead from an accident involving this vehicle by the time they receive the parts. They should not be allowed to take this long for repairs that are potentially this hazardous.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #8

Jun 282007

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sequoia. The contact received recall notice # 07V013000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). The dealer stated that the parts are on back order for four months. The contact attempted to call other dealers, but no one answered the phones. No failures have occurred at this time. The powertrain was unknown. The current mileage is 62,000 and the failure mileage is inapplicable.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #7

Apr 262007

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sequoia. The contact received two safety recalls 05V225000, and 07V013000) regarding suspension: Lower ball joints. He has attempted to have the recall repair performed for two years. When contacted the dealer the vehicle was kept for several hours, and was then told to pick up the vehicle because the parts were unavailable. The most recent occurrence was in March 2007. Presently, no failures have occurred. The current and failure mileages were 52,000.

- Logan, UT, USA

problem #6

Mar 012007

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sequoia. The contact received two safety recalls 05V225000 and 07V013000) regarding suspension: Lower ball joints. He attempted to have the recall repair performed for two years. He stated that when he went to the dealer the vehiclewas kept for several hours, and was then told to pick up the vehicle because the parts were unavailable. The most recent occurrence was in March 2007. Presently, no failures have occurred. The current and failure mileages were 52,000.

- Logan, TX, USA

problem #5

Dec 222006

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles
Friday, December 22, 2006, while driving I experienced a swift pull to the driver's left, corrected it then seconds, later the vehicle gave a violent jerk, accompanied by a horrific sound of steel scraping with the smell of burning metal. The vehicle veered toward traffic in the opposite direction so I fought to hold the stirring from turning in to oncoming traffic or rolling off the road down the side of the freeway. My children scream and cried hysterically as they watched and experience our vehicle violently thrashed about. Smoked and sparks bellowed up along the passenger and front sides of the vehicle. I got the vehicle to the side off the road, out of traffic inches from a 20' (twenty-foot) drop off. The vehicle came to rest on the wheel which had separated from the vehicle causing the driver (me) to loose steering control therefore ending in the most terrifying experience for my children and myself as well as a near traffic collision. Vehicle was towed to Toyota of el cajon. They called and said the vehicle has approx $3900 in damages. He said the arm broke and the wheel separated from the vehicle. He assured me he had even look for recalls on the vehicle and there were none. He explained the vehicle had 109,000 (one-hundred-thousand) miles and this was just one of those things. I told him I not agree because I once owned a rav 4 with 364,000 (three-hundred-sixty-four-thousand) miles and never experienced such. The Sequoia was purchased new may of 2004, irregardless of the number of miles this should not have occurred. It was the Friday of a holiday weekend I was unable to speak to the dealership's customer service. I did however request what action I could take and the telephone number to Toyota corporate office.

- La Jolla, CA, USA

problem #4

Jul 122006

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 147,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car had had all applicable services and maintenance. Out of warranty due to high mileage. No problems prior. Noticed noise in front suspension of car. While driving in center lane of freeway on the way to the mechanic, ball joints failed and drivers side front wheel buckled under the car. Miraculously, we were able to get car off of freeway with no injury or damage. Understand there is an outstanding recall of 775,000 vehicles including Sequoia's of our year for this problem. We called Toyota who refused to pay for our repairs twice based on the VIN number of our vehicle. We appealed through our dealer and were refused again by Toyota. Today, our mechanic informed us that he had two more Sequoias with front noise that he referred to Toyota dealerships. Both cars had the universal joints repaired by the dealerships free. Meanwhile, we had to pay more than $2,000 for repairs and have received no assistance or acknowledgement from Toyota. If this problem occurred for 775,000 other vehicles including our make and model, surely our problem should be included.

- Orangevale, CA, USA

problem #3

Apr 282006

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
I have a 2005 Toyota Sequoia 4WD SR5 edition, I was driving through a neighborhood approximately 30 mph, when the right front end of the vehicle collapsed onto the pavement. Steering and braking power was lost as the car skid approximately 75 yards to a stop. On exiting the car and observation, the right front wheel, suspension, and axel assembly had separated from the car. My wife called a tow truck and brought our camera. The following day the local Toyota dealership arranged a tow, and I subsequently discovered that a recall had been issued for 02,03, and some 04 seqouias. Details here: lemon.onecle.com/content/05V225000-Toyota-Sequoia-2004.html essentially, a defect was discovered in the lower ball joint which could lead to separation. When I asked the dealership why I was not notified of the recall, they told me that my VIN number was several thousand units in production past when the recall and defect was discovered, and that they believed my vehicle was safe. The vehicle was towed to the dealership, and the problem was identified as a defect and separation of the lower ball joint, the dealership left me a message to this effect. They subsequently notified Toyota who inspected and replaced the assembly, both left and right. They have not offered a satisfying statement on why the car was not recalled, and why the wear was not identified in the last several services I have had performed at the dealership. This accident could have cost me, my wife and children, and possibly another vehicle's occupants their lives. I am thankful that the circumstances of the separation were on a tame neighborhoods road, but I am fearful that several thousand 2004 or later seqouias may be affected and unidentified. It would be an immense tragedy if this malfunction occurred again and caused harm or death. Additionally, shouldn't a car of this size be so over-engineered in this area that this malfunction would be virtually impossible?

- Frisco, CO, USA

problem #2

Jul 152005

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
Today toyoya is refusing to fix my 2004 Sequoia that was recently recalled for front suspensiion-control arm: Lower ball joint.the consequences is that the lower joint may sepaparte from the knuckle causing loss of steering control and a crash could occurr without prior warning.Toyota reference #200507150957

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #1

Nov 052004

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,379 miles
New 2004 Toyota Sequoia leased on 8/8/04 with 78 odometer miles, sustained damages to the front passenger-side steering arm at about 2,379 miles at 7:30 a.M. on 11/5/04 in plantation, Florida, and immediate/complete separation of passenger-side front wheel. At the time of the incident, the asphalt-paved roadway was free of any abnormal conditions, and the weather was clear. The vehicle had been in motion for only a few feet after a full stop, seconds before the breakdown. Except for body damages resulting from the 5,000-lb vehicle falling on the road after the wheel separation, there is no damage that would suggest that the breakdown was the result of a collision. Police arrived at the scene, and did not write a report. The vehicle was towed to maroone Toyota dealership at about 10:30 a.M. on 11/5/04, where it remains in disrepair.

- Plantation, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?