Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,552 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Sienna body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments (Page 9 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #192

Jun 072010


  • 79,185 miles


2004 Toyota Sienna xle AWD limited with second left passenger sliding door failure. Problem first occurred in Sep 2008 with door sticking with open/close. Referred by Toyota to auto body shop in Nov 2008 for repair - motor/hinge replaced. Failed again after repair and repaired 3/18/2009 by replacing door assembly. Now door is frozen again and will not open automatically or manually.

- San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #191

Mar 312010


  • 100,000 miles
2004 Toyota Sienna xle driver side power sliding cable snapped. This had been an issue on a number of Toyota with power sliding door. Issue is not resolve. Door is not operational.

- Powell, OH, USA

problem #190

Mar 102010


  • miles
2004 Toyota Sienna 1) 3 times my van has locked all the doors without me pushing the lock button. Each time I had unlocked the car and opened and closed at least 2 doors. Then click the doors locked. The last time it happened my 24 month old was in the car. I had to call the fire department to get her out. I had left the keys on the front seat and the remote was laying face up. My baby was in her carseat in the back. I closed the door to put the shopping cart away and click the doors locked. Nothing touched the remote, and it locked. That was 2 months ago and it hasn't happened since. 2)power door failed after 5 years. To expensive to fix. 3) struts on the rear hatch failed at 90,000 miles. This is not a power hatch. This is quite dangerous as the door is heavy and will clonk you in the head if you are not careful. My kids are not allowed to open that door any more. I am so afraid of smashed heads and fingers.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #189

Apr 022008


  • 80,000 miles


Toyota Sienna 2004 automatic door (passenger site) cable that opens the door snapped and broke. A burning smell occur but no fire. I was looking to fix this problem. Dealer wants to charge me $ $1800. I found on several blogs that this is a common problem. I am wondering if this is a manufacturing problem.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #188

May 042010


  • 104,000 miles
Rear sliding door (passenger side) would not close. There is a cable hanging from the back (3rd window) area. I cannot even open the door more than maybe 6 inches. The motor sounds like it is trying to open/close the door, but it does not move! again, I cannot even use the door at this point!!!

- Durham, NC, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #187

Dec 172009


  • 60,332 miles
2004 Toyota Sienna sliding doors get stuck and stop working when there is cold weather, snow.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #186

Feb 162010


  • miles


Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) my manual sliding door won't latch either, but it is a welding issue. On the back of the door the latch that is supposed to keep the door closed came loose from the door & is just floating inside the door. Has anyone else had this problem? it seems to be in conjunction with the other welding issue Toyota had with the front doors. This problem occurred about 4 months ago, & now my front door has had the welding come loose, which was a recall. Please let me know if you've heard of anyone else having this problem. Thank you. [xxx]

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #185

Jan 082010


  • 130,000 miles
One side automatic sliding doors on my Toyota Sienna won't open and you cannot manually override without losing function of the other door and we have found site after site where this is happening to more than just us and we are concerned for our safety in a vehicle where the door won't open. The fix according to the dealer is anywhere from $1200 to $1800 and we feel as though that is steep and they should recall this since it is not just one family reporting this problem.

- Martinsburg, WV, USA

problem #184

May 142010


  • 60,000 miles
For the past 2 months, we have been having problems with out 2004 Toyota Sienna automatic right sliding door in our minivan. The door now cannot be opened from the inside. The door must be opened from the outside, which is a safety issue. The Toyota dealership will replace the entire door motor and mechanism for about $1500. The door is apparently not covered by the extended warranty this is unacceptable. This car should be recalled because doors that cannot open from the inside are a safety hazard. A simple google search of this exact issue yields hundreds of complaints. Obviously, there is a quality issue that needs to be addressed.

- Newbury Park, CA, USA

problem #183

May 282009


  • miles
My 2004 Toyota Sienna has 64K miles. About 1 year ago, the passenger side automatic sliding door started working intermittently when using key fob, and buttons inside the car. However, pulling on the handles from inside the car or outside usually opens the door. Beginning a few weeks ago, the door is completely closed and will not open at all. A quick search on the internet revealed my problem is not an isolated case. Dealer quoted $2500-3000 to repair it. Now my kids have to use the door on the driver sides stepping into traffic getting in and out of the car.

- Foster City, CA, USA

problem #182

May 122010


  • 80,000 miles


This is for a Toyota Sienna xle limited 2004. The cables have snapped on both side sliding doors making them inoperable as automatic doors and hazardous when used as manual sliders.

- St. Helena, CA, USA

problem #181

Feb 202010


  • miles
The passenger side automatic door on my 2004 Toyota Sienna opens half way and then produce a horrible noise as if something is stuck and then tries to go back to latch position.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #180

May 062010


  • 70,000 miles
Hello, our 2004 Toyota Sienna xle driver side sliding door wire snapped day before yesterday. I took it to the near by Toyota dealer and they told me that since I am out of warranty it cost me around $2340. I didn't expect this from a well rated auto company and I am not at all happy. I even went through some websites where they wrote about the same issue. I am very frustrated about this and would like to file a complaint. Hope the company understand the issue and try to fix it and resolve the issue by fixing the existing vehicles.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #179

May 102009


  • miles
Cable snapped from driver sliding door. Cannot fully open it anymore. Useless door.

- Vernon Hills, IL, USA

problem #178

Mar 012008


  • 85,000 miles
Our 2004 Sienna sliding door became stuck open and we were forced to cut the cable in order to shut the door. The Toyota dealer quoted several thousand $$ to fix it. The cable remains cut and we now use it as a manual opening door.

- Boulder, CO, USA

problem #177

Apr 232010


  • miles
I have a Toyota Sienna 2004. I have around 85K miles on the van and the power sliding door got stuck in the open position. I was able to jam it closed with quite a bit of force. The next day the other door froze open and I could not close. I brought it to the dealer with the door open and they can't close either and tell me it needs a motor and cable assembly for $1,700. They haven't told me what the first door needs. I can see on the internet that this is a common problem but Toyota denies it. I don't think it is terribly safe to have a door lock open. Fortunately we were at home when it wouldn't close and so I didn't have to have children ride in the back with the door open.

- Boulder, CO, USA

problem #176

Apr 252010


  • 108,000 miles
No prior problems. The automatic door and it's safety feature of not closing when something is in the way stopped working. The door will not open completely and when closing it closes on anything in it's way. Sometimes it will not close or open at all. If the button is engaged to turn the automatic door off the door will not budge. It will not work in manual mode. Nothing has been done to correct the failure as of yet, as the expense is prohibitive.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #175

Apr 272010


  • 108,000 miles
Both rear sliding door cables of our 2004 Toyota Sienna have snapped, causing the automatic doors not to work. Drivers side rear sliding door came off of the rear track after cable snapped.

- Saint Charles, IL, USA

problem #174

Apr 272010


  • 61,000 miles
Drivers side passenger sliding door will not open. This occurred on April 27th 2010. I was trying to open the door to let my children out of the van, and it wouldn't budge. I checked to make sure that the doors were unlocked. They were but door still would not open.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #173

Apr 172010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. While the vehicle was parked with the passengers side sliding door open, the contact was unable to close the door. She attempted to utilize the keyless remote but to no avail. She then attempted to close the door manually but when doing so, broke a cable. The door was no longer being utilized due to the malfunction. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 74,000 and the current mileage was 74,412. Updated 10/13/10 updated 10/19/10

- Framingham, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?