Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,072 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Sienna steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments (Page 6 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Feb 012008

Sienna

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While making a sharp left turn, I can hear clunk, clunk from the steering column. Dealer says the steering column (rack-pinion) joint is bad, need replacement, not under warranty, will cost 500 to 600 $, not an immediate safety threat, can wait until the noise gets too bad. I am not happy that such things break down at 45,000 miles.

- Avenel, NJ, USA

problem #17

Oct 062008

Sienna

  • 86,501 miles
On septmber 9, 2008 I was told at the that I needed to replace all four of my run flat tires after doing so, when I left the dealer I noticed that the steering did not feel the same as it did prior to my visit. Initially, I thought because I had four new tires that the steering felt tight because the tires were hugging the road. Over the past few weeks the steering had become progressively worse. Driving straight the car felt like it pulled towards the left, making turns was difficult because the steering wheel would move intermittently as if I had no power steering. I called the dealer on October 3, 2008 to make an appointment and they told me they could look at it on October 8, 2008. The car sat over this past weekend and when I drove it first thing Monday morning I could barely move the wheel so I brought the car to the dealer on October 6, 2008 to make sure it was safe to drive. They diagnosed the problem as, "steering shaft U-joint failure, " and told me that the steering could cease. They ordered the part and replaced the steering shaft U-joint the following day on October 7, 2008. I inquired how often they saw this issue and decided to research this part which brought me to this website. I was curious since my family has owned many Toyota and never heard of this issue. In addition, the dealer had just replaced the same part on another Sienna this past Saturday. I requested that they give me the defective part which I have.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #16

Sep 122008

Sienna

  • 72,000 miles
Steering problems with my 2004 Toyota Sienna. The turning of the steering wheel has become tougher. Taking turns is extremely difficult and loss of steering control dealer is repairing at a cost of $598 and it could be more.

- Billerica, MA, USA

problem #15

Feb 012008

Sienna

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The steering began to get hard to turn. The problem progressed to the point where it began to interfere with driving. The dealer told me it was a due to corrosion on a steering shaft and if it failed completely, I would not be able to steer the vehicle. I believe the repair cost $700 with the part and subsequent alignment.

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #14

Apr 202008

Sienna

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. While driving and attempting to turn the vehicle at approximately 35-45 mph, the steering would tighten and hesitate to the point where it felt like it would not turn. The dealer believed that the U joint needed to be replaced and had lots of "play". the estimated repair cost was $523.71. The failure mileage was 78,000 and current mileage was 84,208.

- Kingston, NH, USA

problem #13

Apr 182008

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 67,200 miles
On April 18, 2008 the steering on my Toyota Sienna began to feel difficult. It was very hard to turn the steering wheel. The intermediate steering shaft had failed and was replaced on May 6, 2008.

- Londonderry, NH, USA

problem #12

Mar 162008

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

About 15 minutes into a half hour drive the steering suddenly felt like it was sticking during turns. The force required to turn the steering wheel became unpredictable, making the vehicle difficult to control. Did not drive the vehicle until local garage (not affiliated with Toyota) could inspect steering. They reported that the intermediate steering shaft needed to be replaced due to corrosion from road salt, but that the part was on national back order. Found on NHTSA website that Toyota had issued a tsb on this problem in January 2007. Given the rapidity of the onset of this problem, suggest that owners in high salt areas should be notified by manufacturer. Total mileage on vehicle is 56,000. Will keep damaged part when replacement arrives.

- Plainfield, NH, USA

problem #11

Oct 192007

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
We had a steering problem with this car for a number of months. The steering would become very difficult and felt as if it was locking up, especially in the middle of a turn. It was extremely difficult to control the car and required much effort. Towards the beginning, it was a bit intermittent. At the first visit to the Toyota dealer, we paid for other service in a vain effort to address the problem at the recommendation of the service advisor, as they said they were unable to reproduce the problem; no mention was made of this problem, and no indication was made that an inspection was made to see if this was the source of our complaint even though a tsb had existed for well over a year and numerous complaints had been logged through NHTSA and on the internet. The technicians said they could not reproduce the problem. On the second visit, I referenced the Toyota tsb (#10020994 from 01/2007) and they replaced the intermediate steering shaft (I have the original) at my cost! (total of ~$700 for 2 visits). We came close to having accidents in the car before the repair was made. This is an extreme hazard which will likely cause bodily or property harm if Toyota does not recall these vehicles soon. A number of similar complaints already exist in your database: 10221808 10220841 10220825 10220825 10189743 10162602 10159496.

- Wilmington, MA, USA

problem #10

Mar 102008

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles
A shaft in the power steering began to fail due to corrosion caused by road salt. Complete failure would have caused the steering to lock up. I replaced the part prior to failure.

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #9

Mar 072008

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
Steering became hard and would catch in certain turning situations so the car felt as if steering locked up. Needs intermediate steering shaft replaced. Car went into shop on Friday 3-7-08. Part is on national back order. None are available in usa. A tsb was issued 1-2007 concerning replacement of intermediate steering assembly with modified part in high salt areas. The original design allows salt to get in the universal joint and corrode it causing steering to become difficult. Toyota has come out with a new design. Their failure rate must be high if they have no replacement parts in the usa for 2 weeks and only states with road salt are affected.

- New Philadelphia, OH, USA

problem #8

Feb 262008

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. While driving 24 mph, the steering wheel froze. The contact experiences difficulty when driving. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that the parts for the repair were on a national back order. There is a tsb (number 10020994) regarding the steering intermediate shaft in high road salt areas. The current and failure mileages were 55,000. Updated 4/2/08 updated 04/02/08

- New Philadelphia, OH, USA

problem #7

May 042007

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that when turning the steering wheel in either direction, it becomes difficult to turn, jams, and fails to turn back to the correct driving position. The dealer stated that the vehicle needs an intermediate shaft, steering gear, and a steering column flex coupling. The dealer also stated that it is not safe to drive the vehicle because the steering may fail. The current and failure mileages were 48,000.

- Rockvile Centre, NY, USA

problem #6

Jun 182006

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,800 miles
2004 Toyota Sienna with 39,000 miles. Steering shaft assembly failed - nearly impossible to maneuver car. Failure occurred suddenly, as if power steering system failed. Failure blamed on rubber boot. Corrective action: Steering shaft assembly replaced at consumer cost. Old part is available for government viewing. Sudden failure could have caused loss of vehicle control and accident at high speeds. Toyota refused to cover repair due to my not having 30,000 miles service performed at local Toyota dealership!

- Acton, MA, USA

problem #5

Jun 092006

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
Problem with steering system in 2004 Toyota Sienna. Noise in steering. Toyota repair shop indicated steering intermediate needs to be replaced because it was bad. I believe steering system is a manufacturing defect.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #4

Aug 212004

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles
Since purchase, vehicle steering has excessive "play", which requires too many steering corrections, especially under windy conditions. Condition is most obvious at highway speeds. There has been no "failure" per say, but such information should be made known to other buyers. No "repairs" for this item have been attempted because it unfortunately appears to be "normal" for this vehicle. Such a condition, however, seems very unsafe.

- Herndon, VA, USA

problem #3

Aug 012004

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
The steering on the 2004 Sienna lacks precision and requires constant corrections. Upon correcting it appears to have an underdamped but responsive response that creates an unstable feeling while driving. The problem is exemplified during windy days where above normal corrections on non windy days become extreme corrections on windy days. In heavy traffic this becomes a very stressful driving condition. When all other driving responsibilities are thrown into the mix it is very challenging to drive the vehicle. Toyota's choice of steering components are inferior relative to their advertised quality.

- Uniontown, OH, USA

problem #2

Jan 032005

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The steering sensor is causing the traction control to come to a halt and slow the vehicle down. Taken to dealer for checkup for the sixth time and results showed that the steering lock needs to be replaced.

- Woodmere, NY, USA

problem #1

Mar 302004

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,985 miles
At 13K00miles, owner noticed excessive tire wear to outside edges of both steer tires. Took to selling dealer to have alignment checked and tires rotated. Toe in was outside specification. Dealer corrected alignment and agreed to replace 1 worn tire. Owner replaced other at his expense. At 22K miles, same type of tire wear apparent on steer tires again. Owner contacts Toyota customer service to complain. Toyota agrees to replace 1 worn tire and owner to replace the other. Owner not satisfied with decision. Vehicle is obviously causing abnormal wear to tires. At this rate, owner will be required to replace all 4 tires every year due to a problem with the vehicle. Toyota not standing behind their product, only their checkbook.

- Kernersville, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?