Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,553 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Sienna wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #80

Aug 202016

Sienna

  • 129,274 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Inside of sidewall cracking, appears dry rot powder residue from tire in trunk after replacing. Purchase August 22, 2013, shown as 90,000 mile tire when purchased. Failed 8-20-2016 driven approx. 40,489 miles. Looks like siding separated.. multiple holes and splits looks shredded.. no appearance of problems on outside of tire. Considered lucky tire failure did not cause accident have pictures...

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #79

Jun 172016

Sienna

  • 76,316 miles
On June 17, 2016, I got into my 2004 Toyota Sienna xle-ims rampvan (joint Toyota-ims, floor-lowered wheelchair van conversion with ramp). There was debris on the back seat (what in a non-ims Sienna be the third-row seat). I saw tire belts sticking up from the tread of the spare tire. The tire had exploded and deflated, strewing debris from the ruptured tire belts and tread on the back seat. Note that in the ims version of the Sienna, the spare tire is mounted on a bracket behind the back seat. Thankfully, no one had been in the van at time of explosion. The rupture of the tire could have been behind the head or neck of a passenger sitting in the left-rear position. The exploded spare tire is a Firestone radial tempa spare, T155/80R17 101M. It is the original spare tire and was inflated to the specified 60 psi. I still have the exploded tire, which I had dismounted and replaced. I also have photos of the ruptured tired while it was still mounted to its bracket behind the back seat.

- Bushnell, FL, USA

problem #78

Jun 012015

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna equipped with Firestone tires, size: 155/80/R17 (na). The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires); however, the recall part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Stamford, CT, USA

problem #77

Jun 012015

Sienna

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Toyota Sienna. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to complete spare tire cable recall notice.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #76

May 052015

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Campaign 14V273000 (spare tire cable corrosion) was initiated in May 2014. It's now a year later and there is no permanent fix, nor has Toyota even provided a date when there will be a permanent fix. The interim fix I have been living with for the past year was to remove the spare tire from under my minivan and put it in the passenger compartment. Toyota has gone way too long without providing a fix. But what troubles me today is that when I look up my VIN ([xxx]) in Toyota's database and in yours (safercar.gov), the response is no open recalls. How can this be? "no open recalls, " yet the problem still exists. I wonder if anyone is working on it. Btw, I'd be happy to have a new cable same as the original installed, but apparently the dealer isn't allowed to use the same part as original because it could corrode again, which in my opinion is unlikely because at this point in my minivan's life, any cable will outlast the rest of the vehicle. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Woodstock, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #75

May 222014

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #74

Oct 022014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The following is an email we sent to Toyota. We believe Toyota has failed to remedy the defect within a reasonable time. Request your help to resolve the issue. Thank you, email: "12/12/14 we had the temporary remedy for the 2004 Sienna spare tire recall (#E1S) done at your dealership October 2, 2014. We were told that we couldn't leave the dealership with the spare tire in its current location under the car. Subsequently, the spare tire cable was cut and the spare tire put in the trunk. We were told this was a temporary remedy and that Toyota would have a solution by December 2014. We want to know when the permanent solution will be available. Please keep us updated as to the status of this recall so the inconvenience of the spare tire taking up space in the trunk and the inability to stow the back seat can be resolved. We appreciate Toyota S concern for safety and that this is being addressed."

- Darien, CT, USA

problem #73

Apr 072010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 05-27-15...updated 06/03/15 updated 06/11/15 as of May 7, 2015 the consumer no longer owns the vehicle. Updated 06/30/15

- Toms River , NJ, USA

problem #72

Nov 032014

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires); however, the part needed was not available for months and the dealer removed the spare tire carrier as a temporary adjustment. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The manufacturer was unable to determine when the part would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Midland, MI, USA

problem #71

May 222014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/12/15

- Armonk, NY, USA

problem #70

Mar 162015

Sienna

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Hinsdale, IL, USA

problem #69

Jul 032014

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Swampscott, MA, USA

problem #68

Aug 062011

Sienna

  • 95,000 miles
Spare tire failure.

- Johns Creek, GA, USA

problem #67

May 222011

Sienna

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna with dunlop run flat tires, size 225/60/17, dot number 3T6R2508. The contact was driving 55 mph when the front and rear passenger tires blew. The contact stated that there were abnormal bubbles in the tires. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who advised that all of the tires needed replacing. The tires were replaced. The current and failure mileage was 48,000.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #66

Oct 052010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
Tire does not hold air over time.

- Kent, OH, USA

problem #65

Sep 032010

Sienna

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2004 Toyota Sienna, hydroplaned and spun around traveled off the left side of the roadway and struck the concrete wall. The vehicle then traveled back across the roadway and came to rest on the North berm. Bf according to the police report, the front tires were in excellent condition, but the rear tires had very low tread. (Ohio traffic report # 10-0588-90)

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #64

Jan 012005

Sienna

  • 10,000 miles
I purchased a 2004 Sienna brand new in 2004. Toyota engineered the 2004 Toyota Sienna w/ dunlop run flat tires. As such they designed no space for a spare or a jack. Including 4 tires that were replaced as part of a recall I have replaced a total of 13 tires in 6 years. These tires cost almost $300 to replace. The low tire pressure warning light has never lit up, Toyota tested it and stated it works but have no idea why it does not light up when the tire goes flat. Toyota takes no responsibility for their design choice in any way. I have requested everything from partial reimbursement to a full set of regular tires with a spare and a jack. All requests have been refused.

- North Babylon, NY, USA

problem #63

Nov 302009

Sienna

  • 60,000 miles
On November 30, 2009, I got a flat tire, and called aaa to put on the spare. When they arrived and looked under my car, they discovered that I no longer had a spare tire! it had apparently fallen off at some point previously. I think it may have fallen off in late September of 2009, as I did notice something bumping around under the car on a trip on the highway.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #62

Feb 212010

Sienna

  • 70,200 miles
While driving my 2004 Toyota Sienna minivan, the cable which held the spare tire under the car snapped and the spare tire fell off the vehicle.

- Birmingham, MI, USA

problem #61

Aug 132008

Sienna

  • 85,000 miles
2 flat tires within a year on a 2004 Toyota Sienna (tires replaced 2007). Both occasions had a bad valve stem. Both occasions the flat tire warning light came on indicating a flat, replaced valve stems on both occasions. Have since replaced tires due to concern of faulty valve stems.

- Porterville, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?