Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,742 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Sienna wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #44

Aug 212015

Sienna

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Toyota Sienna. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle hat a flat tire. The consumer discovered the vehicle did not have a spare tire. The dealer claimed to have inspected the spare tire. However, they never mentioned the spare tire was missing.

- Punta Gorda, FL, USA

problem #43

May 222015

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna. While driving 30 mph, the spare tire detached from the vehicle due to a rusted cable. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the tire was taken from its original position and placed in the trunk of the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 113,000. Updated 7/16/15

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #42

Oct 312014

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brunswick, OH, USA

problem #41

Aug 012014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that a remedy had not yet been designed to correct the issue. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The dealer cut the spare tire cable without the contact's consent and placed the spare in the contact's vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/13/15

- Bel Air , MD, USA

problem #40

Mar 292015

Sienna

  • miles
I want to know why Toyota is dragging their feet getting the spare tire bracket and cable corrected. I will not have my wife and daughter without a means to replace a flat tire when they are traveling. The fix is simple new mechanism with stainless steel cable and associated hardware. The offer to remove the tire and place that in the trunk is an insult as is not to carry it and call Toyota if they have a flat. This recall has been in place for a very long time and something has to be done. Recall is 14V273000.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #39

Feb 282014

Sienna

  • miles
Tread became separated from 8 to 10 inches of tire exposing the steel belts. Caused an unsafe wobble while driving. Tire did not rupture. Issue was discovered quickly. Tire only 14 months old.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #38

Feb 142014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires); however, the vehicle was unable to be serviced under the recall because the manufacturer had not provided a remedy to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/24/15 the consumer stated this was the second notice in the last 4 years. Updated 10/19/2015

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #37

Jul 282014

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Davidsonville, MD, USA

problem #36

Feb 182015

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #35

Jan 122015

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #34

Aug 142014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires). The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician strapped the spare tire to the rear of the vehicle as a temporary remedy. The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/18/15 updated 10/28/2015

- Park Ridge, IL, USA

problem #33

Dec 062014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 142,510 miles
While the vehicle was in motion, the spare tire dropped suddenly. Toyota knew about this corrosion problem back in April 20, 2010 with NHTSA campaign number 10V160000. In May 22, 2014, another interim campaign number 14V273000 was issued. Until today, nothing have been followed up to solve the issue. Toyota's customer service just told me that "until they found a permanent solution for this issue, just put the spare tire in the trunk". this type of shirking responsibilities and aloof attitude. The sudden dropped of the tire would have pose a very dangerous conditions to other vehicles if on a busy highway.

- Hammonton, NJ, USA

problem #32

Nov 102011

Sienna

  • 50,000 miles
The tires do not last more than 18 months on this vehicle. The tire dealer will not warranty tires because it has obvious misalignment based on the tire wear. I had the alignment checked and it is all within factory specs. This is very frustrating. I get less than 20,000 miles on a set of tires that cost $600.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

problem #31

Mar 032014

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna. The contact received the recall notification related to NHTSA campaign id number 14V273000 (tire). The contact stated that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer has not been contacted.

- Lockport, IL, USA

problem #30

Jun 012007

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
Removed the run flat tires and replaced them with regular tires. I am constantly having the "tire balance" light go off in my car and getting flat tires. Ever since I switched the tires the alignment has always been issue.

- Port Matilda, PA, USA

problem #29

Jul 022013

Sienna

  • 53,000 miles
Run-flat tire went flat without the warning light activation. When it activated, there was already a hole in the tire from running it flat. The second time this happened, which was one week later, there was a hole before the light came on. The tire pressure is checked regularly on this vehicle.

- Cedar Lake, MI, USA

problem #28

Oct 212012

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 129,000 miles
I was driving in August and could hear something banging on the underside of my van, I would stop and it would go away because the tread would fall on road and then start a day later with more tread coming off. It was the tread coming off of my tires but didn't know that at the time and getting caught on the underside of my van. This went on for 2 weeks. My tire sensor never came on. I drove to Ohio on I-75 October 21, 2012 and my front 2 tires blew out at the same time - br 001522 tires. A big slash in one tire a small hole in another. I pull over and see a lot of the tread is completely off of both tires. I get to a tire store and they said it look like the alignment caused the wear. I replaced all 4 tires and have the tire co put the 2 in my back van. I go to belle tire to get a refund for my tires with 29,000 miles on 65,000 wear tires. They said they would call Bridgestone. Bridgestone denied my case for a refund. I got an alignment 11/14/2012 and it shows my alignment was ok a little off but would never have caused that kind of wear with tread just coming off both tires at the same time - they are defective tires. The white spikes were showing on both tires - the tread came off completely on both tires around the edges.

- Rochester, MI, USA

problem #27

Mar 172012

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 5,693 miles
Failure of sidewalls of two Bridgestone insignia SE200 215/65R16 tires at 5693 miles of normal driving conditions on 2006 Toyota Sienna van-dot # ob6ve224711 located on tire sidewall. Tires sold by monro shop # 190 in christianburg, va. Same tire brand, model and size replaced at shop #349 in cheshire, ct at cost of road hazard coverage contract at cost of $87. 80 to cover all four tires. I am very concerned that the other two tires purchased at the same time with the same dot designations may also develop sidewall bulges and be the cause of a serious accident. Is there a manufacturing defect on this tire that should be looked into?

- Cheshire, CT, USA

problem #26

Aug 012012

Sienna

  • miles
2006 Toyota Sienna. Consumer states problem with vehicle tires the consumer stated the vehicle came equipped with dunlop sp 4000 dsst ctt run flat tires. Within 50,000 total miles, the consumer had gone through two sets of the tires, along with two separate sidewall explosions at highway speeds.

- Manorville, NY, USA

problem #25

Jul 012010

Sienna

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna equipped with dunlop SP4000 tires, size P225/60/R17. The contact stated that the driver was traveling 55 mph when the front passenger side tire blew. The tires were run-flat tires and the vehicle was taken directly to an authorized dealer where the tire was replaced. The failure recurred on the front driver's side tire approximately one and a half years later. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and the contact was informed that the failure was common for the model vehicle. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- West Hartford, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?