Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
23 / 2
Average Mileage:
27,188 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Sienna engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Apr 182016

Sienna

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was accelerating on a city street, going uphill, the accelerator got stuck in the pedal-down position and the car started revving on its own. At the time, I was going about 10-15 mph and the car accelerated to about 25mph before I was able to stop it. I quickly removed my foot from the accelerator and stepped on the brakes which slowed down the acceleration, but did not stop the revving or the acceleration. I tapped the accelerator with my foot which seemed to loosen the accelerator (it became unstuck) and stopped the revving of the engine. I pulled over to calm myself before driving on. This was the third time I have experienced this; the other two times happened on the freeway and was resolved the same way; by stepping down on the accelerator to make it unstuck. The action is very similar to the emergency-brake engage/disengage function on the Toyota Sienna.

- Ssf, CA, USA

problem #25

Dec 282015

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota Sienna. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle sudden unintended acceleration. The consumer stated he shifted from reverse to drive, the vehicle suddenly took off at high speed. As the consumer tried to steer the vehicle, he hit another vehicle. The consumer stated the floor mat was securely positioned and there was no way, it could have interfered with the accelerator pedal.

- Norridge, IL, USA

problem #24

Oct 222015

Sienna

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Sienna. While driving 3 mph, the contact depressed the brake pedal and the vehicle accelerated without warning. As a result, the contact crashed into a tree on a sidewalk. The contact was not injured. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an independent towing lot. In addition, the contact stated that the floormat was loose since the day the vehicle was purchased. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 32,000.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #23

Oct 222012

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 81,307 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On mon 10/22/2012 at 11:15 am I experienced sudden uncontrolled acceleration driving my van. I was traveling on I-696E in detroit at a constant 70mph, then slowed to 45mph due to construction. As traffic cleared the construction, I pushed the accelerator pedal to pass a semi-truck. I felt the accelerator continue to depress, I completely pulled my foot off but the pedal did not come back nor did the vehicle slow down. Rather, it did just the opposite and continued to accelerate. I attempted to brake hard with no response--the vehicle did not slow down. Then I put the van in neutral to slow down the engine with no results, the van continued increasing 60+mph with no foot on accelerator. This is when I became extremely frightened. The vehicle was pulling from side to side. I looked down to see if there was any interference from the floor mat and none was seen. I tapped gas pedal - no response. Next I put van back in drive and braked --no response again. Then I downshifted to 4th, the engine did not slow, and further downshifted to 3rd gear. Finally, the engine responded and slowed. I used the gas pedal cautiously as I then shifted to 4th so that I could exit the freeway. I parked at my office & immediately called my husband first and explained what happened and I then immediately called the our Toyota Suburban dealer. They told me to bring it in for inspection. I was still shaking when I brought the vehicle in and extremely upset. After two inspections, they stated sudden acceleration was caused by the floor mat. Although this seems reasonable, it does not explain why brakes failed to overcome the engine, and shifting to neutral failed to disengage the transmission. The vehicle scares me to death. I do not know what to do next. I consider myself a serious witness as a registered nurse (rn/bsn) with 20 yr manual driving. Ref Toyota case #[xxx] and #[xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA

problem #22

Jul 252012

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph she attempted to engage the accelerator pedal but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The failure mileage was 66,000 and the current mileage was 68,000. Updated 10/17/12 updated 10/19/2012

- Fargo , ND, USA

problem #21

Jun 302012

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Sienna. The contact was sitting at a traffic stop with the brakes depressed when suddenly the vehicle rapidly surged forward and crashed into a preceding vehicle, causing a chain reaction of vehicles crashing into one another. The vehicle continued to surge several more times before the gear was shifted into park and the vehicle was turned completely off. The vehicle was drivable and there were no injuries reported. The police were not available. The insurance company was notified. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 59,000. Updated08-30-12 the consumer stated the vehicle was towed to a mechanic who found no flaws or computer codes to explain the surge. No repairs were made. The vehicle was traded in. Updated 09/12/2012

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #20

Mar 152012

Sienna

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that when applying the brakes, the vehicle would surge forward abnormally before coming to a complete stop. The contact stated that the failure was experienced numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The dealer was not contacted. The VIN was not available. The failure and the current mileage was 55,000.

- Cidar Falls , IA, USA

problem #19

May 252010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
Engine/powertrain hesitates for 1-3 seconds when accelerating slowly, or accelerating quickly after slowing down such as when slowing down in an intersection, making a turn, or in slow traffic. Engine has piston slap for 3-5 minutes after a cold start in weather below 40 F. the slap becomes louder with colder temps. Shifting into gear with a cold engine can cause the vehicle to lurch due to high idle. Driver must have foot firmly on brake before shifting into gear. Problem diminishes if engine is allowed to warm for 45-60 seconds. When parking, the driver must keep the brake fully depressed, shift into park, pause 1-2 seconds before releasing brake. It seems there is a brief delay between gear lever being placed into park, and powertrain actually going into neural/park position. Releasing the brake too soon will allow vehicle to roll ahead 3-6 inches.

- Depere, WI, USA

problem #18

Sep 262010

Sienna

  • 63,000 miles
9/26 approximately 4:30 P.M. 2006 Toyota Sienna suddenly accelerated in driveway as I was turning left into garage. I could not stop vehicle and it crashed into the garage. The only thing that stopped the vehicle from crashing through the garage was the back left wheel hitting the door frame and metal rail of the garage door opener, pulling it down onto the car. The entire left side of the vehicle was damaged along with the side of the garage. We bought the vehicle new and have had no previous mechanical problems with it. We contacted Toyota on 9/26, and 9/27. They gave us a case manager and case number and on 9/29 stated that a representative would be appointed to look at the vehicle in 10-14 days and it would take another 30 days for the inspection. They stated if the vehicle was moved, it might be considered "tampered with". we had to have our garage repaired, so had vehicle towed to a Toyota dealership on 10/1 with instructions not to start vehicle or do anything to it. Our car insurance adjuster would not give an estimate on the vehicle while it was lodged in the side of the garage and felt that it might incur additional damage when pulled out if the overhead door fell on it. Contractor was present at towing to remove overhead door and jack up door frame. $3,500 damage to garage. Car adjuster will do to dealership to give estimate on vehicle. I was the only occupant and was not hurt. We have been pulling in this garage since 1983 and with mini-vans since 1987 and know how slowly you have to go - 4 to 5 miles an hour or slower to make the almost 90 degree turn. It suddenly accelerated as I turned. How do we get Toyota to expedite this? my husband and I have jobs in different communities and need our vehicle. We want them to examine, acknowledge problem, put on recall list and cover our expenses. We feel waiting 2 weeks for a representative to come and another 30 days for a determination is not a timely manner.

- Hillsboro, OH, USA

problem #17

Jan 252010

Sienna

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Sienna. The contact was entering a parking garage at 20 mph when the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into the garage wall. The contact was uninjured. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The dealer advised the contact that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. On a later date while entering a parking lot, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and crashed into a cement pole. The contact was uninjured and the vehicle was towed to a local garage. A police report was available. The manufacturer advised that an investigator would further inspect the vehicle for the cause of the failure. The contact was awaiting the results but the manufacturer advised that the investigation results would not be disclosed to her. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 19,000 and the current mileage was 22,000.

- Abell , MD, USA

problem #16

Jun 302010

Sienna

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was pulling up into my garage driveway, and applied the brake and then without any kind of warning my Toyota 2007 Sienna started accelerating and I couldn't stop it, even though I was pressing on the brake as hard as I could. It ran through my garage door and took off half of the garage housing on the left side, and then it rammed into the wall separating the garage from the house. Out of desperation I shifted from drive to park and that finally stopped the van. So far we are awaiting an investigation, in the meantime though our lives are in limbo because of this.

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #15

Apr 272010

Sienna

  • miles
I was parking my vehicle in the bixby hospital parking lot. I pulled into a space directly across from a vehicle, and put my foot on the brake. As I was putting my 2007 Toyota in park the car lurched forward as if someone was pressing hard on the accelerator. The force was so hard that I hit a pole and then into the car in from of me, pushing the other car back about three feet into a pedestrian..

- Pittsford, MI, USA

problem #14

Dec 102008

Sienna

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated she was sitting idle at a car wash and when shifting into drive, the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The vehicle crashed into a truck, hit a guardrail and proceeded to crash into a cement wall. The vehicle did not respond to the contacts attempts to brake and stop the acceleration. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact sustained injuries.the contact stated there were several skid marks on the cement from her attempting to brake. Her insurance company was in the process of investigating the crash. The dealer had not been contacted. The failure mileage and current mileage was 45000. Updated 05/18/10.

- Jefferson, OR, USA

problem #13

Feb 182009

Sienna

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Sienna which was modified for disabled persons. While driving at an unknown speed, the driver applied the brakes and the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into another vehicle. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The driver was able to safely drive the vehicle home without the failure reoccurring. The contact stated that the brakes on the vehicle had always needed heavy pressure to brake properly. The manufacturer advised the contact to have the vehicle towed to an authorized dealership. The brakes were repaired but the sudden acceleration problem was not addressed. The failure has not occurred since the vehicle was returned to the contact. The failure mileage was approximately 12,000. The current mileage was approximately 20,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #12

Feb 232010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Sienna. While the contact was approaching a drive-through window at approximately 2 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning causing the contact to crash into the vehicle in front of him. In order to stop the vehicle from accelerating she had to turn the vehicle off. Two people were injured and a police report was filed. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 42600. Updated 5/6/10 updated 06/10/10.

- Arcadia, FL, USA

problem #11

Jan 102008

Sienna

  • miles
I was parked on a hill. When I tapped the accelerator, the car took off at a rapid acceleration. I tried to brake to slow the car down...my brakes wouldn't work...my steering wheel started to lock. I finally forced the car into park put on the er brake and steered the car up a hill. The car jumped a curb and was headed for a house when it came to a stop. I was only a few feet from the front door. My car is a Toyota Sienna. The company and our local dealership told me that my car was not involved in the recall. My husband's Toyota avalon was and the gas pedal was adjusted. He had to wait a few weeks for the replacement...and was not given a loaner car.

- York, PA, USA

problem #10

Jan 262010

Sienna

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that as he started his vehicle, the entire electrical system in his vehicle came on. All the warning lights also illuminated when the engine revved excessively as if the vehicle wanted to accelerate. The vehicle was in neutral gear; therefore, the vehicle would not move. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where he was told it was impossible for that to happen and that his hand was holding down on the keys too long. The dealer and the manufacturer stated that there was no failure. The contact is afraid to drive the vehicle. The failure mileage was 28,000.

- Washington, NC, USA

problem #9

Aug 112007

Sienna

  • 3,000 miles
August 11, 2007 my husband was killed in a car accident involving a brand new Toyota Sienna. The cause of the accident was never determined. I was in the mini-van with my husband. He failed to stay in our lane going round a slight curve in the road. We hit another car head on. I am very concerned about the Toyota recall and wonder if the accelerator pedal issue also concerns Siennas. For the safety of other families, I wish to reopen the investigation of our car accident.

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #8

Feb 222010

Sienna

  • 55,000 miles
I was parked in the parking lot of my children's school. The car next to me needed to back out so I was moving my car forward a little to get out of their way. When I put the car in drive it started accelerating but my foot was on the brake. I turned the wheel to miss the block wall in front of me. The car had jumped the curb and was up in the landscape area. It was continuing to accelerate and I was pumping the brake and trying to not hit anything. I was trying to put it in neutral so that it would stop but by then the car was down in the other side of the parking lot and headed toward a three foot cliff. My youngest son was in the car and not buckled into his seat so I was panicking trying to get it to stop. I put it into park and it make a weird rattle noise and then stopped very suddenly. I looked down at my feet immediately to make sure that I was not accidentally pressing the gas but my foot was still on the brake. I was late to pick my children up from school thankfully, because 10 minutes earlier the parking lot would have been full of children. I towed my car into Toyota and they are looking at it but said that my vehicle is not part of the recall.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #7

Aug 112007

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
On August 11, 2007, my family experienced a head on collision. We were driving a 2007 Toyota Sienna. My husband was driving and died at the scene. The investigation never found any reason for the cause of the accident. My husband crossed the center line while going round a slight curve. He was 47, poor weather was not issue. If the accelerator on the Sienna malfunctioned and did not respond, that could definitely have been a factor. Our van had less than 3000 miles on it. We purchased in May 11, 2007. The autopsy for my husband came back negative for any medical condition concern. Please investigate our accident report and be sure the safety and reliability of Sienna's is sound. Updated 03/10/10 updated IVOQ 08/24/10 update 9/19/2011

- Rochester, MN, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?