Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.2

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,143 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Toyota Sienna wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Jul 092016

Sienna

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Wheel bolts breaking when tightening by hand. Minivan has only about 30,000 miles, driven mostly in the city in California. Wheel bolt broke when putting wheel back after cleaning brakes. Tightening was done by hand using standard wheel wrench.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #21

Aug 052015

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Palm Beach Garden, FL, USA

problem #20

May 142014

Sienna

  • miles
This follow up for safety recall notice E0S (E1S) [excessive corrosion of the spare tire carrier cable] when will Toyota fix this? we have been carrying our spare tire in the back of the van for 3 months now and this was announced 22 May 14. I contacted Toyota asking for a timeline of when this issue will be fixed and their reply was "we are sorry, however we do not have an estimated timeframe for when this safety recall's remedy will be released. " it has been a year and 4 months since this recall was announced and they still do not know when this will be fixed. Do these recalls have an indefinite time frame to get fixed. The NHTSA needs to follow up on these open recalls so manufacturers can close them in a timely manner. Regards,

- Maryville, MO, USA

problem #19

May 222014

Sienna

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. MA 10/19/2015

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #18

May 222014

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

May 282014

Sienna

  • miles
I have purchased a us Toyota Sienna 2011 from NY while being Canadian living in Canada. Since May 2014 I have received a notice on recall about my Sienna 2011 VIN 5tdkk3dc5bs[xxx] for the spare wheel E1S, NHTSA ref id 14V273 and since that time we have heard nothing from Toyota as owners for the remediation of this safety recall ( this applies to Canadian vehicles as well). All what they say is to put the spare wheel in the trunk as a temporary solution for now, and this also is not a safe solution considering this wheel among passengers and what it could do in case of impact. We have been more than patient about this issue but not sure what we should expect from a manufacturer in this case and what kind of role the NHTSA could play, how long is acceptable for the NHTSA for a manufacturer to provide a solution to a recall, does it take few fatal accidents or not sure what regulates those industries and how recalls are controlled.....updated 09/11/15. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Mississauga, On L5n6z4 Canada, NY, USA

problem #16

Mar 162015

Sienna

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my 2011 Toyota Sienna to the dealership to be serviced. I was told the spare tire cable is defective (NHTSA #14V273000) and the spare tire was placed in my trunk. I was told there is no fix to this situation. This recall was issued in may of 2014 and I feel 10 months is more than enough time to have developed a fix for this problem. It is unacceptable to take this long to develop a fix, and to inconvenience the owner by taking up half the trunk with the spare tire.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #15

Mar 182015

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (wheels) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wilbraham, MA, USA

problem #14

Oct 012013

Sienna

  • miles
My van is only four years old and on its 3rd set of tires! serviced regularly and rotated every 5000 miles. Van only has 59,000 miles on it. Seems to me it is a Toyota issue, as I have read numerous complaints on the same issue.

- Durango, CO, USA

problem #13

Jan 222015

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (wheels). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician strapped the spare tire to the trunk as a temporary remedy. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #12

Jul 012014

Sienna

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:11V560000 (wheels). The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician strapped the spare tire to the luggage compartment as a temporary remedy due to the parts not being available for repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #11

Jan 132015

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V560000 (wheels) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/13/15 updated 6/18/2015

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #10

Nov 012014

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V560000 (wheels). The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician strapped the spare tire to the trunk of the vehicle as a temporary remedy. The part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Waterford, NJ, USA

problem #9

Jan 022014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
Tms-ntc-13142 I have a 2011 Toyota Sienna SE with 19" rims and tires which failed to meet the NHTSA test for tire loading and as a result Toyota sent out a recall notice to replace the tires with extra load tires. However, they are not honoring their requirement because they are requiring the tow hitch be a oem product which does not exist. They sold these vans with a tow package but not with a tow hitch. Toyota does not sell oem tow hitches interestingly enough. As a result, customers have had to purchase a after market tow hitch. Now that the weight of the vehicle exceeds the tire ratings and they are required to replace the wheels, Toyota is requiring their dealerships to only replace wheels if the van is equipped with an oem tow hitch which again does not exist. In other words, Toyota is not honoring their commitment to safety. I have contacted Toyota 4 times and their dealerships 4 times with no avail. I am concerned about my family's safety when we pull our trailers. Please help.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #8

Nov 112011

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 5,846 miles
Excessive tire wear to vehicle front tires detected after 5,846 miles. Alignment checked by dealer. New front tires were installed using a 65,000 mile rated tire. At 22,000 (16,000 miles from time of replacement) excessive wear (to steel cords) noted to new front tires. Manufacturer claims there is no mechanical/design defect in vehicle. Excessive and premature tire wear is creating potentially unsafe driving/operating conditions.

- Temple City, CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 242013

Sienna

  • miles
Bought our 2011 Sienna new off the lot back in 2011 and we are now on our 2nd set of new tires (3rd in some cases that 2 needed replacing). A total of 6 new tires with a vehicle that has only 30,000 miles on it is ridiculous. I have called Toyota about this issue and now our van sits in our driveway like a dead weight. We had a tire blow out on us already a few months ago in which we had to replace it. They go bald very fast and are no good in bad weather. I have never owned a vehicle in which I had to replace tires this often. It almost caused us a wreck when the tire blew out and we cant keep up with the costs of replacing them since they are so expensive.

- Barto, PA, USA

problem #6

Oct 292013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 45,756 miles
This is for a Sienna 2011 with AWD that I purchased new in Oct 2010. At approximately 27,000 miles, Toyota dealer recommends replacement of run flat tires with Bridgestone turanza run flats. At 45,000 miles, same dealer recommends replacement of tires again. They now recommend a non run flat tire. This will be third set of tires for this vehicle that is 3 yrs old and has been serviced by Toyota every 5,000 miles. There appears to be a problem with excessive wear of run flat tires on this vehicle. Toyota should be held accountable for this issue and replace these tires.

- Watertown, CT, USA

problem #5

Oct 052013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
My Sienna falls under the current recall for unsafe tires for Siennas used for towing, but the dealer refuses to provide the extra load tires because my hitch was installed aftermarket. I purchased the vehicle with the towing package, however I was advised by the dealer to get the hitch installed elsewhere to save time and money. Regardless of that fact, I fail to see how where the hitch was installed makes the tires safe vs. Unsafe. Toyota is clearly hiding behind an arbitrary policy. I use the vehicle for towing. One tire is beginning to show signs of early failure. Toyota needs to provide the extra load tires asap. This is a serious safety concern. Toyota needs to comply with the recall.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #4

Sep 302013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 23,547 miles
Coming around a turn at 10 mph, the passenger rear tire blew out, with a total loss of pressure and a whoosh of air. The tires were properly inflated at the time. The tire pressure warning light was not lit. The tires have only 23,547 miles on them. I do not feel a tire that is 2 years old with this number of miles should suffer a complete failure. I am very concerned for my safety and that of my family. Luckily no one was hurt, this time.

- Clarendon Hills, IL, USA

problem #3

May 012012

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
NHTSA campaign 11V560000.............my vehicle has a tow hitch and so the safety recall information provided by says to not place the new tire and loading information placard on the vehicle. The instructions provided by Toyota further state that: "the remedy for your vehicle will be available after May 2012. We will send you another notice when it is ready." I called Toyota in June of 2012 and was told that the remedy was not yet ready and I would be notified when it was. I was provided this information by an individual named [xxx] at 800-331-4331 ext [xxx] and was given a case number [xxx]. this was over a year ago and still not response or action by Toyota. It feesl like they have no intention of resolving this issue for me. How long is reasonable to wait for a fix with a recall associated with potential overloading of the tire/wheel? thank you information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Kent, WA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?