Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
90,393 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #51

Aug 252014

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 47,775 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During pa state inspection frame is totally rusted and failed. Holes in frame by engine but entire frame is rusted. Thought it was just surface rust but not that lucky. Only 47775 miles.

- Willow Grove, PA, USA

problem #50

Aug 022014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 70,200 miles
I took the vehicle to koons Toyota on Saturday, Aug 2nd for an oil change. The dealer contacted me and advised the vehicle had a frame condition that made it too dangerous to drive the vehicle. When I got there the vehicle was on the lift and the frame had extreme rust and a large hole in it and the exact same hole was developing on the opposite side. I contacted Toyota and filed a complaint and received this response from them: [xxx], we apologize for your concern with the frame on your 2005 Tacoma. At this time, your Tacoma is not involved in any recalls or warranty enhancements for the frame. Until a recall or warranty enhancement is announced for your Tacoma, there is nothing that we can do at this time. Your email has been documented at our national headquarters under file #1408052561. If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact us. Sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Crofton, MD, USA

problem #49

Jul 032009

Tacoma

  • 75,000 miles
Excessive rust on vehicle frame and suspension components.

- Mullica Hill, NJ, USA

problem #48

Jul 252014

Tacoma

  • 71,596 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my 2005 Toyota Tacoma access cab 4X4 in for service when I was told by the that I had two rust holes in my frame near the front suspension on both sides. One is approximately 1 inch round on the passenger side, the other is approx. 4 inches round on the drivers side. I have had the truck maintained by the same dealership since we bought the truck. I have noticed that the last several years none of the work I have had done and that includes asking how the frame is doing as Toyota has a history of rust issues with these trucks. I contacted Toyota and opened a case with them. They did come out with a limited service campaign (lsc - E0D to address this known rust issue for certain truck in 20 northern states. After following up, I was told yes Toyota knows I have the issue but my VIN isn't part of the lsc. I was told to contact a dealership and the frame could be fixed as long as I paid for it. I have contacted several local Toyota dealerships and they all tell me they don't fix frames with this issue. The truck only has 72K on it and it has never been driven on the beach or taken off road. I use the truck to get to work in snow storms and weekend projects. I always get the truck washed as I know how bad salt can damage a vehicle. I find it amazing that there is a lsc but Toyota is unable to tell me how many vehicles are being fixed under it and they are also unwilling to assist in getting the issue fixed or that referring me to local dealerships isn't helping at all since they don't fix this issue.. I also find it suspect that up until a few years ago all of my maintenance work was copied to my Toyota account but nothing for the last three years. I have my receipts but again it makes no difference to Toyota. If nothing else I am going on record as I have searched several websites dedicated to 2005 - 2008 Tacoma trucks and this is a very heavily reported issue.

- Hampton Bays, NY, USA

problem #47

Jun 022014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • miles
Toyota has received reports that certain 2005-2008 model year Tacoma vehicles operated in specific cold climate areas (cold climate states) with high road salt usage may exhibit more-than-normal corrosion to the vehicle's frame. Toyota investigated these reports and determined that the frames in some vehicles may not have corrosion-resistant protection sufficient for use in these areas. This combined with prologed exposure to road salts and other environmental factors, may contribute to the development of more-than-normal rust in the frame of some vehicles. This condition is unrelated to and separate from normal surface rust which is commonly found on metallic surfaces after some years of usage and/or exposure to the environment. Toyota has issued a limited service campaign, but only in selected states. My VIN# falls within the range on the limited service campaign, but my state is tbd according to Toyota. My complaint is that Toyota is aware of this safety issue and is refusing to repair my vehicle. My truck will not pass inspection due to this safety issue and is currently sitting unlicensed.

- Evans City, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #46

Jun 022014

Tacoma

  • 130,611 miles
Vehicle was in for state inspection and found to have holes rusted in frame which would not pass inspection. Contacted Toyota customer service was told at the present time there is no recall in my area which is Pennsylvania. I was told that the boston area has a recall on 2005 to 2008 for my vehicle. I do not understand why my vehicle would not be covered under that recall I need help.the vehicle is in excellent condition other than the frame.

- Renfrew, PA, USA

problem #45

May 292014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 134,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Performing an inspection on the chassis of my 2005 Toyota Tacoma and discovered rusted holes in the frame (one on each frame rail) just behind the front suspension large enough to put my hand through. Toyota has issued a limited service campaign E0D to coat or replaced rotted frames (released 5/4/14) but since I am a resident of the state on Maryland and the campaign has not been released in my area yet they will not do anything to resolve my safety issue. My local dealership has been helpful and made temporary repairs to my frame. I have an open case with Toyota but they tell me there is nothing they can do until the lsc E0D is released in my area.

- Hagerstown , MD, USA

problem #44

May 272014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
On May 27th 2014 I took my truck to be inspected to find out that the frame has a hole created by rust on the on the drivers side of the truck. I contacted Toyota to find out there is no recall available and that there has been recalls in the past for older year models of the Toyota trucks. I feel when I was talking with Toyota they weren't willing to take any part in helping me with my problems and I feel it is a production error. Thank you

- Gardners, PA, USA

problem #43

Jun 052014

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The following is the dealer inspection report for my truck: "found extreme corrosion to frame. Tow hook and driver side sway bar mount unable to re-attach due to frame perforation front cross member missing (rusted off) found hole in left side of frame. Steering rack mounts extremely perforated, ready to detach. Do not recommend driving vehicle due to extreme damage to frame" truck purchased new, single owner, well maintained....updated 06/10/14

- Volcano, HI, USA

problem #42

Apr 252014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
Original owner of a 2005 Toyota Tacoma, bought new in November 2004. 61000 miles. Vehicle mostly garaged when not in use. Frame and frame sub components are completely covered with rust. Several holes in frame, including one in the boxed section the size of a coca cola can. Several areas of the frame are delaminating, I.e. the layers of the metal are separating. Dealer refused to inspect the frame. Have contacted Toyota corporate but have not received any resolution. Do not feel safe driving the vehicle and basically now have a lawn ornament in the shape of a truck. There was a recall/service campaign/buy back for previous model Tacoma due to poor frames. Toyota has obviously not corrected the issue and needs to be held accountable. Pictures can be provided upon request.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #41

May 142014

Tacoma

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I recently purchased a 2005 Toyota Tacoma trd sport double cab and discovered it had severe and dangerous frame rust. It has a hole rusted through the frame in the front and large rust flakes are falling off in other various places. Upon doing research, I found out about the massive recalls regarding frame rust on Toyota trucks. I spoke with Toyota and they said the frame would be replaced if it were currently registered in a cold climate state. I am trying to get them to email me that statement so I can have it for my records. The truck came from a cold climate state. It is currently registered in North Carolina. They said they won't help me only because it is in nc, no matter how dangerous the rust. Is that legal for them exclude me for that reason? I have pictures to prove that my frame is just as bad as the trucks being repaired. It is definitely a safety concern because it is not a matter of if, but when the frame breaks. Thanks for your help.

- Burlington, NC, USA

problem #40

May 062014

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that after refueling, one of the fuel tank straps fractured as a result of corrosion. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 85,000. Updated 06/17/14 the consumer stated one of the two straps that secured the gas tank failed under the weight of the tank. The tank was tilted as a result. The strap failed as a result of corrosion. Updated 06/24/14

- Painted Post , NY, USA

problem #39

Apr 142014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 105,462 miles
Safety inspection revealed extreame corrosion of the frame and weakening around the motor mount area of the frame, where the mounts are welded to the frame rails. Potential for loss of steering control if motor mount collapses through the frame rail and motor rests on steering shaft. I have done research about this problem and have discovered that there was an issue with the frames for model years 2005 and 2006 Tacoma's and in 2007 the frame was reinforced where the motor mounts are welded to the frame with extra steel plate on all frames made since 2007. There are after market repair kits that can be purchased for repairing this defect that can be welded around the existing motor mount to repair cracked frames or ones that have already caved in. The after market has seen the need to supply a kit for such a defect and Toyota has seen the need to install reinforcements to the frames of all the newer models. How long are they going to wait before they admit there is an issue? I'm sure there are internal memo's on this that they are not sharing with the government. Please look into this before some one is injured from this. Thank you for you help.

- Fredonia, NY, USA

problem #38

Oct 012013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 195,000 miles
Last fall, I was advised by a private garage that my 2005 Tacoma had excessive frame rust. I brought it to my local Toyota dealer for an inspection. They told me that the vehicle was not safe to drive and I should not drive it until the frame was repaired. I opened a case with Toyota and have heard nothing. I wrote letters to the GM at the local dealership in lakewood, NJ and the regional manager in NJ, both of which have gone unanswered. I cannot sell the vehicle nor trade it in the shape it is in, nor should I be using it (although I must). There is a hole in the boxed part of the frame that is about 8" long and 2-3" high. There may be more by now. The rust has gotten so bad that it is staining my driveway, which is blacktopped! I bought this vehicle because of Toyota's reputation. They did the right thing with the frames on the 1st generation Tacoma, it about time they were encouraged to do so with the newer vehicles before people get hurt.

- Howell, NJ, USA

problem #37

Aug 202013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 194,151 miles
Was advised of severe rust problem on frame of vehicle by independent garage. Brought vehicle to local Toyota dealer for inspection after opening a case with Toyota (1308190057). Dealer service manager wrote on invoice "advised customer that hole in frame frt left side call #800 number for Toyota no programs or warranty at this time. Advise customer to fix frame before driving cannot tell if there are any other spots in frame that will rust thru. Advise customer to fix frame before driving vehicle." There is a great deal of rust on the frame and various other parts under the vehicle, as evidenced by my inspection and large rust stains on my driveway. Sent letters to Toyota regional office in NJ and to the general manager of the local dealership, both of which went unanswered.

- Howell, NJ, USA

problem #36

Sep 022013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
I am the original owner of a 2005 Toyota Tacoma pick up listed above. Back in the fall of 2013 I was advised by my local mechanic that my truck had frame rot near the front passenger side of the vehicle. I brought the truck to lia Toyota in colonie, NY and they documented the problem. Several months past and I did not hear anything back from them. I called the natl customer service at 800-331-4331, who advised that the problem was documented, case #9735757600. I have been back and forth with the local dealer but to no avail. I am not getting any feedback. I know that Toyota has had problems with frame rot in the past and it was supposedly rectified but apparently not. I am just trying to figure out what I do next. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- South Glens Falls, NY, USA

problem #35

Mar 052014

Tacoma

  • 47,026 miles
I had this vehicle inspected by Toyota and they stated surface rust on frame. This vehicle only has 47000 miles and the rust is not surface rust, in my opinion, for the mileage. The vehicle will continue to deteriorate if Toyota doesn't do something about repairing or replacing the frame. Toyota has recalled 1995.5 through 2004 and have repaired or replaced frames. Toyota needs to continue their recall to include later vehicles with rusting problems. If Toyota does not step up to correct this rusting problem it will, if it hasn't already become a national safety problem.

- Sellersville, PA, USA

problem #34

Feb 202014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph and making a left turn, an abnormal noise was heard from under the body of the vehicle. The contact later discovered that the metal straps used to secure the fuel tank to the vehicle had rusted and fractured, causing the right front section of the fuel tank to hang from the vehicle. The contact also indicated that the fractured metal strap would make contact with the drive shaft whenever the contact was making a left turn. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 132,000...updated 04-22-14 the consumer stated the dealer was charging him $1900 to fix the problem. Two more straps broke, when the dealer put the vehicle on the rack, which caused the tank to fall pulling out the gas lines and wiring, as well as cracking the tank. Updated 04/23/14.

- Berry, KY, USA

problem #33

Dec 012007

Tacoma

  • 8,000 miles
Two years after the purchase of this truck new in December of 2004, I started to notice rust on the frame. Now having kept the truck garaged at all times and with slightly over 31,000 miles on it the frame is getting very rusty.

- Berwick, ME, USA

problem #32

Jan 312013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 70,200 miles
Inner frame rail on drivers side rotted through. Noted on a repair order by Toyota dealership as rust perforation on left front inner frame rail near cat converter. Vehicle will not pass pa state inspection and unsafe to drive. 2005 Tacoma with 70,000 miles. On going issue with Toyota frames Toyota not responsible recall and buy back only good until 2004 model years. Problems still exists on new model years.

- Havertown, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?