Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
90,393 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Jan 252014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 123,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I went to get my 2005 Tacoma inspected today and it failed because there is a hole in the frame by the passenger side front wheel. I've been the only owner of this vehicle and was completely surprised that the frame has started to rust to the point where there are holes in it. This truck is primarily driven on the highway and wear and tear is pretty minimal. Inspecting the frame afterwards, the entire frame is rusted. This issue with my truck is only going to get worse. I can provide pictures if needed.

- Cochranville , PA, USA

problem #30

Jan 102014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 52,167 miles
I took my Toyota Tacoma, 2005 in for a new headlight. The Toyota dealer said that the inspection would run at month's end and would I like to take care of the inspection while I waited rather than making a second appointment. I said "yes", please do the inspection. The technician said the truck failed inspection due to a rusted frame. He called me back to view the rusted out frame, which I did to my shock and horror - there was a large whole! looked unsafe! how is that possible - clearly defective frame. They suggested I take the truck back to the original Toyota dealer which I did - although not sure why they could not deal with 'Toyota" themselves. The original dealer said the frame replacement / repair was not covered under warranty. The cost would be between $10,000 - $14,000. This is completely unacceptable, the truck has less than 53K miles. Toyota is supposed to be an organization that prides itself in safety and customer satisfaction, touting its vehicle longevity status! this experience proves otherwise and puts the public at risk of injury or/and death.

- Wyncote, PA, USA

problem #29

Jan 142014

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that there was excessive rust on the frame. The contact called the manufacturer, who stated there was nothing they could do to assist. The failure mileage was 63,000. Updated 02/19/14 the consumer stated as of Feb 10, 2014, he was still waiting on the district rep to inspect the vehicle. Updated 02/24/14

- Portsmouth, RI, USA

problem #28

May 272013

Tacoma

  • 164,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On May 27, 2013 my wife [xxx] and I were towing my bass boat and I blew out the rear passenger tire and was able to safely get it off of the road to change the tire. In the process of changing the tire in my truck, the frame bent under the pressure of the jack and the truck, came off of the jack, luckily I had the tire partially on that the lug bolts caught the truck. This rusting and unsafe frame issue dates back to 1/16/13 at approximately 7:30 am I was contacted by the Toyota dealership that during a repair to my catalytic converter they noticed that I had a hole in my frame and that it would not pass inspection. I feel terrible now, but I all but called the girl service manager a liar and asked that she take me a photo of the hole and send it to me at work. I want my Tacoma fixed, the frame replaced as I feel it is unsafe and after having experienced the truck falling off of the jack after the frame bent while simply jacking it up, I can't imagine that I am the only one out there with this issue. In my research I am finding volumes of complaints to Toyota in kind regarding frame rot and rust. I have also noticed some instability when driving, it seems to have a constant shake in the steering. I have placed numerous calls to Toyota's customer service explaining in detail my safety concern and the answer I am constantly being given is that my vehicle is not currently part of the recall program. Any way you slice it, I feel this is terrible on Toyota's behalf to subject loyal customers to such potential and eminent safety hazards as a week and inferior frame! god help us if we are ever involved in an auto accident... how well will these frames hold up or will we be crushed like a soda can" so much for Toyota's safety rating at that point right" please help me...please help me. Sincerely a concerned Toyota owner, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #27

Jan 062014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 127,400 miles
Massive amount of frame rust, worried about safety. Reviewed by Toyota dealership service manager and Toyota rep that happened to be at dealership. Was told that rust was not normal and pictures were taken, told that it was documented but not to expect further action.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #26

Oct 302013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 69,016 miles
2005 Tacoma failed inspection due to a hole in the frame from rust. Vehicle inspected by the dealer from which it was purchased. Had purchased vehicle just less than one year earlier, second owner. No accidents and well cared for. Ironically enough, we bought this Tacoma to replace the 1998 Tacoma we lost due to a frame rust problem in the Toyota buyback program. Dealer did fix at no cost under used car warranty. Reported issue to the Toyota used car salesman who sold us the truck and he stated he was not aware of any frame rust issues on 2005 Tacoma. After a cursory investigation I find this hard to believe. Apparently Toyota has not thoroughly addressed frame rust issues that plagued earlier models. A complaint will be filed with Toyota customer relations. Very concerned about recurring rust problem in future which would likely leave us with a worthless vehicle based on Toyota's unwillingness to acknowledge on-going frame rust problems. Hopefully the local Toyota dealer will step up.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #25

Nov 012013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Last month I looked underneath my truck and discovered significant frame rust. The most significant areas are between steel frame components that are riveted together. Rust has formed between these plates and is pushing them apart. There is up to 3/8" deformation between plates. The plates were originally in contact with each other. The plates are still in contact with each other at rivet points. The conditions of the concealed portions of the rivets are unknown. The rust is located primarily under the truck bed, but there is some under the passenger cab. An internet search indicates this is not an isolated incident. The vehicle has not been mistreated and has followed all manufacturer recommended maintenance. I am also aware of the 2001-2004 Tacoma frame recall. I will be contacting Toyota in the near future with the hope they will properly address this situation.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #24

Nov 162013

Tacoma

  • 127,000 miles
I have complained to Toyota now for the past few years about excessive rust on the frame of my 2005 Tacoma. I had even reported it on here before due to the amount of rust. My truck was at the Toyota dealership and the service manager wanted to show me 2 holes in my frame as a result of rust. One hole was about the size of a golf ball and the other about the size of a marble. I have done some more research and near all of the other complaints about rust on the second generation Tacoma are in the same location. The holes are on both the passenger and driver side right next to the cat. Converts. Apparently Toyota has replaced some of the second generation frames but it is on a case by case basis. Ironically that have changed the frame slightly on the 2009-2013 and have including a plastic shield of sorts in the location of my holes. It seems to me they realize there is a serious problem but will not own up to it like they have in the past with the 98-2004 models. Toyota needs to address this problem as their are many others that are in the same situation as I am in right now. The truck looks great on the outside but now is a death trap due to the frame.

- Forest Hill, MD, USA

problem #23

Nov 152013

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 184,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that upon inspection, it was found that the frame was perforated due to rust. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was confirmed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 184,000. Updated 12/20/13

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #22

Jul 122013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • miles
Back in July of 2012 I purchased this truck from moritz Chevrolet used cars in ft. Worth, Texas. I was unaware of the frame rusting at the time. Rust on a frame is not usually an issue to even have to consider while buying a vehicle that new in Texas. I moved to western Pennsylvania in June and on my trip up I noticed the truck was vibrating/shimming. I took my truck in for service to barrel Toyota in cranberry, pa to check it out. The service technician noticed it then and took some pictures of the rusted areas. I made my first call to Toyota at this time. Not more than a month later I had to have a barring replaced at guys service station, knob hill, pa. While up on the lift I was actually able to see the rust damage for myself.I did call moritz Chevrolet and spoke to the sales rep., [xxx], she advised me to trade the truck in. When I called Toyota global I was told that, although they had recalled Tacoma up to 2004, there was nothing they could do for me. All that they could do was assign me a case number. I returned to barrel Toyota to see if they could offer any help or maybe a trade in for another vehicle. They refused. I was told by the service manager there that this is a common problem with Toyota trucks and while he could do nothing for me, he could recommend someone to weld it. He also informed me at this time that I may not be able to get my truck inspected after a winter here in Pennsylvania. Now I'm not the smartest person but even I know that the frames of vehicles are designed to collapse a certain way in the event of an accident and if you weld it, it would compromise the integrity of the design. After my fruitless return trip back to barrel Toyota I sent an letter to Toyota. Still no response to this day ! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- New Brighton, PA, USA

problem #21

Sep 252013

Tacoma

  • 119,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While getting my vehicle worked on a tech stated that there was a significant amount of rust on my frame. The Toyota rep came to look at it and said it wasn't too bad but that I might want to sell the car in a year or two rather than deal with the rust. An 8 year old vehicle should not have a frame that rusted.

- Bernardsville, NJ, USA

problem #20

Jan 012009

Tacoma

  • 64,000 miles
Originally noticed heavy rust stains in driveway and crawled under the truck to inspect. Heavy rust was observed over more than 3/4 of the trucks frame. Large, chunky pieces of rust were easily separating from the fame. Front crossmember showing heavy signs of deep rust. Contacted the Toyota Corp. And informed them of the problem and they saying there is currently no recall or program in place for the 2005+ Tacoma dealing with rusty frame issues. I also have many unnatural noises coming from the engine bay that sound if parts are not connected properly or are making contact with other parts. I wanted to file a claim to hopefully promote further attention to this model Tacoma. In the past years other Tacoma have had similar problems and were eventually addressed. Is Toyota waiting for someone to die before they acknowledge a serious problem with the vehicles.

- Forest Hill , MD, USA

problem #19

Jul 312013

Tacoma 8-cyl

  • 130,200 miles
Took vehicle in for inspection, notified that the frame has excessive corrosion (rust) on the entire frame with signs of metal separation. A crack was also noted on the passenger side where the front and back parts of the C-frame are welded together. When the surface rust was ground away, the crack was 5" long and the bottom of the C-frame had two large perforations. With this condition, the vehicle will not pass the inspection. The dealer contacted regional rep and owner contacted Toyota customer service - both advised no assistance and the frames were of a different production lot then the prior recall (2nd gen vs 1st gen). Also cited age and mileage being a factor. Other than the frame, the vehicle is in very good condition. 2005 Tacoma with 131000 miles should still be a passable vehicle.

- Franklin, MA, USA

problem #18

Aug 202013

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
After having my truck inspected, I was informed by my mechanic that the frame of my truck was rusting and in the future it will not pass inspection. To me this is ridiculous since I only have 36000 miles on my vehicle.Toyota recalled the Tacoma trucks between 2000 and 2004. Evidently some 2005 Tacoma's should also be included in this recall. I have read online of other numerous people having the same problem. We should not have to pay to have a dealership check out the problem and then pay for fixing this problem if at all possible. Toyota has just made a non buyer of me of their vehicles in the future.

- Hellertown, PA, USA

problem #17

Jul 262013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 129,000 miles
Went to get vehicle inspection, dealer said frame has rotted to a unsafe degree and will not inspect. I cant use my $30,000 truck for work because of a known Toyota frame rusting issue.

- Dalton, NH, USA

problem #16

May 242013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 182,242 miles
The Toyota dealership where I purchased my new 2005 Tacoma 7 yrs ago, informed me my truck will not pass state inspection due to holes rusted through the frame. The largest of the holes was located under the driver's side on the inside of the main box frame component. There are similar holes along other box style frame parts. These rust holes originated from the inside of the box frame and not from where any rust preventative could be applied by the owner. Any post production application of undercoating or underbody oil by the owner to the interior of these boxed areas is not possible since they are inaccessible. The dealership informed me that there was nothing they can do without Toyota headquarters approval. I called the Toyota customer relations line at 1-800-331-4331 and after a long conversation with the representative I was told that my truck model was not covered by either a vehicle warranty or a remedial action by Toyota. Researching this issue on the internet reveals that Toyota Tacoma models have had frame rusting problems consistently since the mid 90's. my options from Toyota, all at my own expense, are to: 1. find a frame shop that can patch these holes but most likely the patch will only last a year. 2. have the frame replaced which the dealership roughly estimated it to be close to $12,000. 3. junk the truck and get a new vehicle. I bought this truck expecting to get at least 300-400K miles. The truck looks new, the body has no rust, it has no mechanical problems and runs great. I have religiously followed the recommended service schedule.

- Titusville, PA, USA

problem #15

Apr 252013

Tacoma

  • 86,858 miles
2005 Tacoma with severe rust perforations to frame. Notifed vehicle unsafe to drive. Dealer will not warranty or assist. 8 yr old vehicle undrivable. I took my 2005 Tacoma in to sevrco auto windward in kaneohe, hi on 25 April 2013 to have the vehicle inspected for severe rust perforations on the frame. When I dropped the vehicle off the attendant notified me that Toyota had seen a number of these frame issues and that they had warrantied 2 frames that he knew off--at a cost of approximately $12,000 per frame. On April 29th, I was told that my vehicle was unsafe to drive and that I would need to sign a waiver to retrieve my vehicle. Dealer had inspected the vehicle and sent photos to Toyota to see if warranty work would be covered. On May 10th, I was contacted by dealer and they notified me that my vehicle was not covered under warranty and that they would do nothing for me. I spent over $30,000 on a Toyota because they had a reputation for reliability and customer service. Now 8 years later, I have a truck that is unsafe to drive, and no recourse from the dealer.

- Hauula, HI, USA

problem #14

Apr 102013

Tacoma

  • 145,000 miles
I have a Toyota Tacoma 2005 that has a very rusty frame last state inspection, was told the frame in two spots is very soft and it more than likely will not pass inspection next year. There are numerous reports on the internet about owners of this year model also having the same problem.

- Gilford, NH, USA

problem #13

Mar 152013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
There is a hole in the frame below the drivers door due to rust. Vehicle may be unsafe due to a faulty frame. Prior years had problems with the frame. My husband drives the truck 500 miles a week to work. Toyota claims nothing is wrong and will not do anything about it.

- Taneytown, MD, USA

problem #12

Feb 262013

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,960 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while at the dealer for unrelated repairs, the technician noticed rust throughout the entire frame. The contact was unaware of the necessary repairs to correct the failure. There was a manufacturer's recall for corrosion of the frame however, the manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in the recall campaign. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 89,960. Updated 4/1/13 the consumer stated he has since traded the vehicle.

- Crownsville, MD, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?