Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,854 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #47

Aug 152016

Tacoma

  • 100,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. While using the pressure washer to wash the undercarriage of the vehicle, the contact noticed excessive amounts of rust emitting from the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact was informed that there was a limited manufacturer's extended warranty on the vehicle, which had expired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension). The approximate failure mileage was 100,600.

- Marion, VA, USA

problem #46

Jul 012016

Tacoma

  • miles
2006 Toyota Tacoma. Consumer writes in regards to dealerships refusal to repair vehicle frame corrosion/holes safety recall. The consumer was informed there was no recall, but a limited service campaign.

- Council Bluffs, IA, USA

problem #45

Jun 122014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 38,664 miles
Frame rust deemed so bad by Toyota tech that he refused to put the truck on a rack for inspection and service.

- Berkeley , CA, USA

problem #44

Nov 012013

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/24/15 the consumer stated the leaf spring on the passenger failed. When it failed, it shot out underneath the vehicle toward the brake and gas lines. The consumer stated while driving, he heard a loud noise coming from under the vehicle. He discovered the heat shield was loose, due to the rusting the problem. Updated 09/2/15.

- Concord , NC, USA

problem #43

Nov 202014

Tacoma

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the frame underneath the vehicle was corroded. The dealer stated that the frame needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 73,000.

- Montague, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #42

Oct 012014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
I bought my Toyota Tacoma new in febuary of 2006.a couple of months ago I noticed that the whole frame on my truck is rusted pretty bad.the springs are rusted as is the clips that hold them togoether.when I rubbed my finger over the rust on the frame chunks of rust about 1 eighth of a inch thick just fell off a you could still see rust on the frame under where the chunk came off.I only have 56000 miles on this truck and I am worried that my frame will fail.

- Trenton, NJ, USA

problem #41

Oct 032014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 94,501 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Toyota Tacoma trd sport access cab. Found hole on frame rail from rust, about 3/4" hole behind the right front wheel, below the condenser drain.

- Verona , PA, USA

problem #40

Oct 032014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
The body of my Tacoma is perfect --no rust. The frame however exhibits stage iv cancer rust. Toyota knows about it as they sued '[xxx]" the frame manufacturer and received millions in compensation and in 2009 went with a different manufacturer. In August 2014 they came out with limited campaign for select VIN #'s 2005-2008 Tacoma sold in the northeast to either treat or replace rusted frames. Mine however was not one of them even though I live in one of the select states. How can that be" if they could see my truck they would ask the same question but they have refused to look at it. Im sorry but besides the fact that my truck is probably not going to be around to see old age there is the safety factor involved. What if I am hauling a load and the stress of the load breaks a weld that has been eaten away by corrosion" Toyota should be forced to do the right thing instead of pretending a problem doesn't exist. Go online and enter "Tacoma frame rust" if you want to see how prevalent this problem is. Thank you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fairmont,, WV, USA

problem #39

Aug 182014

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
We left our truck at a Toyota dealership for repair of rattle in front end, state inspection and oil change. The vehicle was returned to us without repair as there is an abnormal amount of rust on the frame and holes through the frame. We were informed that the vehicle will not pass inspection. I called Toyota customer service and was informed that our vehicle is not included in the previous recall, but may be included in the upcoming recall. However, I was not provided with a time frame and if our vehicle is definitely included. My husband uses this vehicle to commute to and from work daily and I fear for his safety.

- Schuylkill Haven , PA, USA

problem #38

Jul 102014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 187,819 miles
My truck has been officially been declared unsafe to drive. I am experiencing extreme and unusual rust and corrosion on the frame of my 2006 Toyota Tacoma. This is not the kind of rust you would expect to see due to normal wear and tear. The first indication from my dealer that there was a problem was when I took the truck in on 07/10/14 for an oil change. I was told that the frame was so severely compromised by rust and corrosion the dealer recommended that it be repaired immediately. When I was taken into the service area and shown the truck on a lift, I could see that there were actual holes rotted through the frame and it had literally begun flaking and falling apart. I contacted a certified welding technician and had the affected areas reinforced as best we could. When I took the truck to be inspected on 09/16/14, I was told that it would not pass due to the advanced deterioration of the frame, in spite of the repairs. This is not normal rust for an 8 year old vehicle used to commute to and from work. The rest of the truck is in excellent condition, there is virtually no deterioration anywhere else. I have also been told by my dealer that they will not even consider a trade-in (kelly blue book trade in-value should be $9,300 or private sale $11,668). The truck is beautiful, looks almost new and runs perfectly and is worth nothing? the only issue is the frame, which in the opinion of the auto body garages I have consulted, was caused by a manufacturing defect. Please note: Toyota now has a limited service campaign in place for 2005-2008 Tacoma's, for which my VIN is not yet included. The problem has been acknowledged by Toyota and based on the evidence provided by my own dealer, clearly exists in my vehicle. Please do not ignore this growing problem until these compromised frames result in widespread injury or death, please open a new investigation now.

- Madison Twp, PA, USA

problem #37

Aug 142013

Tacoma

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle frame: Approximately one to two years ago began to notice excessive rust on vehicle frame. Corrosion is significantly more than what would be expected for a vehicle less than eight years old. Parts attached to frame also excessively corroded. Concerned for overall safety and integrity of vehicle at this point. Suspension and leaf springs point of contact with frame are corroded. All nuts/bolts attached to frame are also excessively rusted and corroded. Vehicle has approximately 75000 miles. It was purchased as a long term vehicle. I expected a new vehicle to have a longevity of more than eight years. According to Toyota the vehicle is beyond warranty and there will be no action taken on their part. A small amount of rust on a vehicle this age is expected however this corrosion is reaching the point of a catastrophic failure.

- Taylor, PA, USA

problem #36

Aug 012014

Tacoma

  • 63,000 miles
As I was driving home my truck started making a noise from the back end. When I got home I looked at the underside of the truck and both spring shackles were rusted away and holes in the frame above them. The frame is completely rusted and I am unable to drive it because it could cause an accident. I called Toyota about it and they said we apologize for the problem but we aren't going to fix it.

- Damascus, VA, USA

problem #35

Jul 162014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 91,500 miles
Returning home with my grandson from visiting a state university I head a knocking sound in the front of the vehicle. I thought a rubber bushing had failed because previous models of Toyota (tercels) made the same sound when the torsion bar bushings needed to be replaced. Upon returning home I found the sway bar had come out of the left bracket which secures it to the frame and was striking the front left spring of the spring and shock absorber assembly. The sway bar bracket had bent under the weight of the sway bar because the frame had rusted out where the rear sway bay bracket mounting bolt connects to the frame. There is no frame material on the bottom of the frame to reattach the sway bar bracket.the bottom of the frame has rusted out. Looking at the bottom of the frame it has excessive rust. I have owned Toyota since 1977 or 78. Owning tercels, corolla, Camry, 1995 Toyota pickup and a 4runner. Toyota quality this Tacoma is not!

- Roxbury, CT, USA

problem #34

Jul 162014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
Significant rust in the frame of the vehicle. Baseball size hole in the frame adjacent to the driver side catalytic converter. Major rust throughout the rest of the frame. You can see swelling in some areas where there are two layers of steel that are sandwiched together. Brake and fuel lines have severe corrosion. Factory installed towing hitch is completely un-usable due to severe rust. Toyota corporate told me I am out luck. Would hate to see what would happen in a crash of one of these trucks with a defective frame! the brakes could fail also due to the rusted brake lines. Fuel lines could also start leaking at some point creating a fire hazard.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #33

Apr 042012

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 70,801 miles
Heavy rust on vehicle frame. The front tow bar is rusted through. You can see the threads of one of the bolts that mounts the skid bars through the frame. Heavy rusting of frame mostly in the front under the engine. The frame is rusting from the inside out. This is evident when you wipe the inside rails of the frame and rust deposits are found. The tow bar is hollow and multiple 2-3in long by 1/8-1/4in pieces have been pulled out. Other parts of the frame have similar pieces found although none have been found that are quite that large. The rust is causing the frame to bubble up and is often twice the width of the frame. Some parts are fine. There is a spot on the front frame that looks brand new when wiped down. It is black and shiny while right next to it is some of the worst rust. The only holes I have found so far are in the front. I have a quality vehicle inspection from big island Toyota when my the vehicle had 70801 miles noting the rust on frame. This was in April 2012. The vehicle was purchased in Hawaii and has been in Hawaii ever since. That inspection was when the vehicle was six years old. Other components of the vehicle are showing extensive rust as well such as brackets, nuts, bolts, wheel hubs and rims.

- Pahoa, HI, USA

problem #32

Jun 302014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 134,040 miles
Vehicle failed pa inspection due to extensively rusted frame. The entire frame has been compromised. There are visible holes in the frame including spare tire support, gas tank supports, etc. The dealer and I both contacted Toyota but they refuse to stand behind their product because the said they are not required to since no notice has come from nhtsb. According to the dealer, this same problem is known on earlier models of the Tacoma and the Toyota Tundra.

- Sewickley, PA, USA

problem #31

Jun 202014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 69,919 miles
The vehicle frame is very corroded in numerous spots, especially in weld areas and behind the front wheels. Some fasteners also appear to be abnormally corroded. The engine accessory pulleys are also in very poor condition. The corrosion is odd in that it is not consistent. I mean that some components and fasteners show minor corrosion while others are excessive. The vehicle frame is also very corroded in isolated areas and not uniform. Odd.

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #30

May 192014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
My 2006 Toyota Tacoma frame is terribly rusted even though I have had it cleaned and undercoated for beginners. But my main issue is the fact that my leaf springs already need replaced. They have been making creaking noises for several months because they are junk already. But then, the left side leaf spring completely cracked and that's not even effected by the rust. It's very frustrating to pay so much just to try to keep the vehicle body in working order.

- Shreve, OH, USA

problem #29

Apr 072014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
My truck has severe rust in the front frame that appears to be rusting the body from the inside out! I purchased this vehicle new (Toyota Tacoma 2006) because I believed that Toyota was a reputable company who stand by their claims of ╩╗built to last╩╗. I also purchased a full maintenance program to be sure I was taking care of the vehicle properly and faithfully met every service. The dealer never pointed out a rust problem on these services but did on other instances like broken antenna, cloudy fluids etc. When a piece of metal fell off the front underside of the body of the truck, I was horrified to notice severe rust and took it to a local mechanic to get his opinion. When he first looked at truck as I drove in, he said your truck looks great, no rust on upper painted surfaces. When he looked underneath he remarked he had never seen rust so bad on such a new truck! I researched online and found many instances of a voluntary recall on Tacoma frames model year 1998-2004) to either be replaced at Toyota cost or buy back, because inferior metal had been used. Seems that 2006 models are having the same problem and I have an appt. With my local dealer on 6/5/2014. I am praying they will help me with this issue as I sunk all my savings in this truck.

- Hana, HI, USA

problem #28

Jun 042013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My 2006 Toyota Tacoma frame has rusted apart in four places. Two repair facilities deemed it unsafe to drive. I am devastated!!! please help. I have heard of many, many cases of this and Toyota should be held liable. My truck only had 60,000 miles when the problem began, now it has 90,000 and is undrivable. Please help!

- Kill Devil Hills , NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?