Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,306 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Tacoma suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Dec 172014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 05/14/15

- La Plata , MD, USA

problem #37

Oct 302014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V604000 (suspension); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #36

Mar 302015

Tacoma

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact felt that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable time frame for the repair. The contact experienced the failure listed in the notification. The failure mileage was 84,000.

- New Lawrence, NY, USA

problem #35

Mar 202015

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rio Vista, CA, USA

problem #34

Feb 182015

Tacoma

  • 85,000 miles
Well have spent my 2nd day on the phone with Toyota about my truck. I have talked to mechanic and head of service at local dealer, [xxx] and [xxx] from ernie palmer Toyota, [xxx], [xxx] and [xxx] from Toyota Corp hq, [xxx] case manager called me today. Needless to say the recalled springs on my truck have not been replaced even though their recall letter plainly states that if your vehicle is clunking and banging from the rear end get to a dealer immediately for repair because they could puncture my fuel tank causing fire. If they fail driving it could cause alot more than a fire. The original mechanic told me that it was definitely associated with the recall but they did not have parts to repair and I would be notified as soon as they came in. I have never been called for the repairs and it months later. I have spent the past two days on the phone with them trying to get this situation resolved and was told that I needed to return to the dealership again because they noted in the computer that I was in for noise in the rear end and did not specifically state that it was because of the recall. Now I ask why would they leave me in a open repair order and tell me it was due to the rear leaf spring recall if I just came in for noise. The service dept told me today on the phone with Corp that they just lube the springs if they make noise. My husband said that is for squeaking not for banging and clunking and he agreed. I am still aggravated that the repairs have not been made and I still have to go back to the dealer and let them inspect it again even though it is dangerous to drive. This makes no sense. I will be told again that they do not have remedy parts and will have to wait until they get the parts in for repair. I told them I do not care if they put in another set of recalled springs in my truck that were new just to get me thru until they have the replace parts. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sanderson, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #33

Oct 142014

Tacoma

  • 85,000 miles
We had started hearing a clunk and bang in the rear end of my vehicle back in Sept 2014. We tried to locate the problem thinking maybe it was something under the seats in the storage compartments. We could not elevate the problem. We then received a recall notice about rear leaf springs and called the dealer where we bought the vehicle. They told us to come in immediately. We went in and they read my recall and inspected the truck. The mechanic told his boss that someone had come in the week before with the same problem and they could not figure out what it was and told his boss to expect them back with their truck and notice soon. We were then told that my notice was an interim notice and they would place a work order for my truck and let me know when the parts came in. I expressed my concerns as the letter states that they could break and puncture brake lines or the fuel tank. I explained to them that this was my only transportation and was told they would receive the parts soon. That was back in October. They have yet to receive the parts and now it is banging and clunking on both sides constantly. I called today 2/15/2015 and they told me they still don't have the parts. I was told they would call when they came in. I told them if I was still alive. He told me he didn't think it was that drastic. I said well the letter states it could break and puncture the fuel tank. If I am going 70 on the interstate and it punctures the tank that more than likely it would catch on fire. He said to call Corp and gave me a 1 800 number. Well needless to say my truck still is not fixed and there is no telling when these parts are going to come in. I don't care if they have to put new recalled parts in my truck as long as I would be safe until they got the new improved parts. At least I would no that I would not get killed or kill someone else.

- Sanderson, FL, USA

problem #32

Feb 032014

Tacoma

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice for replacement of leaf springs on my 2006 Tacoma in February 2014. Called dealership to discuss necessary work on February 2015. I was told that no decision on fixing the issue has been made by Toyota. I am not having any failure issues but I am concerned that if this is a safety recall, why is it Toyota is dragging out the decision to act? they claim it is a possibility of leaf spring failure rupturing the gasoline tank leading to fire or worse. This does not seem to me something that should be drug out like is what I am hearing from the dealership as no action taken yet (at least what I am being told). My question is: If a safety recall is issued that could lead to failure and bodily harm, why is it that it is not acted upon in timely fashion" it has been over a year since I received the safety notice. Second question is, does not the government act on long drawn out or no action from vehicle companies on a safety recall" I just want to have replaced if they are a safety issue. Does not seem to me this is unreasonable to ask.

- Meadville, PA, USA

problem #31

Feb 092015

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sherrills Ford, NC, USA

problem #30

Nov 012013

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/24/15 the consumer stated the leaf spring on the passenger failed. When it failed, it shot out underneath the vehicle toward the brake and gas lines. The consumer stated while driving, he heard a loud noise coming from under the vehicle. He discovered the heat shield was loose, due to the rusting the problem. Updated 09/2/15.

- Concord , NC, USA

problem #29

Dec 192014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Oakland, IL, USA

problem #28

Apr 042014

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the subframe, cross member, spare tire carrier, and the brake backing plate were rusted and corroded. The contact stated that the part was not available to repair the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V604000 (suspension). The vehicle was taken to the dealer where an estimated date for the recall repair to be performed was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- North Smithfield, RI, USA

problem #27

Dec 052014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer was uncertain of when the part would become available to service the vehicle under the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Amite, LA, USA

problem #26

Dec 032014

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Frame is rusting out excessively.this is a known problem on these vehicles, but Toyota says since I don't live in what they consider a cold state, I guess they've never spent a winter in Nebraska they won't cover it. I feel this could potentially cause an accident if my frame sags or gives out. I feel they should expand this recall to include more states.

- Gretna, NE, USA

problem #25

Aug 012014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 197,000 miles
I have a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. I took it to my local Toyota dealer in August to address the recalls needing to be done. They tell me they are backed up trying to get recalls fixed. It is now November and have not been called yet. Now the leaf springs are on recall. I replaced one leaf spring in September 2014 due to it snapping.will I get reimbursed from Toyota for this repair"? I have not heard from my local Toyota dealer as to when they can fix the recalls, they said they will call me when they can get me in. What year will that be? will my second leaf spring snap and puncture the tank before it gets repaired" or will the frame possible rust out and fall on the leaf springs....... I love Toyota Tacoma, disappointed in the follow thru/timeliness on fixing these problems.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #24

Oct 142014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 56,339 miles
This is a known frame rusting problem that Toyota has not addressed properly. I took my 2006 Toyota Tacoma to the service dealer and they sprayed an anti rust compound on it. The problem is that the frame is totally rusted out and is going to be a safety issue later down the road. Toyota reached a settlement with the frame manufacturer, they did not properly coat the frame at time of manufacture. There is not a warranty on the corrosion compound after the corrosion campaign is over in March of 2016. This leaves the consumer with a truck that is not road worthy. I replaced the release bearing in my transmission, while working on it rust was literally falling in my eyes due to the amount of rust on the frame. I have never seen a frame rust out so quickly and am very disappointed that Toyota knows there is an issue but is covering it up with a thick tar like substance to "remedy" the problem. This is just covering up a down the road safety issue that should be addressed by Toyota immediately by replacing the frame. 1995 through 2000 Tacoma trucks were bought back. 2001 through 2004 received anti corrosion compound and or frame replacement. The difference is that those trucks that received the compound received a 15 year extended warranty if the frame were to fail inspection down the road. Not the case with the 2005 and up Tacoma.

- Union, KY, USA

problem #23

Oct 102014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I own a 2006 Toyota Tacoma prerunner, purchased new from the dealer eight years ago. In less than six years, the cars frame started showing damages and today it shows severe rust and flaking. The severe rust under the car is widespread and in certain areas there are perforations through the frame structure. (see pictures attached). Because of this unexpected condition my Tacoma has lost considerable resale value and is resting in my driveway for fear of further damage and safety issues. (I have two small children). After some research I became aware that Toyota has acknowledged that this excessive rusting is due to a manufacturing defect and addressed the problem for some vehicle owners by either replacing the frame at no cost for the owners or buying the vehicles back. I took the car to the Toyota dealer to have it assessed and after a full inspection, the truck failed the rust frame inspection. The Toyota dealer report states as follows: "frame was found to have severe corrosion. Frame need to be replaced? with and rough estimate cost of $ $10,000. I consider this defect to be a serious and unacceptable condition for a 8 year-old vehicle with Toyota"S reputation. I have invested and trusted the Toyota brand for over 20 years and feel very disappointed at how Toyota is addressing my concerns. I am asking your Toyota corporation to take my concerns seriously and to address this severe rust issue the same way you have done with 1995-2000 Tacoma owners, either by replacing my frame at no cost or buying back my vehicle.

- Surfside, FL, USA

problem #22

Oct 012014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
I bought my Toyota Tacoma new in febuary of 2006.a couple of months ago I noticed that the whole frame on my truck is rusted pretty bad.the springs are rusted as is the clips that hold them togoether.when I rubbed my finger over the rust on the frame chunks of rust about 1 eighth of a inch thick just fell off a you could still see rust on the frame under where the chunk came off.I only have 56000 miles on this truck and I am worried that my frame will fail.

- Trenton, NJ, USA

problem #21

Mar 082012

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • miles
Rear driver side leaf springs have started digging into the side of fuel tank. No leak yet. Visual signs of damage.

- Biloxi, MS, USA

problem #20

Aug 182014

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
We left our truck at a Toyota dealership for repair of rattle in front end, state inspection and oil change. The vehicle was returned to us without repair as there is an abnormal amount of rust on the frame and holes through the frame. We were informed that the vehicle will not pass inspection. I called Toyota customer service and was informed that our vehicle is not included in the previous recall, but may be included in the upcoming recall. However, I was not provided with a time frame and if our vehicle is definitely included. My husband uses this vehicle to commute to and from work daily and I fear for his safety.

- Schuylkill Haven , PA, USA

problem #19

Sep 012010

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
I had my truck inspected by Toyota of bristol for frame rust. At that time they said it was surface rust and Toyota would not do any thing about it even though it was still under warranty. Now the truck has rusted to the point that I can not drive it and it only has 63500 miles on it. The spring shackles on the rear of the truck have completely rusted away leaving the rear end of the truck almost completely unattached to the truck frame. Even though Toyota has a campaign # SC-eod to repair 2005-2008 Toyota Tacoma frames the said mine was not covered.

- Damascus, VA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?