Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,529 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Tacoma drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Jun 192016


  • 140,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. While attempting to reverse, the vehicle lunged forward without warning and crashed into a wall. A police report was not filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Pomona, CA, USA

problem #27

Oct 012015


  • miles
When I driving on local street, my truck felt odd when I step on the gas acceleration (( slow)) the speedometer hit between 30mpg to 40mpg I feel shudder like the gas got joke {{intermittent)) I feel my engine shaking till I pass the 40mpg, if I step on the gas down fast its run normal, I heard alots of people complaint about the same milages now 73,000.00....

- Westminster, CA, USA

problem #26

Oct 012015


  • 147,000 miles
Moderate to severe vibration started from 5-40 mph then vibration is still there at > 40mph but not as bad. Does not matter is hot or cold, city or highway I had tires balanced and rotated but vehicle still vibrates. Tsb's from Toyota point to drive train vibrations in Tacoma models. Now, at times, the drive train squeals like a bad U-joint or hanger bearing. Dealer said they are aware but no recall. This needs a recall. Vehicle has around 147000 miles.

- New Brockton, AL, USA

problem #25

Jan 082014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles


The four wheel drive actuator/transfer case motor went out. It was not repairable and had to be replaced for a considerable price. From what I learned from the Toyota dealership this seems to happen often.

- Oregon City, OR, USA

problem #24

Jan 142015

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 87,323 miles
After a couple of months I started experiencing a loud "squeak" coming from the rear of the vehicle and a "whistle" at speeds of 65-80mph. I contacted dealer and took it in for them to troubleshoot the issues. After about 4 months of ownership along with the above mentioned problems I started noticing a heavy vibration at slow speeds. I bought new tires, front end alignment, and had tires balanced as per my dealers recommendation. Then the acceleration issues started..... I took it back to my dealership and they performed the "floor mat fix". the vibrations just kept getting worse and the constant visits to my dealer and calls to Toyota's corporate office always ending with the "that's normal for these trucks" saying. The other day I was returning home and I was approaching a curve I removed my foot from the accelerator and depressed the brake pedal and slowed down to take the curve, I went to accelerate through the curve and my truck was not turning. The rear tires were locked even though my foot was off the brake which by that happening I had no control over where I was going.... I ended up not being able to steer around the curve and went straight through someone's yard taking out a mailbox and sliding sideways into a tree crushing the passenger side of my truck. Called Toyota's customer support and reported the locking up off my rear end, the failure of the anti lock system, and the loss of steering. All I got for my troubles was a rude "well there's nothing we can do" (as always). I have had nothing but problems since I purchased this truck. Toyota needs to address all of the issues that has plagued the Tacoma from day one. I have contacted a lawyer and have been instructed that a class action suit needs to be filed against Toyota by all of us. My email is [xxx] if you want to pursue this with me contact me. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Laurel, MS, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #23

Nov 272013


  • 250,000 miles
I bought my truck used. A total of five times I've taken it into the dealership because of suspension issues. Each time I was told there's nothing wrong. My drive shaft was replaced a year ago. I noticed the leaf spring sticking out and broken. I took my truck straight in. I was told the truck was undrivable. Toyota gave me a rental and replaced the leaf springs. I picked my truck up three days later thinking the problem was fixed then two days after that, my truck felt loose and was making a popping sound when I put it into reverse. It felt like the drive line was out again. I took it to be looked at again. I was told my driveline U bolt snapped and was caused by the broken leaf spring. Toyota wouldn't fix the damages because the shop they recommended didn't use Toyota parts. My truck had 250000 miles on it. The damages to my truck were add do extreme that I had no choice but to give it back to the bank. The vibrations caused tranny damage and the axles and differential the frame had damage because the leaf spring was shoved up into it.(I wasn't told until after) no I've got nothing..... thanks Toyota......

- Vail, AZ, USA

problem #22

Apr 092009


  • 35,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while sitting at a traffic stop, the vehicle suddenly moved forward when he removed his foot from the brake pedal. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The contact notified the manufacturer of the failure but no remedy was offered. The failure mileage was 35,000. Updated 6/2/14

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #21

Aug 012013

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated while driving approximately 10 mph, she heard a popping sound in the steering wheel. The steering wheel locked up without warning, steered the vehicle to the right where it crashed into a pole. The driver was injured with a fractured pelvis. A police report was filed. The vehicle was completely destroyed and was towed to a salvage yard. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 74,000. Updated 05/05/2014 updated 05/09/2014

- N Billerca, MA, USA

problem #20

Mar 132014

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 114,040 miles
At first about 6 months ago, car started vibrating at low speed and disappear at higher speed. On 3/13/14 traveling a about 30mph, there was a sudden vibration (car shaking violently ) then a loud bang underneath the driver side. Glided the car along side the road, did a visual inspection under the car and notice the front propeller shaft was hanging there. My truck has been expose to carrying heavy load. The heaviest load that this truck carried was an upright freezer that I bought from K-mart. Is my truck included in that 2007 for drivetrain problem"?? if so where can I get info on this" my problem is very similar to the 2007 recall on bad casting.

- Yona, GU, USA

problem #19

Mar 032014


  • 30,700 miles
While stopped to take a ticket before entering a garage, with the car in neutral and my right foot on the brake, the engine twice accelerated to over 6,000 rpms. The acceleration lasted about 3 or 4 seconds before the engine returned to normal idle. My foot was not on the gas pedal, but rather on the brake. My Tacoma has a standard transmission. Last week, the same thing happened as I approached a stop sign - car in neutral, foot on the brake, not on the accelerator, and the engine zoomed to 6K rpms. I contacted the dealer where I bought the truck new in 2007 and who has serviced the vehicle every 5K miles since purchase and I have a service appointment for this Friday. All the information I have been able to read about Toyota and this problem is from a couple of years ago and references Toyota's cover up of the issue, etc. Is there a more current source of information that would help get this problem resolved, since it does appear the that issue is with the electronics and not the mechanics" is the truck safe to drive"

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #18

Feb 052014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 217,000 miles


I heard a loud noise (boom), good thing I was able to pull over on the side of the highway when the vehicle stopped and stalled. When the tow people came and saw the damage underneath, it was the drive shaft joint that broke. I could have gotten into a serious accident. The vehicle is fairly new, my mechanic is having a hard time looking for parts (drive shaft) and all the other parts that were damaged because of this incident.

- Barnegat, NJ, USA

problem #17

Jul 102013

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that after having the transmission module replaced, the vehicle exhibited a loud humming sound. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who stated that the rear differential needed to be rebuilt. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 106,000.....updated 10-21-13

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

problem #16

Jul 222013


  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the front side of the rear propeller shaft separated from the joint and detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the contact's home and was not taken to a dealer for a diagnostic. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 07V324000 (power train ). the vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 170,000.

- Kingston , NH, USA

problem #15

Jun 032013

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
2007 Toyota Tacoma. Consumer writes in regards to sudden vibration when vehicle was at a stop. The consumer stated the vehicle would idle really low. When he turned on the ac, the idle would increase and the truck would stop vibrating. Also, if he put the vehicle in neutral, the RPM would increase and it would stop vibrating. The consumer stated he checked under the vehicle, but didn't see any visual leaks. As he proceeded to slide from under the truck, the front tire rolled over his head and chest. The truck rolled across the street and hit a street sign. The consumer stated he and a friend re-created the incident. The consumer stated when the friend touched a linkage, he saw the shifter move toward the back of the truck, staying in the slot for park. The truck then rolled while making a clicking noise. The consumer applied the brake and the truck stopped, he pushed the shifter forward and the truck re-engaged into park. The consumer stated he could only re-create the problem, when the vehicle was parked on an incline. The consumer stated when the vehicle was parked on a slight incline, it had the ability to pop out of park by slightly touching the linkage under the truck. Updated 07/23/13

- Centereach, NY, USA

problem #14

Dec 292012

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The truck had approximately 62,000 miles when we drove it to Florida christmas day. On Saturday, December 30th, we ran some errands that covered about 15 miles of city driving. Upon returning to our hotel, as we backed in to a parking space, the truck accelerated wildly. The tires screamed as we backed up onto a parking berm (pictures included) and continued to squeal while my foot was standing on the brake pedal. I put the truck in drive, the truck came off of the berm, but the tires were still squealing all the while I'm still standing on the brake pedal. I put it in park right away and shut it off. Looking down at the pedals, there was nothing unusual to note. No mats had moved and the pedals were as they should be. If it were not for the berm, there is no telling of what the consequences would have been. I recall that as we backed in, my foot was either about to step on the brake pedal or I had already begun to brake. My foot was not on the accelerator because, with the air conditioner on, the engine has sufficient RPM's to slowly move the truck without it. I went out a few hours later to start the truck and move it back and forth. At that time, everything seemed fine. I also took photographs of the berm and tires at that time, which I can supply. This was a very unnerving experience and I've been mindful of it since. Even though it has been a couple of weeks since the incident, I'm unsure I can have faith this will not happen again. I have since gone to the dealer who preformed two open recalls, but said there is no evidence of any "incident" as stated above ever happening.

- Ballston Spa, NY, USA

problem #13

Oct 292012

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
My truck has a vibration in the rear of the truck we have balanced the drive line 3 times replaced both U-joints and there is still a vibration between 30 and 40 miles per hour. I took it to the Toyota dearer ship and they keep it almost 2 weeks and first said it was the tires, and then the transmission and then the wheels and then maybe if I spent the money and put a new drive line on that might fix the problem but not sure. I have been out over 1,000 dollars and no luck with fixing the problem.

- Pikeville, KY, USA

problem #12

Sep 182007


  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that he shifted into drive and the rear end of the vehicle began to shake abnormally. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the cone on the rear end needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the issue and stated that there was nothing they could do to assist. The failure mileage was 5,000.

- Fall River, MA, USA

problem #11

May 122008

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
At highway speeds, during upshift from 4th to 5th or downshift from 5th to 4th, with clutch pedal depressed, engine rpms do one of the following: 1)remain constant, and then increase for several seconds before starting to decrease, 2)remain constant for several seconds, and then decrease, 3)decrease very slowly (far to long to execute a "clean" shift). While 2) and 3) are more of an annoyance likely due to poor engine control software, 1) is a serious safety concern in that engine speed (and vehicle speed) continue to increase despite the clutch pedal being depressed. "goosing" the accelerator does not appear to have any effect--the engine rpms wait several seconds before falling. In addition to the safety issue, you also wind up with a lot of clutch slippage because you are letting the clutch out while the engine/transmission are still engaged at a high RPM.

- Castle Rock, CO, USA

problem #10

Jul 032012


  • 555,540 miles
While passing a slower vehicle my accelerator stuck in full throttle and would not release, I tried to put on the brakes but the vehicle keep picking up speed. I put the vehicle in neutral and started hitting the gas pedal with my right foot, the accelerator released and my truck was doing over 70 mph or more. The engine was running at full speed while in neutral and I was just about to shut off the engine when it released, I contacted the Toyota dealer where I bought the truck and the man asked how many floor mate's were in the driver side of my truck. I informed him that the only mat was the mat that came with the truck, I was informed that I would have to drop off my vehicle and leave it until someone went over it. I was also told that this would take about one day or more, and that I would have to fill out a bunch of form's first. I told the service person that this was my only vehicle and that I had no other vehicle to use until they were done with there check of the vehicle, the service person ( [xxx] of pgh pa) said that's the way it is. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #9

Nov 012011

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 69,500 miles
Vibration occurred between 15 and 20 mph. The truck felt like you were driving over a gravel road. Research indicated there were tsb's for a similar problem at a little higher speed which extended the warranty to 5 years or 80,000 miles. I was first told by the local Toyota dealership that the problem was a rubber insulator engine mount in the transmission. I was later told when the truck was in for repair that the problem was not that. The problem was now one of the U joints was not turning like it should. The repair recommendation was replace the drive shaft and 3 U joints at a cost of about $1,000. I ended up spending $731 and Toyota paid the rest. The repair bill states "drive shaft froze". the repair was done on November 29, 2011.

- Destin, FL, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?