Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,495 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Tacoma engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #52

Apr 122014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 91,687 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Today, 04/12/14, at around 11:55 a.M., I had my fourth experience of unintended acceleration in my 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The first two incidents I had not reported. The third incident I did report to Toyota, they examined my truck and found nothing they thought would cause the acceleration. Today, I was approaching a busy intersection during a street festival in the downtown section of my home town. My truck did not stop when I pressed the brake, but the engine revved and the tires squealed twice as I tried unsuccessfully to stop the vehicle. It carried me through the intersection - if it had been occupied, I don't know if I would have been able to steer away from pedestrians, as the street was narrow and it all happened very fast. As soon as I had control of the truck, I pulled over to check the rug. The rug was hooked into its hole, a good 3 inches from the accelerator, and could not be moved by hand. I am now afraid to drive my truck, and am grateful to god that no one was hurt or killed. I had a passenger with me who witnessed this. Updated 09/29/2014

- Bastrop, TX, USA

problem #51

Jan 012014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Toyota Tacoma. Consumer writes in regards to sudden acceleration. The consumer stated as he attempted to pull into a parallel parking spot, the vehicle accelerated on its own, with so much force, he had to use all of his strength in his legs to stand on the brake pedal, until he could shift into neutral and the engine decelerated. The consumer stated since January, the acceleration has occurred about a half dozen times. The vehicle was inspected but nothing was found.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #50

Oct 192013

Tacoma

  • 50,500 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated while driving approximately 10 mph, he approached a stop signal. After the brake pedal depressed the vehicle surged and crashed into another vehicle. The contact sustained no injuries. The vehicle was driven from the scene. NHTSA recall campaign id number 09V388000 (speed control) was not related or associated with the recall. The unexpected acceleration occurred two times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who reprogrammed the computer system. In addition, an engineer was referred by the manufacturer to perform an investigation related to the defect, and gather information from the data recorder. The approximate failure mileage was 50,500.

- Boonton, NJ, USA

problem #49

Jun 062013

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving South on I/S 95 in attleboro, MA at about 2:45 pm on 6/6/13 in a 2009 Toyota Tacoma pickup. My wife was in the passenger seat and the only other passenger in the vehicle. I was traveling at about 60 mph and moved to the right lane to take exit 2 onto rt 1A southbound. The cruise control was "on" and engaged. When I flipped the lever to disengage (cancel) the cruise control the truck did not start to slow down (my foot was off the accelerator pedal). If anything, the truck started to accelerate. I immediately applied the brakes very forcefully, with little, if any affect. I immediately put the transmission into neutral. By this time, I was off the highway and on the exit ramp. Centrifugal force was pushing me to the left. It pushed the truck over the curb and grass and into the entrance ramp from 1A South onto I/S 95 South. At this time, I saw a vehicle on the entrance ramp headed toward me. Had I tried to steer to the right the truck would most likely would have skidded and blocked the ramp entirely, so I turned to the left, turning into the skid, hoping that the oncoming vehicle would have room enough to pass to my right. My truck continued skidding to my left and I believe hit the curb on the right side of the entrance ramp. It then flipped onto the driver's side, skidded along the pavement, hit something else most likely the guardrail and flipped back to the upright position. It came to rest on the left side of the entrance ramp. I do not know what became of the previously on-coming auto. There was nothing to indicate contact between contact between the two vehicles. Both side airbags deployed. Both of us had our seat belts attached. The front windshield was broken, the roof severely dented, scrapes along the driver's side and glass throughout the cab. The rescue arrived and transported us to the hospital.

- Rehoboth, MA, USA

problem #48

Apr 222013

Tacoma

  • 30,980 miles
I was coming into a right handed corner on dry pavement doing 45mph (less than the suggested speed for the corner). As I let off the throttle and turned into the corner the vehicles stability control kicked in causing the truck to go straight. I had to fight against the steering wheel and managed to overpower the stability control but by then I was in the on-coming lane.

- Kelowna Bc Canada, WA, USA

problem #47

Jun 062012

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact was entering a residential driveway and as the accelerator pedal was released, the vehicle sudden accelerated rapidly. There was also an abnormal increase in engine roms. The vehicle crashed into the side of the residence. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that they would send an investigator to further assess the failure. The failure mileage was unknown, but the current mileage was 20,300.

- Key Largo , FL, USA

problem #46

Nov 112011

Tacoma

  • 15,322 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 09V388000 (vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal) and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs. One year later, the contact experienced an abnormal acceleration while shifting into drive with the brakes depressed. He was able to stop the acceleration failure by shifting into neutral and shutting off the vehicle. Once the vehicle was restarted, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure however, the dealer advised that he would be sending for an investigator to further inspect the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The current and the failure mileages were 15,322.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #45

Jul 202010

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
I have a 2009 Toyota Tacoma and when the vehicle is stopped for example at a red light the vehicle RPM will increase and the vehicle will then lurch forward. Fortunately my foot in on the brake. The vehicle also has a whining noise from the rear of the vehicle that has been identified by Toyota regional reps as a whining noise from the differential at 50 to 70 mph. Taken back 3 times to dealer they say its normal but I know it is not. These may be 2 separate issues but it is clear that Toyota makes it difficult for it's customers to get warranty repairs and in acknowledging a problem. Toyota should be ashamed for its lack of customer service in fixing its vehicles until people get injured.

- Coventry, RI, USA

problem #44

Dec 142010

Tacoma

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while attempting to park and depressing the brakes, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and crashed into a pole. The contact stated that the brake and accelerator pedals were too close together and she has simultaneously depressed both pedals causing the abnormal acceleration. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was approximately 8,000.

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #43

Sep 152010

Tacoma

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer because he was experiencing issues when he was shifting gears. The technicians modified the accelerator pedal. After the accelerator pedal was modified he was driving approximately 35 mph when it became difficult for him to engage the pedal. The dealer stated that they would replace the pedal; however, the vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000.

- Huntington Park, CA, USA

problem #42

Sep 222010

Tacoma

  • 13,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Using the cruise control, set at 61mph, climbing a small hill, the truck downshifted at least 3 times, revving the engine to over 5000 RPM. It startled me. My first reaction was to shift to neutral, but I knew that would cause the engine to over rev. I lifted the cruise control to shut it off, and the engine speed dropped. I drove a while with the cruise off, then retried it. On the first hill the same thing happened, and I shut off the cruise. I tried two more times with the same results. When I drove with out the cruise control on, the engine would down shift only one time, then at the top of the hill would upshift, resuming the normal operation. Through out the rest if my visit to pa, I drove w/O cruise control, and there were no over shifting incidents. On the return trip to nc on the 26th, I reset the cruise, and upon climbing a hill, the same thing happened. I shut off the cruise control until I got out of the hills, and then the operation seemed normal. I have made that trip before in the truck, and had nothing like the experience I just mentioned.

- Wilson, NC, USA

problem #41

Mar 142010

Tacoma

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle shifted out of gear and accelerated on its own. The contact was able to control the vehicle by applying the brakes and stop the vehicle. The dealer was contacted and could not duplicate the failure and stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 5,000. The current mileage was 8,000.

- Emecula, CA, USA

problem #40

Jul 032010

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,400 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. While driving 60 mph the vehicle accelerated without a warning. The contact was able to control the speed and stop the acceleration by depressing the brake pedal. On a separate occasion, while driving in reverse from a driveway with the brakes depressed, the vehicle independently accelerated. The contact had to use extreme force on the brake pedal to stop the unintended acceleration. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where they were unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 8,400. Updated 9/1/10 updated 09/02/10

- Milwaukee , WI, USA

problem #39

May 282010

Tacoma

  • 11,176 miles
Today I was on rt 50 in western fairfax county, va stopped and waiting to make a left hand turn onto centreville rd. All of a sudden my Toyota Tacoma 09 surged forward and gently hit the stopped full size truck in front of me. The gentlemen in the full size truck got out and saw no damage on his truck. I had some minor scratches on the front bumper and on the front license plate. No one was hurt so we did not report anything. I am concerned that there is a defect in my truck that causes this sudden surge. Had someone walked in front of my truck when the surge occurred, someone could have been seriously injured. Luckily no one was hurt.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #38

May 172010

Tacoma

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. While driving in reverse at a very low speed, the vehicle surged backward resulting in a crash. There was no police report filed and no injuries reported. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop to have the body work performed. The vehicle was in the process of being examined for the failure. The failure and current mileages were approximately 18,000.

- Hopkinton, MA, USA

problem #37

Oct 162009

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 1,500 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated while sitting idle with the engine running, there was an unusual increase in engine rpms to 4000 for approximately three minutes. The vehicle then resumed normal idling. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The contact stated the failure occurred approximately three times before taking the vehicle to the dealer. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the failure the failure mileage was 1,500 and the current mileage was 3,500. See also 10288703 updated 05/19/10 additional documents received updated 06/01/10 additional 06/08/10 updated 06/09/10.

- Huntingdon Valley, PA, USA

problem #36

Apr 032008

Tacoma

  • 12,000 miles
I live in charleston, SC and I purchased a 2009 Toyota Tacoma on March 17, 2010 with 12,000 miles on it. I was excited to take it on vacation to the Florida pan handle over the easter weekend. My excitement turned to a nightmare on Saturday April 3rd when while passing another vehicle on a rural road in Florida the Tacoma gas pedal pulled away from me and the car engine went to maximum RPM. I put the Tacoma in neutral and coasted to the side of the road. The engine continued to rev at max RPM, even after I turned it off and then restarted it. I had the truck towed to the nearest Toyota dealer which was located in tallahassee fl. The service director at legacy immediately stated that the floor mats caused the acceleration. He provided a rental car for me for the remainder of the weekend, and told me he would have the truck checked out on Monday morning. I received a call back on Monday afternoon telling me that Toyota was releasing the car back to me, and that it was safe to drive. I told the dealer that I felt the car had a problem, and that I did not feel that it was safe to drive. I am certainly not an automotive engineer or a mechanic, however I do have a master's degree in mechanical engineering, and have been a licensed professional engineer for 20 years. I rented another car at my own expense, and drove 400 miles back to South Carolina on Tuesday April 6. my 19 year old son was graduating from marine bootcamp at parris island on Thursday April 8th. I am currently without a car, and more than 400 miles away from where my truck is currently located.

- Mt Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #35

Apr 132010

Tacoma

  • 14,102 miles
2009 Toyota Tacoma truck. This is a second "failure" report due to rapid acceleration. First report was made on 12/03/09 or 12/04/09 to you for same problem. Your case # [xxx]. NHTSA id # [xxx]. see also 10294490 and 10367974. On April 13, 2010 at 1:25 pm I was leaving a commercial parking lot in my Tacoma truck. I backed out of the parking space in reverse, came to a stop, and then moved the shift lever down towards drive. When the shift indicator reached neutral the engine immediately began to accelerate rapidly up to 4,500 RPM. This time I waited about 10 seconds and then the engine wound back down to normal idle. My foot was only on the brake, not the gas pedal, and there is no floor mat problem. During the Dec-09 incident I did not wait for the engine to slow down. I just turned off the ignition. My Tacoma's situation seems to be connected to the floor-mounted gear shifting mechanism in some way since this has happened twice. I did/will not take the truck to the dealer since they will find nothing wrong just like the last time. The truck mileage was at 14,102 miles on 4/13/10. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Gainesville, GA, USA

problem #34

Apr 042010

Tacoma

  • 26,000 miles
Unintended acceleration in a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. While shifting from the 3rd to 4th gear, the engine stayed at high speed even though my foot was off accelerator pedal. I was able to get the truck off the road with the engine off. After getting out of traffic, I restarted the engine and it was still racing. I turned it off and restarted it about 1-2 minutes later and it was normal.

- Irwin, PA, USA

problem #33

Mar 062010

Tacoma

  • 9,975 miles
2009 Toyota Tacoma gas pedal stuck on freeway on our 16 year old son. We had taught him from seeing Toyota on the news to put it in neutral and get to the side of the road, which he did successfully. The truck was towed to thousand oaks Toyota, they stated nothing was wrong and asked for my son to "drive it with a technician and try to replicate the problem". we sold it back to them, lost $8500 dollars, the dealer was unhelpful and other imho rude and Toyota corporate 800 number didn't answer after 5 attempts and 3 hours on the phone. We are extremely upset about this.

- Thousand Oaks, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?