Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,855 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Tacoma suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #50

Sep 292014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

September 29, 2014 Toyota motors informed NHTSA of plans to conduct a voluntary recall of the Toyota pre-runner pickup trucks. The problem is that the leaf spring is defective and could fracture due to corrosion and stress. I have a leaf spring that is not fractured or cracked but is making a lot of strange noises and my mechanic says the leaf spring on one side is defective. I have taken it to my dealer twice and they refuse to replace it because it is not cracked. I have called Toyota customer service twice also and they refuse to rectify the problem. How long is it going to take Toyota to deal with this recall or are they waiting for a few people to die. Why can't they be proactive instead of reactive after people are injured.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #49

Jul 162014

Tacoma

  • miles
I have been waiting for over 1 year to have the recalled leaf springs dealt with on my truck. In February 2015, my leaf spring broke, 6 months after the first and only recall notification letter.. my dealer had " at least a 6 month wait" for the part. My mechanic repaired it and I paid the bill. Toyota filed a case number and stated I would be reimbursed when the remedy recall was announced. After another 6 months, I have yet to hear anything from Toyota or white river Toyota.I spoke with my dealer today, and they "have no idea when the remedy will be available, waiting to hear from Toyota headquarters". I spoke to Toyota today and they could not give many information regarding reimbursement, when they would be able to fix the leaf spring, or the status of my case. I find it disturbing that a safery issue is taking over 14 months to resolve when it only involves manufacturing replacement springs. I also am angry that no one at Toyota has any timetable on resolving the issue.

- Post Mills, VT, USA

problem #48

Jul 222014

Tacoma

  • miles
Rear leaf spring recall - received safety recall interim notice Sept. 2014 advising of defective rear leaf spring. Contacted dealership numerous times for repair, and advised continually Toyota has not yet designed or created a fix for the problem. As of July 28, 2015 dealership still does not have replacement part for the defective rear leaf spring. I have advised dealership multiple times that the vehicle when stopped and brake applied, vehicle abruptly without warning jolts forward on its own and makes a loud clunk immediately afterwards. Feels as if the vehicle has been hit from behind from another vehicle, when in fact it has not. Dealership confirmed that the issues explained above are definitely related to the faulty rear leaf spring, but has no answers or any remedy of problem. I was also advised by dealership that rear leaf spring may cause brakes to fail or fuel tank to be punctured and cause fire. This is definitely not safe, and we are concerned for our safety! please intervene!

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #47

Mar 032014

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 61,020 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. While driving approximately 10 mph, there was an abnormal noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the rear passenger side leaf springs needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 61,020. MA 10/22/2015. Updated 12/23/15

- Northeast, PA, USA

problem #46

Jul 202015

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the parts were unavailable to perform the recall repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/18/15

- Milton, NH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #45

Oct 132014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Warren, PA, USA

problem #44

Jun 242015

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/03/15

- Cerritos, CA, USA

problem #43

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #42

Nov 202014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) and stated that the part needed was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Elkins, WV, USA

problem #41

Jan 132015

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The vehicle was not repaired.

- Orland, ME, USA

problem #40

Nov 142014

Tacoma

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In September 2014 a recall was announced on my style 2009 Toyota Tacoma pick up because the rear leaf springs could corrode and break. On November 14, 2014, I received a recall notice letter from Toyota that my vehicle was being recalled due to this issue. I have contacted Toyota manufacturing company on numerous occasions only to be told "we are working on it" (replacing the springs). That is the only answer I have ever received. Even their website states "we are working on it". I want to know when these springs will be replaced on my vehicle!!!

- Holt, MI, USA

problem #39

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
There was a recall last 9/2014 and to this date it has not been fixed.

- Milton, MA, USA

problem #38

Feb 052015

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) and stated that the part needed was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/7/15

- Mill Valley , CA, USA

problem #37

Nov 112014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repaired was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of this issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Gambrills, MD, USA

problem #36

May 012015

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact felt the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/7/15 the consumer stated a visual inspection was performed on the vehicle by a Toyota tech. The vehicle was found to be "ok at this time". updated 9/19/2015

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #35

Sep 122013

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was at an independent mechanic for a routine service, the mechanic diagnosed that the rear passenger side leaf spring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 76,000. Updated 6/26/15 updated 07/02/15

- Stowe, VT, USA

problem #34

Apr 222015

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) in December of 2014, however the part to do the repair was not available. The contact felt that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Washington, PA, USA

problem #33

Mar 232015

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Toyota is not addressing the Tacoma rear leaf spring safety recall in a reasonable time. I was notified of the leaf spring recall in the fall of 2014. In March of 2015 I took my 2009 Tacoma to the dealer to investigate excessive noise coming from the rear of the truck. Dealer service department determined that one of the leaf springs had fractured and needed to be replaced per the safety recall. Dealer ordered the replacement springs but was unable to provide a time when they would be available so the repair could be completed. After nearly a month, still waiting for parts. Calls to both the dealer and Toyota corporate to find out when the parts would be available have been fruitless. Both state that the replacement leaf springs are unavailable and will not provide a date when they will be available. Given the length of time that Toyota has known about this safety issue, I find that this is lack of repair parts and addressing this safety issue is unacceptable especially for owners such as myself who are known to have fractured leaf springs. Recommend that NHTSA investigate with Toyota as to why this safety recall is not being addressed in a prompt manner.

- Campton, NH, USA

problem #32

Apr 102015

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #31

Sep 012014

Tacoma

  • miles
NHTSA recall number: Opens new window takes away from VIN lookup section> 14V604 recall date: September 29, 2014 manufacturer recall number: E12 this has been open way too long and should have been resolved by now. I drive an 09 Tacoma, just what the heck is NHTSA doing to keep me safe?

- Lewisberry, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?