Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,858 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Tacoma engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #11

Dec 132009

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

S10 appropriate handling re Toyota acceleration problem fm owner of a 2010 Toyota Tacoma truck. The consumer stated the engine raced and the vehicle lurched forward. The consumer applied the brake as hard as he could and quickly placed the vehicle in park. The next day, the vehicle was inspected, but the vehicle was performing as designed. The consumer was informed his vehicle was not a part of the recall. Updated 05/12/10.

- Atascadero, CA, USA

problem #10

Mar 272010

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,065 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while in a parking lot, the vehicle suddenly accelerated forward. She pressed both of her feet on the brake pedal and the tires were spinning. She shifted into park, turned off the ignition and had the vehicle towed to a dealership. She was awaiting feedback at the time of the complaint. She had not experienced any acceleration problems prior to this failure. She called the manufacturer and reported the problem. The current and failure mileages were approximately 2065. Updated 06/08/10. Updated 02/01/11 the consumer stated the vehicle has since accelerated again for the second time. The vehicle accelerated as the consumer was pulling into a parking space. She held her foot on the brake, as the engine revved and the tires were spinning. She ended up going on curb into a snow bank. She put the vehicle in park and the engine continued to accelerate until she turned the ignition off. A modification was performed on the vehicle in June 2010 and the dealer assured the consumer it would rectify any uncontrolled acceleration. Updated 03/18/11

- Norwood, MA, USA

problem #9

Dec 132009

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,367 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. He stated that while driving at 5 mph and pulling into a parking space, the vehicle accelerated on its own. He put both feet on the brakes and the vehicle still wanted to surge forward. He put the vehicle in park and turned it off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they could not duplicate the failure and told him that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. There had been no repairs done to the vehicle at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 6367 and current mileage was 8253. Updated 04/27/10. The consumers husband was driving the vehicle. Updated 09/16/10

- Atascadero, CA, USA

problem #8

Dec 052009

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 2,379 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. While the contact was stopped the vehicle the engine suddenly surged causing the vehicle to accelerate. The contact had to put the vehicle in neutral to stop the acceleration. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the failure could not be reproduced. The failure has occurred since the day the vehicle was purchased. The mileage was 2,379 updated 04/13/10. Updated 4/19/10 the consumer stated the floor mats did not play a part in the sudden acceleration. Updated 05/20/10 updated 10/08/10

- San Dimas, CA, USA

problem #7

Feb 272010

Tacoma

  • 1,100 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The driver stated that she was at a stop sign with her foot on the brake pedal when the vehicle accelerated into an intersection. The driver also stated that she had both feet on the brake pedal but the vehicle would not stop. The driver had to shift into neutral gear and turn the engine off in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a Toyota dealer. The vehicle was being diagnosed by the dealer when the complaint was filed. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 1,100.

- Berkeley, CA, USA

problem #6

Feb 182010

Tacoma

  • 3,200 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The driver stated that he was driving in a large parking lot at approximately 2 mph into a parking space. The driver was coming to a complete stop, and engaged the brake pedal when the vehicle accelerated on its own and crashed into a concrete column. He was not injured. The failure mileage was 3,200.

- Niskayuna, NY, USA

problem #5

Feb 122009

Tacoma

  • 900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2010 Tacoma Tundra. He stated that on several occasions the vehicle accelerated bacause the accelerator pedal is to close too the break pedal. He took the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer stated there is nothing they could do, that is the way the vehicle is designed. The current and the failure mileage were 900.

- Bellevue , MI, USA

problem #4

Feb 152010

Tacoma

  • 100 miles
The vehicle surges unexpectedly. One or more times a day, depending on travel needs, I experience surges both at complete stops and when accelerating. Depressing the accelerator pedal from a stop or roll includes a "delay" in response from the vehicle, then the unexpected surge is noticed. Generally, a small amount of pressure on the pedal does not yield a desired acceleration effect, instead a "wait and go" effect is experienced. Several times, this delay has caused near misses in terms of accidents. Expecting the vehicle to respond to accelerator pressure but not getting acceleration is considered hazardous. Surging forward violently when at a complete stop is another concern. With the brakes completely depressed, the vehicle will surge forward at most traffic lights or during stop and go traffic. This vehicle was brought to the dealer a week after purchase with my concerning of shifting and sometime erratic behavior. The dealership did little more than take a short test drive with me (no diagnostics, no formal or mechanical evaluation), and tell me nothing was wrong with the truck. The truck had less than 1000 miles on it, now with 2600 miles, the problems persist.

- Mount Juliet, TN, USA

problem #3

Dec 112009

Tacoma

  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that his vehicle accelerated while driving into the driveway while driving approximately 5 mph and almost crashed into the garage. He had both feet on the brake pedal; however, the vehicle continued accelerating. A Toyota manufacturer technician examined the brakes system although the contact informed him that the failure was not related to the brakes. The representative removed the floor mats. The failure mileage was 3,000.

- Platteville, WI, USA

problem #2

Dec 052009

Tacoma

  • 700 miles
I turned left into a best buy parking space. My foot covered the brake as I slowly coasted in. My 2010 Tacoma began speeding up. I hit the brakes as hard as I could, stopped the Tacoma. I turned the ignition off, put the Tacoma in park. This was not floor mat related, since the dealer did not supply floor mats with the Tacoma. I never touched the gas pedal. I shopped, then brought the Tacoma to pauly Toyota, crystal lake, il, where the service dept. Took it immediately. The truck is 3 weeks old, less than 1000 miles on it.

- Algonquin, IL, USA

problem #1

Sep 282009

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 600 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated as he was driving and coming to a stop at the stop sign, the engine started to race as if it was getting ready to accelerate. The consumer depressed the brakes before it accelerated. He has not taken his vehicle to the dealer as of yet or the called the manufacturer to inform them of this issue. The failure mileage was 600....mw updated 02/17/10. Updated 02/18/10

- Texas City, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?