Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: A dependable pickup option that does have a slight history of frame corrosion. Even though mud looks cool on a truck, it's best if you run this through the car wash every now and again.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,468 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Tundra seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #35

Apr 302013

Tundra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2003 Toyota Tundra. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the recall part needed was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Seymour, TN, USA

problem #34

Nov 042013

Tundra 8-cyl

  • miles
Received safety recall notice approximately sometime November 2013, while living in roseburg, or, regarding "front passenger airbag inflater module" defect in my 2003 Toyota Tundra. I have made several calls to dealerships on a regular basis to inquire when I would be able to get this recall completed. I received this notice well before the thousands of other vehicles were recalled for air bag issues. I was told I must wait for a second notice before repairs could take place. I need to know what my rights are or what I can do to get my vehicle fixed. I am concerned for my safety and the safety of others. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #33

Aug 082013

Tundra 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/09/15 the consumer stated the recall repairs were not rectified. However, he was billed for other repairs. Updated 01/16/16.

- Sumter, SC, USA

problem #32

Jun 142014

Tundra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Purlock, CA, USA

problem #31

May 292015

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14312000 (air bags); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #30

Jun 102014

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tundra. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V312000 (air bags) and 05V254000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were not available. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to perform the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Medford, OR, USA

problem #29

Apr 232015

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tundra. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags) and stated that the parts were unavailable to service the vehicle under the recall. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/14/15

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #28

Jun 042014

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags) was received in June of 2014. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wakefield, RI, USA

problem #27

Aug 082012

Tundra

  • 150,000 miles
Travelling 45 mph in a 55 mph zone on wet surface. Vehicle began to spend out of control due to a vehicle tapping the passenger's rear bumper. After the spinout and contact with cement median losing the front bumper the truck stops. Airbag implodes about 15 secs after the accident.

- Detroit , MI, USA

problem #26

Feb 252015

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 05V254000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 04/06/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on March 23, 2015. Updated 6/25/2015

- Waynesville, NC, USA

problem #25

Oct 012014

Tundra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair.

- Lacey, WA, USA

problem #24

Feb 192015

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #23

Sep 152014

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tundra. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V312000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 04/08/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 04/14/15

- Florence, WI, USA

problem #22

Jan 292015

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Billings, MT, USA

problem #21

Jan 122015

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Boonville, CA, USA

problem #20

Oct 312013

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V312000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Church Hill, TN, USA

problem #19

Jan 222015

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V312000 (air bags) however, the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Smyrna , FL, USA

problem #18

Feb 022014

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id numbers: 14V350000 (air bags), 09V444000 (structure) and 05V225000 (suspension). The contact was waiting for several months for the recall part to become available and the dealer was not able to determine when the recall repair would be performed. The manufacturer notified of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Saranac, MI, USA

problem #17

Oct 102014

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Tundra. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V350000 (air bags) and 05V254000 (air bags). The dealer stated that the parts would not be available for months and offered to provide an interim repair by disconnecting the front passenger side air bag until the part was available. The contact stated that the delay was unreasonable and wanted a permanent repair for the air bag failure. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #16

Nov 242014

Tundra 4WD 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
I received a Toyota recall letter on 11/24/2014 that my truck is not safe to drive and to get the passenger airbag replaced. The dealer stated on 11/24/2014 they do not have the parts and cannot fix. I called Toyota and they stated the parts will not be available until January 2015 at the earliest. The recall letter states the truck is not safe to drive and I should park it. As my only vehicle how is this possible to have no car for 3 months.

- Toney, AL, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?