If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 2
Average Mileage:
17,222 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Tundra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments

problem #15

Apr 042010

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Toyota Tundra. Consumer states sudden unintended acceleration the consumer stated he received a recall notice for the accelerator pedal reinforcement bar installation. One month after the recall repairs were performed, while driving on the interstate, the vehicle suddenly redlined and went sideways in the middle of a four-lane highway. The consumer stated he traveling at 65 mph, when suddenly the vehicle accelerated to 95 mph. The consumer managed to correct the direction of the truck and the acceleration suddenly stopped and he regained control of the vehicle. During that time, the cruise control was not activated. The dealer inspected the computer and replaced the accelerator pedal.

- Fredericksburg, TX, USA

problem #14

Mar 012010

Tundra

  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tundra. The contact received Toyota recall notice 09V388000 vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal in March 2010. He had scheduled appointments with the dealership three times however his vehicle had not been repaired, because of other customers routine maintenance. The manufacturer was contacted, but he had not received a response. The contact feels the repair has exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The failure mileage was 27,000 the failure mileage was 31,670.

- Augusta , GA, USA

problem #13

Aug 182010

Tundra

  • 59,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tundra. The contact was driving approximately 25 mph when the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact stated his foot was not on the accelerator pedal when the failure occurred. He was unable to stop the vehicle and crashed into the driver side of another vehicle. A passenger sustained injuries to the neck, back and head. The vehicle sustained major front-end damage. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated he had encountered the failure at least six times prior to the crash and repairs were made to the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V017000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal) yet the failure persisted following repairs. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer after the recall work was performed and they could not locate the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage were 59,500.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #12

Jun 032010

(reported on)

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Toyota Tundra. Consumer states cruise control does engage and then will not disengage brakes. The consumer stated the brakes would not hold at stop signs and the vehicle would move forward. The vehicle had electrical shorts in the wiring such as; the headlights, clock, cigarette lighter, alarm and door locks. The seat belts would not always latch. The windshield wipers would not activate, there was a severe shake coming from the front of the vehicle as well as when the brakes were applied. There was a noise coming from the 4-wheel drive, the steering would act erratic and the accelerator pedal became stuck which caused the consumer to have an accident while backing out of his driveway..

- Bigelow, AR, USA

problem #11

Apr 232010

Tundra

  • 31,998 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that accelerator pedal had been shortened after an authorized dealer repaired it per NHTSA recall campaign id number: 09V388000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal). The contact was not satisfied with the repair and instead requested a new pedal. The manufacturer stated there was a newly designed pedal available for preorder; yet, the dealer told him that the part did not exist. The manufacturer was notified several times until the dealer advised the contact that the new pedal was available. The manufacturer also confirmed that the only remedy at the time was to shorten the accelerator pedal. The contact was concerned about the safety risk since the pedal could become stuck in the open throttle position. The failure and current mileages were approximately 31,998. Updated 07/21/10.

- Wantage , NJ, USA

problem #10

Apr 242010

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,129 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that while driving an approximate speed of 21 mph and approaching a curve, he applied the brakes to decrease speed. The vehicle continued to abnormally accelerate, with his foot still depressing the brake pedal, and crashed into a guardrail. The vehicle did not stop. He continued to depress the brake and there was a slight hesitation in the vehicle. The contact was able to bring the vehicle to a stop without further incident. The contact was not injured and was able to drive the vehicle to his residence. The vehicle sustained major body damage to the left front end and was repaired by an independent mechanic. The failure mileage was 44,129. Updated 7/16/10 updated 07/22/10 updated 10/25/10 the consumer stated he made it past two curves and then crashed into a guardrail. Updated 10/27/10

- Cloudcroft, NM, USA

problem #9

Mar 222010

Tundra

  • 13,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of a recall (NHTSA campaign id number 10V017000- vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal) and had the vehicle repaired by the dealer. Since the repairs, the vehicle began exhibiting instances of increased engine rpms and rapid acceleration even when minimal pressure was applied to the accelerator pedal. The contact confirmed that there were no failures with acceleration before the recall repair was performed. Both the dealer and manufacturer were contacted but neither was willing to provide any assistance. The failure mileage was 13,600 and the current mileage was 13,630.

- Tracy , CA, USA

problem #8

Nov 152007

Tundra

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tundra. While traveling at a speed of 55 mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning, the contact was able to stop the vehicle from ccelerating by applying the brakes. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the failure could not be reproduced. One month after the failure the contact received NHTSA recall notice # 10V017000 for the vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal. She took her vehicle to the dealership to have the repair performed. The failure mileage was 200 and the current mileage is 6177.

- West Linn, OR, USA

problem #7

Oct 232009

Tundra

  • 22,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tundra. He received notification from Toyota advising him that his vehicle was a part of the Toyota accelerator pedal recall (see NHTSA campaign id number: 10V017000) in October of 2009. He has been in contact with his dealer from October 2009 to February 2010 to have the necessary recall repair performed. He was told that the parts were not available and they did not know when they would become available. He was also advised that they would contact him upon receiving the necessary parts. The contact is concerned that he had to wait so long to have the defect repaired since it could potentially cause a crash to occur. There were no failures to date. The current mileage was 22,500.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #6

Mar 032008

Tundra

  • 5,500 miles
The physical pedal seems to stick when pressure is reduced (slowing or decelerating) but pops free once most of the pressure has been released. This has happened several times in the past year and a half. I did not return it to the dealer, instead I was able to remove the pedal assembly and apply several drops of WD40 to the pivot shaft and bushing. After working the pedal a few times and re-installing back into the vehicle, the pedal seemed to operate normally for up to 4 to 5 months before starting to stick once more. Note: The vehicle never accelerated on its own nor did the pedal not return to the idle position.

- Mystic, CT, USA

problem #5

Jul 122008

Tundra

  • 12,788 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at approx. 55mph the accelerator pedal on my 2007 Toyota Tundra suddenly dropped to the floor below my right foot. My truck accelerated to full throttle. The cruise control was not on. The accelerator was not stuck to the floor mat. The truck accelerated at a rapid pace and nearly ran into the rear of the vehicle in front of me on the roadway. I attempted to stop the vehicle by tapping on the brakes, then the accelerator and turning the cruise control button off even though the cruise was already off. Nothing responded and the truck continued to accelerate to a dangerous speed. The accelerator was "floored" and would not move. I had to maneuver around the vehicle in front of me and several that passed going the opposite direction quickly. The truck was gaining speed at an incredibly rapid pace. I continued to brake the truck in an attempt to stop the vehicle and prevent loosing control. I then attempted to down-shift the transmission. This caused the engine to rev uncontrollably. The same happened when shifted into neutral in an attempt to turn the engine off with the key. The RPM's were revving so high that I feared the engine would blow up. I pulled my truck into a boat parking area on the roadside and slammed on the brakes while putting the truck into neutral and turning the engine key to off. The engine, brakes and transmission were all smoking from the stress and high RPM's. I had experienced a similar uncontrollable acceleration about six months prior (Jan. 2008) to this one but was able to recover quickly by hitting the brakes and presumed that it was something wrong with the cruise control. Toyota replaced the accelerator pedal sensor assy but would not say whether this was the cause of the uncontrollable acceleration. They said that it was possibly caused by the aftermarket floor mats that I purchased at the dealership. Unfortunately, the pedal dropped from under my foot without my intervention. Toyota has not responded to my calls.

- Rangeley, ME, USA

problem #4

Feb 202008

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Tundra. While the contact's husband was driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle accelerated between approximately 80-100 mph, crashed into a tree and the driver was killed. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact believed that the crash was related to the recall about the aftermarket all weather floor mats becoming stuck and causing the vehicle to accelerate. A police report was filed. The current and failure mileages were approximately 35,000. Updated 03-11-08 updated 05/10/10 updated 06/17/10 updated 9/21/2011

- Worthington, IA, USA

problem #3

Oct 262007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota Tundra tire failure and air bag failure. Consumer would like all information regarding this vehicle due to the death of his son. A request was made to NHTSA to use Toyota's read out tool (rot) for even data recorders to read out the edr which is in the possession of the consumer. The vehicle was subject to two recalls. Updated 06/16/10.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #2

Oct 152007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,412 miles
Please see my write-up on the Toyota Tundra forum website: www.tundratalk.net/forums/Tundra-problems-dealer-service/30988-warning-accelerator-stuck.html. the web forum entry describes an unwanted acceleration incident that was caused by an unsecured aftermarket floor mat entrapping the accelerator pedal after application.

- Riverton, UT, USA

problem #1

Jun 162007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,701 miles
2007 Toyota Tundra DC 5.7L limited. I was driving on the freeway and I went to pass another vehicle when I got into the next lane and another car changed lanes in front of me and I was forced to slam the brakes. The ABS system engaged and slowed vehicle down, but the truck felt like it was being pushed forward... by this time I had enough room in front of me, so I let off the brakes and the truck jumped like I was holding my foot on the gas. I almost hit the car in front of me again. I slammed on the Y brakes again and the ABS system kicked in, and the truck was still trying to accelerate, but I held the brake hard enough that I didn't hit the car in front of me. At this point I had to do something. I stuck the truck in neutral and tried to get to the side of the freeway. When I got stopped I had 3 lights on., brake, vsc, and a picture of a car with 2 crooked lines on it. I believed it was traction control. By now the truck was normal again but the lights were on so I took the truck straight to the dealer.

- Rosemead , CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?