Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,051 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Yaris brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Yaris:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Yaris Owner Comments

problem #9

Feb 092013

Yaris

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicles emergency brake light and ABS light continued to come on. Vehicle was taken to the Toyota dealer and we were told that the rear wiring harness and sensors had completed eroded and that until this problem was repaired the vehicle had no working ABS system or traction stability control. We were advised that Toyota is aware of the problem but has still not done a recall. This to me is definitely a safety issued that should be addressed. The dealer did state that the reason the wiring harness had eroded was because the actual harness is open on the bottom allowing moisture to get into the harness area. The cost for this repair is over $750.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #8

Nov 052010

Yaris 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
I own a 2008 Toyota Yaris, and after 3 years I'm now experiencing a problem with the ABS sensors. This is a standard safety feature that I had to pay for since it is not included in the base model. I did some research and found out that many Yaris owners from Canada and us are having the same issue with the same sensors and seem to have started with the 2006 models and so on. I'm including the link of the forum listed below as proof of other Yaris owners having the same issue. I'm sure that there are other people not on this forum experiencing the same problem and are not accounted for. This is a safety concern that I feel should be recalled. To get this fixed, it costs more than adding the feature itself when purchasing the vehicle. I'm expressing my concern because I feel that this is an important safety concern that all Yaris owners, whether having the problem or not should be aware of. Hopefully something can be done. www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?T=11533.

- Milford, PA, USA

problem #7

Jan 012010

Yaris

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Yaris. The contact stated the anti lock brake system light was illuminating on the instrument panel. The contact examined the vehicle and noticed the anti lock brake sensor was corroded. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 32,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Milford, PA, USA

problem #6

Dec 212009

Yaris

  • 30,231 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

12/21/09 - ABS light and brake light came on. Car difficult to brake and making sprung "spring" type noises. Rear wheel sensor and wire harness had gone bad - replaced and went out again on 1/25/11. 6/8/10 car making funny whirling noises under hood. Alternator went bad.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #5

Feb 142011

Yaris 4-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Rear ABS speed sensors corrode and malfunctioned causing the "brake" and "ABS" lights display on the instrument cluster, thus minimizing braking efficiency while driving. Internet full of customers with similar problems on Toyota Yaris cars.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #4

Feb 042011

Yaris

  • 17,125 miles
Stopped to place a fast food order-moved up to pay-truck in front waiting to pay-had foot on break--car lunged forward and hit the truck in front-the engine revved up while I had my foot on the break-I even pushed down harder on the break.

- Norwalk, OH, USA

problem #3

Jan 112011

Yaris 4-cyl

  • 88,601 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a brand, new 2008 Toyota Yaris in March 2008 at valley Toyota in hanson, California. I am the sole owner and the only driver. During the timeframe between January 11th to January 15th, 2011, the ABS light and the brake lights came on repeatedly. As recommended by the manual, I parked the car until I could get an appointment with a servicing dealer. The automobile is only 2 years and 10 months in my possession and I still owe $13, $865 on it. The mileage is 98% federal interstate miles. I paid $ $1,031.84 on Wednesday, 19th of January 2011 for 2 rear hubs and 2 skid control wires and had to return the car to the servicing dealer on Saturday, January 22nd for remaining repair tasks which cost another $ $323.75. In total I have paid Toyota a grand total of $1,355.59 to repair the ABS wires and harness which were corroded according to the technicians. Once again, the car was purchased by me as a brand, new auto in March of 2008 with less than 89,000 miles (98% highway miles). To have paid $ 1, $355.59 to Toyota for the ABS system is deployable as the company is aware of a seemingly systemic problem of corrosion with the ABS on Toyota Yaris models dating back to 2007. My research shows that the company has only issued technical service bulletins to dealership service departments and not to customers in September 2007 and in June or July 2008. In view of previous recalls for other models, Toyota has been extremely negligent and not responsible to my calls regarding this issue. As the servicing dealer has not been responsive or forthcoming regarding my inquiries, I don't know if the old parts are still available as of this writng (25th of January 2011).

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #2

Jun 022009

Yaris

  • 25,500 miles
Brakes locked up on my 2008 Toyota yarius and it skidded me 67' 9" into the back end of another vehicle. The skid marks were solid. I have had mechanics tell me that the brakes locked up and they should not have and it will speed you up, which caused me to hit this vehicle not once but twice. I filed a complaint with Toyota and they sent out a subject to check the brakes, I then received a letter stating all the tests are fine. Well my insurance company had the vehicle towed to dealership who advised them that you can not do the proper test, without towing it to a certified Toyota dealership and put it on their computer. Well I tried to get Toyota to tell me if this man pulled up in his truck and pulled out this computer, however now Toyota won't talk to me. My insurance has had one of their inspectors to come and look over the vehicle, which he explained to me since it has been several months that the black box may have lost the information that is stored in it, I have not heard from them yet. I know this was a vehicle malfunction, I first called Toyota to file a complaint when a Toyota service manager advised me to do so!! in fact the Toyota rep was the first one to ask me if I wanted compensated for this and if I come up with a figure to call him back which I did and he gave me the runaround. I wrote a letter to Toyota and haven't heard anything else from them. I know for a fact this was not my fault, this was the first accident I have ever had, and its ruined me. I work two jobs and all I wanted was a car I could trust, this was my fourth Toyota and it will be my last. I have pictures of the skid marks, my vehicle. I was sued by the lady I hit lawyer. I know how I drive and I know that this wasn't my fault, the brakes malfunctioned and they need to admit it, and to take care of it. I found a website on Toyota yarius which had numerous complaints about brakes locking up on their vehicles and the near misses they had, well I wrecked and it was bad.

- Crab Orchard, WV, USA

problem #1

Jul 122008

Yaris

  • miles
Vehicle in front of me stopped. I applied brakes and the car did not stop as usual, it just slid. I attempted to avoid the vehicle and rolled over. The airbags did not deploy and I was slammed into the steering wheel and against the door. Causing chest pain and shoulder pain.

- Americus, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?