Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,225 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Volkswagen Jetta lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Feb 042009

Jetta

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have received a recall notice that only allows me to get a repair at an authorized dealership. I live in a rural area 4 hours from the closest dealership. They will not allow me to repair it locally and get re-imbursed. It is 4 hours to this dealership meaning an overnight stay. The total cost of the trip is more than the repair. Is there any option to get this repaired locally? no accident..........yet. The recall is for a defective brake light switch.

- Mckinleyville, CA, USA

problem #31

Jun 252007

Jetta 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact took her vehicle to the dealer for recall # 04V096000 (exterior lighting:brake lights:switch). She was charged a diagnostic fee. After the recall work was performed, the lights illuminated again. The dealer has not been notified. The contact stated that the dealer gave her a list of repairs that need to be performed on the vehicle. The total cost for the repairs will be $2,000. The purchase date and failure mileage were unknown. The current mileage is 36,860.

- Linden, NJ, USA

problem #30

Oct 242006

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 42,000 miles
- the contact stated the brake light switch failed three times. The exterior brake light failed at 23,000, 40,000 & 42,000 miles. When the failure happened the epc light turned on and sometimes it turned on intermittently. The brake light switch has been replaced three times. Updated 1/30/2007 -

- Carmichael, CA, USA

problem #29

Dec 122006

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while depressing the brake pedal the brake lights failed to illuminate. A NHTSA recall, #04V096000 was performed on the vehicle concerning, the brake light switch however, the recall did not remedy the problem. The brake light switch was also replaced on five separate occasions in addition to the recall. A revised recall #06V183000 concerning the brake light switch has been issued.

- Lake Jackson, TX, USA

problem #28

Aug 032006

Jetta 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 84,028 miles
I own a 2001 Volkswagen Jetta with a 2.8............................................................................................................. LV6 engine and 5-speed manual transmission. On 03 Aug 2006 (mileage: 84028) I had the brake light switch replaced at my own expense when the ecl indicator came on. This is the second time in 19 months I have had to replace the same brake light switch. The first time was 10 November 2004 (mileage: 68184) in which the repair was performed under NHTSA recall #04V-09600 (20 February 2004). In both cases the repairs were performed by lithia Volkswagen of thornton, Colorado. The first switch replacement used part #1J0-945-511-D, which was different from the most recent replacement using part #1J0-945-511-F. this implies a new brake light switch was designed by Volkswagen because of flaws with the design used to respond to the NHTSA recall. My complaint is that the second incident of this brake switch failure should have been covered by either the February 2004 recall that repaired the first instance or the new recall 06V183000. Since the brake light is a critical safety feature of the vehicle it should be designed to function longer than 19 months. Its failure places my family and I at risk of injury or even death due to a rear end collision because of Volkswagen inability to properly design a brake light switch. This safety system should be expected to operate the life of the automobile to protect its occupants. Volkswagen should make a serious effort to correct this problem permanently or demonstrate their commitment to customer safety by replacing the switch at manufacturer expense. When I discussed this with Volkswagen customer service (1-800-822-8987, ref. #60279193) they claimed this service was not covered by either recall and since the part had performed past the manufacturer warranty it was my responsibility to repair the switch at my own expense.

- Thornton, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #27

Oct 202006

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 76,000 miles
: the contact stated after driving 35 mph on normal road conditions, the brake lights remained illuminated. There were no warning lights indicating any malfunctions. The manufacturer was contacted who determined the vehicle was not included in recall # 06V183000 nor in # 04V096000 due to the VIN. The contact was very concerned because the brake light defect described in the recalls matched the problem the vehicle presented.

- Canon City, CO, USA

problem #26

Oct 122006

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 149,880 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving various speeds, the engine intermittently stalled without warning and the brake lights were inoperative. The contact inspected the vehicle, and determined the spark ignition coil and brake light switch had malfunctioned and needed to be replaced. There was a NHTSA recall, # 04V096000, regarding the brake light switch. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. The manufacturer was alerted. Updated 10/30/2006 -

- Lakewood, NJ, USA

problem #25

Jul 202006

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My brake light switch went out in my 2001 VW Jetta gls 2.0L. When the brake light switch goes out there is no warning in the dash to let me know it was out. I didn't have any break lights until someone at a stop light yelled out their window to tell me. I took my car to VW dealership and they said I needed a new break light switch. It turns out this is a ongoing problem for VW's of all years and makes. I would like to file a complaint because this seems to be a widespread problem, VW hasn't released information about this and it can be very dangerous. I don't want to see myself or someone else get killed or hurt because of a faulty part. I've already spent the $12 to fix it so this complaint is not about getting my money back. It's about saving lives.

- Fort Thomas, KY, USA

problem #24

Aug 202006

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles
The brake switch light in my VW Jetta has had to be replaced three times. When this switch is not working, the brake lights of my car are inoperable, leading to a great risk of accident. My Jetta is not currently in the recall that has been issued, but I continue having problems with the brake light switch.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #23

Jul 072006

Jetta 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,100 miles
I've experienced several problems with my 2001 Volkswagen Jetta glx. I still wonder why it's not a lemon. Had problems with the brake switch which was a recall. I also had problems with the check engine light. Technicians made diagnostic check and said I needed the heat sensor changed so I did. After a week, check engine light lit up again so I brought it back to the dealership and had another diagnostic check which I paid for again 78 bucks. This time the tech's said I needed the sparks and wires changed because it was shooting blanks. Pre-paid for the parts and when the parts arrived, I brought my car back to get it fixed so I did. Later, I got call from the service reps and said my ignition coil broke so they had to order that again. After everything was said and done. I just wanted to let my financer to just voluntarily repo the piece of trash. One more break down and I'm hiring a lemon attorney. This is too much.

- Bossier , LA, USA

problem #22

Jun 192006

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Normal operation of vehicle until the failure occurred. No incidents as of yet. Both tail lights and window brake lights do not illuminate. Car was serviced on a previous recall.

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #21

May 102006

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 52,675 miles
: the contact stated upon inspection, it was noticed the brake light switch was inoperable. The dealership replaced the brake light switch and determined there was a NHTSA recall, # 06V183000, regarding the exterior lighting brake light switch. The VIN was not included in the recall. The manufacturer was alerted. Updated 6/27/2006 - the switch was replaced by the original owner under recall on 4/26/05 with 44653 miles. The replacement switch failed one year later at 52675 miles. The coolant pump failed and caused the vehicle to overheat. The front woofer in the door failed internally causing the sound to be distorted.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #20

May 262006

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 40,466 miles
: the contact stated the exterior brake lights became inoperative. There is a NHTSA recall #04V096000 concerning the exterior lighting brake light switch, however the recall did not correct the problem. The vehicle is having the same problems again. The dealer has been alerted who suggested alerting the manufacturer. The manufacturer has been alerted. Updated 01/09/07.

- Carmichael, CA, USA

problem #19

Mar 152006

Jetta Diesel

  • miles
Brake light switch failure on 2001 VW Jetta gls tdi sedan, identical to that described in recall campaign 04V096000. Brake lights stayed on all the time, even when car was parked & turned off. Dealer replaced switch at cost of $193.23 parts & labor, dealer & VW of America state that VIN is not included in scope of recall for 04V096000. This is the second time this has occurred on this same car, I believe first was covered as a warranty repair. Part number of replacement switch is vwn 1J0 945 511 D.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #18

Dec 172005

Jetta 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 62,000 miles
The contact stated there is a NHTSA recall campaign id # 04V096000 concerning the exterior lighting: Brake light switch. This vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall, but is not included in the recall due to VIN.

- Waxhaw , NC, USA

problem #17

Nov 132005

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • Manual transmission
  • 110,000 miles
Brake light switch (2001 VW Jetta gls tdi) researched on internet says there is a recall for this part, but is not in effect yet. Driving with brake lights stuck on is really dangerous and speedy recall for this item is essential. I have to remove the fuse in order to turn off the lights, and soon as car is turned on the lights stay on making it impossible for other drivers to know when I am stepping on the brakes. Could seriously cause many accidents in the future for all vehicle owners.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #16

Sep 172005

Jetta

  • miles
2nd occurrence of brake switch failure - 2001 Jetta. Initial failure occurred on the same day recall letter was received. Switch cost was reimbursed by VW at no charge. 2nd failure occurred on 9/17/05. First switch manufactured by eaton. Second switch manufactured by delphi.

- Dexter, MI, USA

problem #15

Jun 152005

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Consumer states that on June 15, 2003 brake light switch I malfunctioned. This caused the brake lights to stay on after brakes have been applied. Also caused two T bulbs in the brake light to burn out. There was recall 04V096000 on 2001 Volkswagen, but consumer's vehicle was not part of the recall due to VIN.

- Bethel Park, PA, USA

problem #14

Nov 012001

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Upon starting the vehicle and putting foot on the brake to move into another gear the brake light illuminated. The brake appeared to lock the gear shift, and you could not get it to go into another gear. The shift will not come out of park. Consumer took the vehicle to dealer to be repaired.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #13

Nov 302004

Jetta 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
NHTSA campaign 04V096000; Volkswagen issued a brake light switch recall. This vehicle was not included in the recall, but the brake lights were not operating. The VIN was outside the remedy scope.

- Portland, OR, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?