Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,456 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 7 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #59

Jun 042014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 121,118 miles


While driving the car using the bluetooth hands free connection provided by the stereo heard a popping sound and then the stereo went blank and I lost the call connection. The (required by Oregon law) hands free connection no longer works. There are many other people on the internet reporting this same problem with the 2010 VW radios. Please see one example at

- Gaston, OR, USA

problem #58

Jun 212014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 94,000 miles
I got in to my car after work on Saturday I turned on the car and no radio. I checked the fuses and they were fine. Yes, there wasn't one in the plug (18) but I put one in there to see if that would work for me and it did not. Then my windshield wipers were not working either. I turned the car off and back on and the wipers started working. It's rainy season here. So I hope they continue to work.. this morning I called the dealer and they said that my car was not covered under the extended warranty for the radio. Many other VW customers are having the same problem.

- Stuart , FL, USA

problem #57

Jun 142014


  • 69,000 miles
While picking up a friend with car running. Switched from cd to radio. Radio unit went completely inop. No backlight to buttons no clock no nothing completely dark. Along with audible speaker popping noise. Even when car shut off and key pulled from ignition and doors locked still makes audible popping noise. Had to disconnect battery to get noise to stop. Looked around online and seen that this is a chronic problem with this head unit. I have yet to check for C/B's or fuses located inside the cabin. Please help. Contact info 3012541365. VW 2010 Jetta wolfburg manual.

- Upper Marlboro, MD, USA

problem #56

Feb 172014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 50,500 miles


Parked car radio was working, got back in and the entire radio and everything connected to it stopped working.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #55

May 312014


  • 49,712 miles
I dropped my 2010 Volkswagen Jetta tdi sports wagon to my dealer to have a front end alignment on May 30, 2014. My car went in with a perfectly good working radio, I went to pick up my car on May 31, 2014, the radio was display and controls were not working, I did not leave the dealer's lot. I promptly went back inside to tell them that the radio was not working and that I found it to be odd that the radio was not working when it came in with a perfectly good working radio. They kept the car and said they will do a diagnostic test on it. When they called me back they said that they were able to get the radio to work for a short time then it went dead again. The service person proceeded to tell me that I needed a new radio for $1100. This seems absolutely absurd that a radio would fail after 3 yrs. I am wondering if there has been any other complaints regarding radios in 2010 Volkswagen? I went on line and there seems to be complaints, but who knows if they are valid or not. I am picking my car up today from the dealer without the working radio since I will need my car for transportation. I would appreciate any help or advice that you can give me.

- Trenton, NJ, USA

problem #54

May 132014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 114,780 miles
Factory radio stopped working suddenly. No indication of a problem previously. Repair required replacement of head unit at an expense of $600 plus labor (factory refurbished). Have not experienced a problem like this with previously owned vehicles, several of which are 15+ years in age. Tried to contact Volkswagen usa, but two emails have gone unanswered. A quick internet search indicates this is not an isolated incident, as several others have experienced the same problem. As the radio is tied to the bluetooth in the car, hands free phone operation is compromised without factory radio working. Hands free phone use is required in neighboring state of md through which my travels take me often.

- York Springs, PA, USA

problem #53

May 262014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 70,000 miles


While driving to office (6 miles) my radio "popped" and stopped working. I had it inspected at the dealership and was told that all fuses were good and that radio died! they attempted to sell me a replacement radio for $700! I started researching this issue and discovered that it was trending among like Jettas. After spending a considerable amount of time with "customer service" at VW, they told me that the radio was out of warranty. They refused to tell me if this problem was happening to other owners. After talking to two dealers in dallas, tx, I discovered that a faulty radio was the current trend in the 2010 VW Jettas. Their solution was to sell me a refurbished radio to fix the problem, and not address the true cause of the complaints!

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #52

May 092014


  • 92,000 miles
Heard a small pop sound while listening to the radio and the system went dead. Called vwoa and they would not open a claim. This is the second radio as the original failed under warranty and was replaced by the dealer in 2012. I was told the replacement radio, even though it was replaced with an oe radio, only carried a 12 month warranty while the original carried the full 36,000 three year warranty.

- Sylvania, OH, USA

problem #51

Feb 052014


  • 132,000 miles
Fuse box in engine compartment, alarm light about right headlight, right taillight, not working. Checked internet many complaints on this issue, check fuse in fuse box engine compartment. 30amp fuse burn marks, slight melting of box where fuse inserts. Spring is here. Ac not working, fans not to speed, compressor not engaging properly. All else checks out. Again fuse strap has melted and/or not in original condition. New fuse box + labor >500 for what I consider a manufacture defect/design failure. Driving my dependable 2009 F150. At least I'm cool going home from work. We'll worth the extra $15 in fuel. Manufacture refused to replace or assist in $ for replacement. Also own a tigua 2012. Is now on sale before issue occurs to it, will incur loss on loan. Better than being stuck with bad product.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #50

May 202014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 68,000 miles
I was driving down the road when I accelerated hard and I predndio light of "glow plug" on the panel, the car lost power and was limited to spend two thousand RPM's coming home that was close. I did nothing that night, I followed turning on the light in the panel. The next day I turn it normal, I turned on the light... then it caught me way to work again and I return to my home, I turned on and off and it caught and never turn off. Take it to the VW service center and was told that the pump has fault injection and particulate throughout the fuel system. Tell me that the repair will cost more than 4000 dollars... and the worst is that no warranty.

- Arecibo, PR, USA

problem #49

Apr 272014

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 68,500 miles


While listening to the radio with the volume less than 50% the speakers popped and the radio shut off. I took it to two dealerships the second one said something in the radio "burned out." It appears that this issue is common to this model of VW radio so much so that VW has a "radio exchange program" where they sell you a refurbished model for half the price of a new one somewhere between $600-$1000 according to the VW dealership.

- Mount Gilead, NC, USA

problem #48

Feb 012014


  • 65,000 miles
Well over a 100 people have complained about the same exact issue with their 2010 VW touch screen radio dying out of no where. The website with all known complaints is at: VW refuses to be accountable for their merchandise. Wear and tear on engine parts, completely understandable. A $1000 crashing out on multiple 2010 vws is a trend and should be handled accordingly by a responsible organization. However, this is not the case. VW considers a radio a luxury item and will not repair the radio.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #47

Mar 102014


  • 61,000 miles
Since 2010 I have owned a Volkswagen Jetta tdi and have been satisfied with its performance despite a few minor issues; however, I have suddenly experienced serious and costly issues with my touch screen radio that has forced me to take action. The device suddenly and with no waring failed to operate in any capacity. I have consulted with the VW dealership where I have my vehicle maintenance and it was suggested that I replace the radio with the same model I currently have installed at a cost to me of $795. After extensive research of many hours as well as speaking with other Volkswagen enthusiast I have come to the frightening conclusion that this is not an isolated incident of product malfunction. Considering VW response to what appears to be a well known and documented product defect, my next steps are to make the general public aware of Volkswagen gross negligence and poor consumer relations in this matter. I look forward to a resolution to this problem please contact me at my email address or by phone at [xxx] sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #46

Jan 142014

Jetta 5-cyl

  • miles
The radio just shut off, checked all fuses, everything ok. Took to mechanic and said radio needs to be replaced. Looked on the internet and there have been multiple complaints about the electrical radio system for the radio display touch screen radio. Three year old car should not have radio failure.

- Lebanon , NJ, USA

problem #45

Oct 012012

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
First incident: Occurred in fall 2012, exact date unknown. Slowing to turn right, vehicle stalled without warning. Power steering was not responding. It was taken to dealership the next day. Vehicle was evaluated, nothing was found. We were told that they could see some sort of power interruption, but could find nothing wrong with any of the systems involved. Second incident: Occurred about 1 months after first incident. While slowing to a stop, intending to make a left turn out of parking lot, again vehicle stalled without warning. Did not take car to dealership, as it had just recently been evaluated. Gas was < 1/8 tank filled, and parking lot exit was on a slight decline, suspected maybe it was related to low fuel, and we tried to keep the car above 1/4 tank full at all times thereafter. Third incident: Occurred 4/29/14. Slowing to pull into a parking space, again engine stalled without warning. I noted that the battery indicator light on the dashboard lit up slightly before or as car was stalling. Power steering failed as well when car stalled. Radio / heater / other electronics seemed unaffected after a brief flicker. Fourth incident: Occurred about 20 minutes later on 4/29/14. Slowing for a stop light, vehicle stalled unexpectedly. Car is due for inspection, appointment in 2 days. Dealership asked to investigate stalling as well.

- Drexel Hill, PA, USA

problem #44

Feb 182014


  • 40,000 miles
Car would not move forward or backward. Had to turn off ignition, then car was fine. April 25th put car in drive to enter street from my driveway and car shot backwards. Tried three times and the same thing occurred. Husband turned off ignition and restarted car. This took care of the problem. We have an appointment with the dealership on Monday, April 28th case #[xxx]. frankly, I don't think I will ever again be comfortable driving this car. I was very lucky this happened in my driveway and no one was behind me. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Nevada City, CA, USA

problem #43

Aug 072013


  • 53,500 miles
I bought my 2010 Jetta used in June 2013. A month after I purchased it, I noticed the A/C was not working. I returned it to the dealer and they confirmed that the A/C compressor wasn't working. They installed a new one and I didn't have a problem until 8/7/13. I went out to start my car and noticed I had a light on my dashboard. I got out of the car and noticed my right front passenger side headlight out. I walked around and noticed the drivers side rear tail light was also out. I got home and when I shut the car off and turned it back on, the light on the dash was out, and all my exterior lights were working. It was around this time I noticed a burning smell whenever I exited the car, but I couldn't' pinpoint where it was coming from. I didn't have another issue until 10/25/14 when I was visiting friends 30 miles away. I went to leave, and when I started my car I once again had the light on the dash, so I got out and noticed the same lights were once again out. I had to drive on the highway like this, but thankfully while I was driving they all came back on. The car was fine until 12/14/13 when I went out to start my car in the morning and once again the same lights were out. The last time I had an issue with this was 1/7/14, in the middle of a blizzard. I got out of work and started my car to clear snow off it, and everything was fine. It wasn't until I turned the headlights on that I noticed the light on the dash was on indicating I had a light out somewhere. I got out and noticed that in addition to the same headlight and tail light being out, the license plate lights were also out. By the time I could get in the car they were all working again. I took it to the dealership and they confirmed the 30 amp fuse had overheated and caused the fusebox to melt (hence the burning smell). $500 later my car is hopefully fixed. Thankfully the car didn't burn to the ground.

- Sagamore Beach, MA, USA

problem #42

Apr 182011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 18,458 miles
We have owned this 2010 Jetta sportwagen tdi since brand new. Today 1/28/14 is the fourth time we have had to replace the lock mechanism on one of the doors. Part numbers 3B4-839-016-ap (left rear), 3B1-837-016-cg (right front) and 3B4-839-015-ap (right rear) have all been replaced at least once. Right rear latch has been replaced twice - only once under warranty. In looking on NHTSA web site there are 8 other reports of problems with latches in the 2010 Jetta. This is a serious safety concern because most of the reports (including mine) were for doors that would not unlock and doors that would not open no matter what the reporting party tried. Can you imagine if these latches failed in an accident and children sitting in the rear seats were trapped?

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #41

Oct 042013

Jetta 5-cyl

  • 47,700 miles
When making a left hand turn car stalls. Dash panel lights go out and battery warning light flashes and car shuts off. Car has to be completely stopped, ignition turned to the off position and put into park, before it can restart. Very dangerous when driving in high traffic areas. You don't have time to pull over. The car just dies!

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #40

Sep 012010


  • 100 miles
Remote control door locks. Since I purchased my 2010 VW Jetta tdi as a new vehicle, the remote control key has randomly not functioned properly to unlock the doors or trunk. The problem is not due to rfi. It can always be immediately corrected by using the manual key to unlock the vehicle, which seems to reset the locking system and allows the remote key to unlock the doors or trunk remotely. I have brought this to the attention of the dealer at every visit. The dealer has looked into it, been unable to replicate the problem, has reprogrammed the locks. It continues to be a random problem that I myself can't predict or replicate on demand, but want others to know about this annoyance.

- Aptos, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?