Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,456 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 1 of 9)

problem #179

Aug 132016


  • 58,000 miles


Car won't start, jumped, drove and failed to start next day, own test and has current draw when off, took to dealer, said radio is causing problem, won't (go to sleep mode when turned off), told $800 to replace the radio, checked on line and I see so many, thousands I hear, problems with radios on this style car, if Volkswagen won't stand behind a known issue and go back on their supplier for a resolution, I will not stand behind Volkswagen and purchase another one when the time comes for a replacement vehicle, if this was a safety issue I'm sure some legal action would be taken, but it's only a radio, costing a lot of people, I'm guessing millions of dollars

- East Peoria, IL, USA

problem #178

Aug 102016


  • 129,000 miles
Radio is dead. See all the many complaints from other owners here: Https:// safety concern with no bluetooth function since the radio is dead. Battery has been replaced twice. An issue many others have posted about. VW chat says there is no campaign for either of these issues and just gave me a case number. The seat showed early deteriation while under warranty and was pointed out to the dealer, stokes VW several times. But they never wrote it up on the service order. Another problem 2010 Jetta owners have posted about.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #177

Jul 292016


  • 73,433 miles
The car radio does not work. No display. No power. First was an intermittent problem when starting up the car, no display or radio power. Now no radio or display anytime.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #176

Jun 222016


  • 104,300 miles


Started the car and the stereo just stayed black and will no longer turn on. Fuses are in working condition. The battery is now slowly dying because the radio is still drawing power. Have seen multiple complaints regarding this issue and Volkswagen has done nothing.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #175

May 232016


  • 70,400 miles
I drove to work listening to the radio. Upon returning to my car after work to make my commute home the radio would not turn on. I have reviewed various online forums and discovered this is a common problem with the revision of this radio for the 2010 model year. This model has integrated hands free bluetooth which also does not work and is a safety issue for hands free calling required in my state. Also, this will cause a drain on the battery which could result in not being able to start the vehicle after sitting too long.

- Hockessin, DE, USA

problem #174

Apr 292016


  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. The contact stated that the electrical system was defective and caused electrical failures in several areas. The front passenger side low and high beam headlights and the turn signals failed. In addition, the driver side brake, tail light, and day time running lights failed. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 88,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #173

May 182016


  • 75,000 miles


Car was taken into dealership in April 2015 for inspection. Needed new struts and driver door panel, door needed fixed due to no lights on locks and door itself would not lock. Paid $1400 for everything when picking up the car, got in car and radio did not work when picking up. Said it was a fuse, never fixed the problem. September 2015 windshield wipers quit working. $45 for that repair. 2-3 weeks later battery died. Replaced the battery for $111. 3-4 weeks later battery was dead again, had to tow it to shop. Replaced battery again $200+ parts and labor. 3-4 weeks later after replacing the battery twice, same thing happens again. Car is dead, towed to shop again. Can't figure out the problem, towed to dealership. Taken to a dealership for one problem of the car being dead now there is a shifter problem and the ABS unit needs replaced. The ABS lights were not on while the car was at the last shop before this dealership. The car hasn't been driven for approximately 5-6 months if not longer due to these issues. How does my ABS unit need replaced if it hasn't been driven?

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #172

Aug 012014


  • 78,000 miles
About Aug 2013 (mileage ~ 63,000): Intermittent issue that driver's door lock would not lock with key fob. Door would be unlocked and door could be physically opened using the door handle and then car alarm would go off. About August 2014 (mileage ~ 78,000): Driver's door stopped locking or unlocking at all with key fob. When pressing lock button on key fob, driver's door remains unlocked and door can be physically opened using door handle without car alarm going off. Need to manually lock and unlock driver's door by putting key in the lock and turning clockwise. Once locked, driver's door will then not unlock with key fob and needs to be manually unlocked by putting key in the lock and turning counter-clockwise. [note that this problem still exists and has not been fixed as of May 2016.] one year later, about August 2015 (mileage ~ 94,000): Now there is also an intermittent problem wth the rear passenger side door lock - sometimes when unlocked with the key fob, the door will not unlock and the door will not open using the outside door handle. The door would also not open when tried with the key in the lock or when using the inside door handle or when the lock/unlock button inside the car is pressed. This rear passenger door problem has happened at least 3 times and this door is used infrequently, so it could be happening more often. These door lock issues are a potential safety issue if a person gets locked in and cannot get out of the door in an emergency.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #171

Oct 022015


  • 38,000 miles
Dead radio and battery has parasitic drain my radio died. The screen went black while driving and it has not recovered. Since then I have had battery drainage problems. One of the fuses, #42 I believe, has blown and I have tried to replace it, but it blows again as soon as the car is turned on. There are a number of online forums documenting this and similar radio problems with this vehicle. Here is one: here is another:

- Mill Valley, CA, USA

problem #170

Feb 082016


  • 70,000 miles
First noticed the rear passenger backup light not working. 1 stop and a few minutes later the passenger headlight went out. After returning home 15 minutes later the entire passenger side except the taillight was out. After searching on the internet fuse F16 has a known issue of melting both the fuse and the fuse box. Sure enough after removing and inspecting, the passenger side of the fuse has begun to melt and the female fuse terminals and plastic fuse box around the connection have all started to melt. Turning the fuse around has gotten the lights working again for tonight, but will likely need to replace the entire fuse box as a permanent fix.

- O'fallon, MO, USA

problem #169

Feb 042015


  • 95,000 miles


None of the door locks work, they don't lock. Stereo system does not work, completely black. No blue tooth at all. Seat belt front passenger side dings though the belt is in place and locked.

- Auburn, CA, USA

problem #168

Nov 272015


  • 75,000 miles
My radio in this car suddenly went black. All door locks work when they want too. I have two small children and the child safety locks do not work. Bluetooth is no longer working since it is tied into the radio. In my city of greenville, SC is it illegal to talk on phone when driving. These are major safety concerns since it relates to my wife and two small children. This is obviously a big problem with this year Jetta from all the complaints online. I will never again buy a Volkswagen if they as a company do not see the urgency on this issue. What's it gonna take someone losing their life because of a electrical problem they are clearly aware of?

- Taylors, SC, USA

problem #167

Jan 192016


  • 0 miles
My car radio suddenly just stopped. It was playing one minute and the next it was off and would not play any more. I thought it was a fuse issue. It was not, last winter (Dec. 2014) I had to have the battery replaced. During the whole process of being jumped etc, the car radio would work intermittently. So I thought once I had the new battery it would work-it didnt. Went to the dealer to have it checked out (officially just for the radio over the summer) dealer said I would need a new radio. So I have been without for over a year. Today it was bitter cold in mi and my battery needed a jump again, during this process, the radio again came on for a few minutes. Once the car was fully charged and rolling, the radio completely died again. This car is only 5 years old, under 90,000 miles-it should not have a radio issue. As a result the hands free phone system doesn't work either.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #166

Sep 012015


  • 53,000 miles
The tail lights and brake lights were not working. Discovered during annual state required inspection in September 2015. I was driving the vehicle regularly on rural, city and highway roads without tail and brake lights and was unaware. A repair to the electrical wiring was required. Addtionally, the trunk latch was only working intermittently prior to this repair. Since the wiring repair was made, I have had no issues with the trunk release not working. The rear passenger door on the drivers side doesn't lock and unlock when you depress the keyfob or the button in the car to lock all the doors. This is a very infrequently used door and it is the door used the least in the vehicle. Dealer states it is a bad door latch. I have not repaired it. It doesn't always open from the outside, sometimes I have to reach in and open it from the inside to get the door open. On 01.12.2016 the car radio stopped working. The fuses are good and intact. The bluetooth no longer works since the radio doesn't work. It is completely out of service, nothing works on the radio. I relied heavily on the bluetooth for hands free phone calls since the vehicle is manual transmission. Vehicle was stationary when discovered. Vehicle has approximately 55,000 miles on it.

- Annville, PA, USA

problem #165

Nov 012015


  • 110,000 miles
Door locks failed and had to be replaced. Battery drain when not used for two weeks, requiring jump start (replaced battery one year ago). Car would not start (battery wouldn't even turn over, yes the same new battery) towed to dealer who said they replaced some fuses. Recently, radio will not power on. Dealer states the radio failed, fuses fine. I have seen 100S of reports of failed radios and door locks in the 2010 Jetta. There must be a faulty electrical system in this vehicle. Cars that are 5 years old (I have seen reports of this happening when the car is only 3 years old) are not supposed to have these problems. All of these problems have occurred in the past year, mileage between 100-110K.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #164

Dec 092015


  • 93,000 miles
Multiple lights suddenly quit working. Found the F16 fuse melted as well as fuse box where it sits. This is second time to replace fuse in 4 months, first time melted this bad.

- Meridian, MS, USA

problem #163

Nov 302015


  • 52,000 miles
Radio on 2010 VW Jetta tdi died durring the summer. Now, in November, the car will not start unless jumped with another car or battery charger. Fuses in car are intact.

- Plainville, CT, USA

problem #162

Oct 312015


  • miles
Fort two years I have complained to VW dealer that door locks were not working. They never put it on a repair/service form. When I brought the car in, they said the door locks work fine, one just has to pull twice, to exit. But they could not say how to lock all the doors when parking on the street. My door locks have not worked properly since the vehicle was new. I took the bus to the dealer to complain that my keys were locked in the car. They said that was "impossible" and it took me a week and $500 to get my car towed, new keys and resets. I am livid. Doors won't all lock most of the time. Or unlock, most of the time. I believe that not being able to reliably exit a car or lock it when leaving it is a safety issue. This is my second complaint to you about this car, the first time because of software that stalled the car in intersections which had to be federally ordered recall. I think the dealer refused to look into the door locking problems during warranty in hopes that I would return again and again to have locks repaired until I was out of warranty. This stinks. And it is clearly unsafe.

- Isla Vista, CA, USA

problem #161

Jun 102015


  • miles
Stereo just went completely dead for no reason. Bluetooth is out of commission as well. The exact same issue as everyone else here. I checked my fuses and they are all fine. Went to my local Volkswagen dealer and got the same song and dance as everyone else here. My service tech at first tried to deny that this is an inherent problem with these vehicles, but after me pressing him on the issue and asked if he had read all of the same complaints on the internet, he fessed up. Very frustrating as my car only has 80,000 miles when both the stereo and the A/C quit working. He gave me a load of bull on that one as well. From now on I will only drive a Honda or Toyota.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #160

Sep 232015


  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. While driving at approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled and an unknown warning indicator illuminated. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was driven to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the vehicle needed a software update. The vehicle was repaired; however, the part that the technician repaired caused other malfunctions to the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 121,000.

- Glenwood, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?