Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,759 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #29

Jul 212011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 44,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On July 21 at approx 1730hrs while driving less than 15mph the engine shut off and had to pull over with no engine. I pulled over and the engine would not start in neutral but had to start with the engine in park. The vehicle is a 2010 VW Jetta diesel. Vehicle was checked by the VW dealer on 7/23 and no codes could be found and they indicated nothing was wrong. Called you complaint office 8/8 and ODI # 10417948.

- Port Angeles, WA, USA

problem #28

Jul 212011

Jetta

  • 44,100 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta diesel. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled without any warning. After waiting a few moments, the vehicle was restarted. The vehicle was inspected by an authorized dealer and they stated that they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified and the contact was awaiting a response. The failure mileage was approximately 44,100.

- Port Angeles, WA, USA

problem #27

Jul 172011

Jetta

  • 8,891 miles
As I was driving on the highway and I was about to shift to a lower gear to slow down, the engine stalled and died. Luckily I was able to come to a complete stop, and restarted the engine again. I drive a diesel manual transmission engine.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #26

Apr 202010

Jetta

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My VW Jetta tdi stalled while coming to a stop sign after the clutch was depressed. It did this occasionally during the first year of ownership. After a year of ownership and a dozen or so incidents, the car started to stall multiple times during a one half-hour commute. Twice recently, once on my way to work and once on my way back, the car stalled two and three times respectively. It even stalled on the highway going 65 mph when the clutch was depressed. Usually, it stalls when coming to a red light or stop sign when the clutch is depressed in order to take the car out of gear. At 12000 miles, the engine light came on and off a few times and then remained on. The diesel particulate filter and egr valve were replaced which is highly unusual for a car with such low mileage. Also, after my 20000 mile service the engine light went on again and the dealer replaced the #4 exhaust gas temperature sensor. Before the 20K service I had called the dealer the day I stalled 3 times and reported my engine light went on. I went to the dealer a few days later, Thursday, for the service and the light had gone out by then. The dealer said there was a software update for the ECM to be done in addition to the regular service. I left the dealer after the 20K service only to have my engine light go on again and the car stall again. So I went back to the dealer and that is when they changed the #4 exhaust gas temperature sensor. It did not sound to me like a proper fix for this problem as I believe it could be either an electronic glitch with the ECM or other electrical components or some fuel system problem whereby fuel flow is interrupted when going from load to no load scenarios, I.e. clutch engaged. Anyhow, I stalled again two miles from the dealer from which I had driven. The dealer says they can't duplicate it or find any codes related to it. They will call VW again.

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #25

Jun 292011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 18,325 miles
My 2010 VW Jetta tdi has had 5 episodes of stalling (actually it does not stall in the normal sense of the word, the engine just stops running). In all 5 incidents the car needed to be placed in park, the ignition needed to be turned off and then the car could be restarted and ran normally. In 4 of the incidents it was either raining or had just recently rained. The 5th incident had high humidity. The O2 sensor has been updated twice. The first time as a response to the problem, the second time as part of normal maintenance.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #24

May 122011

Jetta

  • 17,500 miles
I had come to a full stop and was idling at a red light in a busy intersection when the engine stopped suddenly. No misfiring or rough moments before stopping, just a sudden cut off. I put the engine in park and tried restarting the engine. No success. I put the engine in neutral and got a push to the side of the road. Tried starting the engine several times, in park, with no success. VW called a tow truck. Before accepting a tow I turned the ignition fully off and tried restarting the engine. This time it started. I cancelled the tow. Car is running normally again. This sudden stopping of my engine happened one other time when the car had about 4000 miles on it. I was pulling out of a parking place and the engine shut off as I was pulling forward after just having put it in drive. I restarted the car and a few seconds later the engine started misfiring, but only for a second. Then it ran fine. No further mishaps until May 17, 2011 at 17,500 miles. I notified VW of the mishap when I took it in for it's first check-up. VW said they didn't find anything wrong and didn't know why it happened. I currently have a call in to VW again, but have not yet heard back from them.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #23

May 022011

Jetta

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my 2010 Jetta tdi new at the end of September 2009. It is a manual transmission. I'm a pretty conservative driver and attempt to maximize my mpg. Each day after the vehicle has been setting overnight and is cold, I start up and drive to the store, a 4 mile drive, the engine will pause usually within that 4 mile drive. Sometimes it is a short jerk and sometimes it is a greater jerk. Other times it will happen on the return trip home. But it'll happen only once until it sets and cools off. I have had it in the shop twice with no help. My research finds some problems with the high pressure fuel pump which may be the issue, but I haven't been able to talk to VW America to see if they will confirm or deny this. This problem has happened since I've had the vehicle. It has 6,500 miles on it and I'm hoping to get it fixed before the warranty expires. Not sure what will happen when the mileage gets higher.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #22

May 102011

Jetta

  • 10 miles
Jetta tdi stalling.

- Redwood City, CA, USA

problem #21

Mar 042010

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
2010 volkswagon Jetta sportwagon tdi automatc transmission.the vehicle loses total power if the driver "power brakes" the vehicle. Ie: if you are sitting at stop sign during heavy traffic, left foot on the brake, and you attempt to accelerate quiclky, the car will move forward slightly as if it stalled, your first response is to brake quickly, thinking the car stalled, when you realize this is not the case, then accelerate, this can create the same effect, because of a panic situation and the foot still on the brake this has happened to me several times, almost causing a serious T style collision. I asked the dealer and he confirmed that if the driver brakes and acclerates at the same time this will occur. To demonstrate this further, I have attempted to brake while traveling at various speeds and the car seems to "brake and lose enormous mount of power". I feel as though a saftey warning should be given directly to the new owner of this type of vehicle, such as a caution sticker that any driver, especially that may have borrowed the vehicle, will be aware of the grave consequenses of power braking a VW. Diesel. Im glade that this happened to me rather than to my wife or daughter the outcome may not have been the same.

- Marmora, NJ, USA

problem #20

Mar 102011

Jetta

  • 3,000 miles
This vehicle has experienced continual problems with engine shuddering and stalling. Mostly, while in 2nd, 3rd or 4th gear, early on into a trip the engine will suddenly decelerate and in some case stall out completely. It is as if there is a sudden loss in fuel getting to the engine. This started soon after purchasing the car. It has been into the dealership numerous (6 or 7) times for this warranty issue, including extended stay periods of seven and ten days. First they faulted my fuel, then they replaced the fuel pump, then they have done other work and replaced components, but claim they can not make the car fail as I have reported. They claim to have alerted VW and had a VW technical advisers look at this car. They refuse to do any additional warranty work on the car for this issue since they can not diagnose it. I have kept a log of these failures since my last servicing. Between 10/22/2010 to 3/12/2011 this vehicle has had 19 of these failure events. They usually occur when the outside air temperature is above 32 degrees Fahrenheit. The vehicle is still under warranty (28,500 miles on the odometer). I am finding other owners experiencing similar problems. Please help.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #19

Aug 202010

Jetta

  • 366 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have encountered complete loss of throttle response when pulling out into traffic on 8 to 10 occasions over the 6 months that I have owned the car. On one occasion the motor completely died but restarted on first attempt after waiting five minutes.

- Earlsboro, OK, USA

problem #18

Aug 202010

Jetta

  • 366 miles
I have encountered complete loss of throttle response when pulling out into traffic on 8 to 10 occasions over the 6 months that I have owned the car. On one occasion the motor completely died but restarted on first attempt after waiting five minutes.

- Earlsboro, OK, USA

problem #17

Aug 202010

Jetta

  • 366 miles
I have encountered complete loss of throttle response when pulling out into traffic on 8 to 10 occasions over the 6 months that I have owned the car. On one occasion the motor completely died but restarted on first attempt after waiting five minutes.

- Earlsboro, OK, USA

problem #16

Dec 222010

Jetta

  • 10,500 miles
I purchased a 6-speed manual transmission Jetta-tdi at the end of December of 2009. I have been driving manual transmission cars since 1975, and I was upset that my car was stalling either just starting out in first or in the lower RPM range of the lower gears when turning and moving through intersections or trying to go uphill when the rpms were in the lower range. Keeping the rpms up a bit seems to have helped, as I am not having it stall as much as before. I also noticed what seemed like a slight hesitation or jerking when cruising. It would be just for a split second and then be gone my accident occurred when I was parallel parking on a hill. I went to back up a bit to straighten out my car and it stalled, rolling forward into the car parked in front of me. Fortunately, no one was injured. Damage was minor, but was submitted to my insurance company. At this point I was just blaming myself for not being able to adjust to the difference of clutching with a diesel engine because I couldn't figure out how to explain it. Then a heard 2 radio reports about the complaints being filed. I called VW of America who listened to my story. They told me that in order to be compensated for my accident, that I would have needed to have had the car towed immediately to a dealership and had it diagnosed. She suggested that I take it to be diagnosed. I took it to the dealer who kept it for two days and could not find anything wrong. A week later, I was coming to a stop for a red light and the rpms began to fluctuate like it was going to stall and then it would come back to normal rpms. When I started to drive it was a little rough, then smoothed out. I called VW of America who recommended that I take it back to the dealer. I am waiting for them to return my call. I have also 3 intermittent problems with my am radio cutting out--are the problems connected?

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #15

Jul 152010

Jetta

  • 5,000 miles
Multiple incidents that appear to be the same problem/defect. 1. the car sometimes will not start for several minutes, and once it does finally start, has a very rough idle and stalls. After several tries, it finally starts and runs normally. This has happened 7-8 times from July 2010 until the present. 2. now, over the past two months, the car tries to stall out while driving also, and has resulted in my wife having to pull off the road and restart the car. This has only happened twice so far, but the starting and rough idle problem continues to occur approximately once every couple of weeks. On another note, I want to ensure that if any recalls occur as a result of everybody's complaints, that U.S. military stationed overseas are not left out. Many of us purchase these U.S. spec cars from local dealer agencies who (re)import the cars back to europe for this purpose. Oftentimes recalls are not enforceable overseas, however, this is a Volkswagen and there are plenty of authorized VW dealers in germany, and in europe as a whole.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #14

Jul 102010

Jetta

  • 540 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta. While driving approximately 35 mph in third gear the contact stated the vehicle jerked and the acceleration hesitated. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer approximately six times for the same failure. The technicians performed two computer updates. The failure continued and could not be diagnosed. The manufacturer was contacted and stated it was a characteristic of the vehicle and could not provide further assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 540.

- Fremont, IN, USA

problem #13

Dec 102010

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Intercooler piping accumulates an oil/water sludge mixture during cold weather driving. While parked after driving the sludge collects at the lowest point in the piping. If temperatures are below freezing, the sludge forms a plug which prevents the car from starting. If it is above freezing, the sludge is ingested into the engine where it causes hard starts and rough running. This has occurred five times in the last two months, dealer has been unable to determine cause or effect a repair other than periodically removing hoses to clean out accumulated sludge.

- Haw River, NC, USA

problem #12

Jan 282011

Jetta 4-cyl

  • 3,021 miles
2010 Jetta tdi sportwagon stalling when idling at stop light no check engine light appears. Has happened twice in 3000 miles.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #11

Jan 192011

Jetta

  • miles
I purchased my 2010 Jetta in may of 2010. Less than one year later I have experienced power loss on four separate occasions. Each time this occurred I was coming to a stop after driving between 20-30 miles. It should be noted that there was no "check engine" light illuminated. Two days later I took it to the dealership who attempted to duplicate the problem which as I had imagined they could not.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #10

Nov 282010

Jetta

  • 35,009 miles
Car idling in park. Engaged dsg transmission, car immediately stalls.. attempted to restart, run/stall, run/stall, run/stall. Now runs rough... mileage dropped 20%. car at dealer - dealer has reported 5 other tdi's in same condition.

- Camano Island, WA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?