Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,759 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Jetta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #49

Oct 162014


  • 51,528 miles


Both exhaust pressure sensors malfunctioned causing vehicle indicator lamp to illuminate and failed emissions test. Quoted $595 for repair work, after repairs vehicle still will not pass emissions test.

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #48

Aug 192014

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 37,000 miles
Had driven just a few miles and was coming up to a stop at a major intersection in heavy traffic. Glow plug light lit for a second and engine immediately stopped. Engine would crank, but would not start. Have been told the problem is the high pressure fuel pump. I drive long distance in this car at all times of day. The car died immediately, leaving me in the middle of the street. Very dangerous.

- Wheeling, IL, USA

problem #47

Jul 062013


  • 72,262 miles
7/6/13 ac not working at all. All major components of the ac-compressor and drier- were replaced 7/18/2013 by VW. Ac worked fine for rest of 2013 season. May 2014 delayed/intermittent cooling in las vegas, nv. 6/18/14 took to VW in henderson, nv and told that there was a leak in the system. Warranty is 12 months/12K- 16+K miles put on car by the time I took it to VW in 6/14-therefore no warranty. VW recharged system and cool/cold air blowing when temperature outside is under 105 degrees. When outside temp is 105+degrees- ac cuts in and out-2 min on/10 off/repeat. Took it to VW service for ac diagnostic on thurs 8/7/14 at 10am and got the car back 8/8/14 at 4pm. VW saying that the whole ac unit needs to be replaced-ac compressor, drier, condenser, receiver, accumulator. VW of America was contacted and regional manager will not assist with cost of repair-$2300. Reason: The car has 93K miles on it. An ac system should last longer than 3 1/2 years (car bought 12/09) and then when major components replaced-ac compressor- they should last longer that 10 months regardless of how many miles was put on the vehicle. The ac in the VW cars have a known problem with the compressor, refrigerant control valve, and fans. See the VW forums for the number of complaints on the ac system. VW needs to be investigated.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #46

May 122014


  • 85,000 miles


I had what appears to be a fuel system failure. I was turning left after stopping at a red light. I was traveling at @20 mph. 100 yards down the block, the engine lost power, the check engine light came on, as did the diesel coil icon. The car was dead instantly. There was no warning, no gradual failure, no time to get out of the street. Please note, I had my vehicle regularly serviced at the VW dealership, including installing the fuel intake coupling that was the subject of a recall about a year ago. The service manager said there was some bad diesel going around in the county where I live, but when pressed admitted the bad fuel had not been traced to any particular brand, but had appeared randomly. He did say that my entire fuel system would be replaced on VW's dime, even though I am long out of warranty, and that it could take 2 days to a week to perform the service. There is nothing on VW's website about this problem, nor are there reports of bad diesel fuel in the county. The blogosphere has reports of problems in the design of the high pressure fuel pump that causes it to break down and shed bits of metal throughout the fuel system. I am very lucky that this happened at 20 mph on a town street in the middle of the morning and not at 65 mph on a highway with lots of traffic. I am glad VW is covering the cost of repairs. But I have personally recommended this otherwise terrific car to many people, some of whom have chosen to buy it. I am now worried that someone might get dead because of this, especially since VW is evidently only correcting this design problem after an entire system failure. I am also unable to confirm that VW engineers have redesigned the fuel pump that they are in theory installing in my car as a repair. Do you have any information?

- Santa Paula, CA, USA

problem #45

Apr 102013


  • 42,248 miles
Vehicle staled out with complete loss of power, would not restart. Had car towed to VW dealer, and it took 8 days for them to fix. The high pressure fuel pump failed and contaminated the whole system. It was covered under the warranty but I was lucky I was not on the highway. If the 2010 Jetta wasn't under warranty it would have cost $4660.22 to fix it.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #44

Jan 272013

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 39,950 miles
Esp error. Car would not start. Condensation in charge air intake system caused failure in esp system and air intake.

- Maplewood, NJ, USA

problem #43

May 042012


  • 5,000 miles


I was at a light in first gear at a complete stop. The engine was idling rough. (not the first time, but VW couldn't find anything wrong). The RPM on idling is normally 800. It was up to 1,000. It sputtered twice and hicupped from 1000 to 700 to 1000 to 700 in the period of 3 seconds. My clutch was in as was the brake and I was in first gear since I was at a light but at a standstill. The car subsequently stalled without me having moved the car. The car restarted and I still detected the rough idle.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #42

Mar 172012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 27,000 miles
Vehicle stalled on two separate occasions. In March the car cut off while sitting at a light. On 4/17/12, the vehicle stalled when coming to a stop from an off ramp.

- Rocky Point, NC, USA

problem #41

Mar 122012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 30,000 miles
Engine completely and suddenly stalled out after stopping at an intersection. The car was restarted without hesitation or delay.

- Washington, Dc, DC, USA

problem #40

Feb 242012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 36,500 miles
Complete engine shut-off, without warning or stumbling, including all support systems (power steering and brakes, etc). No dash lights, etc. After 30 seconds, car restarts. Has now happened multiple times. Dealer has examined and offers no explanation or fix, because they can't "replicate" the problem, and car throws no codes when failure occurs. This is very dangerous. The suddenness of the failure leaves little time to pull off the road, sometimes forcing driver to stop in the middle of the road!

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #39

Feb 022012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 39,000 miles


When slowing down to a stop the car hesitates while idling and then when you start to press the gas pedal to go it hesitates more and almost stalls. The cooling fan seems to run excessively after turning off motor.

- Cresco, PA, USA

problem #38

Jan 052012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 29,000 miles
I have had several issues in the past month with my vehicle either stalling immediately after start (while clutch still depressed) or shortly after driving. Volkswagen has identified this as an issue with the intercooler; there is a flaw in the design that is letting water into the air pipes which is collecting and freezing. Three times this happened in traffic, one time while crossing a lane with oncoming traffic going 50mph. VW drained the intercooler two weeks ago and sent me on my way because the part is being redesigned and is on backorder. A week later my car failed shortly after leaving my driveway, stranding me on the side of the road. I had to have it towed back to my driveway. VW dealership and customer care were closed for the weekend. Monday I had to take a tow truck ride 1.5 hours to the dealership. They've drained it again and want me to pick it up but have acknowledged the issue is not fixed. They acknowledge it is a known issue, it is a safety issue, the car is under warranty and yet they want me to pick up an unrepaired car because VW does not have parts to repair it. I live in Vermont, the winters are cold, I can't risk getting into an accident because my car fails due to what VW claims is a known issue.

- Morrisville, VT, USA

problem #37

Jan 152012

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 58,500 miles
This is the second occurrence in two weeks where my VW Jetta tdi automatic (dsg) 2010 car with 58K miles stalled. I am original owner, have no previous issues with the car and have completed all required maintenance. Symptom. Shortly after starting car and commencing to drive, the engine sputtered and stalled with just over 100 ft of motion. I placed the car in neutral and with slight hesitation, the engine started and I was able to resume normal driving. In the first occurrence (approximately 1/5/12), the car was parked outside at work for 8 hours and the outside temp was in the low 30S. This stall occurred in the parking lot the second event (1/15/12), the car had been in the garage for just over 2 hours and the outside temp was 20. This stall occurred after backing out of the driveway onto residential street and stalled after commencing forward motion.

- Mystic, CT, USA

problem #36

Jan 152011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 500 miles
Vehicle hesitates, usually at lower speeds, but sometimes at highway speeds, and stalled completely in intersections twice. Initially this was most often on a cold start, within the first 5-10 miles, but not consistently. It might do it once a day, once a week, or once every two or three weeks. I believe the problem to be fuel system related and not transmission. I have reported the problem to dealer with each service call (3 so far, I have 20K miles to date). Dealer initially suggested bad fuel and to buy only chevron, but there is no correlation between fuel source and hesitation, no evidence of water in fuel filter, etc., and I usually purchase chevron fuel. Dealer reported being unable to identify the problem without "codes". vehicle hesitated again (11/25/11), within one block of driving after 20K service. I immediately returned to dealer, and they were still unable to diagnose. Dealer has kept the car and contacted VW usa tech service, but remains unable to diagnose as of 12/2/11. My daughter purchased the same car 3 days after I bought mine and has the same problem (30K miles so far), but has not stalled in an intersection - yet. This is not our inability to drive a stick transmission - both of us have owned diesel Jettas with manual transmissions for 10 years prior to our recent purchases. I contacted VW usa and have received the same message - unless they can diagnose a specific problem, there is nothing they can do, but they did suggest going to a different dealer. VW did perform a fuel line recall with my last service, but the hesitation remains. There are a number of reports of this problem on the web, but VW is unwilling to attempt any repair without a solid diagnosis. Stalling in intersections and hesitation while driving are unacceptable performance for a car. Period. I hope you can help. Evenings or early ams are best time to call.

- Arbuckle, CA, USA

problem #35

Nov 092011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 35,650 miles
2010 VW Jetta tdi with roughly 35,650 miles. While driving up the on-ramp to enter the interstate, glow plug dash light came on and warned to "check engine now." Within 20 seconds, the car lost all power, and luckily I was able to coast over to the shoulder of the interstate (with drivers flying by at 65+mph at 9:45pm). Vehicle would not restart and had to be towed to the VW dealership. Service rep claimed "fuel contamination, " with metal shards all throughout the fuel system. Entire fuel system has to be replaced ($10,000 repair) with equivalent, new parts. According to VW service technicians, the parts have not been updated despite VW's knowledge of this problem. As a result, "fuel contamination" could happen again, and the car could shut off while driving at any time without notice. This is a very serious safety concern. Luckily, because I was driving at night, there was not a lot of congestion on the road. Had this happened during rush hour, there very likely would have been a severe accident. VW claims the problem is a result of the poor quality of american diesel fuel supply, saying the tdis are designed in germany to run on 100% diesel that's found in europe. If this is the case, why are they selling german designed cars in the United States that doesn't have fuel supplies that are 100% diesel? Volkswagen needs to issue a recall of the 2009/2010 Jetta tdi.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #34

Nov 012011


  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Jetta sportwagen tdi. The contact stated that while going uphill, the vehicle stalled without warning, followed by the battery light illuminating on the instrument panel. The dealer was notified, but was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 22,000.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #33

Sep 282011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 23,600 miles
Motor lost most power but was able to go 10-15mph to get to end of trip. Check engine light came on and glow plug light flashed on & off. Called VW and they scheduled appt for next day, said it was ok to drive in. Began drive home on major city street. While driving, the engine died and would not restart. Car stalled in left lane blocking rush hour traffic. The driver of the following car was able to stop traffic enough to allow us to push the dead VW off the road to the right. Cars were attempting to pass us as we pushed it to the side. Called VW and they sent a tow truck. Diagnostics the next day found metal in the tdi diesel high pressure fuel pump. Fuel system is to be replaced under warranty.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #32

Apr 272011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 17,500 miles
While driving at 35mph, car stalled out. Battery light flashed, radio etc stayed on, but car had no power at all. Rolled to next intersection, turned car off, and restarted it. Took it to dealer, they said it was a software update, which they then performed. Aug. 24 exiting I95, 65mph, same thing happens, I pressed the gas and the engine was totally dead. Lights and radio stayed on. Once again I rolled to a stop, and restarted the car. Took it to the dealer, they kept it for an hour and said there was nothing wrong with my car. So I took it to another dealer. After having my car for a week they were able to duplicate my problem. Their computers were hooked up to my car at the time, and showed no faults. So they were back and forth with VW tech support, and they are flying in an engineer, and they think it might be the steering control module malfunctioning. They have had my car for two weeks now, I have no idea when it will be fixed, if ever.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #31

Sep 102011

Jetta 4-cyl Diesel

  • 9,725 miles
I was driven up a small hill going about 20 mph and as I was coming to a stop sign the engine stalled. There was no apparent reason for the stalling. I lost power completely and there was no way that I could restart the car. I knew that it was not electrical because I was able to put on my flashers.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #30

Jun 152011


  • 9,000 miles
During second VW dealer service at approximately 9,000 miles, check-engine light went on during the process, tech read code as a failure in a secondary air-flow sensor, part was replace and the light was off. At third VW dealer service at 17,000 miles, approximately one week after the service, the check-engine light went on at start-up. Checked gas cap, re-seated and light did not clear. As of this report problem coded: P2431, P2433, secondary air injection pressure sensor circuit out of range, a quick google search revealed similar errors in conjunction with oil and filter changes.

- Rochester, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?