Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,488 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Volkswagen Passat electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Volkswagen Passat:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Volkswagen Passat Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Oct 032007

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The ABS control module failed on my car causing the ABS system and the asr (anti-slip regulation) traction control systems to no longer function. This happened without warning with no signs leading up to the failure. This has also caused other strange electrical issues where my keyless entry will no longer work. Also, the error lights continue to flash on the instrument panel and the radio remains turned on (unless I manually turn it off) even after the car has been turned off and the key has been removed from the ignition. This caused a dead battery after 4 days of flashing (radio was off). It has also caused an error between the communication paths from my transmission control module (tcm) and my engine's ECU and instrument panel as evidenced by the error codes produced. The last issue that has been caused by the ABS failure is that the car continues to run for several seconds after the ignition has been turned off and the key has been removed. It will then sputter out and turn off. From my research, this appears to be a common problem on these cars: www.passatworld.com/forums/showthread.php?T=173334

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #31

May 042007

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,586 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Volkswagen Passat. The contact was driving with the cruise control set at 67 mph when the vehicle shut off. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was repaired. The current mileage is 70,000 and failure mileage was 7,586.

- Laurel, DE, USA

problem #30

Oct 202005

(reported on)

Passat

  • miles
Ltr from consumer referencing defective front right daytime running lamp constantly failing on his 2002 VW Passat, reply directly to constituent. The light has failed three times in the last three years. Each time the vehicle was taken to the dealer who explained that the light burn out frequently because they were on all the time. The driver's side daytime running lamp has never failed.

- Randallstown, MD, USA

problem #29

Jul 212005

Passat 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Horn quit working

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #28

Apr 102002

Passat 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Volkswagen Passat experiencing problems with passenger seat, door panels, glove compartment, radio equipment, buttons for the mirror equipment and the vehicle kept cutting off. The consumer stated when the passenger seat went forward it would not stop, the heated seats burned the consumers children, however he did not state how many children. The vehicle could not be aligned. The door panels and arm rest were peeling. The headlights were always going out. The brakes squeaked. The battery, generator and ground wire were replaced due to vehicle stalling.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #27

Feb 112005

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
Oil sludge problem, engine light came on and a loud knocking sound electric problems, smoke coming from under dash electric problems with windows and the "chime" indicator when lights are on and the engine is off.

- Newburyport, MA, USA

problem #26

Nov 252004

Passat

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Significant engine problems with my 2002 VW Passat 1.8T wagon - ranging from: Common oil sludge issue at 51000- electrical problems with the rear driver side window (twice) (~5K & 52K) -the coil recall issue. -vacuum hose failure (~40K) -cv joint failure (53K) -radio knob falls off - stem split (~45K) -fuel door snaps in two in 156 degree weather (~35K) VW has failed to stand by the oil sludge issue due to a lack of proof of oil changes - I am not the only one with this problem - many owners have had the same problem, regardless of timely oil changes or not.

- East Greenwich, RI, USA

problem #25

Jan 082005

Passat 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 28,000 miles
Varioud head, tail and brake lights on my 2002 VW Passat have burned out 6 times in the last 9 months: /3/04 - both headlights replaced by VW, /17/04 - headlight and brake light replaced by VW, 10/9/04 - tail light replaced by VW, 0/23/04 - both headlights laced by VW, 2/11/04 - headlight and parking light replaced by VW, 1/5/05 - head light replaced, /5/05 VW service of bernardsville, New Jersey refused to perform an electrical diagnostic check because the "light bulbs they get from another vendor are faulty". therefore, VW of bernanrdsville is knowingly installing faulty safety equipment. I was told this in front of another woman who was bringing her car in for light bulb replacement also. I told the service department this was an unacceptable safety risk. I hit a deer one night when my headlight was out and it is dark when I drop-off and pick-up my children from school. Although I told the VW service department that it is unsafe to drive the car because I'm afraid I would hit a child crossing the road or school parking lot, they refused to perform an elctrical diagnostic check on the car. I reported this information to the bernardsville New Jersey police department, in case someone who gets lights replaced by VW of bernardsville gets into an accident or hurt. Although it is not a criminal offense to knowningly install "faulty" equipment, it is a civil offense and should be reported before someone gets hurt.

- Millington, NJ, USA

problem #24

Mar 052002

Passat 4-cyl

  • miles
There were numerous problems with this vehicle. The filter and carpet on the back passenger side was replaced. The mlp light had come on and the dealer installed a new vacuum hose. The radio did not work, standing water was found in the back right side of the vehicle under the front seat, the pollen filter was clogged and the air pollen filter was cracked due to the factory, the back door locks refused to open and could not be opened from the inside or out, a bumping noise was heard coming from under the vehicle, the engine revved, the vehicle lurched forward and accelerated at rapid speed all while the brakes were pumped with no response. The vehicle hit a curb doing over 50 mph all while pumping the brakes until it finally stopped 20-30 yards into a field damaging tires, rims and the bumper.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #23

Sep 292004

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
Following heavy rains on 29 Sept 2004 vehicle windows/locks were inoperable. Fuse blown. Replaced fuse, horn would not stop and windows still inoperable. Unable to turn off vehicle lights. New fuse blown. Towed Passat via VW roadside to dealer. Told fri 1 Oct 2004 that there was standing water in car and comfort module would need replacement. Due to water, the carpet & module would not be covered under warranty. Est $1500 in parts pre-labor. As the windows were not operable, we do not know how this water damage occurred. VW claims to due debris in sunroof, drains clogged and flooded floor. Unacceptable as car was detailed 2.5 wks prior and is washed every week. Asked to see debris, they could not provide anything. We feel this may be due to the window surround trim that continually came loose/fell off or prior concealed damage (certified used vehicle). Note that seats/headliner were completely dry. We did not notice wet carpets as only the rear was wet. Car smelled awful @ VW on Friday 1 Oct as it is turning into a mold pit. Filed geico insurance claim-waiting on adjuster.

- New City, NY, USA

problem #22

Jun 012004

Passat 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2002 Passat wagon has an intermittent problem with the rear running lights not coming on when the light switch is turned on. I have been pulled over two times by law enforcement for this problem. I have taken the car to the dealer to have them look at the problem but they have done nothing to correct the problem. I fear that I will be killed or a member of my family will be killed in a rear end collision at night.(ak

- California, MD, USA

problem #21

Mar 302004

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
2002 Passat having electrical problems, car still under warranty, dealer refuses to honor warranty, cannot keep engine light off for more than 2 months car floods and spits raw gas out exhaust, spits and stalls, car has been returned to dealer over 20 times within 10 months, 3 radios replaced 2 mass air flow sensors, 1 main computer, car would not pass emissions temporary tag had to be issued, car has less than 37000 miles on it and has gone through about 10 sets of plugs, cannot settle with consumer service or dealership, dealer refuses to refund $80 service charge when car was improperly serviced, lawsuit to follow.

- Lavergne, TN, USA

problem #20

Jun 152002

Passat

  • miles
When driving air conditioner/radio failed. Consumer stated that vehicle had an electrical problem.

- Webster, TX, USA

problem #19

May 112003

Passat

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Since purchasing my 2002 Passat in November 2001 it has regularly had problems with the electrical system. The items that have broken have been: Stereo (on 3 different occasions, has necessitated 6 trips to dealership), engine failure light gone off 3 times, headlights failed to go on, indicator light stopped functioning, car more often than not fails to turn over without multiple attempts.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #18

Jan 212002

Passat

  • miles
The engine light illuminated, and idled rough, the problem was determined to be a defective ignition coil.

- Andover, NJ, USA

problem #17

Oct 012002

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I purchased a brand new VW Passat gls 2002, on June 18, 2002 at commonwealth VW Audi, 1450 auto mall drive, santa ana ca 92705. Unfortunately, the VW Passat gls 2002 has not held up to its promise of being a well-engineered car. After less than 9 months of ownership, I had to bring the car to the dealership for repairs 3 times, which is a far drive from my present residence in highland, ca. I purchased a brand new car with the intention of having a reliable mode of transportation for the two-hour trip back and fourth from tustin to Ontario on a daily basis for work. I had confidence in Volkswagen because of its prestigious reputation. Having successive car problems has made me reluctant to drive this car. The first breakdown was in Oct. 2002, the mil (malfunction indicator lamp) light came on, the car started to shake, and it lost power on my way to work. I was able to make it and I had the car towed to the dealership. The dealership replaced the defective ignition coil, and set the readiness code. I did not get a loaner car, and the car was left at the dealership for two days. The second time, was in Dec. 2003. The exact same problem arose. This time they had replaced all four ignition coils, set the readiness code, and supplied me with a VW rental. The car was in the shop for two days as well. I had lost all confidence in the Passat I purchased. The third occasion, as I exited the freeway to get to work, the mil light came on again. I was at a complete stop. When I pressed on the gas, the car jerked two times. I made it to the parking lot of my job, and had the car towed yet another time. This was March 18, 2003. The dealership removed and installed the automatic transmission fluid pan, the transmission speed sender, and the vehicle speed sensor. They supplied me with a 3-day loaner car. The Passat stayed in the shop for 4 days.

- Highland, CA, USA

problem #16

Aug 212002

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
Bought the car new 4/02, ignition coil failed in 8/02 with only 1000 miles on car. The vehicle started shaking and lost power w/ baby in the car on a highway. Car was towed to the dealer and they replaced the ignition coil. Happened again on 10/31/02, car was at the dealership for almost 1 month waiting for another ignition coil. Dealer provided rental car and complaint was filed with V.w. they paid my car payment for month of 11/02. Many people having same problem. Dealer's lot was full of cars waiting for this part. I took their last rental car, lucky for me, since I got an Impala ss instead of a 2 door cavalier. There should be a recall issued on these ignition coils. There are many lemon law cases filed against VW. Also very poor gas mileage and acceleration. Very dangerous left hand turns when the car just sits there and you're hitting the gas!!!

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #15

Oct 172002

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The ECM was replaced twice. The replacement failed before the vehicle made it out of the service parking lot and the ignition coils were replaced twice, 4 were replaced the first time, then two on the second. The check engine light illuminated repeatedly, and demonstrated a loss of power/rough ride. Scc

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #14

Mar 052003

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
I own a Volkswagen Passat 2002 1.8 turbo model.. the coils on the engine are defective. Volkswagen knows this and has improved the coil and replaced it with a new design. I have a 4 cylinder engine. That means I have one coil on each cylinder. I had 1 coil go bad. When they go bad while you are driving you lose power to the car and are unable to drive at your current speed. I had one coil go bad in March of 2003. Volkswagen won't replace all the coils until they break. I have three more to fix but they won't fix it. It is dangerous to drive the car or to take long trips with the car due to the fact you never know when the coils will break.

- Grayslake, IL, USA

problem #13

Dec 072002

Passat

  • miles
Ignition coils on 2002 VW Passat there is a "service action" out but we were never notified. Our car had broken down 2 times due to this. We had 1 coil go on 12/7/02 & then again on 3/6/03. We were just notified that a mailing was sent about this but we never received. VW is now telling me, they cannot send me a copy of the notice. I know of 2 other vehicles that were brought into the dealer on 12/8/02 with the same problem.

- Cardiff By The Sea, CA, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?